My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 131 R

A professional loop-handle trimmer that delivers incredible performance, long run times and a simplified starting procedure.

FS 131 R
FS 131 R is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Brush Cutter I use this cutter multiple hours almost daily. I manage 27 preserves with multiple trails and have found the quick attachment to be useful when switching heads on the fly from cutting grass to shrubs. The product is new and still in its first season but its handled the heavy use nicely. The weight is spot on for longer hikes into the woods to clear hard to access parts of the trail.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't let the nit picky reviews bother you! I am in the business for decades. I have gone through to many trimmers to keep track of. It is not a two stroke so it has different charactistics. If it throws rocks in your hands that's your falt. Mine starts with out priming or choking it and idles really smooth probably my favorite trimmer ever
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Line feed is unreliable Overall its ok. The biggest issue is the line feed. It seems to heat up with continuous use. Its like it melts inside the head. I just bought it and it takes way longer to accomplish the same task due to having to stop and take the bump head apart and fix the line
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FS131-R: Big power, has some shortcomings My 1987 FS66 handlebar unit wouldn't start on it's 30th birthday. Time for a replacement. I wanted more power and got it! I trim an average of 2 hours weekly. Like other reviewers, I don't like how this unit runs. I can feather it around 3/4 throttle to get it running smooth. Full throttle brings bogged down missing of the engine. Very undesirable. My pet peeve is this trimmer head. It LITERALLY holds 10 feet of .095" line. I am constantly reloading this thing. I don't know any pro using this daily that will tolerate this. Zero stars here folks. Another reviewer commented on it being the rock thrower. Completely correct. The line cutting shroud is way too short. You simply get covered in grass (or rocks) with this. I asked the dealer to order an Auto cut head and longer shroud like I have on the FS66 model. The dealer talked me out of handlebar unit. This unit has a 10 lb. head and the shoulder strap just doesn't do it for me. Especially with all the long ditches I cut. Pay attention to this if you are shopping these units. Overall, I like the power. Honestly, I am frustrated and really disappointed I bought this model.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FS131-R Awesome Machine I have read the reviews about the "2 speeds" idol and Full throttle with no ability to progressively feather the throttle and I was honestly a bit concerned about using it. I bought it on the advice of my dealer and can happily report that the throttle is easily feathered and very progressive. I stepped up from a 2-Cycle to the FS131R and I love it. It's delicate enough to get into sensitive areas and has loads of torque to handle the tough stuff. This machine is a home run! Right power, right quality, right service, and right price. Couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beast but no slow speed The trimmer has more than enough power. Fuel consumption is fair for the power you get. The only complaint I have is the thing has no slow speed it's all or none this is a rock throwing machine!!
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine! Great machine! Simply awesome power. I have both the FS 250 and FS 240. Wanted something with the power of both but lower weight than the 240, now that the 250 is no longer available. 2.5 lbs less than the 240 and $200 cheaper. I could tell no difference in top end power. Because of lower weight I could run it all day without getting fatigued. Now, because of 4-stroke it does only run all-out. No real slowing it down. But for big, wide-open jobs, this is your machine. For smaller, or tighter jobs, go with a smaller model. But this 131r will mow down heavy grass and reeds all day without any effort. I used the poly blades, which made it even easier. Also starts easier than the 250 or 240.I was in love with it by the end of the day.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The little go-kart turned trimmer When Stihl discontinued the 250R and replaced it with the 240 R behemoth I went in search of a suitable replacement. The 130 R has impressive power to weight ratio and looked promising.The reduction in weight was nice and the go-kart like sound of the new style engines made me laugh the first time i started it. It felt like it has 90% of the power of the model up, the 240R.The main complaint I have about this trimmer is it does not have a very linear power band like the old trimmers and has a very narrow sweet spot for everyday grass trimming. When you press the trigger in a bit, it can barely trim anything, push it in a hair more and it spins at a rock-launching mach 3 full speed. The remaining 90% of the trigger movement does not appear to add anymore power or speed.The clutch can be clunky depending on the position it stops in and it does not like being upside down when invert trimming gardens as you will hear other clunking and pinging notices as it engages.When walking with the trimmer at idle, the rpms jump up and down significantly with every step making you wonder how sturdy things are inside compared to their older trimmers.The new trigger is no longer part of the hand grip but a piece of thin breakable plastic. It feels like it sticks farther out and is more fatiguing on the finger keeping it farther from the hand grip. I think this trigger style contributes to the lack of variance in throttle and its touchy nature.I have some trouble starting it on colder mornings but it eventually goes.I think with some minor design tweaks this trimmer could be a real winner. It's defiantly more delicate than prior trimmers, from the trigger right down to the pull cord grip, so treat it with care. It should get me through the year but am eager for more revisions!
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drove over it with my tractor This unit would not bog down. Cut a lot of weeds 4 to 5 foot. I put it in my tractor; front loader. It flew out and I ran it over. My tractor weighs about 3200 pounds. It slightly cracked the case surrounding the motor. It fired right up. You pay for what you get. Buy it.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A big step up for me, from typical low cost big store trimmers I'm near 70 years old, and wasn't sure I could physically swing a heavier "pro" trimmer like my new LS 131 R. (I've always purchased smaller, lighter, cheaper trimmers.) Big surprise when I first used this Stihl as, even at a few pounds heavier, it is so well balanced that I spent the first five minutes just hand holding it (with no shoulder strap) — but of course using the supplied strap is more comfortable in the long run. A real treat to me was how well the extra horsepower is put to use cutting my two acres+ of thick grass and weeds. Big surprise too at how well it cut the newer blackberry bush sprouts. (With the right head I think it will do OK on any part of a blackberry bush.) Add to that the overall quality (which I already knew about from my Stihl chainsaw) and it's well worth the cost for me, over weaker, lighter trimmers.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this machine oozes unbelievable mega power what a machine it's unbelievable the power this thing has it almost makes 130R look like a joke just got it yesterday evening did a little testing did good and did some more testing in alot higher thicker weeds and only used 1/4 throttle and it went through it with ease no boggin down whatsoever im highly impressed and satisfied with this machine i also like the rubberised loop handle it's alot more comfortable than it is on the 130R the bigger fuel capacity is also a big selling point to me and is slightly lighter than the 130R but my one complaint is the short throttle trigger stihl should've kept the throttle trigger from the previous models on this one otherwise an outstanding machine worth every penny im gonna soon get the 36-2 head and put either .118 or .130 string in it and see what it can really do get this machine you wont regret it
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great name, poor performance It's hard to start when cold. Unless you are running full throttle, it stalls out and boggs out. I am only trimming around my house and it's hard for it to run even doing that. I thought that I was buying a good quality item, I was mistaken!
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beast An exceptional upgrade from my FS130R. Powerful with much torque to get the job done efficiently and quickly, especially in grass, tough grass, weeds, and brush. A bit lighter than the 130R and a slightly largeer fuel tank as well.Starts quickly with little to no effort.Cannot ask for better trimmer than this one and I have owned a few like Echo (my second choice), Toro, Troy-Built and such...etc.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boss trimmer! This thing is the Mack daddy!!! I love it. Only complaint is that stihl trimmers load dumb af
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unleash the Beast!!! Really nice upgrades without price increase.Stihl super powerful and torquey. This one has a rev limiter on it to protect it but disappears when under load. Lot easier to work with or may I say simpler. Turn choke on - pull to start -hit throttle choke pops off automatically . Just push the button to stop. I use my fs90r for just about anything green stemmed, grass, weeds but when it gets tough I move up to the eliminators below:My FS130r was just to powerful it ate up orange .095 and burgundy line .105 in the 25 - 2 autocut so I strictly use it with Stihl's 3 blade brush knfe (mean combination) briars, inch trees, thick weeds.and vines. i bought the FS 131r to use with the new larger autocut 36-2 and the thicker .130 line. Well I have to say, this is a mean combination heavy weed and small woody weeds. Very little breakage and handle the power a lot better.The new Autocut 36-2 is made like the 25-2 but heavy duty and bigger. The buttons to release the top to get to the spool is a little easier to get to. I had to give the Fs131r a 5 for dependablity based on the performance of the fs130r. I will review this one again in the fall 2017 if there are any problems of dependability but right now she is a beast..
Date published: 2017-02-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs131r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips