My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 460 C-EM

Professional brushcutter/clearing saw with the STIHL M-Tronic™ system for optimum engine performance at all times.

Image of fs460cem
FS 460 C-EM is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than what I expected I bought this because I needed a little bit more power than a weed eater I can get at Lowe’s.The string adapter performed as expected from a stihl, but the blade attachment is absolutely amazing! It runs through brush like I’ve never experienced. Saplings as round as my wrist I thought I’d need a chainsaw for this thing worked straight through.
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power to get the big jobs done I am very impressed with the ability to clear large areas of undergrowth and brush. It is a back saver compared to using a chainsaw. Price seems high but you have to use one to understand the value.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Workhorse I purchased this unit to clear new growth poplar and autumn olive from the trails on my hunting property. It has performed very well. My only concern is that the unit does not come with a blade guard to protect the blade and personnel when not in use.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappointed in Stihl Customer Service So, I'm 6'8" tall, and this tool, the FS 460c-em is available in the "L" (longer by 5cm ) configuration in at least "UK, Germany, and Australia". It isn't available in the United States, I'm told, due to "demand". This is a totally flakey and dishonest response that I got from the technical help line when I called Stihl. That is what I was told by the technical assistant on the phone. The only difference between this "Long" version and the shorter version is the driveshaft and the lined tube are 5cm longer than the standard units are. Stihl has so far told me that I can't even buy this driveshaft and lined tube in the USA. If I could buy just the driveshaft and the lined tube, I could convert a readily available FS 460c-em to the L version and have a longer brushcutter for my 128 acres of land. The fact that they (Stihl) cannot make available to me, a longer tube and shaft, for my FS 460, is practically inexcusable. I write this review only as impetus so that maybe someday soon, they can cut through their completely ridiculous red-tape, and make the longer drive shaft and tube available to me. Being 6'8" can be a handicap in many instances, and it's only made worse when companies have policies such a Stihl do, that they only sell these long versions in countries that they say that they have a demand for them. So if that is the case, why can't I buy a longer driveshaft and tube and put them on my standard FS 460? That would be too easy, I guess.Come on Stihl. This is red tape and you can provide better service that this!
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, but I overbought. This thing is a beast. I bought the brush knife/guard and the string trimmer head/guard. It comes with the circular saw blade and limit stop. Tons of power. Too much power for all but the tallest grass and thickest brush. By that I mean don't make this do double duty as a yard trimmer. You barely give it gas and the throttle does not modulate well. It likes to be wide open with a load, and normal grass and light brush doesn't make it do that. I could have gotten an fs 311 and put blades on it. It would be better served with mulching blade and guard than the string trmer and brush knife. Then you can shred the brush not just cut it. I cut all the brush I had in several weeks, and brush doesn't grow like grass!
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST unit in the Clearing Saw line! I have owned FS 250/450/550 Clearing Saws. Currently, the FS 460 C-EM is the best choice from the line. It will handle nearly anything the heavier 550/560 will, without the additional weight which can be a factor when working on steep terrain. The 360 lacks the power needed for the tougher brush when it is allowed to grow 3 or more years without cutting. I use my 460 to cut brush such as ninebark, serviceberry, scotchbroom, & vinemaple growing with grasses beneath a conifer-forested canopy on sloping-to-steep terrain where fire suppression is a necessity. This is the only viable option I have found where the use of herbicides or wheeled machinery is not practical. I bought the Short Shaft (K) model of this FS 460 C-EM in Canada because the (K) model is not currently available in the U.S. I have found the (K) model much easier to use on sloping-to-steep terrain when cutting going up the fall line because of the decreased distance to the ground. The longer shaft models may be used in my application, but are a bit clumsier & slightly unsafer to use.I recommend the 350mm, 3-tooth Brush Knife for all the clearing in the above applications. I have logged over 4,000 hrs. of use with this particular blade installed on the 450/460/550 units. The ability to flip it over & keep cutting is a time-saver in the field, and it is easier to sharpen with a longer service life than the other options. I have cut green material up to 3" in diameter with one high-rpm pass!The Forestry Advanced-Plus Harness assembly has an improved attachment to the unit for increased operator safety and less chance of failure than the old style attachment. This harness is comfortable and the weight distribution is superior.Dealer parts support can result in some delays due to back-order status, so I suggest stocking up prior to the cutting season.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Well like all the reviews say...this is no toy! Makes short work of brush and small trees, actually the only downsides are it is a bit cool blooded and you can really quickly drop enough stuff to give yourself a heart attack pulling it out of the way. Seriously this thing is a beast and has been worth every penny so far. If I could make a petty wish...it would be awesome if it came with 2 blades.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the ticket Perfect for brush and small trees up to about 4". After that, a chainsaw is best.
Date published: 2017-12-13
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_fs460cem, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl