Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 240reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Start Although easy to start, I have found the automatic feed feature to be less than desirable. The instructions for adding string are not easy to understand. September 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer My old trimmer was worn out they gave me trade in value and I bought new trimmrt September 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would buy again This was my first purchase of a STIHL product. I always thought they were out of the price range of what I could afford. I was so tired of buying a new trimmer every couple of years, I decided to check out STIHL's. It was affordable and having an acre of property I needed something that would last . The thing I really liked was so light and easy to start. I plan to replace all my other yard equipment with STIHL when needed. September 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very reliable Perfect trimmer for someone short like me. It really gets the job done. September 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight and powerful Before purchasing, I noticed this trimmer had really good reviews. I am completely satisfied. It is easy to start and cuts through tough weeds and fescue with ease. September 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to handle It does a great job trimming around fence and stone wall. September 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased I purchase this trimer this year, and I am very please with it starts easy and works great. September 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just got my new Stihl FS-40 Just purchased a new FS-40 from Stihl Dealer In Derry NH.First Ken at Ed's saw is a Great Dealer and spent time with me that was very helpful.I decided to get this Model and told him I did not want the Bump and feed that comes with it but to order me the Duro Manual feed as I hate those heads. I understand the frustrated reviews also. I've owned several weed wackers and always changed the heads that came with them to a manual head. The line last longer takes about two minutes or less to change the line and your Stress level stays at zero. So all you people who love the Weed wacker but rate it low because of the bump and feed head and the advance line do yourself a favor and change to a Duro head manual head. I cut several 71/2 inch line, soak them in water and I'm good to go. August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! I had tried a few other trimmers before settling on the Stihl. The weight is balanced and doesn't vibrate near as much as other brands that i tried. It cuts well and feels perfect for my height 5'8". If you are taller you might want a longer one. August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts easy and runs smooth like all my Stihl products This is another in a line of Stihl products, blower and chain saw previously, that I have purchased after having owned lesser priced products that failed after short periods. Stihl provides the quality at a reasonable price. A worthwhile investment that reflects the research needed to provide a tool that works effectively. August 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just feels nice! Trimmer looks and feels like a quality product. Perfect for weekly home use. It has all the power you need for routine trimming. I have a new go to brand in this August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This was my first purchase of a STIHL product. I always thought they were out of the price range of what I could afford.I was so tired of buying a new trimmer every couple of years, I decided to check out STIHL's. It was more affordable then I thought and having a half acre of landscaped property a good investment.The most awesome thing is it's so light, so easy to start and very sturdy. It will be around a long time!I plan to replace all my other yard equipment with STIHL as needed. August 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by well balanced easy to use was using a cordless trimmer for years and every couple years the battery would go bad . to replace the battery was more expensive than the trimmer itself ,finally woke up and realized I could by a quality gas trimmer with 4 year warranty for less than I spent on the cordless and have much better power August 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of power I was amazed at how much power this trimmer had for being one of the entry level models. August 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent trimmer Has plenty of power and easy to start. Choke can be a little difficult to set for starting, but always starts on first pull. I've had numerous other cheap trimmers, and this one is by far the best. August 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is light weight and easy to use I needed a reliable trimmer for around the yard. I have lots of flowerbeds and like to keep everything trimmed aroundthem. This trimmer works great. August 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very dependable, has great features. I was skeptical about purchasing this product, but, after purchasing it and using it for a month. I'm glad I did. Easy to start, very well balanced, easy use, maintain, store. I will definitely continue to purchase products from Stihl. Excellent product, excellent warranty well worth the price. I have been a mechanic going on 37 years and have worked on everything from lawn mowers to bulldozers. I know that this is the only product that I've had that actually starts on the second pull every single time! August 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality, Easy to operate. I have owned several brands of string trimmers in my 80 years of life. This model for the average homeowner is tops. August 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mountain yard It powered through a large area of wet mountain grass with no problem i would recommend...used a different brand a few times prior on the same area took.days to complete..this time a few hours .. August 5, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by starts good bad head bump line ever since I bought the head did not discharge wright .I bought at twin lakes ace.i want a weed wacker .that does not have a bump head.ace does not have one .I bought the weed wacker because of the sthill name .I wasted so much time with my fsc40do u sell a head that is not a bump head that would fit my fsc40 August 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made in USA A finely engineered german product. Should have bought the best years ago. Always starts. Came from an undependable 4 stroke weedwacker. Actually I bought 2 stihls the same day, one for my son too. I bought them locally at a small rural dealer who has sold Stihl for years. I bought the premix so I don't have to get the mix wrong. We love our stihls and are telling others August 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful and reliable About a year ago I got a Home Depot weedeater that was a lemon and died on the first tank. My dad went to Bud Herbert and brought home this FS-40C weedeater. I have been using it very often at our 40 acre farm and our house. It always starts right up and has plenty of power. My dad's FS-90 is still more powerful, but mine can do anything his can. It is light and easy to use. I have three heads for it, the bump head, which I like, the Polycut blade head, which I like, and the fixed string head whichbI prefer the bump head over. The only criticism I have of this weedeater is that about a month ago it started running unevenly at full throttle and had severe loss of power. We changed the spark plug and cleaned the air filter but it still wasn't right. Took it to Herbert's and it turned out to be a spark arrestor screen in the muffler that plugged up with carbon. It is there because of the EPA. It was removed for free and the machine has ran excellent since. If you have this weedeater or buy one, take it out. Overall it is an excellent machine and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good weedeater that isn't too expensive, and with great dealer support. August 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Starting I have always hated grass trimmers. The last one I owned actually took 20-30 pulls to get it started and then it never ran well. I bought the Stahl FS40 on a recommendation. I brought the trimmer home and gave it one started on one pull. And purred like a kitten. If it's possible to fall in love with a piece of equipment I'm there! July 26, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product was defective when i brought it home. So I decided to quit purchasing cheap through away after one year weed trimmers and splurge on a stihl. It was out of the box, look most sold there, when I purchased at Rural King in Effingham, IL. It fired right up but the trimmer head wouldn't turn so I called the store and all they wanted me to do it return it, except that would of been another 1 1/2 hr round trip back to the store. So after about an hour I figured out it wasn't put together right, because cable wasn't connected correctly.The tank smelled like gas when I got ready to fuel it the first time, so expect it was a returned unit. Or it was fueled to check operation at the store and they failed to notice the defect.......Either way I wasn't very happy.Troy Acree July 25, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by the trim wire gets guard all the time This was a brand new weedeater and the trim wire gets caught in the guard at start up. It was a nightmare and a re real pain in the butt. I would like to return it for another model. Not what i expected at all. July 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Light and powerful Lightweight and powerful, handles most jobs easily. On the downside, goes through line like crazy. July 24, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too heavy Wife hates it compared to former lighter model. No longer comes with easy replace head. Too expensive. July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weed wacker Love this weed wacker. Went from a black and decker electrical corded wacker to this. Night and day. Works easy with 2-3 pulls and seems easy July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer is light weight and easy to handle. Gets the job done and more. I just got this trimmer for my birthday and I'm in love. I wouldn't want any other product then stihl. I love and highly recommend it. July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome trimmer This is by far the best weedeater out there it starts right up everytime. I have had no problems at all and very happy I bought it July 20, 2016
<<prev2 3 4 5... 9next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips