My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 130 R

Newer class of heavy-duty professional trimmers. Very good power-to-weight ratio.

FS 130 R
FS 130 R is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 93.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power to Spare in thick weeds. I love this trimmer! I upgraded from a FS 110 R. It seems to have much more power. I like that they have changed the gas tank cap to a much simpler style. My FS 110 provided many years of trouble free service and I expect the same results from this FS 130 R. Stihl rocks!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from more power and torque than I ever expecyed Have been running a non Stihl Weedeater for 30yrs. A co-worker brought his new Stihl130 to work on Wed. Saturday I owned one. I have only used the Poly Head on it for cutting tall weeds and grass. It is so much fun running it that I have weedeated places that I have not cut before. Only problem that I had that wasn't really a problem was that my dealer didn't tell me it had rev limiter.Thought it was missing but it was rev limiter kicking in. Recommend this machine for anybody that is serious about weedeating.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not start regularly I have only been able to start this twice. I went back to the book several times and followed the procedure. this is my 4th Stihl product and the 1st time I have had that issue. I buy Stihl due to their reliability. as soon as I have time I will be going back to 4x4 country
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trimmer I have ever owned For years I "saved" money by buying cheap equipment from the big box stores. The fact is when I had to replace it every 3-5 yrs, I LOST money and some sanity by having to repair replace and fix it before I could use it. NO MORE. Stihl is the best product on the market and its dependability is worth every penny you pay for it. "Dont be fooled by a deal....buy a Stihl "
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power to spare I was tired of cheap trimmers with no power. The KM130R Kombi with trimmer has plenty of power, does not bog down. All parts look and feel solid, no loose or flimsy pieces. Starts every time with little effort. It also idles nicely. Cuts the grass very smoothly and the double line advances smoothly. My 13 yr old grandson can easily start and run it, although he needs the shoulder harness. I highly recommend this product. I'm going to buy the brush attachment next.
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mega mega mega power bought mine last month and ran it through its breakin period as stated in the manual it has put out some serious mega power from the start and got even better as ive used it i havent come across anything that it wont cut yet although ive never put a blade on it and taken it to the brush yet but then again ive never had to i use it mainly for when there's knarly hay sized stuff to cut but i do use it for lighter jobs too sometimes i use my 94r and 90 for just about all my smaller jobs i have to do it's well made has the power and those that have it im sure you all already know this but be careful when cuttin around rocks of any size because it will pick em up and throw em at ya lol for its size it's supirisingly light weight although as stated in another persons review the weight will weigh ya down after awhile but that's no biggy i highly recommend this machine
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful and smooth after break in period Bought the FS 130r to help me keep up with my yard and my father in law's yard. I thought there is not much about any motor I didn't know and went straight work with tool. It seemed hard to start and could have run a little smoother. After first job and being a little disappointed I read starting and running procedures. Do yourself a favor and go through manual before using product. Now it starts very good. Be careful not to over rev machine during beak in and after about 10 hours on machine and it is running smoother and smoother every time out. I can't wait to try it on some shooting lanes at camp. Finally a machine that exceeds expectations.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will never buy anything other than Stihl I'm 67 years old and have used every land clearing product made by every manufacture of those products, from trimmers/brusher cutters, chain saws, you name it, I used it.Until I bought the fs130r. I will never buy anything but Stihl products from now on.I have owned the fs130r for four years now and have worked it constantly during those years. It has never and I mean never failed to start on the first pull. This product has cut through every kind of brush outside of some larger saplings without any strain whatsoever. The fs130r is worth every penny I paid for it.One minor issue and is the only issue is I wish they had installed a larger gas tank.It is a non-stopping work horse.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FS 130R Great trimmer when they run. They eat carbs and they eat short blocks. The check valves go bad in the carbs, a gasket kit and rebuild won't fix it. It's not a ethanol issue , I only use ethanol free fuel. The cam pin sits in the block with no bushing, The pin eggs out the block and it's shortblock time. I have lost three engines so far. Two were warrantied, the other I bought even though come to find out later that it actually was still in the warranty period. The dealer told me it was out of warranty. After I lost the second engine I researched it myself. They claim they fixed the problem with the pins, I get about a year out of them. I won't buy another one if it happens again.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT I bought this machine because the cheap "Orange" one I bought at Lowe's was shooting oil out of the exhaust. This is the third one! When starting this machine for the first time which was the first pull I knew by the feel and sound this was going to be a new experience. I cut what normally takes an hour and a half to twenty five minutes.. This thing is a beast!! If you want to save time and have a great product go spend the money now!!!!I will buy only Stihl from now on!!
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does this thing have a Hemi ? Well, I'm pretty much blown away with how strong this thing is, and mine hasn't even made it through the first tank of gas ( which is good, it sips gas).With 4 pumps of the gas bulb and on choke, mine has fired up first pull every time. I did stall it once trying to rev it with full choke on ... it was a warm day anyway. So it warms up fast and you can feel the torque twist the unit if you rev it fast. Nothing will bog it down so far. I bought a cutter blade and will try that later this week. It's a well built machine. The bump feed works fine and the string is durable enough on grass but gets eaten up fast in rough brush.It never bogs, it's fast revving and almost too fast. The mid rpm takes practice because it likes to rev so fast. What I do it just give it enough trigger for a high idle and even there at a lower rpm it plows through grass without bogging. I blip the throttle on and off in heavier stuff and it works ok (still not as easy to modulate as a two stroke). It is No smoking either.... pretty clean burning even with mixing the oil.I do need to mention that I'm using ethenol free 91 octane gasoline and the Stihl synthetic oil... maybe that's why it starts first time every time. Putting quality gasoline and oil is the way to go, and really it's cheap considering how economical this unit is on fuel. Highly recommended if you really get into high end lawn equipment!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power So it was my plan to buy new push mower and a weed whip today. I did just that from Dupuies Small Engine. They just happen to have the big dog on display I bought it. Got it house 4 acres to mow. Lot to trim. This whip is a mini small Chevy ! Great power five stars! The only 2 things, Shoulder strap to short fuel tank could be larger.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A 4 yr owner of this equipment I've had this piece of equipment for 4 yrs and no problems at all high grass too low grass no problem!!!!!
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tool time winner I've burned through string trimmers about annually buying big box store inventory. A year ago I got the FS 130 and it looks like I found a keeper. After a year of hard work it's a quick starting powerhouse , and the Stihl dealership is the best equipment operation I've dealt with. Had to get a valve adjusted recently and the repair - tuneup session was reasonable. If you are frustrated with the lightweight consumer trimmers, toss them and move up to the heavy duty trimmers like this one.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from POWER If you want power to do what ever you want with out hesitation, this is the machine. I use the brush knife most of the time on it and I do some weed eating in very high grass. Easy to start and handle. This Trimmer doesn't no the definition of back down. Great product. I sold most of my lesser product X brands this year tired of the yanking not starting or bogging down. I am so glad Stihl has such good products with new technology it makes my job so much easier. No more loss of time and less maintenance (none so far). I use the FS90r 's for yard and edging fence lines.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful and dependable trimmer! Love my new trimmer. It's amazing and starts with ease. Got a four year warranty on it. It's a bit heavy after using for a long time, but not too exhausting. I ll deal with the extra weight for the extra power. It's like having a sports car and worrying about bad gas mileage. I would rather "drive" a Corvette and fill up as need. The price is higher than I wanted to pay, but I am satisfied with this product. Weed eating is work and the last thing I want to do is work on a trimmer or have it bog down taking even longer to complete work.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good trimmer for heavier applications Great trimmer for heaved grass and weeds. Works great in creek banks. I also bought a brush blade with it and the trimmer cuts through everything with ease.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most powerful weedeater, you can still call a "trimmer". I finally shelled out the money 3 years ago because I was tired of limping along with my old trimmer that just wouldn't completely die. I haven't looked back with ANY regrets.I have 3-4ac of pine trees, vines, and brush that had gotten out of control. I bought the brush knife blade because string just wouldn't cut it and got to work. My first impression was AWESOME ! I quickly trimmed go-cart trail through the pine trees, reclaimed brier patches, and removed unwanted small persimon trees. With the blade you will easily cut through any grass, softwood branches <3" in dia., hardwood <2" in dia. with a single pass. If you don't force it, you can cut down much larger trees, by just bumping them a couple times. After trimming trees for an hour or so it does get heavy. The blade isn't a toy & not for around the home use.When you put the string head back on, watch out it doesn't bog down. The grass will fly or if it hits something solid string will break, but the motor won't stop. I achieve half-throttle by cycling the motor quickly, full, idle, full... Full throttle is overkill except for brush or 5 ft tall thick grass.3 years of heavy use and still going strong. I'm impressed!
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good I can't lie and say it's great bc it's not just unbelievably better than my 110 I had stolen, but it is good. I will say it fires up on the first pull 9 outta 10 times which is great. The power just doesn't seem to be the jump I was expecting from the move up from my 110. I haven't tried any of my attachments on it yet but hoping it's better with the increased torque.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FS-130R Trimmer Best trimmer for clearing brush along driveways and fences. Enjoy Feeling the power of this beast in my hands. I can swing this with ease while people watch me across yard. They all stare when driving down our block hoping to see my STIHL FS-130R in Action. So Stop Waiting and buy this One of A Kind.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best (one head unit) multiple task tool you'll ever buy! 18, different attachments. I've had mine for going on 3 months, I have yet to have to choke it, starts on first pull every time. I run only 93 octane gas with stihl 2 cycle mix to stay away from ethonal altogether. My 130r is starting to break in and i can feel it gaining more HP EVERY time I use it. Gotta laugh because it already goes through anything I put it through . almost too much power, but to much is never to much. Honesty, this thing has POWER. Never had it bog down on me or stall. 4 year warranty, not even concerned that it will break down before that. I know engines and quality when I hear it and feel it. I was absolutely OCD about breaking it in properly and cleaning it after each use . I will be using this year round, even in snow, with the sweeper attachment. I absolutely love mine and plan on growing old together. LOL. Don't go wrong, this is the one .
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome trimmer!! This trimmer slices through grass without hesitation... It is a little heavier than the Fs100rx but the added weight is only because it is twice the machine the Fs100rx is and because it can handle the cutting blade attachments and the fs100rx cannot. I highly recommend this trimmer!!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first Stihl product. I lug it for the Cemetery volunteer work I do I bought this 5 days ago and I pulled out one day just to see what it can do. Well .095, .105 can't handle it without getting broke or melting. But I just keep restring it and keep going. I have another professional brand I thought was a beast. No this is a trimmer on steroids for plain ole daily use. I will try and get a FS-100 or FS-94 for the Washington Park Cemetery maintainer. Ps I can't rate the dependability only owned it for 5 days
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!!! Cuts grass (which in my case was 6' tall) and anything else in its path with no problem. Does not get bogged down like my other weedeater, dept. store brand.Using the available metal cutting blade made work very easy.Although this weedeater was three times as much as my other weedeater, I would definitely recommend paying the extra $$$$ for the ease and time saving that you would get from using the FS 130R.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unreliable piece of junk I bought my FS130 Summer of 2014 and it ran like a champ for that summer. This summer it won't start. Checked the spark plug, gave it new fuel and it won't start. My previous gas powered weedeater ....different brand and much less expensive NEVER failed to start for 8 years. I paid 3 times as much for this FS130. So I paid more for a less reliable implement. I guess you don't always get what you pay for. I gave it 2 stars instead of one because when it runs its great ...but is no use to me if I can't get it started.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great powerful machine This weed eater is amazingly powerful. It eats anything and edges like a pro. I would highly recommend it for any ability use. It starts easily every time and I purchased it because my dad and best friend have had one as well and loved it.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver Have over 2 hillside ( 20 degree) acres of property that was overgrown with berry bushes small woody scrub, long grass, small sumac and weeds. Attempted to clear with with a top trimmer from the home goods store and finally gave up frustrated by snapped line, poor power and small footprint of the trimmer. It finally gave up the ghost in heavy grass and weeds. Bought a Stihl FS 130 R and have have been amazed at its' performance. Clearing took 16 hours, 10 tanks of gas and one reload of trimmer string. It starts easily on the second pull when cold and 1 pull warm. It and I both run out of gas at the same time but it has given me a much needed improvement in quality of life since I enjoy the exercise I get and the pride of a good looking property.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its got plenty of power I have had a few problems about getting it to run after the engine is cold. The day I brought it home from Ace Hardware I had cranking issues. Took it back to Ace Hardware and they pulled on it for 5 minutes before it cranked.. This isn't my first trimmer, I have had about 5 or 6 trimmers.Once you get this trimmer running its got all kinds of power, you can't bog it down. I got several yards that I mow and do trim work for people and it does a great job. Its got more torque than any trimmer that I have ever owned.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful I'm a semi pro. We run a small law care business but have ran stihl for years. I use to buy the residential models and finally decided to co bigger. I first bought the FS100RX loved the power to weight on that machine. The latest addition was a FS130R omg the power of this machine was mind blowing over the FS100RX was substantial more. My employees say the will pack the extra weight for the power and do so when they don't really need it.
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed at this Every stihl trimmer I have has been great but this one just may be the best.First off it starts on the first or second pull everytime.But what amazes me most is for all the power it has is that it is also light,balanced and nearly vibration free.With most trimmers when you get up in this cc range you just have to deal with the weight,bulkiness and vibration,Its just a give and take with trimmers.But not so here,I dont even use the shoulder strap.And did I mention power?Dear lord if you could see the grin on my face as this thing just rips through overgrown weeds.You can actually feel in your hands that torque kick in when you pull that throttle.Overall I would call the fs130 the best trimmer ive ever used and thats saying alot
Date published: 2015-06-02
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs130r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips