Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 130 R

Newer class of heavy-duty professional trimmers. Very good power-to-weight ratio.

FS 130 R
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 81reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A 4 yr owner of this equipment I've had this piece of equipment for 4 yrs and no problems at all high grass too low grass no problem!!!!! May 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tool time winner I've burned through string trimmers about annually buying big box store inventory. A year ago I got the FS 130 and it looks like I found a keeper. After a year of hard work it's a quick starting powerhouse , and the Stihl dealership is the best equipment operation I've dealt with. Had to get a valve adjusted recently and the repair - tuneup session was reasonable. If you are frustrated with the lightweight consumer trimmers, toss them and move up to the heavy duty trimmers like this one. May 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by POWER If you want power to do what ever you want with out hesitation, this is the machine. I use the brush knife most of the time on it and I do some weed eating in very high grass. Easy to start and handle. This Trimmer doesn't no the definition of back down. Great product. I sold most of my lesser product X brands this year tired of the yanking not starting or bogging down. I am so glad Stihl has such good products with new technology it makes my job so much easier. No more loss of time and less maintenance (none so far). I use the FS90r 's for yard and edging fence lines. May 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful and dependable trimmer! Love my new trimmer. It's amazing and starts with ease. Got a four year warranty on it. It's a bit heavy after using for a long time, but not too exhausting. I ll deal with the extra weight for the extra power. It's like having a sports car and worrying about bad gas mileage. I would rather "drive" a Corvette and fill up as need. The price is higher than I wanted to pay, but I am satisfied with this product. Weed eating is work and the last thing I want to do is work on a trimmer or have it bog down taking even longer to complete work. May 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good trimmer for heavier applications Great trimmer for heaved grass and weeds. Works great in creek banks. I also bought a brush blade with it and the trimmer cuts through everything with ease. January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most powerful weedeater, you can still call a "trimmer". I finally shelled out the money 3 years ago because I was tired of limping along with my old trimmer that just wouldn't completely die. I haven't looked back with ANY regrets.I have 3-4ac of pine trees, vines, and brush that had gotten out of control. I bought the brush knife blade because string just wouldn't cut it and got to work. My first impression was AWESOME ! I quickly trimmed go-cart trail through the pine trees, reclaimed brier patches, and removed unwanted small persimon trees. With the blade you will easily cut through any grass, softwood branches <3" in dia., hardwood <2" in dia. with a single pass. If you don't force it, you can cut down much larger trees, by just bumping them a couple times. After trimming trees for an hour or so it does get heavy. The blade isn't a toy & not for around the home use.When you put the string head back on, watch out it doesn't bog down. The grass will fly or if it hits something solid string will break, but the motor won't stop. I achieve half-throttle by cycling the motor quickly, full, idle, full... Full throttle is overkill except for brush or 5 ft tall thick grass.3 years of heavy use and still going strong. I'm impressed! September 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good I can't lie and say it's great bc it's not just unbelievably better than my 110 I had stolen, but it is good. I will say it fires up on the first pull 9 outta 10 times which is great. The power just doesn't seem to be the jump I was expecting from the move up from my 110. I haven't tried any of my attachments on it yet but hoping it's better with the increased torque. September 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FS-130R Trimmer Best trimmer for clearing brush along driveways and fences. Enjoy Feeling the power of this beast in my hands. I can swing this with ease while people watch me across yard. They all stare when driving down our block hoping to see my STIHL FS-130R in Action. So Stop Waiting and buy this One of A Kind. September 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best (one head unit) multiple task tool you'll ever buy! 18, different attachments. I've had mine for going on 3 months, I have yet to have to choke it, starts on first pull every time. I run only 93 octane gas with stihl 2 cycle mix to stay away from ethonal altogether. My 130r is starting to break in and i can feel it gaining more HP EVERY time I use it. Gotta laugh because it already goes through anything I put it through . almost too much power, but to much is never to much. Honesty, this thing has POWER. Never had it bog down on me or stall. 4 year warranty, not even concerned that it will break down before that. I know engines and quality when I hear it and feel it. I was absolutely OCD about breaking it in properly and cleaning it after each use . I will be using this year round, even in snow, with the sweeper attachment. I absolutely love mine and plan on growing old together. LOL. Don't go wrong, this is the one . July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome trimmer!! This trimmer slices through grass without hesitation... It is a little heavier than the Fs100rx but the added weight is only because it is twice the machine the Fs100rx is and because it can handle the cutting blade attachments and the fs100rx cannot. I highly recommend this trimmer!! July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first Stihl product. I lug it for the Cemetery volunteer work I do I bought this 5 days ago and I pulled out one day just to see what it can do. Well .095, .105 can't handle it without getting broke or melting. But I just keep restring it and keep going. I have another professional brand I thought was a beast. No this is a trimmer on steroids for plain ole daily use. I will try and get a FS-100 or FS-94 for the Washington Park Cemetery maintainer. Ps I can't rate the dependability only owned it for 5 days July 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!!!! Cuts grass (which in my case was 6' tall) and anything else in its path with no problem. Does not get bogged down like my other weedeater, dept. store brand.Using the available metal cutting blade made work very easy.Although this weedeater was three times as much as my other weedeater, I would definitely recommend paying the extra $$$$ for the ease and time saving that you would get from using the FS 130R. July 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unreliable piece of junk I bought my FS130 Summer of 2014 and it ran like a champ for that summer. This summer it won't start. Checked the spark plug, gave it new fuel and it won't start. My previous gas powered weedeater ....different brand and much less expensive NEVER failed to start for 8 years. I paid 3 times as much for this FS130. So I paid more for a less reliable implement. I guess you don't always get what you pay for. I gave it 2 stars instead of one because when it runs its great ...but is no use to me if I can't get it started. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great powerful machine This weed eater is amazingly powerful. It eats anything and edges like a pro. I would highly recommend it for any ability use. It starts easily every time and I purchased it because my dad and best friend have had one as well and loved it. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Saver Have over 2 hillside ( 20 degree) acres of property that was overgrown with berry bushes small woody scrub, long grass, small sumac and weeds. Attempted to clear with with a top trimmer from the home goods store and finally gave up frustrated by snapped line, poor power and small footprint of the trimmer. It finally gave up the ghost in heavy grass and weeds. Bought a Stihl FS 130 R and have have been amazed at its' performance. Clearing took 16 hours, 10 tanks of gas and one reload of trimmer string. It starts easily on the second pull when cold and 1 pull warm. It and I both run out of gas at the same time but it has given me a much needed improvement in quality of life since I enjoy the exercise I get and the pride of a good looking property. June 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Its got plenty of power I have had a few problems about getting it to run after the engine is cold. The day I brought it home from Ace Hardware I had cranking issues. Took it back to Ace Hardware and they pulled on it for 5 minutes before it cranked.. This isn't my first trimmer, I have had about 5 or 6 trimmers.Once you get this trimmer running its got all kinds of power, you can't bog it down. I got several yards that I mow and do trim work for people and it does a great job. Its got more torque than any trimmer that I have ever owned. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful I'm a semi pro. We run a small law care business but have ran stihl for years. I use to buy the residential models and finally decided to co bigger. I first bought the FS100RX loved the power to weight on that machine. The latest addition was a FS130R omg the power of this machine was mind blowing over the FS100RX was substantial more. My employees say the will pack the extra weight for the power and do so when they don't really need it. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazed at this Every stihl trimmer I have has been great but this one just may be the best.First off it starts on the first or second pull everytime.But what amazes me most is for all the power it has is that it is also light,balanced and nearly vibration free.With most trimmers when you get up in this cc range you just have to deal with the weight,bulkiness and vibration,Its just a give and take with trimmers.But not so here,I dont even use the shoulder strap.And did I mention power?Dear lord if you could see the grin on my face as this thing just rips through overgrown weeds.You can actually feel in your hands that torque kick in when you pull that throttle.Overall I would call the fs130 the best trimmer ive ever used and thats saying alot June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The beast I have 5 acres of all mowable and trimmable yard with a ditch and a lot of trees. This bad boy eats and eats and and never gets full. I look forward to weed eating now. Tons of torque and power...so much so, I feel more American when I'm running it. Never bogs down, never let's up. Buy this trimmer and you'll be able to grill more meat and drink more beer because you're going to spend a lot less time trimming. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by this thing is a ripper Had the FS50 and it was okay. Had a couple problems with it and looked into getting something more powerful and durable for brush. The FS130R is a Beast. Suits all my needs and more. A little overkill for what I do, trimming, edging and cutting but I'll never buy anything else but a Stihl. I have an .038 Magnum chainsaw I purchased in 1992 that is Stihl going strong. Very satisfied with this purchase. May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Trimmer! Lots of Torque I purchased the FS 130 R trimmer and like it. Because it is the 4 stroke engine it does not rev as fast as a 2 stroke, but has tons of torque. It starts on the first pull every time and is very fuel efficient. My brother is a big echo guy and his does not start on the first pull. This one does. It is limited only by the string on the head and cuts anything in its path. Sometimes when I hit a sapling with the line, it will break the line rather than stall the engine. If you want lots of torque, get this trimmer. In the pros department, it starts easily and has lots of torque with way less vibration than a 2 stroke. The only cons are that it is a bit heavier (it is one of the larger engines) and it uses 89+ octane fuel. The higher octane keeps it running cooler as the engine does get kind of hot when running it for long periods of time. I went back and forth on exactly which trimmer to get and settled on this one. I am glad I made the purchase. May 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer I have a 42 acre homesite in eastern nc with a 50 acre puppy traing pen to train my hounds so I have a lot of triming around fences and ditch banks around the property and by far it has been the best money I have every spent along with some good round up in a backpack sprayer you can maintain a lot of acres. I have always used their chainsaws and I have one of their saws that my dad owned and I still use it regularly to this day and it is over 30yrs old. Do not waste your money on a echo trimmer I have owned 2 in the last 16 yrs and don't get me wrong they are great trimmers but this TRIMMER IS A DIFFERENT BEAST!!! You will not be disappointed and I read a lot of reviews on how cold nature the engine is cranking but I personally have not had a issue except for the very first start which takes a few pulls but after that fires up on the first pull when warmed up. Guys in my pros I'm checking that is light trimmer and I would like the reviewer to understand that it is very light for the time of trimmer with the torque and power. By far it is not the lightest trimmer you can buy just in that class. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest lawn tool you'll find. Got it home, hooked up the string trimmer, pumped the primer 5 times, put the choke on put the lever on start,3 rd pull it fired right up.took it through some heavy grass and it went through it like it wasn't there! You can't go wrong with this one. Do yourself a favor and quit looking around and buy a quality tool and get this one.cannot go wrong ! and as long as you treat it right you'll have this for years. 4 year warranty on mine.and buying it was a pleasure, you are treated as if you were buying a new car.personal salesman were you sit at a desk and fill out paperwork as you should when you are buying quality. STOP LOOKING, THIS IS THE ONE. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great! Great power don`t buy the 240 it has pretty much the same power but way more expensive. The head works great. need to start at least 10 times before it starts first pull. Before that if it is hot it will not start easily. The line dose not break off easily as long as you bump it when needed. Three foot grass is no problem. Three foot and really thick no problem. Takes 2 hours to break in muffler. Great machine! May 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by owned for 4 months and had to replaced the carb under warranty hard to use line brakes off inside the cutter head April 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by great machine other than Chinese carb!! I've owned this FS 130 R for about 4 or 5 years, after the first year I have had to remove the carburetor and blow out all of the jets and holes to make it run, after I do that it runs ok until I let it set for more than 2 weeks, it will start usually, but will not idle or accelerate with out hesitation, I've tried adjusting it out, but after about a half hour of no change, I remove the carb and start over again, I've replaced the tank filter thinking it may be picking up something from the tank. I find it hard to believe that Stihl would make a machine of this quality and then put a cheap china carb on it. We have 3 attachments for it, the weed eater, the blower, and the hedge trimmer. I own 3 Stihl chain saws, 038 pro, 041, and 028, and have never had this problem they start and run the same after 6 mo's of sitting. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 130 R trimmer Great Machine This is by far the best trimmers on the market. Super quaitly machine. I use it tomaintain 6 acres and use it at Deer Camp. Its a shame that Sthil Dont make underware. I would ware them. December 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fuel efficient and light. Does it get better? These machines are replacing Stihl FS250Rs in the fleet of right of way equipment. They feel the same in terms of power, but it's definitely harder to stall this machine. It's a torque monster, and it will keep spinning until it runs out of fuel. I wouldn't want this as a thinning saw, though, even if it had bicycle handles. It just doesn't have enough power. I'll take my FS450 for that.These machines are some of the most fuel efficient trimmers ever made. I can run this machine for an hour and not run out of fuel, and the fuel tank is tiny! I can run for three ten hour days on two gallons of mixed fuel. They are also a lot quieter and don't "whine" like a two stroke motor. It makes for a much happier operator at the end of the day... If there is a happy operator who runs a brushcutter for sixty hours a week...I use the AutoCut 30-2 head with .130 square line and sometimes a tri-blade brush knife, and it's hard to stop. These are truly ideal in tight spots like around culverts where a bike handled machine would be unwieldy. The handle is great, too. The handles on these are the best trimmer handles that have ever been on a machine like these. The ones on the FS240R are too narrow, they're like the FS70, which for anything other than trimming biweekly lawns is a terrible piece of equipment-but it's a great lawn trimmer. The machine has a great power to weight ratio, too. The 4-Mix idea is a fantastic one, but it's more difficult to adjust and do PMs on the machine than the older two-strokes. As is the M-Tronic carburetor. It's a great idea, but I can't adjust machine easily. Having to adjust the valves is a pain, but I'll take that for a machine that is so, so much more fuel efficient than the older models. The throttle is plenty featherable- if you open up the low side of the carb a little. They are a bit picky about the fuel you run through them, though. Run premium, high octane, ethanol free gas with HP Ultra and you'll be fine.In the end, the FS130R is the best machine for anyone's money who needs a loop handle machine for heavy work. They flat out kill it, and will do the same to flower beds, while being more fuel efficient than any machine of their size. It's too much machine for a homeowner, but perfect for those who need the power. December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Handles the work load Our FS130 has 3 years of wildfire regeneration tree thinning on it now and shows no signs of giving up anytime soon. Hot or cold, wet or dry it pushes through and performs at 100% every time. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has a lots of power also light weight When you buy this make sure you get the blade kit for it at first I though they would be junk and break off boy was I wrong they has change my way off cutting they are the best on top of this product it has tons of power say good by to string. November 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips