My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 56 RC-E

A straight-shaft grass trimmer with a fuel-efficient engine and STIHL Easy2Start™.

Image of fs56rce
FS 56 RC-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 941.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start. Easy to start, adding line is simple, I would recommend this trimmer to everyone. I love it.
Date published: 2019-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointing I have used many different makes and models in the last 35 years, acres of banks and overgrown areas. This is the only one I have ever used that turns counterclockwise. Just completely butchered my yard. The case is made so that it transfers the exhaust heat right to the bottom of your forearm. The string trimmer on the guard keeps the string way too short. The engine is constantly revved to the max. And the string feeds out maybe a millimeter at a time?? The only thing good that I have to say is that it starts easy. But it should. It's brand new. Completely overhyped. REALLY wish I hadn't bought this thing. Never owned a Stihl anything. I expected alot more.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trimmer This awesome trimmer starts everytime. Easy choke, pull and go not additional switching! Harness makes trimming a muscle free experience. No bending at hips. Great clean cuts.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FS56RC trimmer review At first I thought I’d really be pleased with this trimmer, it’s my first Stihl anything. It does start and run good, but the trimmer head requires a screwdriver to pop open to retrieve the line if it breaks off too short. And installing new line is not as quick. I know you can buy another head that uses quick install pieces but the original head should be easy and faster to reload!
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Impressed so far! Bought this new from a local Stihl dealer about a month ago, and I've had to take in for service (and they had to ship out to another service person) after the 1st use. the cord came off track, then the line got jammed. PIcked up a week later, and they didn't fix the cord issue. Another week later, picked up and cord was fixed Ok, however after using the Line kept jamming - I had to remove to the untangle the Line 4 times while trying to trim my 1/2 acre yard. 4 times! Was unable to finish trimming my yard, b/c it ran out of Line that came with it. ( only used twice now). Not real happy so far!
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this thing! This trimmer is amazing! I’ve owned troybilts and crafts men’s, they don’t come close. To be honest I never thought STIHL products were in my price range until I went and talked to a dealer. Definitely affordable and worth it’s weight in gold!
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product Good reviews, good brand, high quality, reliable but a little awkward to use compared to electric units. But not dragging a cord around or stopping to recharge a battery often makes up for cons.
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Great trimmer do not like the string head will be looking at other options for that or trying different string. Seems like the string that comes with it is junk I weedeat around a lot of landscaping stone and the string is cheap but as far as the trimmer itself starts right up and runs like a beast it’s my first stilhl trimmer and I am beyond satisfied
Date published: 2019-08-20
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_941
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs56rce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl