My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 240 R

A loop handle trimmer built to handle tough cutting locations.

Image of fs240r
FS 240 R is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for commercial use. Worst string trimmer I ever purchased. I bought 2 last spring and have had to have them fixed multiple times already. Nice trimmer when they are working but I'll never buy another. Shortest lifespan of a weed whip in my 16 years of business .Thank God they warranty these pieces of junk
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beast of a machine. I run a small two man operation and this thing is amazing. Our time spent trimming was reduced by half. We have cut down hay field hight grass and have yet to bog this thing down. Even with 70+ lawns a week this thing starts first pull each time. It is a little in the heavy side weighing in at 15lbs, makes for some sweet triceps though. If you want something serious as you are and will last being run at full throttle non stop, quit looking this is the machine you need.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid, powerful, trimmer for heavy-duty use If you're looking for a no-BS heavy duty trimmer then this is it! There are no bells and whistles here, just a well-built trimmer with a big engine.This is one of the few trimmers in the current Stihl line which is still a classic 2-stroke design. It does not have the 4-mix engine or M-tronic, which IMHO is a great thing: the simple design means there's less to go wrong and it's easy to work on when you have to. It also has excellent throttle response and performs great even at partial throttle, which makes it superior to the 4-mix designs in my experience. The 37.7cc engine is huge compared to most trimmers so it has plenty of power. Needless to say this is overkill for a small suburban yard but it excels if you are a pro landscaper or if you have a large rural property, farm, ranch, or otherwise need to do some heavy-duty cutting.Other reviewers have stated that this machine is heavy. In a way, that's true. It is certainly heavier than a standard trimmer. But I think that's missing the point--it's like buying a tow truck or tractor and complaining about its weight compared to the family sedan--of course heavy-duty, powerful, machinery is going to be heavier than its light duty counterpart. The real point is to ask yourself if the additional weight is justified. I think its power-to-weight ratio is incredibly good; given how much horsepower you get out of the 240 it's actually remarkably light. But make no mistakes, this thing is a beast. If you need to trim grass around grandma's tulips then this is not the machine for you. If, on the other hand, you need to cut lots of tough brush, thick heavy grass, or even saplings then the 240 will do it reliably. Cleaning up overgrown vacant lots, maintaining hiking trails, clearing for hunting/farming/etc is no problem for this machine. Select the right cutting head or blade and you can cut everything from grass to small trees.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine for COMMERCIAL use As far as I know this is the most powerful trimmer Stihl offers. I do 50-55 lawns a day and this thing will not quit. It is designed for daily, repeated use. I saw someone say they bought this for their home. That is not what this machine is made for. It also requires top end gas with low ethanol and premium synthetic oil, and the gas shouldn’t exceed 30 days old. If you bought this machine for your residential home and are complaining you should have bought a 70 and not a 240. Love Stihl, very costly but well worth it.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quit whining! Yes its heavy. It's an heavy duty trimmer this thing is a beast! If you're whining about the it being heavy use the FS94r. The FS240 is for the big stuff not for going around mamas tulips. It would be the same thing as driving a Corvette throw golf cart trail. If your just doing your home it's not for you to big the FS94r is what you need. The FS94r and FS240r are two stroke they have better throttle control " low rpm working speed" Stihl 100% the way to go just get the right tool for your needs.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from High power, unreliable Bought this unit for use at my home. Bought the high dollar unit because I figured it would last longer. I use it approximately 90 minutes every time I do my yar d. It is mainly used around trees and buildings and along approximately 400 feet of culvert.It has tons of power don't doubt that at all, it cuts bricks to pieces and splinters them into your shins in a blink! Lol My problem was after 8-9 months of about every other week use at my house only, the clutches froze up. And then when it went in to be fixed they found several other issues including a fuel line that is "gummy" so in order to replace that apparently it takes an act of god to get that one part. My 240 has been gone s month and they don't expect the part for 2-3 weeks! Buy 2 cheap ones and replace them as they break. It will be less headaches in the long run.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome machine to say the least This is a wonderful machine and cuts through grass like butter. Although I do have to mention the weight of the machine is quite heavy and after all day it's a little tiring, but a great product all around.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect heavy grass trimmer I've had my 240R for 3 years now and it's never failed to start and it's lasted and did it's job excellent. I've used it weekly and sometimes more every mowing season. It does get a little heavy after a little while using it but I'll deal with the weight to get the power. The only thing I have done to this thing is gut and dual port the muffler like I do on everything. Gives it 2x the cutting power.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth EVERY Penny!! I got a job working for the City of Pikeville here in KY & it's where I was introduced to the 240 & let me say this, if it can handle the torture we put them through, then they can handle anything!. I just recently started my own Lawn Care service after working for another for a while. He used the 250 but the 240 is just as good if not better, The only problem I've heard people complain about is the weight but if you're cutting everyday like me, then you'll get used to the weight. I grease my head 1 time a week & even go as far as taking a wire brush to clean the shaft & head. My 240 looks like it did the day I bought it & it's used everyday! Stihls are KING in my neck of the woods & experience tells me as long as you keep it greased & actually take care of your equipment then it will last you as long as you want it to. Anything is vulnerable to mess up without proper care. Long story short, if you're looking to buy a great dependable, powerful machine that you plan to use commercially & will cut anything you put it in then buy the 240, it's a beast!
Date published: 2017-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excilent Trimmer I bought my 240R two months ago to replace my FS85T. This thing is a beast it doesn't stop when I have thick tall grass to cut through. The head holds a decent amount of string and the fuel economy is impressive for a trimmer of this size. The only con I can think of is weight of the trimmer. It does weigh 15lbs but they did provide a strap which helps some when walking across a large yard from tree to tree. Over all a great buy and I look forward to getting another.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a beast. This is about one of the best trimmer that they make i would never by any other trimmer. i love it i have never had a problem with it, when you get out there you can cut down about any thing from grass to trees, if you looking for a trimmer and your landscaper you need to look into the fs-240
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product has a lot of power but is unreliable. I purchased a FS 90 R and FS 110 R which is very nice light weight with decent power. I wanted to upgrade and I got the FS 240R. It has a lot of power which is nice but I only had it for a few months. One day I am working as usual about to start a job and I couldn't pull the string. I take it to the dealer I bought it from because only a few months old, I still have a warranty. They tore it apart and told me the bearings were damaged which I couldn't understand because I stay away from the rev limiter and I am pretty good about my mix and primarily using quality gas. My shop contacted Stihl and they sent the parts so my weed eater can be serviced. Buyer beware I question the quality of this device.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring back the 250 I have been working in the forestry industry in eastern British Columbia Canada for the last 14 years. Our company has always enjoyed the simplicity , dependability , and lightness of weight in the older 250 model . I was sadly disappointed in the new 240 model . They are hard to control because of the extra weight and more difficult to service, In the extreme work conditions we see working on steep hills in remote areas . I see no need for a bigger fuel tank as we can only carry so much fuel . All in all I prefer the older 250 model and wish it was still an option .
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My second Stihl, next size up, former one lasted 20 years. My dealer, SAWS, in Tucker, GA is and has always been my source for yard equipment and I trust their judgment on all my purchases.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great power. This is the first Stihl product I have purchased. I have purchased others in the past and spent some money on the products. I got tired of it breaking down while I'm trying to do yard work at the house. A friend told me to look at Stihl so I did. I am just a home owner but like getting what you pay for. I have house, covered patio, front porch, sidewalk, shop, garden, well house, horse pen fence, a lot of trees and a 15' drainage ditch. It is a little heavier than my other one. It would take me about 3 to 31/2 hours with the other brand that I spent money on. Now I get it done in 2 to 21/2 hours. This 240 was not cheap but WOW! The power it has is remarkable. Since this purchase I have purchased a Stihl back pack sprayer and a 600 backpack blower. AWESOME PRODUCTS!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Rediculously heavy replacement for the 250r. Having used a FS 250 R commercially every season for the last 10yrs, I was surprised when the dealer had said they were discontinued for the new FS 240 R. Which is just an awful replacement for a once beautiful product. It is so rear-heavy that all it wants to do is flop back. Holding it with one hand in and out of the truck is a constant strain on the wrist as you fight to keep it level. Trimming without a strap on causes much more fatigue than the 250r.The choke system is new and 'clicks' back once you pull or touch the trigger. Ideal as a new trimmer but as it ages, this will be very limiting taking away manual control from the choke, Plus it is just infuriating when you accidentally touch the throttle and have it undo the choke while trying to start it.Ours lasted 4 months before showing symptoms of a faulty coil. Turning off after a couple minutes of use. I really wish they would bring back the 250r.
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last. I've had my fs240r for a year now and use it often. It starts on the second pull of the cord every time just like the day I bought it. I've never had a problem with it and maintenance is easy and takes only a few minutes. I will never look at a different brand. Ive had the same experience with all my Stihl equipment.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 240 R is a brush shredding monster! I have been a part of the landscaping industry since I was a junior in HS all the way to currently, now as a landscape company owner. I have used just about every type of trimmer made. Stihl has always been the most reliable in my experiences and just takes a serious beating and can take some serious abuse as well. More than any other.I disagree with the other reviewer regarding the 240R vs 250R. I think the 240 eats the 250 for breakfast. I have probably owned 10 250's in my life and still run 2-3 of them. That's how good they are. They just won't quit. If I could find more parts for them I'd still be running all 10.The only thing that the 250 beats the 240 in may be power to weight ratio. I don't think there is anything else the 250 beats the 240 at. If you think the 250 has slightly better top end, try removing the spark arrester. Just saying, they usually coke up and cause terrible performance anyway. Just watch operating in dry conditions! The 250 is noticinly lighter and when trimming for 3 hours straight you will notice every ounce of that trimmer. Oh and the 250's exhaust will burn the bottom of your forearm if your not careful. Never had this problem with the 240 even after 3+ hours of continuous use. I'm sure all you veterans can attest. The 240 is a bit on the heavy side for younger less experienced employees but is the go to trimmer for any serious professional faced with higher than normal grass conditions. The 94R is a great lighter weight choice for a beginner or intermediate user in a professional setting OR if your shoulders/forearms just need a little break.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FS 240 R MY FRIEND IS VERY HAPPY WITH HIS FS 240 R, HE FOUND THE LOOP HANDLE WORKS BEST FOR HIM AS HE IS 6'-5'' TALL. HE FOUND HE CAN RUN FOR SEVERAL HOURS AND HAS VERY LITTLE BACK PAIN AFTER USING. HE HAS HAD OTHER TRIMERS BUT SINCE HE BOUGHT THE STIHL HE WILL NEVER OWN ANY OTHER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from strong, cuts quick thru heavy brush The fs240r is strongly recommended for its quick cutting thru thick and heavy brush. It's the same as the fs240, but I go with the fs240r cause you can maneuver it around confortable unlike the 240 with the bike handle, very hard to maneuver it. 5 star rating
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from new legendary Fs240r replace old legendary fs250 This new legendary Fs240r based on fs360 by engine displacement and hp which mean 21% more power than fs130r that based on fs310 and 8% more power than old legendary fs250. This is perfect for any heavy duty such extremely overgrown and thick grasses and side walk or road curved that need to edged., weeds, brushes, any kind of situations like big or huge yard, forest, plain fields, or whatever. this is very reliable, and dependable. Very happy with this new bad boy.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eats String FAST This unit starts great, has great power, and needs the line completely restrung with every use. What a pain. I'm looking for a string replacement of some sort to make the unit even remotely usable.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer this trimmer is a very nice trimmer. Very well built , great quality and very comfortable to operate. Lots of power. Worth every penny. But it's not the Stihl fs 250 R. The 250 was a true power house. This 240 is close but not the 250. The 240 is lacking the top end of what the 250 R had. Stihl replaced the 250 R with this 240 R. Overall all its meant to last and is very powerful and you can't go wrong buying this 240 R. Btw it is made in Germany . Great German quality .
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great power I have a little weed eater brand at home for light trimming. I used the 240 of my neighbors on a pretty big job the other day. I was very impressed by the performance of the machine. The power is unbelievable and it is very easy to start and use.
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Powerful Trimmer! Ive used the 90 series and 110 for my lawn company for years but got the 240 cause it wasnt too much more and the 90 wasnt keeping up with how fast i wanted to walk while edging. The 240 gives me a deep edge at half throttle while i sprint backwards! I didnt realize how much difference and how much faster i can get a yard done with a more powerful trimmer till now. Im really amazed by this trimmer!
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best! This trimmer is amazing ! Starts easily ever time, very powerful.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I've used this product several times since my purchase. I feel as though it is one of my best purchases to date. I will be a returning customer to the STIHL product line up.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features because it makes a very efficient and fast and helps me do better profeccional and customers feel better satisfied and rested
Date published: 2013-11-17
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs240r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl