My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 560 C-EM

Professional grade, powerful clearing saw with Easy2Start™ system and STIHL M-Tronic™ feature.

FS 560 C-EM
FS 560 C-EM is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously Professional Brush Cutter After much research, I purchased the FS 560 C-EM with the Chisel Tooth Saw Blade configuration, but I am using the AutoCut 56-2 string head with .130 line that I ordered along with it for maintaining the fence rows on my parent`s property.I am blown away by the performance - nothing slows this beast down - it takes whatever you put before it. I trust the reliability with this brush cutter is just as impressive and from what I`ve read, it should be. If it`s anything like the Stihl 036 chainsaw I bought about 25 years ago that is still an awesome piece of equipment, it will not disappoint. I purchased the FS 560 C-EM specifically to clean fence rows and it`s right at home with the heavy brush growth around them. The AutoCut 56-2 string head with .130 line does a great job on the thick brush, however, I just ordered the Brush Knife and Deflector Kit for it as well for use in the larger brush that I am coming across while cleaning the fence rows that have had a couple of years growth around them where the Brush Knife would be more suited to use.I`ve used the FS 560 a couple of hours (1.5 fuel tankfuls) so far and I love how it gets it done. The AV system works really well - believe me, if it didn`t, my hands would tell me about it later. I`ve had no issues (so far) with my hands or arms after using it and that is saying something.Very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST heavy-duty Clearing Saw/Brushcutter on the market! I bought the FS-560 to replace my FS-550. I hope this is encouragement to those who may have been unimpressed with the previous model. The 550 had a driveshaft prone to fail, had an air filter which sometimes had to be cleaned between fuel fillings, had a tendency to run hot, had me running downhill way too often for a fill-up, & a harness which I couldn't keep tight. The folks at Stihl listened! Every problem above was identified by me & a local comm'l Christmas Tree grower who also uses a 550. Our local dealer listened & we shared our input with the folks at StihlUSA. As a result, the formerly hollow driveshaft was replaced with a solid one. The screen-style air filter was replaced with the latest-generation paper element, plus the M-Tronic carburetor adjusts for air filter cleanliness. The fuel tank has been enlarged while the engine was made more fuel-efficient. Air flow was improved. Harness improvements were made with more coming! These improvements gave birth to the FS-560 C-EM!!!The 560 is essential for areas where I do extensive fire-suppression clearing between my home, outbuildings, & adjoining native forest. It takes a big machine when you can't cut everything on an annual basis. I cut scotchbroom, vinemaple, serviceberry, ninebark, mahonia, & other brushes and grasses to keep "ladder fuels" to a minimum. I have sloping-to-steep terrain where herbicides, wheeled machinery, &/or goats are not an option. My set-up is with a 350mm, 3-tooth Brush Knife. I've mauled green wood just over 3" in diameter.Yes, the 560 is heavy, but it must be so to withstand the punishment it takes. Look, I'll be 65 in 2-months & I'm not complaining. I still can spend about 5-hours with it in 90-degree weather on slopes from 6-to-40%! The exhaust protector might need a little re-design to strengthen it from breaking in the event you back into heavy brush or a tree. Since that is all I have to complain about, I consider myself lucky! GET TO WORK!!!Finally, I'd like to give a "shout-out" to my supporting Stihl dealers in Bonners Ferry & Ponderay, Idaho; Libby, Montana; & Cranbrook, B.C., Canada. Thanks!!!
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This clearing saw is very heavy duty and also very heavy. I have not used it enough to give it 5 stars, so that is the reason for the 4 stars across the board.This is a heavy tool. If you are looking to spend long hours clearing, I would suggest trying it on for "size" before buying. No one had one in stock, so I had to buy it without trying it on for "size". I probably would have opted for a lighter option if I had been able to try it on before buying.Its size and weight make this tool a little difficult to use for extended clearing sessions.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful clearing saw This brush saw is second to none! My crew has been running a pair of these saws for four years, they have been very reliable and have more than enough power. We use them for trail maintenance and clearing fuel breaks in heavy brush and small trees. With the saw blade (and proper sharpening) the 560 takes out trees up to 4" no problem (and we have cut up to 8" trees with a few whacks), the three-sided blade is great on smaller regrowth and herbaceous vegetation. The large fuel tank is key and it can run flat out for a little more than an hour on one fill-up. Also the vibration dampening system is awesome, it's well balanced and running 5 or 6 tanks doesn't bother anyone.That being said, maintenance is necessary, blades have to sharpened a lot to perform well. We replace the nut, washer and parts for mounting blades every year (Stihl sells a parts kit). When we have decreased performance, it's because the spark arrestor is clogged - we just pop it out and burn it out with a butane torch. Overall, impressive machine.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product has poor dealers Had to wait 2 months to get the 560. Used it one time on brush. Bought it for thick grass in the first place. Been waiting on a autocut string head for 3 months. Dealer said they had it, go down to get it and it's the wrong one. Summer is about to come to a end and my trimming is so far behind. Had people wanting me to cut brush for them now I've lost all my jobs. The 560 might be nice but I haven't been able to use it. Overall it's just very very POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE from STIHL THEMSELVES. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Land Clearing Operations I found this product to be excellent for land clearing operations. With the 60 tooth saw blade already attached, I was able to cut 4-5 inch trees at about 40 trees per hour. 1-3 inch trees at about 100 trees per hour. Brush actually clogs the machine, and you will need to attach 3 bladed cutter. Must use the double shoulder harness for highest efficiency. Use helmet with ear protect and face shield for safety. Wow. Does this product work great.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, reliable, well built I’ve been using the 560 for a couple of years for controlling large undergrowth and small trees which have grown on our 10acres of property. It has the power to take out anything if you use the right cutter head. If found the 3 bladed brush knife to be most useful, esp if you file the blades sharp periodically. I use the saw and the autocut trimmer too. The brush knife works great on anything up to about an inch without forcing it. Larger dia I’ll put on the saw blade and cut off. Above 2” I’ll use my chainsaws. With the power comes weight and I have found the larger harness works well to support the 560. Nicely balanced while working. Highly recommend the screen mask and goggles, as well as the anti-vibration gloves. You grow to love those gloves after running the 560 for a day. I’ve got the 560, a Kombi 131, BR600 blower, MS460 chainsaw, and an older Stihl chainsaw I’ve been using for about 30 years and still runs like a champ. All my Stihl tools are well maintained, used with care, and remain entirely dependable for the job at hand.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Light weight, does not vibrate, with additional purchase of the shoulder harness weight is balanced evenly adding to the ease of use.
Date published: 2016-09-17
  • y_2018, m_3, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs560cem, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips