Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 240 R

A loop handle trimmer built to handle tough cutting locations.

FS 240 R
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 16reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bring back the 250 I have been working in the forestry industry in eastern British Columbia Canada for the last 14 years. Our company has always enjoyed the simplicity , dependability , and lightness of weight in the older 250 model . I was sadly disappointed in the new 240 model . They are hard to control because of the extra weight and more difficult to service, In the extreme work conditions we see working on steep hills in remote areas . I see no need for a bigger fuel tank as we can only carry so much fuel . All in all I prefer the older 250 model and wish it was still an option . September 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My second Stihl, next size up, former one lasted 20 years. My dealer, SAWS, in Tucker, GA is and has always been my source for yard equipment and I trust their judgment on all my purchases. September 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great power. This is the first Stihl product I have purchased. I have purchased others in the past and spent some money on the products. I got tired of it breaking down while I'm trying to do yard work at the house. A friend told me to look at Stihl so I did. I am just a home owner but like getting what you pay for. I have house, covered patio, front porch, sidewalk, shop, garden, well house, horse pen fence, a lot of trees and a 15' drainage ditch. It is a little heavier than my other one. It would take me about 3 to 31/2 hours with the other brand that I spent money on. Now I get it done in 2 to 21/2 hours. This 240 was not cheap but WOW! The power it has is remarkable. Since this purchase I have purchased a Stihl back pack sprayer and a 600 backpack blower. AWESOME PRODUCTS! September 19, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rediculously heavy replacement for the 250r. Having used a FS 250 R commercially every season for the last 10yrs, I was surprised when the dealer had said they were discontinued for the new FS 240 R. Which is just an awful replacement for a once beautiful product.It is so rear-heavy that all it wants to do is flop back. Holding it with one hand in and out of the truck is a constant strain on the wrist as you fight to keep it level. Trimming without a strap on causes much more fatigue than the 250r.The choke system is new and 'clicks' back once you pull or touch the trigger. Ideal as a new trimmer but as it ages, this will be very limiting taking away manual control from the choke, Plus it is just infuriating when you accidentally touch the throttle and have it undo the choke while trying to start it.Ours lasted 4 months before showing symptoms of a faulty coil. Turning off after a couple minutes of use. I really wish they would bring back the 250r. August 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Built to last. I've had my fs240r for a year now and use it often. It starts on the second pull of the cord every time just like the day I bought it. I've never had a problem with it and maintenance is easy and takes only a few minutes. I will never look at a different brand. Ive had the same experience with all my Stihl equipment. May 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 240 R is a brush shredding monster! I have been a part of the landscaping industry since I was a junior in HS all the way to currently, now as a landscape company owner.I have used just about every type of trimmer made. Stihl has always been the most reliable in my experiences and just takes a serious beating and can take some serious abuse as well. More than any other.I disagree with the other reviewer regarding the 240R vs 250R. I think the 240 eats the 250 for breakfast. I have probably owned 10 250's in my life and still run 2-3 of them. That's how good they are. They just won't quit. If I could find more parts for them I'd still be running all 10.The only thing that the 250 beats the 240 in may be power to weight ratio. I don't think there is anything else the 250 beats the 240 at. If you think the 250 has slightly better top end, try removing the spark arrester. Just saying, they usually coke up and cause terrible performance anyway. Just watch operating in dry conditions! The 250 is noticinly lighter and when trimming for 3 hours straight you will notice every ounce of that trimmer. Oh and the 250's exhaust will burn the bottom of your forearm if your not careful. Never had this problem with the 240 even after 3+ hours of continuous use. I'm sure all you veterans can attest. The 240 is a bit on the heavy side for younger less experienced employees but is the go to trimmer for any serious professional faced with higher than normal grass conditions. The 94R is a great lighter weight choice for a beginner or intermediate user in a professional setting OR if your shoulders/forearms just need a little break. May 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FS 240 R MY FRIEND IS VERY HAPPY WITH HIS FS 240 R, HE FOUND THE LOOP HANDLE WORKS BEST FOR HIM AS HE IS 6'-5'' TALL. HE FOUND HE CAN RUN FOR SEVERAL HOURS AND HAS VERY LITTLE BACK PAIN AFTER USING. HE HAS HAD OTHER TRIMERS BUT SINCE HE BOUGHT THE STIHL HE WILL NEVER OWN ANY OTHER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! March 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by strong, cuts quick thru heavy brush The fs240r is strongly recommended for its quick cutting thru thick and heavy brush. It's the same as the fs240, but I go with the fs240r cause you can maneuver it around confortable unlike the 240 with the bike handle, very hard to maneuver it. 5 star rating October 30, 2015
2next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips