Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 94 R

A professional grass trimmer that combines performance, portability and innovation.

FS 94 R
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 73reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good machine Haven't owned it very long but this seems like a solid machine. It is very light and seems to have great power for its weight. I think it's worth every cent. August 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Light weight and powerful So far it has been the least reliable trimmer I have owned, engine always runs, but the stater mechanism has broke every year, and I'm beginning to find it impossible to keep the muffler tight. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mean Little Machine I love this trimmer. It sounds like a well tuned dirt bike and the power is really good. The trimmer weight and balance is absolutely perfect. Hopefully the last trimmer I will ever have to buy (as a homeowner), as it is replacing a 24 year old and a 2 year "other brand(s)". It is expensive, but like I said.........if it's the last trimmer I have to buy, it will be worth it. July 7, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great edger if you value reliability and longevity. The FS 94R is a near perfect edger. It has adequate power, and has an impressive power to weight ratio. If you have large lawns or need to use it for long periods of time, the weight will be very comfortable.As typical from stihl, this trimmer starts with little effort. It is built to last a long time.The only criticism I have it that its features seem slightly out dated. It could use a new trimmer head that feeds faster and easier. July 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finesse I have both the FS 90 R and this FS 94 R. I use the FS 94 R on my city property where I can appreciate the finesse this machine has to offer. It can go balls to the walls or you can dink around being careful not to whip too hard around delicate things. I have never had a problem starting it and it is very light and easy to work with. To summarize I think you want this machine if you want nice professional performance with finesse. Get the FS 90 R if you have a larger farm type property where you need torque and balls to the walls power. June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ill buy this trimmer all daylong thats really a goodtrimmer/to buy for a grandson for being a sthil guy using a straightshaft weedeater i think out of all the sthil weedeaters that they make this is a better one to buy because they all differnt power ratios and this is one of there most powerful one yet they made in history June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The fs94r is the best trimmer hands down I bought a brand new fs90r last weekend. 2 Stihl dealers told me that it was a true 2 stroke. They do not know what they are talking about. I had to prove them wrong with the Stihl manuals. Never the less I took the 90 back. And I bought a brand new fs94r today. The 94 has more control over the string and the throttle. It is great for trimming around bushes and other delicate plants and flowers. The FS 90 is a true 4-stroke. It is a weed eating brush-clearing Beast. Do not get me wrong there's nothing wrong with a 90 but it is not meant for a clean trimming job. So do your homework because these so-called Stihl dealers out there do not always have the information you are looking for. Ace Hardware. Enough said LOL. Just because it takes 2 stroke oil does not make it a two stroke. May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by mega power in a smaller light weight machine just got it friday and now currently on its 6th tank of gas from the 4th tank onwards it was cuttin hay sized stuff i couldnt be happier with it and highly reccoment it to anybody interested in buyin one of their own some advice to new buyers of this machine set your throttle down to about half and run it like that for the first 3 tanks then on the 4th tank turn it all the way up and leave it there and hold on as it puts out some serious power this thing makes the 70 look like a joke which i also have although it's a pretty good machine for what it is it pales in comparison to the 94 again highly reccomended :DP.S. to any stihl employee readin this stihl needs to bring the 94 with the handlebars from canada/australia here to the states id be one of many that would buy one May 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy so far Very happy after a year of ownership. Cold starts require minimal priming and 3 or fewer pulls. It powers through typical lawn trimming and edging, even at half throttle, and it never irritates me with smoky emissions. Surprising amount of torque below full throttle for a 24.1 cc 2-cycle! It also really screams when opened up, although constant work in thick brush may call for something with a little more grunt. I actually like and often use the thumb wheel, and I'm sure that it is especially handy for the split-shaft version. Only negative is that oil gradually drizzles from my exhaust port, even with Stihl's premixed fuel. May 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer Sure, it's not as powerful as some of the other Stihl offerings, but it is very reliable and very easy to use. Great weight and balance compared to others in its class, and very good ergonomics. Only thing I would change is to make the guard a few inches wider, as I am a lefty and get some shrapnel on occasion if I'm not careful. Then again, almost every trimmer I've owned has presented similar problems. April 26, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not d bes D power is weaker dan suggested.d throttle nuh gud April 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Percison Instrument Was a little disappointed at first with the lack of power; having used the RX100 for a couple of years, but after about five tanks of fuel the power came to a satisfying level. This is not a RX 100 but I think I will take it any day if I had to choose just one. This machine just give you so much more control with the throttle and it don1t throw as much grass and dirt all over you. It is so precise around obstacles it is like a scalpel. It`s a Stihl so no problems starting after you learn your machine., all of them seem to be a little different. Had to vent the gas cap on the 100 on some very hot days to get it to start on one pull, This unit is also a one or two pull unit when cold half pull when warm. Dealer said the only problem he has seen is one company has had two units in his shop; because of paw dogs, several times. There is no reason to have to jerk on the rope, your employees probably need to read the manual and it just might save the paw dogs. I have a great dealer who is one heck of a mechanic, all my Stihl stuff is tuned and ready to work when he hands it to me. I run Stihl ultra oil in all my two mix, I know it cost more but I`m picky. March 25, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed! I've had the FS94R for just under 2 years now. I'm a residential user, so I use 3-4 times a month. I'm taking it in for service again for the 2nd time now, because it won't do much more than idle before it cuts out. I can only imagine if I used it everyday, how often it would require service! I had another, obviously better brand, for 15 years and never had to take in for service even once! People pay good money for Stihl products, because that name is suppose to equal quality and reliability like a Cadillac, Lexus or Mercedes. This trimmer is more like a junkyard beater! I own 2 Stihl chainsaws that work great, but this trimmer is a total disappointment and a complete piece of garbage. My recommendation is to stay away, and don't waste your money! Update: Still trying to get this review posted, but Stihl rejected it because I mentioned the other brands name in my first review. If I worked at Stihl, I would be more concerned that a customer was unhappy with my product, not the verbiage in my review! March 3, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Trimmer But Expected More I've in the lawn maintenance/landscape industry for 18 years. I've used a lot of Stihl equipment and have found them to be excellent. So, when I needed a new trimmer, I decided to go with Stihl. I wanted to originally get the FS90 but my dealer convinced to go with the 94. I bought the trimmer in August of 2015. On the plus side, it's:1. Lightweight2. Well balanced3. Good on Fuel.On the con side:1. Hard to start, especially as it gets cold.2. Long 2-3 minute warm up period when cold.3. Seems to lack power4. Trimmer head is overbuilt and too big. It makes it harder to trim in areas with a lot of obstacles. It doesn't allow for precision trimming.Overall, I find it to be an ok trimmer but wish I could return it and go with the FS90 or 100rx. January 31, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not buy I have owned this fs94 for 1 1/2 years and it's been in the shop 4 times. I have only used the expensive trufuel in it. I have already had the carb replaced by warranty and you can still only use it at about 1/2 throttle. This product is way too expensive for the quality. I wouldn't waste your money on it. I will never buy another stihl trimmer again. January 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight with wide power band. I've used the FS 94 R for almost a year now professionally. The FS 94 R leaves you with a linear and highly adaptable power band. Its been great for delicate work as well as wide open throttle situations, whereas a lot of string trimmers are usually top end focused. Weight and ergonomics have been great as well. I haven't had much experience in cooler weather, but in 100 F+ heat I've never had any overheating issues and it cools down quickly. Fuel efficiency has been great as well. All that being said, I wouldn't choose the 94R for heavy string trimming, I feel it excels as a maintenance trimmer and not for clearing. Finally, the adjustment wheel is nice, but I never use it. December 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Trimmer, Must have got a lemon Let me start by saying I love this trimmer. But, soon after I purchased it I found fuel mix sludge building up on my muffler. It was so bad that it clogged my spark arrestor. I had it serviced and cleaned, but still I have build up in the muffler. I use the same mix in all of my equipment without this problem. It recently stopped running full out. I guess I will put it back in the shop to see if they can remedy.The weight to power ratio is excellent. I just wish I could resolve the mess. The other thing I noticed is there are no directions in the manual for lubricating the gear box and shaft. I do not think it is listed in the maintenance schedule October 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Light weight and powerful I have had this unit for about 9 months. I have had it worked on three times already. Each time they have had to replace the paws/dogs on the starter. I really like this model it is very light weight and powerful. It is really aggravating when you go to use it and it will not start when it is only 9 months old.I am not the only one having this problem in fact I have a friend who keeps extra parts with him to fix it when it breaks. September 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good For What It Is This is a good professional trimmer for light, detail work. It is lightweight and easy to handle. But don't expect the torque and power you get from other professional trimmers. For mainstream jobs, stick to the FS90 and up.As for the Ecospeed wheel, it's really not of much use in a professional setting other than maybe training a rookie operator. Otherwise, you likely will never use it as you trigger finger controls the speed.A good trimmer for light work but not really suited for the day to day grind of a professional lawn crew. August 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding love the power This is the best weed trimmer I ever had, the power is outstanding! The motor just keeps going, easy starting! the four stroke motor WHAT an engineering masterpiece!My kids even like to trim the grass with it !Just moved into a foreclosure with an acre of property overgrown weeds no regular trimmer from any big box store would be able to last one season in this yard. I needed something with Quality and durability and power, just through my experience I reached all of my goals with this product! STIHL is definitely top-of-line.thank you: BILLY G July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid piece of equipment I purchased the 94 trimmer with detachable accessories. I've used the hedge trimmer attachment to trim holly trees and other trees around my house and it has eliminated the ladder! Also used it to trim fencerows. The trimmer runs great and a perfect balance power and performance. Plus it's a decent workout! July 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl Products are reliable I have several stihl products and like the dependability. I also like them because they are made in the U.S.A. July 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally back, 2 stroke power. I do edges mostly and had a fs90r. Lots of power and great for banks and clearing but it was idle or full throttle. Got the 94 and love it like the old stihl. I can feather the throttle around flower beds and sidewalks. July 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy! Most of my trimming is around the house and I know that I didn't need to get a pro version Stihl. But,, for the price difference between a regular home unit and this pro unit,, I couldn't pass it up.I also will need it and have already used it once at the hunt camp. Lots of tall weeds all over,, and this trimmer just ate it up.Love the easy start and it starts after two pulls. So far its been great!I was also impressed how well and easy it fed line out. July 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by its not worth the money buy a 90R I have 3 90R, 1 break down with a lot of attachments 2 straight shaft 90R. Compared to the 90R the 90R great trimmer, plenty power for thickest tallest stuff. The FS 94R bogs down in only 8 inch grass where the 90R no has no problem. my 90Rs are over 2 years old and out performs the 94r. the 94r burns way more fuel, were getting with 94r 1.5 yards vs 8 yards with the 90r. Now don't get me wrong I own a ton of commercial Stihl stuff and this is the only piece of equipment I dis like. the rest has been awesome, the place I got it from was talking all kinds of great things about this trimmer and I really don't see it. I wish I could trade it in on a 90R. The 94R is only 3 weeks old, I cant even say this would be great for someone starting out in the business because it cost more then a 90R... Now the 94R is running perfect, idles right top end right just no umf in tall grass. had mine checked twice in 2 weeks, and only being 3 weeks old not good. my 90R(s) have never been in the shop not once.... June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look no further I worked golf course maintenance years ago running big stihl trimmersNow just take care of a few lawns and a few hours trimming weekly on my property. After replacing cheap straight shaft weed eaters every couple yr. Decided to spend the money and upgrade to real thing like my chainsaw and never made a better purchase this is the lightest most powerful well balanced trimmer with almost no vibration to hands. I'm so amazed that there is such a perfect trimmer June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Light weight, easy starting,very easy to handle wish I had bought one a long time ago May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by making the switch first Stihl iv owned, wont be my last. great unit, great power, short warm up time.ill be changing over from red to all orange by next season. May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the perfect trimmer!!! I live on acreage, and I've gone through 3 trimmers in the last 7 years. Homeowner quality products just don't last trying to maintain my property. This trimmer is easy to start, and has plenty of power to cut through whatever I throw at it. I love this trimmer, so much that I can't wait to use it. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great weed eater excellent performance ,light weight and easy to use May 17, 2015
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips