My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 56 C-E

This straight-shaft grass trimmer features bike-style handles, ideal for large or difficult areas.

FS 56 C-E
FS 56 C-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick starting and powerfull my first Stihl purchase was not a let down. It was serviced and ready to start and run when I purchased it. It is quick starting reliable and serviced locally, and that is huge!
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Starts, cuts, PRO feel! Bought the backpack straps @ same time. Love them both. My bad lower back can weed whack for hours, and still move the next day! 2+ acres in the CA foothills.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a rural community home This trimmer is great for trimming and edging around your home, fence line, and landscaping. It is not powerful enough for brush, but great for everything else. The easy start pull cord has it running in no more than three pulls. The trimmer is light enough to use without a strap, but it comes with one anyway. Definitely recommended!!
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the BEST !!! I purchased my Trimmer with the Handel bars . The machine is tremendous. The Handel bars slows for much better handling than my old Trimmer. I purchased my machine @ Scott Meclendons in Belfair and let me tell you they are so good it hurts. I recommen tem above all Dealers... FIVE. STARS !!!
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fs56c This trimmer brush cutter is far superior to any other trimmer out there if you are looking to buy a stihl do it don't waste your money on any other brand bye it I guaranty you won't want anything else #lovemystihl
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value and quality I like Stihl products and had good luck with my blower and hope to have the same experience with the trimmer.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for the price Great trimmer for the price, my only issue is after choking and priming still takes 8 to 10 pulls to start!
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trimmer I've owned. Finally it works every time I need it! Simple to start and operate. Power is no problem! both string and blade attachments work great.I still hate changing string, but not that difficult with this one.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 years and Stihl going strong!! I bought this trimmer 3 years ago and this bad boy is as strong as ever. I've not had any problems other than wearing the head out but that's going to happen if you use it a lot. TIP: ONLY use Stihl oil and ONLY use non-ethanol gas 89 octane or 91 octane. I've done this for 3 years now and my trimmer will start on the first pull every time. TAKE CARE OF YOUR STUFF! Keep good spark plugs and Stihl oil and non-ethanol gas and your Stihl will run for many, many years. I also have the BG 56c blower and it runs like a BOSS!! If you buy anything other than Stihl, then you're wasting your money! I know I sound like a spokesperson for Stihl but I honestly just love their products and think they are the best.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unbelievably light.almost as strong as the fs90. For a homeowner with hundreds of feet of linear trimming, this is it.Buy the full harness and you cant lose.almost no fatigue because of the super light weight.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very easy to crank. easy to operate , most comfortable ive ever used. and very powerful ive been using Stihl products for years and will not buy any others because of the dependability and performance of these well built machines cannot be out done by the competitors.. you get what you pay for buy a cheap weedeater then expect only one season from it . buy a Stihl and it will out last you ..
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed This trimmer is very sturdy for a homeowner model and I have put it through its paces. It is comfortable to use and has plenty of power for my needs. Like the easy start and the bike handles. I have 5 acres and this trimmer suits my needs very well.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality This was a very good purchase trimmer starts easily runs very well has plenty of power has a solid feel to it not flimsy I changed the bump feed head to a fixed line head bought the dual harness can trim for several hours.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would give this an A+ grade. I used this to cut a large area of 8 foot high giant rag weed, and an area that was impossible to reach with any other type of cutter because of the rough and uneven terrain. I used a steel, 4 blade cutter attachment which worked very well under these circumstances.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the price i have used the bigger 560 for years at my job. when i wanted a trimmer for my home i wanted something that was going to last and easy to work on. this product brings both comfort and durability. easy on the back.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Love the bars its back a saver, At six foot I wish the shaft were a bit longer but didn't need the commercial model.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best trimmer I have owned easy to start, plenty of power for what I trim. I use it aprox. an Hr per week
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine,review process is silly Very nice, great machine, great sales service! Review process is silly and redundant !
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good trimmer. I like the overall quality of this trimmer. It has a good balance and excellent power. I am very happy with my purchase of FS 56RC-E.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well rounded product This brushcutter/trimmer was more than I expected. Has alot of power for what purchased it for. Only small flaw is the shoulder strap is uncomfortable and digs into your neck.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life is so much easier with this product Being a Disabled Veteran with a homestead to maintain, this product has made it so much easier for me to kyeep the weeds at bay
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product Great I love it. It works for me.I just can't find the bearings for the gear box.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING! Handled some very high and or thick weeds, comfortable doesn;t seem as if you are handling a weedeater compared to non-bike handle and strap. Easy to start runs great!
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer, starts easy ,runs strong. Does everything I want, except feed line dependably. Wants to break off inside trimmer head. This still happens less frequently than it did with my old trimmer.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trimmer This trimmer is the best I have ever used. Starts with two pulls.
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy start, but a pain to use. Bought this trimmer on recommendation of my neighbor. Starts easy, runs good but . . . . On recommendation of dealer, bought the wind up head. Just insert the trimmer line (.095) and wind it up. Problem is, the line is so thick and inflexable, when you get close to a pole or something, it breaks off, RIGHT INSIDE THE HEAD. So now, you've got to take the head off and rework everything because that wind up head isn't designed for anything but winding the trimmer line up. Took the trimmer to the dealer, they told my wife, the line I bought at Lowes was dried up and we need to buy THEIR line. So she did. Still breaks. I went back. There was a sharp edge on the trimmer line head. The fixed that. I also wanted the old head back (for which I was willing to pay for) so I could use a smaller .080 dia line. Oh no, this is what you need! Line still breaks inside the head. So consequently, I have finished the season using my old Stihl trimmer and will buy a new head from Ebay so I can use the .080 dia line. I like the way the trimmer operates, but with a fence, I need something that doesn't cause the line to break every time I get next to one. And after all, that is why you buy a trimmer, so you can get next to things that the mower can't. Right? I found it interesting that the dealership was not wanting to sell me a new head. I cannot say why.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stihl Made but Not to my expecatations I have owned over 8 different stihl products so far and this one by far has felt and ran more like a cheap Stihl knock-off then an actual solid built machine that I am used to. Now I will say that i have tyipcally spent the extra money getting the higher level options or models but with the name Stihl I expect high quality at all levels an this one does not meet the mark. It vibrates almost to a point of making my arms go numb which is not the intent I am hoping. Look elsewhere for a solid trimmer.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from stihl trimmer After doing much research I decided to purchase a Stihl trimmer. The salesman at Nuts and Bolts talked me into buying a FS 56 C-E. This trimmer is awkward to use for trimming along sidewalks and driveways. I checked with the retailer to see if there were any options as to returning it and getting a different model, I was told Stihl will not allow that.I would recommend you test someone else's trimmer before spending a lot on a trimmer that is useless. I am planning on donating this to some charity and buying a cheap Ryobi.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great power The product has great power,easy to operate, and lightweight
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even my wife loves it!! Well balanced and easy to start. We have a bout 10 hours of cutting tall grasses and light brush with the original string. Have not tried the brush cutting blade yet no need to so far. Plenty of power and Stihl quality make this a great value for my money.
Date published: 2015-06-30
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips