My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 131

An improved and powerful bike-handle trimmer made for professional use, featuring great power and efficiency.

FS 131
FS 131 is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from every bit as good and powerful as its loop handled brother ive had this thing a week now and it's a good one as good and powerful as the 131 R which i also have i can take wider swaths with it than i can with a loop handle model im now on the 7th tank of gas and it should reach full power by the 15th as stated in the manual ive not had to run a blade on it or the R model and probably wont have to except for the most extreme cuttin jobs i have 2 small gripes with it and that is 1. it does have some slight vibration in the right handle although it isnt much stihl needs to fix this on any future models built 2. is that handlebar clamp setup for the love of god stihl go back to the 4 bolt setup or redesign this setup to where it actually grips the handlebars and stays tight it never stays tight and always vibrates loose due to the vibration of it but overall other than those two gripes it is a pretty good machine and i do highly reccomend it and i still wish that stihl would bring over the fs 94 with the handlebars from australia but like always stihl never ever listens to customers wishes A REPLY TO THIS WOULD BE NICE STIHL
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consumer delight This trimmer fits the true definition of consumer delight. It exceeded my expectations. Prior to purchasing the Stihl FS 131 at Bobcat of Ottertail County my experience with weed trimmers was not positive. Between engines not lasting very long, running poorly and starting hard after six months to a year, and designs that made reloading the line spool difficult, I had accepted that a gas weed trimmer meant frustration with a product that wouldn't ever perform well. The Stihl FS 131 starts easy, is easy to use and comfortable, runs smooth with plenty of power, and the EZ Spool system is great (but an adder when you buy it). I recommend moving up from the FS 91 to the FS 131. For another $40, you get 37% more horsepower with the same weight machine, plus you get an upgraded, more comfortable body harness. It's well worth the money to make this upgrade, but even more worth the money to stay away from the Sears store and visit a Stihl dealer that offers great support. The warranty is also something I didn't expect--four years if you use the Stihl premium oil.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farm owner, this machine gets a weekly workout I have used this machine for trimming around my home and will be using it to clear brush on our farm. So far it has been pretty easy to use. The harness is comfortable enough and distributes the weight of the machine well. I am female and do not have a lot of upper body strength. After the dealer adjusted the engine for me it pretty much starts on a single pull. The only complaint I have is that the choke symbol and run symbol on the machine look almost alike. I had to really inspect the two symbols to discern one from the other. I ended up marking them myself with different colors of nail polish until I could remember which was which.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great works better then all trimmers i have had in the past
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trimmer This trimmer is outstanding. I use it both as a trimmer and as a brush cutter with the optional brush cutting blade. Still starts easy after a year of use and it continues to make plenty of power. Stihl products are not inexpensive however, quality is second to none.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getter done I waited for this trimmer to hit my dealer. Actually ordered it. My 1st time with a handlebar Weedwhacker. Got line feeder ,brush knife and brush saw.All performed excellent with great gas time. I recommend face guard helmet with brush knife especially. I have owned a few Stihl products for over 30 years and they all still work.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute beast Normally don't write reviews on stuff, but bought this beast today and couldn't be more thrilled. Absolute power house is the only way to describe it. I left dependability at 4 due to not having it for very long and not knowing how it will act in the coming months. Very impressed that it started on the first pull as soon as I put gas in it.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done, back saver I just got this one, I have a 130 as well. The 130 is used for a short pole saw and hedge trimmer, the 131 is used as a trimmer. I got this one as it has handles and a harness and that is a real back saver. I can use it for hours with out any back pain. It has enough power to get the job done without being too heavy. I use the string trimmer, the grass blade and the brush blade with it.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and use I bought this one to replace one that was 25 years old. It is even easier to use than the old one. Does an excellent job on brush and high grass.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice replacement for my FS250 I worked an FS250 to death over five years. That was an amazing machine. To replace that great unit, I chose between the FS240 and the new 131. I picked a reduction in power to try the 131 for the brush cutting and trail maintenance work I'm doing a lot. I'm really liking how easily the 131 starts. The best part is the drop of more than 2 pounds compared to the slightly more powerful 240/250. I'm really pleased with how much my body prefers the lower amount of weight on the 131, with only an 18% drop in power. I also don't see the need to use ear plugs in addition to the regular forestry helmet ear muffs with the 131 because of the big drop in noise. I used plugs and muffs with the 250. Looks like Stihl has done another good job innovating to come up with a new machine.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best out there My friend let me borrow his after telling him I would never spend that much on a weed eater. After using his, I went and bought my own. It's worth every penny. I have the brush blade as well. This has saved me countless hours on working on cheap machines. It's easy to run and use. Keep it maintained and there won't be any issues.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer/cutter! We are clearing out pesky Buckthorn on our land. I already had a previous trimmer from Stihl, but I wanted to add the bush knife attachment with an approved model. This one did the trick and it takes down the Buckthorn very effortlessly.My girlfriend, who is very tiny, spent hours using this thing on the weeds and Buckthorn with no complaints.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from That is Awesome. Cool thanks again for the product, Stihl company. From Landon Dickerson
Date published: 2017-02-23
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs131, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips