Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 214reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too heavy Wife hates it compared to former lighter model. No longer comes with easy replace head. Too expensive. July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weed wacker Love this weed wacker. Went from a black and decker electrical corded wacker to this. Night and day. Works easy with 2-3 pulls and seems easy July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer is light weight and easy to handle. Gets the job done and more. I just got this trimmer for my birthday and I'm in love. I wouldn't want any other product then stihl. I love and highly recommend it. July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome trimmer This is by far the best weedeater out there it starts right up everytime. I have had no problems at all and very happy I bought it July 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Customer service were I bought was great explaining equipment. Weed eater is Easy to start,dependable and reliable. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy start, great USA built This is just what I was looking for in a trimmer, light weight and very dependable starts every time July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice, easy to use and start I was quite surprised how easy this unit is to start and use. I bit heavier than the previous unit, this is much easy to start, 1 or 2 pulls. It is also much easier to use, the balance is very good and makes use in difficult terrain almost enjoyable. July 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by pull cord nightmare I like this trimmer when it works, it's powerful but light. BUT the pull cord/design makes this a nice long expensive paperweight. I would recommend it if the darn pull cord would keep from breaking. I've had this model for 2 years. First year the pull cord snapped, got a new cord from local Stihl dealer (way overpriced). This year I've replaced the cord 4 times. I even put in a cord rated for 60#.All I can say is buy a split ring plier if you buy this because you'll be needing it a lot to install new pull cords. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer for average size yard Bought this to replace my old trimmer that I had for over 10 years and so far it's been excellent. Just like my Stihl chain saw, it starts right up and runs like a champ. Have been using it for just a couple of months but so far so good. July 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for smaller people I'm not a very big woman and I have no problems using this product. It's taking me a while to learn how to start it on my own but once it starts it stays running until I turn it off. Very lightweight and easy to use. July 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy start - everytime What I like best about this model is the easy start. (My last trimmer was a good one, too, but my kid cabbaged onto it so I was left without.) With the Stihl name and the right price, this was a no-brainer.It goes through a little too much line for my taste but I'm working against a chain-link fence so what do you expect? I'll run a little heavier line next time and see if it can handle it. It idles nicely when not in operation, but you can certainly tell when the line needs to be fed because it sort of bogs down a little. Not an issue, just an observation.But back to the easy starting ... the WIFE even runs it now and then ... what a life!Solid product I'd recommend to folks I like. June 29, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sorry excuse for a weed eater. Worst excuse for a weed eater I ever tried to use. The .080 line is to light. Tried the .095 and still to light. Bump head won't feed. Bump head does not hold enough line. Flat out a piece of JUNK! June 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start Great should have bought a sthil long ago dont waste time and money on the junk they sell at home depot and lowes just buy a sthil June 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Trimmer Good light weight trimmer. Good power. Started easily when hot (after stopping to refuel). Easy to replace the trimmer line. Only used it 5 or 6 times so don't know about dependability. So far, it is good. No cons at this time. June 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good but with some issues Does a very good job on edging which is my major use. There are a few problems I have. first rotating into position for trimming puts the controls in an awkward position for me . Second, I am forced to bend down more than I like; probably because the curved shaft, is better suited for trimming or weed wacking. Finally The bump and advance does not usually work, and I need to stop and manually advance the string. I gave it a good rating in spite of these because I believe these are common problems with `trimmers of this types. June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Good and powerful easy to maintain and start great quality not to mention American made love there American made products but make sure it is American made not all there items are June 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This trimmer starts easy and works well. It is much lighter than the 4 stroke unit I replaced with it. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too easy I ran out of trimmer line today, third time I had used the trimmer. I was curious if the replacing and winding of the line would be difficult. Directions were to cut 6' 6" of twine twice. I cut the plastic material and then followed directions.....I had the spool ready in a minute and back together ready for use in under 5 minutes.I adjusted the handle angle (I am left-handed) and now I find the trimmer easier to use. My old trimmer was a straight shaft, and the new one is angled. I am getting better with it each time. June 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is easy to start and use. I bought this for my husband for Father's Day and he just loves it!! He says it's easy to start and has a lot of power! June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My trimmer starts easy EVERY time. Outstanding. Sales associate at Gates in Cleveland, TX made sure I knew how to use and maintain it. Very helpful on any questions that I had! June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very dependable I have taken of my own yard since 1988 and have owned other trimmers gas and electric. I purchased my 1st Stihl trimmer in 2005 and my 2nd in 2011. I'm totally dedicated to these awesome machines. Always starts, easy to use, same with their blowers. The only reason I purchased another one in 2011 is because the 1st one was stolen. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish I found this product sooner I purchased a craftsmen last year and it began having issues with starting, shutting off, etc. while at my local ace hardware I saw a sale sign on this model and on a whim I purchased this model. If you purchased a pack of two cycle oil, they doubled the warranty. I have used it a half dozen times and it is so superior to the craftsmen model I gave up on. It's powerful, starts really easy and is really comfortable to run. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a high quality weed eater with a nice price. Happy Trimming!! June 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable, runs good, heavy, awkward cutting angle Starts easily. Runs great. Line requires a good "bump" to advance, but no problem there. Biggest negative is the angle of the cut...I have to tilt the head down drastically to get the cut I need to make. Requires me to raise the engine/trigger power unit up so high that it is very uncomfortable--especially with a unit that is pretty heavy and unbalanced to start with. Not a unit for someone with carpal tunnel issues! Quality, dependability, power, value----all good. But I think DESIGN should probably get about a 1.5 stars. This is something that is very hard to determine in the store...only after bringing it home and running it for 30 minutes with an aching right arm will you be able to see what I have seen. So, yes I would recommend this unit, but only if one considers it's negative factors as well as the positive. June 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my medium sized yard Priced competitive to comparable trimmers and I have found it to be very maneuverable and easy starting! June 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by The trimmer stopped working this spring. I brought the trimmer in for service under warranty because it would not start. The spark plug was still new and the fuel filter was clean. I only use pure gas (not ethanol) and maintain my equipment. I have many other another sthil products, blower, trimmer, chainsaw, edger and hedge clippers. I've had good results from them and trust the brand. This was the first disappointment. It was repaired under warranty, however, I was charged for the parts, but not the labor. June 2, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed.. Used no more than 5 hours.. Would not run at idle.. cost to repair same as buying another.. All my other small equipment items run fine.. May 27, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, BUT NOT AS EXPECTED poor line advance, had to buy expensive oil for warrantydid like that the dealer started it before selling it May 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great equipment overall. This product is great, however, the casing over the air filter will not stay on. It pops off while in use. May 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer for a first time gas Trimmer Ive had my Trimmer now for a year. Before I had it I was use to the corded versions. i can now state that i will never go back to a corded or battery one ever again. I can Easily trim a 10,000Sq Ft lawn and only use 1/2 a tank!! just 3 pumps of the primer plunger, flip the switch to choke and 3 pulls of the string and im off!! this is a Perfect model for people considering switching to a gas trimmer. trust me you wont be disappointed! May 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one minor complaint Shaft could be slightly longer as I am 6'. Other than that this is an excellent product that exceeded my expectations May 21, 2016
<<prev2 3 4 5... 8next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips