Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 130

Newer class of heavy-duty professional trimmers. Very good power-to-weight ratio.

FS 130
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 64reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love how easy this product makes my trimming I have so many weeds that have over grown our property. I thought I would never be able to catch up on them but this tool makes it so much easier. I love it ! July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never feel overmatched by tall/heavy weeds You'll never hear anyone say their trimmer has too much power. So I'll just say this one has plenty. Cleaned out a fence row that killed two other competitive brand trimmers. One melted the plastic trimmer head. The other overheated the drive shaft.After tiring of taking brand new failed trimmers back to the store, I decided it was time to invest a little more for a professional grade trimmer.These trimmers aren't cheap, but I have yet to find anything in the way of weeds and grass that it can't handle. July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a beast The F130 will mow through grass and weeds or fell small forests depending on your ammo of choice at the end of this lethal weapon. The full shoulder harness and bicycle grips give good control. I can't think of a bad thing to say but it ain't cheap! July 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moved up to an FS 130 I used an FS 90 on our farm for almost 20 years. Other than normal maintenance, it worked superbly. One of our relatives, while working for me, put unmixed fuel in it and seized up the engine. As it was dependable for so long, I went to purchase another. The dealer gave me such a great deal on the next model up, I purchased it. Same great dependability with more power. I'm sold on this tool and use it at least weekly to keep out acreage in good shape for us and the horses! June 29, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by THIS PRODUCT IS CARP!!!!!!!!!!! I will not buy another. no longer a stihl person.. June 21, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by FS130 Stay away from 4Mix motors Started third season with FS130 and motor failed. Bent piston rod and broken piston. Always used Stihl oil and premium (no ethanol) fuel. Unit was subject to medium to high use. Repair is worth more than half of original price and no explanation why it failed in the first place. Stay with the 2 stroke trimmers. May 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most powerful I've ever owend in my 55years Happy with the power has out lasted the outer one I perched 10 to1 and skill running strong ! May 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely Satisfied I bought this trimmer 5 years ago. It has tremendous power. The main use for it is trimming the grass in my yard. This unit is more than I need for that, but I bought bigger as I will ocassionally get into more substantial jobs such as clearing trails in the woods, or cleaning up woods/field edges.I've never had an experience where I felt I needed more - this unit has handled everything with complete ease. I also have the chainsaw attachment, and this works great. It makes quick work of cutting limbs.I've had no issues at all with this trimmer. It starts on the first or second pull every time. I'll comment on its weight, since that is one of the "Pros/Cons" you can choose from below. I've never noticed the weight, plus if it is heavier than other models you're getting a lot of power! I'm going to list it as a Pro since it's a non-issue. May 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice machine This thing is a power house! I am a landscape architect and own a lawn service. I at least buy 6 sthil products a year for the lawn service. I have 14 fs 130 on lawn trucks and never have any trouble. I recommend this product for landscapers but not home owners it might take of some siding off of the house! May 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I expected and more! I had been researching the web for a long time for the perfect Stihl trimmer for my situation, reading many reviews and watching videos. Finally narrowed it down to the FS 90, FS 130, and a used FS 250. I needed and wanted a bicycle handle trimmer that could not only weed around my yard, but could also tackle the 1-2+ inch brush on my 40 acres. My current Stihl 55R is a great unit but not capable of handling heavy brush. After discussing with my local dealer, I gave the FS 130 a try and man was I ever impressed! Didn't take me long to make that decision. Bought the chisel blade to go along with it. Mine also came with the Deluxe Stihl harness which is much better than the shoulder strap. Also got a 4 year warranty for buying a 6-pack of Stihl oil. The next day, I did my usual trimming around the house. Like others have said, for fine trimming next to flowers, it might not be the best, but all my flower beds have edging and there's absolutely no problem using it around the house. Throttles down just fine. Then I proceeded to attack my thick brush behind the house. Man was that ever a blast! Was thinking to myself how much easier this was than using my chainsaw. A few hours later, I had to quit as my woods were starting to look like an F5 tornado hit it. Not surprisingly, I'm extremely pleased with the FS 130. My FS 55R is going up for sale as the FS 130 can do everything and more! April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not a lawn trimmer. I bought this machine 1 year ago. Decided to share my experiences. I have 70 acres with berry bushes, apple tree brush, swamp grass, and 3 miles of 4 wheeler trails.I had honestly been hoping to use this on that property as well as on my lawn. It didn't work on the lawn. If you hit something with the string trimmer, it will either tear it up, or rip off the string. Too much power for lawn trimming.Instead, I have run this almost exclusively with a blade. There are areas of the property that I have never been able to get to as it is too steep or too wet for a tow-behind brush mower. This thing eats up anything in it's way.I lent it out to my dad and brother, and figure we likely have a few hundred hours in it at this point. We even ran it in a wisconsin winter, and it started like a champ. This little toy is well worth the money if you have the brush to challenge it.For a lawn, even an overgrown lawn, save some money and get an fs90. This machine is not designed for the lawn. It needs a REAL challenge. April 18, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved it... until the drive shaft and locking nut became stripped after 40 hours Great machine but after about 40 hours of clearing saplings and brush and changing the blade a few times for sharpening it became difficult to keep the locking nut for the blade on tight. Close inspection showed the nut and drive shaft threads to be stripping. I took it to my authorized Stihl repair center for what turned out to be a very expensive repair. April 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional power, relability, flexibility I've worked with Stihl products professionally in forestry, habitat management/restoration and commercial production agriculture settings for two decades. I purchased an FS130 two years ago for personal use on my farm which includes uses ranging from habitat management of a riparian area, in organic food production systems and residential uses. Its one of the best tools I've ever owned. Organic farming means we must employ mechanical weed management - in other words, I need to manage literally thousands of linear feet of fence line and perennial row crops without of the option of using herbicides.The FS 130 handles all of these tasks and a very heavy workload with ease. I use it regularly to remove Himalayan blackberries and rampantly spreading redgum eucalyptus tree saplings and it obliterates any tough, invasive vegetation with ease. It has more power than I'll ever need and thats saying something given the type of work I use it for. That said, its an all out battle axe, not a scalpel so don't expect it to perform well in residential settings where you need delicate precision. Get a lightweight two cycle instead if thats your application.It starts easily and I've never had a problem with cold starts.You also get tons of power with surprisingly smooth operation. Its been dead reliable for the two years I've owned it.Finally (and I can recommend this enough), GET TO KNOW YOUR LOCAL STIHL SERVICE SHOP PROFESSIONALS. Properly setting up, operating and maintaining these high end professional grade machines is incredibly important. When I managed field crews, 99.9% of the time, equipment problems resulted from abuse and/or neglect. Have your repair shop take the time to thoroughly run you through using and maintaining the unit in every aspect. If they don't want to take the time, find a shop that will. Believe me, they'll be happy not to see you with the mob every spring if you can perform tune ups yourself, If you perform routine maintenance, use fresh quality gas and can learn to properly adjust the valves & carb,, remove and lubricate the driveshaft, this unit should last you a lifetime. March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by You get what you pay for. A good bit of power with the option adding attachments lilke a mini tiller or broom. I have the string trimmer/brushcutter combo. The only drawback I see with what I have is the chisel tooth blade for the brushcutter. It works well but dulls rather easily. A factory issued, easily available carbide blade would be perfect. Had but a minor problem with it being stubborn to start. Brought it back to the dealer. Took it away running like a top after 10 minutes and no charge either. Get quality premium fuel and oil for it and it won't let you down. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Stihl FS130 is an ax-murderer dressed in orange and white. I have three acres with heavy vegetation on inclines, fence lines, and around my house. I had an underpowered Echo product that constantly bogged down in thick grass. I decided to trade up and get an FS 130. There is nothing I can't cut on my entire property. I ramp it up at wide open throttle and it cuts through everything I need it to. I have cut saplings and small trees, so long as you are obviously using the proper cutting head.I have never had issues with poor performance with regard to running and power. It takes a couple pulls after sitting for a while, but nothing I don't expect after not using it for several months.I wouldn't say it is necessarily "lightweight." However, it isn't a behemoth either. It is considerably lighter than it's Honda counterpart that I considered during my decision process. Weed whacking isn't for sissies. I purchased the more comfortable harness, which was a great decision.This isn't for manicuring or edging your lawn. This is for use when you need brute strength and ignorance when taming foliage. Remember, you get what you pay for.I love my Stihl. November 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by POWER!!!!!!!!!! Look at the size of this thing! Don`t buy this because it`s commercial to use on your 1/2 acre property thinking you can do intricate trimming with it. Buy this and use it for what its designed to do! This thing is a beast that I`ve cut 4 inch diameter trees down with. Don`t be that guy that complains it`s heavy because it`s built to take a beating and last. It`s heavy and will knock down anything with the right blade on it. Free rev the engine and go to town on anything that's in your way. It`s overkill as a line trimmer and is not the best choice for lawn trimming.I`ve only used ethanol free gas and stihl oil in it, and it runs great. Again, look at the size of this thing, use it for its intended purpose. Owned for two years no problems. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Power! Slap on a saw blade and clear ATV Trails with ease! Powerful machine August 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome piece of machinery I have 4 acres to keep clear and this cuts through it all regardless of size and thickness! It's not as powerful as I thought the engine would be but I'm not complaining. My only complaint would be with the harness. Its comfortable to me but not to easy to attach or unhook the brushcutter. August 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed. With probably less than 10 hrs total time on it, my fs130 sheared the flywheel key, which was not covered under the warranty. I could have purchased 5 "lesser" trimmers for what I've got in this one so far. Very disapointed! July 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by engine bogs when throttled up I purchased the 130 after fighting with a cheapie trimmer for the last time. I bougjt the most powerful unit the local dealer stocked in our area. When the kid who worked there took the unit out back to start it up, he could not get it running after several pulls. I had a bad feeling then and even worse now. The unit starts ok now and idles good but when the throttle is pulled the engine hesitates and bogs out. It will only rev up aftet feathering the trigger. For the money it costs this machine should rev up instantly. Maybe its the 4stroke engine or maybe its a lemon but its going back to the dealer to be looked at. July 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I hate my FS130 I hate my FS130! Won't stay running, misses at higher RPM! I had a Hobart that i had for about 10 years and it was more reliable then my FS130. I am so mad that I decided to spend the extra money and purchase what I thought was going to be a good weed waker. June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great power, cuts everything! Had been fighting with an old 2 stroker for to many years, bought my first Stihl chainsaw a MS311 last year. Was so pleased with my saw I decided it was time to upgrade my trimmer. So very happy with this machine! Starts easily, the harness carries the trimmer with ease and makes for a pleasurable experience cleaning up my property, although I find it a bit restrictive when mowing my road bank, I kept the single strap sling from my old machine to do road banks and use the double harness for everything else.The 4 stroke engine is powerful and extremely fuel efficient, cut thru thick heavy grass with barely any bog down. Around flower beds it is easy to handle and delicate work is flawless due to the double shoulder harness.Used it in my neighbors pasture to clear brush and its performance was incredible. No question here, I'd buy it 6 more times. Love it! June 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product was a problem for me. Ist use the line continue to break. Replaced by dealer.2nd use replace head with SuperCut 29-2. Would throw the line out. Wish I could get my money back. Went back to head furnished with trimmer. Would not start. Returned to dealer and he had to replace the carburetor. Extremely disappointed.My FS96 and auto feed head lasted 40 years without a problem. I have a fairly new Kombi with edger that won't stay running.Other Stihl products include chain saw (2nd one), blower and pole saw. I have always purchased commercial Stilhl products for residential use thinking they will serve me for a long time.For the money I paid for this trimmer I expected more. June 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by low end grunt I haven't owned the fs 130 for long but I did use for the reason it was purchased and it cleared small saplings and pruned trees easily. Thus far it has started easily. I would easily recommend this tool to anyone looking for a strong clearing and pruning device. June 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine did everything I expected and more from a Stihl product. The back harness works great making it easier to use. Plenty of power to handle Great machine did everything I expected and more from a Stihl product. The back harness works great making it easier to use. Plenty of power to handle heavy grass and weeds using string. I have about 3000 feet of fence that I do and I get done in about half the time I use to. Easy to rewind the string and had no trouble out of the head. June 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Awesome!! Never felt the weight. Trimming tall weeds stooped over under trees not a proble. Never bogged down and cut thru everything!! I'm a 300 lb Guy and I could use this all day with no back issues. From what I have read, it should last 10 to 15 yrs. great product! Buy it. You won't be disappointed. Make sure to take the time to adjust the harness. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to start Easy to start. Great power. Light and durable. Good value. May 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seriously I bought the trimmer based on the Stihl reputation for making serious products. I had been using a Craftsman Trimmer around the house, but I needed more power after inheriting more land. I chose this trimmer based on what I thought were my power needs. After getting it home and using it for a bit, I have determined its power to probably be overkill. The FS-110 would have propably been plenty for the type of trimming I would be doing. That said though, I will never have to worry about power with the 130. Ever.Starting is easy and the weight is not too bad considering. I just bought mine so I cannot attest to the long range dependability yet. The full harness is nice, but it took awhile to get it all adjusted. Throttle is responsive and it does not seem to be bad at all for delicate trimming, though I do definitely see a sweet spot at 3/4 throttle that would easily run away with you. The sound of the trimmer is distinctly different, I presume due to 4 stroke design.I bought the oil to extend my warranty to 4 years which is a sweet deal. Price wise, it is in range with other similar trimmers, maybe a touch more expensive.If you want a serious trimmer with serious power then seriously this is your guy. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by beats a chainsaw for small brush Cutting small/moderate size brush was the reason I chose this unit. Coupled with the 8" toothed blade, this outfit cuts easily w/o as much exertion as bending to use a saw. Doesn't wrap up in grass, either. Uses 1/2 the gas for equal cutting as my classic Stihl 011 sawUnit is expensive but I'm hoping it lasts as long as my previous Stihl trimmer--still going after 15-20 years. I'm hesitant to comment on overall dependability and longevity since the unit has less than 20 hours on it so far. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Trimmer! This trimmer is probably overkill for my 2 acre rural property, but I can swing it as fast as possible through thick, knee-height grass without bogging the engine down. It has plenty of power to take down saplings if needed. This thing starts easily, usually one or two pulls. It runs well and vibrations are minimal. I can run a couple tanks of fuel non-stop without numb hands or discomfort. The harness is worth its weight in gold. For a marginal price increase over the 110, it was totally worth it. January 26, 2015
<<prev2 3next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips