My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 94 R

A professional grass trimmer that combines performance, portability and innovation.

FS 94 R
FS 94 R is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from the spring does not release new string. Very frustrating! The spring does not release new string. Very frustrating!
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This trimmer has great features I purchased this trimmer when my dealer had a spring sale. I couldn't expected a better product. I have a KM85R that is also amazing. This a true replacement to Fs85R or KM85R .I expect many years from the machine.Like my 85 I want this to last 12 years and like my 85.Way to go Stihl!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with product I am using three blade brush cutter. Breezing through sapling and vines. It is performing exactly as needed for the jobs I am doing.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not better or comparable to the FS100RX I love Stihl equipment and especially the FS100RX trimmers. I have 5 of them and never have anyone that works for me complain about anything but the handles (if they're over 6' tall like myself); and i usually replace them with the handles that come on the little curved shaft trimmers so you dont have to bend to trim with the head level. My dealer told me I would find the 94 comparable to the 100 but, a pound lighter and that sold me. I would say power is good but response with trigger pull is slow (typical for a 2 stroke). It is lighter but, having to fuss with cleaning the air filter and having the muffler screen plug up all the time stinks. I dont have time for that and cant have my guy's spending time with it either. I should have known better. My biggest problem with it is that, I paid the same price for them as I would have the 100. I expected better. The weight difference is not worth the loss of power problems and having to take them in for tune ups every month to the tune of 50 to 60 bucks every time. I like my dealer and shop guys but not THAT much. If you want the most power in the lightest package; buy an FS100RX. (and a BR600 blower)
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very light weight for the machine's size! I am a professional landscaper the stihl FS94R has made my job much easier! It feels like sometimes the trimmers not in my hands. This trimmer has met all my demands in power and durablity! I have put this machine thru tall wet thick grass, and it has made it. Never had any trouble with this trimmer yet!
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality I used a friend fs 90 trimmer he had for years to trim around his home.and when i first picked it up,felt the quality,had much power to do the job,uses less fuel.i gave it a thumps up,had to look in to buying one soon!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product. Bought the fs94r a month ago and so far very pleased . has excellent power ,sounds great and lightweight. Owned stihl products since 2004 . Two chainsaws, blower , and now a trimmer. Love them all ! They are expensive but great products .
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product on the market Amazing trimmer! It's like going from a plastic knife to a surgical scalpel. I used another brand for years with break downs and it used lots of sting. I have done quite a few yards and acres and still haven't had to change string. It's adjustable speed, lightness, and length have taken so much stress off of my body. The ability to vary speed is great around flower beds and trimming, in general is precision and ease. Took a more difficult task with my old back to an enjoyable pain free day.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight, powerful and reliable I bought this trimmer because it is light is the main reason. Very smooth 2 stroke engine, love the trigger, ecospeed comes in handy at times, starts easily and has a plenty of power for anything ive done with it. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY PROFESSIONAL.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome commercial product I bought this trimmer in July 2015 and have run it hard ever since. This thing is indestructible! The head works best with .95" x-line.(Note that I have always used 93 octane in it and since May this year I have only used 93 w/ no ethanol, which, btw, no ethanol gives a HUGE power increase.)Anyway, the only issue I have had is carbon deposits on the muffler screen which caused severe flooding of the engine and loss of power. My local dealer fixed this by cleaning the muffler screen and installing a new spark plug. This issue happened twice since I bought the trimmer.TIP: I fixed the problem when an enlightened salesman (who does landscaping as a side job) at my dealer told me to just remove the muffler screen....WOW, If you think your trimmer is powerful, just try this. The difference was INSANE.To sum it up, I will be buying this trimmer ONLY from now on for general applications (If I need more juice I would buy the FS130 or FS130R for rough cutting etc.). The only reason I gave it 4 stars on power and dependability is because the muffler screen problem shouldn't just happen and not everybody would think to take it off.Thanks STIHL! Can't wait until I can buy a MS 461 chainsaw!
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around trimmer I purchased this trimmer yesterday and must say I am very pleased. It is very reliable, and it runs strong. It doesn't bog down very much in tall grass, and when you use it for trimming around the house, it's everything you need. Great trimmer. Just another reason I am a Stihl fan.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent power ECOSPEEED throttle great idea. Works great saves time
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Lightweight with great balance and plenty of power. Decided on 94 vs the 90 based on the ability to control speed. The dial controls the trigger squeeze keeping the rpms where you want it.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality isnt cheap I have had this FS94R for about a year now and have no complaints about it. It has a really good power to weight ratio and is very well balanced. It does well in tall/thick grass/weeds, just don't forget to turn the dial so you can open the throttle all the way up. I give it an A+ rating.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light on the hands! Purchased this trimmer to replace a FS56. I needed something a tad lighter for my 70 year old father that still love to run his Stihl two strokes. Has more power in a lighter package. What's not to love.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good trimmer I have had the sthil FS94R for 5 months and now having problems. Took it in for repair and problems come back really fast. It's like it lost power can't reach its full potential like it used too. Always bogging out and dies out. The fs94r was really great till the problem stated happening. Wish I can get it back to the way it was. Tried taking it to two different places to get it fixed already.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welterweight Beast Awesome power for light weight.Can have trouble starting after running hard for over an hour, but recovers after cooling down.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good machine Haven't owned it very long but this seems like a solid machine. It is very light and seems to have great power for its weight. I think it's worth every cent.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light weight and powerful So far it has been the least reliable trimmer I have owned, engine always runs, but the stater mechanism has broke every year, and I'm beginning to find it impossible to keep the muffler tight.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mean Little Machine I love this trimmer. It sounds like a well tuned dirt bike and the power is really good. The trimmer weight and balance is absolutely perfect. Hopefully the last trimmer I will ever have to buy (as a homeowner), as it is replacing a 24 year old and a 2 year "other brand(s)". It is expensive, but like I said.........if it's the last trimmer I have to buy, it will be worth it.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great edger if you value reliability and longevity. The FS 94R is a near perfect edger. It has adequate power, and has an impressive power to weight ratio. If you have large lawns or need to use it for long periods of time, the weight will be very comfortable. As typical from stihl, this trimmer starts with little effort. It is built to last a long time. The only criticism I have it that its features seem slightly out dated. It could use a new trimmer head that feeds faster and easier.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finesse I have both the FS 90 R and this FS 94 R. I use the FS 94 R on my city property where I can appreciate the finesse this machine has to offer. It can go balls to the walls or you can dink around being careful not to whip too hard around delicate things. I have never had a problem starting it and it is very light and easy to work with. To summarize I think you want this machine if you want nice professional performance with finesse. Get the FS 90 R if you have a larger farm type property where you need torque and balls to the walls power.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ill buy this trimmer all daylong thats really a goodtrimmer/to buy for a grandson for being a sthil guy using a straightshaft weedeater i think out of all the sthil weedeaters that they make this is a better one to buy because they all differnt power ratios and this is one of there most powerful one yet they made in history
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The fs94r is the best trimmer hands down I bought a brand new fs90r last weekend. 2 Stihl dealers told me that it was a true 2 stroke. They do not know what they are talking about. I had to prove them wrong with the Stihl manuals. Never the less I took the 90 back. And I bought a brand new fs94r today. The 94 has more control over the string and the throttle. It is great for trimming around bushes and other delicate plants and flowers. The FS 90 is a true 4-stroke. It is a weed eating brush-clearing Beast. Do not get me wrong there's nothing wrong with a 90 but it is not meant for a clean trimming job. So do your homework because these so-called Stihl dealers out there do not always have the information you are looking for. Ace Hardware. Enough said LOL. Just because it takes 2 stroke oil does not make it a two stroke.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mega power in a smaller light weight machine just got it friday and now currently on its 6th tank of gas from the 4th tank onwards it was cuttin hay sized stuff i couldnt be happier with it and highly reccoment it to anybody interested in buyin one of their own some advice to new buyers of this machine set your throttle down to about half and run it like that for the first 3 tanks then on the 4th tank turn it all the way up and leave it there and hold on as it puts out some serious power this thing makes the 70 look like a joke which i also have although it's a pretty good machine for what it is it pales in comparison to the 94 again highly reccomended :DP.S. to any stihl employee readin this stihl needs to bring the 94 with the handlebars from canada/australia here to the states id be one of many that would buy one
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy so far Very happy after a year of ownership. Cold starts require minimal priming and 3 or fewer pulls. It powers through typical lawn trimming and edging, even at half throttle, and it never irritates me with smoky emissions. Surprising amount of torque below full throttle for a 24.1 cc 2-cycle! It also really screams when opened up, although constant work in thick brush may call for something with a little more grunt. I actually like and often use the thumb wheel, and I'm sure that it is especially handy for the split-shaft version. Only negative is that oil gradually drizzles from my exhaust port, even with Stihl's premixed fuel.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Sure, it's not as powerful as some of the other Stihl offerings, but it is very reliable and very easy to use. Great weight and balance compared to others in its class, and very good ergonomics. Only thing I would change is to make the guard a few inches wider, as I am a lefty and get some shrapnel on occasion if I'm not careful. Then again, almost every trimmer I've owned has presented similar problems.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not d bes D power is weaker dan suggested.d throttle nuh gud
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Percison Instrument Was a little disappointed at first with the lack of power; having used the RX100 for a couple of years, but after about five tanks of fuel the power came to a satisfying level. This is not a RX 100 but I think I will take it any day if I had to choose just one. This machine just give you so much more control with the throttle and it don1t throw as much grass and dirt all over you. It is so precise around obstacles it is like a scalpel. It`s a Stihl so no problems starting after you learn your machine., all of them seem to be a little different. Had to vent the gas cap on the 100 on some very hot days to get it to start on one pull, This unit is also a one or two pull unit when cold half pull when warm. Dealer said the only problem he has seen is one company has had two units in his shop; because of paw dogs, several times. There is no reason to have to jerk on the rope, your employees probably need to read the manual and it just might save the paw dogs. I have a great dealer who is one heck of a mechanic, all my Stihl stuff is tuned and ready to work when he hands it to me. I run Stihl ultra oil in all my two mix, I know it cost more but I`m picky.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed! I've had the FS94R for just under 2 years now. I'm a residential user, so I use 3-4 times a month. I'm taking it in for service again for the 2nd time now, because it won't do much more than idle before it cuts out. I can only imagine if I used it everyday, how often it would require service! I had another, obviously better brand, for 15 years and never had to take in for service even once! People pay good money for Stihl products, because that name is suppose to equal quality and reliability like a Cadillac, Lexus or Mercedes. This trimmer is more like a junkyard beater! I own 2 Stihl chainsaws that work great, but this trimmer is a total disappointment and a complete piece of garbage. My recommendation is to stay away, and don't waste your money! Update: Still trying to get this review posted, but Stihl rejected it because I mentioned the other brands name in my first review. If I worked at Stihl, I would be more concerned that a customer was unhappy with my product, not the verbiage in my review!
Date published: 2016-03-03
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs94r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips