My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring STIHL Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
FS 40 C-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 356.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Trying to get used to it First gas trimmer, like not having to use power cord. Heavier than I hoped. Works good around fence etc but awkward for edging or getting weeds out of bricks, sidewalk. Line doesn't feed properly but I haven't tried rewinding it. I need to use it more to get the hang of it.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Terrible line feed Line feed doesn't work half the time. Taking it back if the dealer can't fix it will be returning it. Too bad my blower works great.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very light, and easy to start every time. This trimmer is what I'd expect from Stihl. Quality and dependability are synonymous with this brand.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly powerfull I was worried this was too small when I bought it, but it was in my price range and I love my stihl chainsaws so I gave it a try. I was very surprised how well it handled large weeds and tall grass. I reciently moved into an 80acre farm with a fixer upper and it handles the yard and around the barns and equipment without a problem. The trimmer head isn't my favorite but it works and I will upgrade it next time I'm at my dealer. Very impressed.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Start I have used this trimmer only twice thus far. The second time I used it, I used old fuel (really old) and it started on the first pull anyway. It was perfect except for one thing...the lines both broke next to the hub and I had to take the spool apart to rethread it. I am giving 5 stars anyway, because the line break may have been my fault somehow.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor trim head Trimming head is supposed to advance string automatically by tapping on the ground but does not. String only advances when head is turned manually. Works fine otherwise but this is a major drawback.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use and maintain. So far it has started on the first pull every time. Light and easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy for the money best trimmer I have ever owned great buy for the price.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent trimmer! Easy starting. Lightweight yet powerful. Affordable.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good trimmer this is the best trimmer i should have got one years ago i used to get my trimers at home d and they only ran for a year even tho i used good gas and took care if them . i will never buy another brand again go stihl
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent piece of equipment i would recommend this trimmer too everybody , extremely well developed and well designed.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy start, quieter than I had expected I've used mine 3 or 4 times and have been happy with the easy start, good power and ease of use. Very pleased so far.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very low string storage... I was a little skeptical purchasing a dual line trimmer and unfortunately, my issue is exactly about two strings. I do love Stihl products...the service and quality are very good. My issue is that there is very little storage in the spinner head for the cutting line. I've only used it three times now and already have had to replace the line. Granted, I have a lot of trimming to do but three times is not very much. Also, the location of the exhaust is very close to where my arm sits. I purchased a shoulder strap and it's not long enough so my arm sits on the cover, which can get very hot as the exhaust is right there. Thanks for your time.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This trimmer is a BEAST! I have been using this trimmer in a lawn care business for five years now. It has hundreds of hours on it and it still runs just as good as it did on day one. If you wind the line properly you will not have any issues with it advancing. I highly recommend this trimmer.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Easy to start and use. Has plenty of power to get the job done. Light weight and well balanced make it easy to use even one handed.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trimmer head not to good I'm pleased with the trimmer starting and running but the trimmer head is horrible loading new string is next to impossible and a real pain in the butt. And the bump action is horrible as well. Just over all bad trimmer head I'm going to try to get a better head! I think that's what the company is planning on everyone that buys one getting an upgraded head !
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer This is a really great trimmer got it at the beginning of the season and it cut down anything I put in front of it. I upgraded to the head with nylon blades and it just made it the much better.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product, easy to start feature was worth the extra cost! I've used Stihl equipment for years. My original trimmer stopped working. While it is being repaired, I purchased this to at least keep up with my large property a little over 1/2 acre. The string lasted longer than I expected and it cut well even at very low power while conserving fuel. The only criticism would be the line advance. The tap advance didn't seem to be effective. I had to manually advance the line by pushing the button and pulling the line. It was wound really tight. I have refilled it now. Maybe it will work better now... Overall, it is a great residential trimmer/edger.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great motor, but... The motor on this is excellent, but the head design fails. Always jamming the string in the head. Have to take it apart every 10 minutes to loosen the string. And this is the second design I have used.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Bought this trimmer to replace my 10 y/o trimmer that broke down. Started after two pulls, ran it for three hours through three feet thick grass and weeds. Did not bog out at all; did not stall. Refueled and started right back up. I am 5'5" and this trimmer is the perfect size for me. I think my 6'5' husband would have a difficult time using because of the curved and shorter shaft. I love this trimmer already. I also have Stihl's blower that I've used for the past two years and have never had to pull more than three times to start.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built like a tank. Runs and handled great. And the aftermarket blades are beasts!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish I never bought it. Two good things I can say: It is easy to start and I like the extra head I bought that rewinds it itself. Other than that I hate it.With my old trimmer that finally bit the dust, it would take me about 30-45 minutes to trim my yard. The first time I tried the Stihl trimmer, it took me off and on four days to trim my yard. I would literally trim two feet and it ate up my string and wouldn't advance any more string. I couldn't pull the string out without taking off the head. I lost count how many times I had to do that. Probably around 50 without exaggeration. I was told from the dealership that if you let the string get too short, it won't advance. You can't tell it's too short until it's too late. I finally bought the best string available and it did better but was still a pain to use, always having to slow it down to make sure the string wasn't too short. The second time I used it, it took me 2 hours and 15 minutes (again, with my old trimmer, it was 30-45 minutes). With my old trimmer, I could trim my yard on less than a tank of gas each time and go several trimmings before I had to rewind more string. The time I trimmed 2 hours and 15 minutes with the Stilhl, I used two tanks of gas and rewound new string two times. I literally dread the thoughts of trimming my yard now. I put it off until I can't put it off any longer. I wish I never bought it.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every dime Very easy to start,power is excellent, smooth and predictable through the throttling,vibration is extremely low, I've ran it for over a hour without stopping and it ran perfect,just a really good all around trimmer.Everything I own is Stihl for this reason.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Quality Product It starts up easily, has a balanced feel to it, feels like a quality product. No complaints about it yet.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent easy start does what I need As I have used My Stihl I have found it easy to start light enough not to wear me out as I use it
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, and very easy to use. I have many Stihl products and all are reliable and easy to maintain.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, light weight and dependable!! Easy to start, light weight and dependable!I can really appreciate my FS 40! I was able to trim my front yard 1½ weeks after fracturing my clavicle. Starting is easy and requires only one pull. It’s well balanced and light weight so I can trim with precision. Very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far Happy so far, only had fs 40 for three weeks. Have other Stihl saws, like them.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised! Starting: When I follow instructions provided to the letter, starting the engine is not a problem! Tip: At max choke, if you get a little kick or bump sound when you pull, back off choke a notch and pull again. When it runs back off choke completely.Proper fuel mixture is mandatory! Use premium gas with 10% or less ethanol.Operation: I've used it on tall weeds, and grass and it cuts it down very well. When in heavy weeds I have to feed line more often, as expected. Overall I would recommend this unit for light to medium trimming around the yard. It is balanced well, however I'm also going to get a harness to help distribute the weight from my shoulder for extended trimming time.Note: The manager at my Ace Hardware fueled unit, we took it outside and he taught me how to properly start and safely operate it. Outstanding customer service! Pleasantville Ace Hardware PA
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard starting, trimmer line feeds sporatically Takes 12 to 15 pulls to get the unit started. The trimmer line doesn't always feed and I have to take the head out and manually feed the line much more often than my previous trimmer.
Date published: 2017-06-13
  • y_2017, m_10, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_356
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs40ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips