Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 230reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good but with some issues Does a very good job on edging which is my major use. There are a few problems I have. first rotating into position for trimming puts the controls in an awkward position for me . Second, I am forced to bend down more than I like; probably because the curved shaft, is better suited for trimming or weed wacking. Finally The bump and advance does not usually work, and I need to stop and manually advance the string. I gave it a good rating in spite of these because I believe these are common problems with `trimmers of this types. June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Good and powerful easy to maintain and start great quality not to mention American made love there American made products but make sure it is American made not all there items are June 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This trimmer starts easy and works well. It is much lighter than the 4 stroke unit I replaced with it. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too easy I ran out of trimmer line today, third time I had used the trimmer. I was curious if the replacing and winding of the line would be difficult. Directions were to cut 6' 6" of twine twice. I cut the plastic material and then followed directions.....I had the spool ready in a minute and back together ready for use in under 5 minutes.I adjusted the handle angle (I am left-handed) and now I find the trimmer easier to use. My old trimmer was a straight shaft, and the new one is angled. I am getting better with it each time. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is easy to start and use. I bought this for my husband for Father's Day and he just loves it!! He says it's easy to start and has a lot of power! June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My trimmer starts easy EVERY time. Outstanding. Sales associate at Gates in Cleveland, TX made sure I knew how to use and maintain it. Very helpful on any questions that I had! June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very dependable I have taken of my own yard since 1988 and have owned other trimmers gas and electric. I purchased my 1st Stihl trimmer in 2005 and my 2nd in 2011. I'm totally dedicated to these awesome machines. Always starts, easy to use, same with their blowers. The only reason I purchased another one in 2011 is because the 1st one was stolen. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish I found this product sooner I purchased a craftsmen last year and it began having issues with starting, shutting off, etc. while at my local ace hardware I saw a sale sign on this model and on a whim I purchased this model. If you purchased a pack of two cycle oil, they doubled the warranty. I have used it a half dozen times and it is so superior to the craftsmen model I gave up on. It's powerful, starts really easy and is really comfortable to run. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a high quality weed eater with a nice price. Happy Trimming!! June 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable, runs good, heavy, awkward cutting angle Starts easily. Runs great. Line requires a good "bump" to advance, but no problem there. Biggest negative is the angle of the cut...I have to tilt the head down drastically to get the cut I need to make. Requires me to raise the engine/trigger power unit up so high that it is very uncomfortable--especially with a unit that is pretty heavy and unbalanced to start with. Not a unit for someone with carpal tunnel issues! Quality, dependability, power, value----all good. But I think DESIGN should probably get about a 1.5 stars. This is something that is very hard to determine in the store...only after bringing it home and running it for 30 minutes with an aching right arm will you be able to see what I have seen. So, yes I would recommend this unit, but only if one considers it's negative factors as well as the positive. June 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my medium sized yard Priced competitive to comparable trimmers and I have found it to be very maneuverable and easy starting! June 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by The trimmer stopped working this spring. I brought the trimmer in for service under warranty because it would not start. The spark plug was still new and the fuel filter was clean. I only use pure gas (not ethanol) and maintain my equipment. I have many other another sthil products, blower, trimmer, chainsaw, edger and hedge clippers. I've had good results from them and trust the brand. This was the first disappointment. It was repaired under warranty, however, I was charged for the parts, but not the labor. June 2, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed.. Used no more than 5 hours.. Would not run at idle.. cost to repair same as buying another.. All my other small equipment items run fine.. May 27, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, BUT NOT AS EXPECTED poor line advance, had to buy expensive oil for warrantydid like that the dealer started it before selling it May 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great equipment overall. This product is great, however, the casing over the air filter will not stay on. It pops off while in use. May 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer for a first time gas Trimmer Ive had my Trimmer now for a year. Before I had it I was use to the corded versions. i can now state that i will never go back to a corded or battery one ever again. I can Easily trim a 10,000Sq Ft lawn and only use 1/2 a tank!! just 3 pumps of the primer plunger, flip the switch to choke and 3 pulls of the string and im off!! this is a Perfect model for people considering switching to a gas trimmer. trust me you wont be disappointed! May 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one minor complaint Shaft could be slightly longer as I am 6'. Other than that this is an excellent product that exceeded my expectations May 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight! I've been extremely impressed with the amount of power this trimmer has, especially considering how light it is. I went with the curved shaft, as I do more detail trimming than big brush cutting. So far, this is the best trimmer I've ever owned (and I've owned quite a few). FYI, I also own the PP70 hand pruner and the PL40 lopper and they are amazing! I'm really getting to like this manufacturer! May 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent lightweight trimmer Excellent AMERICAN MADE trimmer. Starts easily, well balanced, and reasonably priced for the quality. May 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect trimmer for a homeowner with 1 acre or less to trim!! Has plenty of power to cut through tall weeds and grass! Very lite weight and super easy to start! Best trimmer I have ever bought! Stihl makes great products and this is just one of many stihl products I own. (Chainsaws and hedge trimmers) And I love that its made in the USA!! #AmericanMade!!! May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer I bought this trimmer and had a problem with the bump feed on the bottom to make the string come out. Took it back and the salesman said every once in a while this trimmer will come from the factory with this particular problem.The salesman gave me a replacement trimmer and it works perfect. I found that the key to making the string come out when you bump it on the ground is to rev it up because it needs centrifugal force to make the string come out.It's light weight and works great. Get the trimmer with the shorter arm on it as opposed to the longer one. It's much easier to use in my opinion. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks, Stihl! I learned that if you buy this Stihl trimmer, you will not be sorry. I had a problem with my trimmer and the company went beyond my expectations to make things right. Somebody from Stihl personally reached out to me and could not have been kinder or more courteous. What a nice, unexpected gesture that I can't imagine many companies duplicating. As somebody who has been doing lawn care for 40 years, this trimmer is easy to handle and the easy start is nice so you won't dislocate your shoulder starting it. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Easy Start I set out to buy a battery operated weed eater because I do not like pull start equipment. Found the battery operated ones were too heavy. My husband's weed eater is too heavy for me so I wanted a different one. Ended up trying the FS 40 and fell in love with it. It truly is easy to start and somewhat lighter than others. Wish someone would make a much lighter one for us older folks.' May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use This weedeater is easy to start and light weight enough for me to handle but has enough power to get my toughest jobs done well. May 15, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spool bump feed and placement of cutting line is horrible! Poor Engineering! This is the second Stihl trimmer I've purchased in the past month. The first purchase was a FS50. Too big. Didn't handle well. Cutting lines are on TOP of the cutting spool. I tried to trim down low along around sunken path stones and you can't do it. Poor engineering design! You might as well forget the auto bump feed working. Does not work! Had to stop every ten minutes to manually feed more line. Returned the next day. I spent the next few weeks looking at other trimmers. I decided to try the FS40. Much smaller and easier to handle. Besides, I already own the BG86 blower and I love it. So, same gas/oil/can mixture for both pieces of equipment. Same exact comments apply to the FS40 as the FS50. Horrible, horrible engineering design for the nylon cutters! Forget the auto bump feed! Couldn't finish yard work! What should have been completed in 45 minutes has now taken 2 1/2 hours and I'm not even close to being finished. I would return this today, but it's Sunday and the dealer is closed. I ordered the Durocut head yesterday when I purchased the FS40. It's supposed to arrive on Thursday. I'll give this a try. If it doesn't work, the whole things goes back on Friday. May 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for small yards Have had product for only short time, used only twice, starts easily and runs well, but that should be a trait of any new product. Purchased this because of company reputation.Cutting line exhausted after only 1-1/2 uses. Small loaded line length.Cutting diameter too small, but I take the hit on this for failure to do due diligence. May 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by First stihl I got this model for I feel a reasonable price considering it was the same as the big box stores premium models. Even if it's not stihl's top of the line it still out performs those models. Anyways, used for an hour continuously weed whacking and edging sidewalks. Zero problems at all. The line that it came with is junky but it was loaded full so I'm not complaining. It seemed somewhat hard to get the line to feed at first but I haven't really had issues since. Highly recommended and I know it will last awhile based on other stihl products. May 6, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible line feed. The line continuously gets tangled and jammed. I can use the product maybe 10 minutes successfully, with 1 or 2 bumps to successfully release the string and then that's it. I have to stop the unit, unscrew the cap and take out the string and detangle it. Then after doing that a couple times, it's so tangled I can't even remove the stringing unit as it's so tangled and jammed. I have had an associate restring new line on it and still have the problem. I have not succesfully used this unit to comple weed whacking my entire yard without a total jam and having to take it to the dealer. Going back at lunch again today. I'll probably have to upgrade to a different type of feeder head (and of course at more cost to me). May 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good trimmer for shorter people. This was my first stihl string trimmer and I love it. It has everything just right for someone who hasn't used a string trimmer before and for someone who is used to curved shaft string trimmers. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great company and great product Have owned Stihl's trimmers, blowers and chain saws for over 20 years. Finally wore out my FS 45C trimmer and purchased a FS 40 replacement and it works just as well if not better. Great products and very reasonable prices. Too bad Stihl doesn't make a car..... April 22, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Questionable Quality The trimmer was always a little hard to start. It never idled smoothly, and if it died when in use it was very hard to start. It then run when started but immediately died. I did all the recommendations on exhaust screen, fresh gas, new spark plug and air cleaner. Finally I took the carburetor apart and found a small oval plug dislocated and moving around it's chamber. There was also a clear rubbery substance in the same chamber. I replaced the oval plug and staked it in place. The trimmer ran like new, but when put away the cylinder now fills with fuel and blows out the exhaust when trying to start again. I think the clear rubbery substance was the seal under the oval plug which now leaks fuel into the cylinder when not running. All I can say is I found poor quality parts with the carburetor and it undoubtedly needs a new one. Not sure I want to continue to fool with this product. April 22, 2016
<<prev 23 4 5... 9next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips