My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Pressure Washers

RB 400 DIRT BOSS®

A premium pressure washer that combines excellent performance with durable build quality for long-lasting value.

Image of rb400
RB 400 DIRT BOSS® is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vear easy to use This washer is very easy to use and very easy to start It starts on the first pull every time
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s Stihl .... so it’s awesome! I’ve had the RB400 for a year now. It’s worked flawlessly every time I’ve used it. Only issue I had is one tire was flat when I bought it. I aired it up and it was flat again next use. BUT, no biggy because I’m not rolling it miles down the street. One thing I did, and I wish Stihl did is put an hour meter on it. They aren’t that expensive and how are you supposed to know when you have hit 30 hrs to change your oil if you don’t install one? I just think that Stihl should add this. But again, I will always buy Stihl products because they ARE awesome!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL RB 400 Just got it a week ago. Used it for the 1st time Fri 5-3-19. Ran it for a 1.5 hours no leeks started 1st pull great pressure. The STIHL shop where I bought it from where friendly and showed me how to start and run it. Before I used it for the 1st time I read the manual and only thing I don't like is it said that don"t let pressure washer run longer then two min when not under load. Manual said that it is hard on pump. So when moving the washer a person should shut it off and then restart it when moved. Very happy with the RB 400. also in manual stated you should change oil after the 1st 5 hours of run time.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pressure Washer For Pool Area Too. We live in Florida and have a pool and a pool screen enclosure. Keeping the cool deck and screen encloser clean year round was costing me a good bit of money annually. I decided to ask my local Stihl dealer if he could recommend a Pressure Washer for someone like me with a pool, driveway and sidewalk. He said the Stihl RB 400 Dirt Boss was more than enough for a homeowner like me. The price was reasonable considering what I was paying to have my pool area cleaned twice a year by a contractor anyway. My RB 400 has already paid for itself and I purchased the Stihl Rotary Surface Cleaner to go with it. My pool area always looks great now thanks to my Stihl RB 400....
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from List price is higher than other name brands. Bought at Rural King at Cannonsburg, Ky. In Dec. 2018 and have used it once to see that it works. Easy setup and starting as stated by Charlie, who sold the unit. Works great and bought it after Charlie’s recommendations and the brand’s quality in other tools that I have owned.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you get what you pay for! Awesome pressure washer. Easy to start. Easy to use. More than enough power to tackle anything around the house. Pretty quiet too.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RB 400 More than enough power to tackle any cleaning job at home! My house and deck have never been this clean!
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this for cleaning my deck and tried it out yesterday. Works great. Easy to start and use. Did a great job on my deck and driveway. Only complaint is that it uses a lot of gasoline.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product, however the pump failed after only 4 hrs of use!!! Great product, the engine is powerful, fuel efficient and starts on the first pull. The build quality of the frame is nice as well. The hose that comes with it is a little short, and you have to adjust the exhaust deflector or it will burn a large spot on the lawn. I used this unit for 4 hrs to wash my house and noticed a tiny amount of oil dripping from the pump. I drained the pump oil and it was full of water. I have since installed a more heavy duty pump with more flow. I was not interested in having this units original pump repaired or replaced, I believe it’s not heavy duty enough for larger jobs around the house. This will probably be the last Stihl pressure washer I purchase.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy for the money When you pull the trigger the washer struggles a little in my opinion maybe under powered at start up over all awesome machine for the money
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality item, but maybe too big As a man, you have to get the most power, and the highest ratings for everything. For home use, this is a great washer, and even for light industrial use. I would say that it's too big for my home needs. It's very wide, and pretty heavy, so do be prepared that if you want to use it up on your roof, you may have some drama getting it out a window, or hauled up via rope, etc. I had a high quality electric pressure washer that I think is more suited to the task.I have a large front and back deck, and it's really great, does a wonderful job. Do be aware that when you use this washer, the water hose should be rolled out, and straight, or it's going to hunt up and down trying to get steady pressure.I used it on my off road truck to clean everything underneath, and let me tell you, it looks brand new under there now. One last note...be very careful where you point the nozzle, it could easily cut you with the high pressure.Starts with no problems, runs great, like all of my other Stihl products. (chainsaw, bug mister, weed eater)
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great product from Stihl !! I have used it around the house to wash different things and it did great. Easy start is awesome!. I had to turn the exhaust from burning my grass; it would burn the grass while running but easy fix. Little expensive for the amount of PSI. I own a lot of stihl products and have great confidence in them so i wanted to try this pressure washer. They back their product plus i have a dealership close to the house if i have any problems; don;t have to run back to some home department store who sells box products. So far i like the product.
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well, screws falling out and hose leaking Purchased new RB 400. Screws fell out of the panel on the HANDLE and the hose is leaking where it connects already. Have owned less than three works and operated less than 8 hours.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Power This pressure washer has a lot of power and make short work out of jobs at hand, such as cleaning lawn mowers, vehicles, and wood decks. Preps the deck for a new coat of sealant in a hurry.
Date published: 2018-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of pressure with no purging. Effortless starting this far. Wand is perfect length. Only change I'd make is the gas fill location. Overall a 5. You pay a little more but the quality and reliability is worth it. I would say I was impressed, but owning a commercial back pack blower and saws I expected the same quality and was not surprised that this washer had all the same goods. The starting, the hook ups, the pump, and motor all were as expected. (Great) I have two other pressure washers one with a Briggs one with a Honda both are similar psi both have had issues from the carb on the Briggs to the Pump on the Honda, so I bit the bullet and spent a little more for Stihl and so far am very pleased.The ONLY complaint isn't really a complaint just a suggestion that would be the gas tank design. The gas cap is Top Dead Center of the tank. It requires a funnel and an extra hand or coordination to fill. Had they moved it or put an angled throat on it, it would make filling the unit much easier. 5 of 5 and very pleased overall.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power a lot of it Wow just used on my driveway had to stop because this beast has a lot of power. I just don’t understand why the product did not come with 0 degree nozzle end??? Recommend it it’s a beast.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts every time Ok I have bought several power washers over the years. If you buy cheap you get cheap. I bought this one early spring and have used it on several projects. The thing I love best is it always STARTS. Did I mention that is starts every time?
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start, easy mobility, lightweight hose Starts on the first pull and you don't have to overcome or relieve the water pressure. If the engine is running and water isn't used the unit releases water to cool the pump. The unit is easy to move. The hose is lightweight and flexible. The hose connections are screw on and easy to hook up and unhook.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RB400 does everything I have used my RB400 for about three weeks. It has cleaned deck, sidewalk, gutters, soffit, vinyl siding, truck, gas grill. Everything was cleaned great. Only problem I had was that when I had the engine running on the grass for about ten minutes without moving the engine, I found dead grass about 2ft square the next day. I thought that the exhaust from the engine was too hot. I changed the exhaust vent direction to move it direction up higher rather than straight down onto the grass. Easy thing to do just move two screws. No this RB400 if perfect for me.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the expense Don’t bother trying to go with a less expensive brand. The longevity and consistency is reliable and the power is exactly what you need for any project.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too early to tell Bought the RB400 because the dealer pointed out a design flaw with the RB200. The RB200 routinely burns the water hose when it comes in contact with the hot carburetor! They couldn't find replacement hoses since dealer stock was unavailable. I upgraded to this model for homeowner use. I didn't realize it had a Kohler Engine, should have done more research. Dealer prep and delivery is flawless with Stihl. The washer has been used one time now, starts out smoothly and did a fantastic job cleaning a concrete driveway with the 40 degree arch nozzle. It comes with a choice of high quality nozzles that clip in under the handle onto a panel for easy switching. I cannot vouch for long term reliability, however if it is like other Stihl products it will work flawlessly. I intend to use 2 to 3 times a year, so it will not be used for heavy jobs. The fittings are brass, quality fittings that will last forever.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product I like the EZ of how it started and being able to control the throttle as needed and a manual choke is the best. I am 100% satisfied.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and power Stihl is a name that I trust. So when I purchased the RB400 Boss. I felt confident that I was getting something that would last a long time. I've purchased other pressure washer and was disappointed in their lack of quality and support. I'd planned on buying the next model up, but for me it was a little more machine than I needed. My plans are to wash my school bus, vehicles and clean my house occasionally. I've used it a couple of times now and it hasn't let me down. It's a powerhouse and the attachments make it possible to do many different jobs. I purchased an extension hose and a couple of different nozzle ends and I'm quite happy with it.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! A little off balance when moving it around but otherwise, Great!
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance and easy to use Purchased my RB 400 from the Ace Hardware in Ocean Springs MS who assembled and fully serviced my my pressure washer before pick up. Also purchased the Stihl extension shaft to spray to second story without a ladder. Mixed Jomax, bleach & water to pressure wash my entire house this weekend. The RB 400 was very easy to start, had spraying power to reach all of my 2nd story roofline, gutters and windows. Highly recommend the RB 400. Made the job easy and my house looks brand new.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from STIHL quality but pressure lacking. Runs like you expect a STIHL to run. Starts easy and works as expected. The biggest draw back is the pressure output versus the price. Considering the price tag, I would have preferred at least 3100 psi.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is by far the best pressure washer I have ever owned, very dependable easy to start and use does a good job of washing.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Great machine for the price. Starts right up. You cannot go wrong with Stihl
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pressure washer to be proud of Great design, strong built, easy to crank, easy to maintain love it
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the unit This unit has plenty of power and does a great job.
Date published: 2018-04-11
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_rb400, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl