My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 56 RC-E

A straight-shaft grass trimmer with a fuel-efficient engine and STIHL Easy2Start™.

FS 56 RC-E
FS 56 RC-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 907.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality is worth it This is my most expensive trimmer and first Stihl, but after years of constant difficulty with every other trimmer I have owned, I can see the light!It started with one pull the very first time, it is powerful, consistent, and runs without manipulation on my part.It does what it was designed to do. What a refreshing change from what I have been accustomed to enduring!
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use but shouldn’t even come with line Like so many other people have written before me, the trimmer itself is great. Does everything you need it to do. The line feeding leaves much to be desired. It would make more sense to provide packaged line and let the purchaser install it. Replies about soaking the line in water make no sense at all. It’s plastic and last I checked plastic doesn’t absorb water. Why not just address the root of the problem instead?
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I have all Sthil products some for many years o got this trimmer and it’s works awesome I have older one that still runs great . Sthil is reliable and dependable .
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trimmer! The first thing I recommend is reading the responses from Stihl to the negative reviews and follow their instructions. All of the issues other reviewers are easily avoidable if you follow the instructions. Novel idea right? I have had zero issues with starting, the auto cut head or anything else for that matter. My dealer also offered to double the warranty if I purchased the Stihl brand of 2 cycle oil or the Stihl moto-mix fuel that comes pre-mixed and also has the fuel stabilizer in it at the time of purchase. If you have never used 2-cycle equipment and had to pre-mix fuel or dont use a high quantity of fuel the moto-mix fuel is the way to go and will keep it runnung right for a long time! The trimmer itself is amazing and I recommend it to anyone that is above 6' in height!
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Only used it a couple times so far, but has functioned as it is supposed to. Plenty of power for me and easy to start. Customer service at Ace Hardware in Baltimore, Oh was very helpful with any questions I had.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fits my body well. I like it........................................................
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice color. I will be paying to fix my old FS45, this new FS56 can not keep up with average yard work.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement for 25-year- old FS44 My 25-year-old Stihl FS 44 needed a new carburetor, which due to its age, is no longer produced or available. The FS 56 RC-E seemed the best replacement for the old machine, and has several improved features: 1). lighter weight (about 1.5 lbs. less), 2). see-through fuel tank, 3). recoil end-mounted rather than mid-mount (for easier servicing), 4). 180º U-handle more maneuverable than old J-handle, 5). the Easy2Start feature is GREAT! This is a HUGE improvement over the old unit's technology! No more yanking and frustration getting the engine running. The only reason I couldn't give a 5-star rating is that I miss the Auto-feed trimmer head. I'll get used to the bump-feed over time, but the automatic was easier to operate. And the new deflector is smaller, making more mess. The bigger old one was better.
Date published: 2019-06-28
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_907
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs56rce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl