My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Pole Pruners

HT 101

Reach branches up to 16’ above ground with this telescoping pole pruner.

HT 101
HT 101 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl Quality I bought this pole pruner for my birthday as I have 75 acres of trees of which 20 acres are along a fence adjacent to a road. These are fast growing pines that need to have their branches trimmed pretty routinely as they hang over the fence. I've been doing this with a manual pole pruner and it has been getting really old really fast. This tool made quick and easy work of the chore for sure. It is easy to start and has been just as reliable as my 16 year old 029 Stihl chain saw. I have always been a firm believer to spend your money wisely and get quality in the beginning and this is another example of that. This saw cut through the branches like a warm knife through butter. Love it!!!
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is a must have for the do it yourselfer my in-laws talked me into taking down several 70ft trees, so I rented a 45ft lift, for the first time, yikes. Then topped all these trees with the pole saw & took them down from top to bottom, there is no way I could have done it it without this saw, I worked it hard 3 days straight, it started every time 50ft in the bucket or on the ground. I pull it out every year to trim my trees on my property as well, its just another great Stihl product that I am proud to say I own & was well worth the money I paid for it. I cut limbs from 2in to 10in.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed product If you can reach it you can cut it down with the 101, fives years of use and I'm very pleased with this power pruner.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply a great pole saw! okay, I have to admit that I'm a committed Stihl owner! I learned about Stihl saws many years ago while in the Fire Department. We had Stihl chain saws and cutters for rescue and roof ventilation. While I had never heard of Stihl when I joined up, Stihl was the only brand we used in the entire department and I learned quickly how reliable and tough Stihl saws were!That was many years ago and I have used other brands but I only buy Stihl. I own three Stihl chain saws all the way up to the 660 Magnum. I cut a lot of wood throughout the year for firewood, milling wood for furniture making and bowl turning. This year I wanted to add a HT131 to my inventory, but my Stihl dealer (who has forgotten more than I will ever know about saws) told me I didn't need the 131. He said I was not a pro tree trimmer/arborist using a pole saw every day. He Suggested the 101 was even more than I really needed for my cutting jobs, but he said that I would be more than happy with the 101. I have not had it long but the saw is simply outstanding. My dealer warned me it was heavy (because it is made for pros and to work all day every day and last a lifetime). He was right.....after a couple hours it felt like I was carrying around an axel with the wheels still attached. Other than the weight, this thing is a typical Stihl saw......the best in the world. While I maintain and care for my saw almost as well as I do my own kids, I am hard on my saws when working them. The aforementioned is one of the many reason I stick with Sthil equipment. This pole saw can do it all and not miss a beat. I can cut anything I want or need with this saw. With the pole saw fully extended, it makes me a little nervous so be sure your chain is sharp and you know what you are doing and what you are cutting. I have not found a limb of any size on any hardwood I have encountered (so far) that the 101 will not cut. It starts when I pull the cord and I only use non-ethanol gas with premium Sthil mix. I have heard all the complaints: too heavy,; too expensive, et al. If you are only going to use your saw once a year for an hour, go buy a cheap saw from a big box store. But, if you are serious about a pole saw or any chainsaw, you need a Stihl!!!!
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power Bought this trimmer to cut branches and boy did it do a great job...definitely recommend
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More power than I thought I haven't used the saw a lot yet, that's why I didn't rate it higher. I did a lot of footwork before I bought the pole saw. I've had great performance with Stihl saw's in the past cutting wood for home use. Ask me again in 6 months Stihl and I'll be able to give you a correct rating.Jim G., Tonasket, WA.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product with many great features I purchased this product about 6 months ago and have used it numerous times with great results.It has always been dependable and starts very easily.It doe s get heavy if you do a lot of cutting so i purchased the ht carrier system.Overall it is an excellent product and i would highly recommend it.Another fine Stihl product.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job - every time! I bought another brand pruner a few years back, but it couldn't do the jobs I needed. This Stihl starts, runs, and cuts every time. It also telescopes out to twice the height. With it I can reach branches that had always been too high. After a while it does get heavy, but that's a reasonable trade-off for what this machine can do.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL makes great reliable products. The HT 101Pole Trimmer is no exception. I've had the STHIL HT 101 Pole trimmer for about a year. It starts up every time on one or two pulls. The extension upgrade is well worth the price versus the HT 100. Set the blade and let it cut away. There are cheaper competitive models on the market. Pay the extra amount for the STHIL and you can look forward to many years of reliable and consistent performance.
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great unit, Just need three operators Love this unit I really do but it is not well balanced for one person use. I got this to make life easier since some injuries but really think it should have some kind of straps and system to make it much more balanced. So much for a unit that didn't re-injure my neck and shoulder.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HT 101 is a quality polesaw but a bit heavy and pricy A good neighbor has always lent me his HT 101 as needed. But afraid that I'd damage his by accident.. I decided to buy one of my own. The first job I had for it was to trim 7 very tall palm trees and several live oak trees. All this work was preformed from a lift bucket where I had little room to move. The HT 101 started on the first or second pull without fail every time. Making the job a lot easier. This unit is a bit heavy and when it is fully extended it can be a hand full. But it worked flawlessly on its first job. The power was suitable for the task. I used my Stihl MS250 chainsaw on large branches. But all others were cut with the HT101. My neighbor has owned his HT101 for about 5 years and it has always preformed great.. I am very satisfied with my purchase...
Date published: 2014-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable Saw Great product for the price. This saw started 1st pull every time.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good pole saw With a lot of trees and shrub in the front and back yard, this saw does exactly what I expect. From tall trees, to short shrubs, it works great!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a tough job easier. Due to some physical limitations brought on by injuries over the years I can no longer climb trees to trim them. While the pole saw is not cheap in price or quality. It is a tool that gets the job done. I along with my adult son used it to clear limbs so that we could gain access for a 13' tall RV into our place in the country. The saw performed flawlessly and was also good on fuel consumption. Bar oil was also used at a economical rate. Bottom line. While I initially balked at the price. This saw in my comparisons beats the other brands for value. The reason I didn't score it higher in the three categories is because of the short time I've owned it. Buy one. I believe you will be happy with it.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nothing but trouble since I bought it This wasn't cheap and I've had nothing but trouble with it since I bought it. I've hardly used it at all. I've used it 3 times in the past 18 months and 2 out of those 3 times the chain mechanism wouldn't engage. I've kept is safe in storage when not in use. The customer service was very good - my dealer is a good guy and he is very fair. It is possible I got a lemon.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good pruner Bought this after comparing with competing brands for its power, reach and previous experience with other Stihl products. The quality is there as always and the unit runs very well.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pole saw HT101 This is a heavy duty pole saw with plenty of power for all jobs. The only issue I have is the weight, it is extremely heavy especially when fully extended. The single shoulder strap included helps but be sure you have plenty of upper body strength before buying this pole saw.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile tool This saw is certainly great for limbs and overhanging branches but it also works well for then cutting up the cut wood. it is powerful and cranks evry time. I'm very pleased with it and the versatility so far.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pole pruner rocks! I have about 1/2 mile of creek bank that I am clearing all the undesirable brush from and leaving only hardwoods. This pruner is really yielding some outstanding and professional looking results. It is nice to safely prune all the trees on my property so that the roll bar on my tractor will clear all limbs and allow me to mow up close. The pruner starts easily and just rips through the branches under its own weight. It comes with a shoulder sling that really helps as the tool is a bit heavy. I can see where the harness accessory would be a wise investment if you are going to use this tool for more than a few branches in one outing.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HT 101 True story: During a severe thunderstorm in summer 2013, lightning struck a walnut tree and fell in my yard. After waiting a day for the sun to dry up the land, my neighbor and I attacked the tree with this (HT 101) and my MS211 chainsaw. This pruner saw "cut" our time by more than half by pruning the branches away so we could get to the trunk/base. When we were done I said to myself: "This pruner saw just paid for itself with today's work!"Now I can proceed to the review: This saw fires up on the first pull everytime! The chains are fast and powerful, even if it is a 12 inch bar. I purchased the HT Support System and that also is very nice to own with this saw: it handles almost ALL the weight and is still easy to maintain control of the saw. This is certainly not a saw for all homeowners, but since I live on a farm in a wooded area this comes mighty handy when faced with a felled tree or a stuck one.While I noted that it is sometimes awkward to handle, that is referring to the saw fully extended without the HT Support System. Even then it really isn't that difficult!
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made the job alot easier Really a great saw. Worth every penny. Starts every time. Just remember to wear safety goggles.
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful tool I purchased this pruner several years ago and it has been very useful with South Florida trees. I cut live oak, olive, various palm, and royal poinciana branches with great success. Reliability has been good very rarely had to take it back for tune ups. I found the non ethanol gas to be better. Some say its heavy, I think it is good exercise, but I am a big guy. It has saved me a lot in pruning costs. When the neighbors hear it, they all have favors to ask!Very important - Remember to wear your eye protection!!! The sawdust does blow around a bit.
Date published: 2013-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, well built product Fantastic saw. Starts flawlessly. Good extension. Idles for extended time while shorting branches. Very quiet for a 2 stroke engine. As mentioned in previous reviews, it does get a little heavy.. A strap ( sling ) is supplied, but, the optional harness is best for extended usage.. Need to pay attention when replacing chain due to different bar gauge,s and link configuration..( low profile etc. ) I would recommend this saw to anyone. This is more of a professional series unit, hence the higher price. They do have a homeowners unit at substantially less... I have cut many red and white oak and branches up to 11+ inches with no problem whatsoever.... It puuuuurs...
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable Pole Pruner I was little nervous at first because the pole pruner was so long. However, it was not heavy to lift and easy to start.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is a branch & brush "scalpel" I bought the HT 101 for our farm and have been using it to clear thick brush from ditches and limbs from trees. It has proved very reliable and starts effortlessly. This IS the right tool for the job and it has increased my productivity at least 4 fold.One VERY nice feature is that it enables you to insert the saw - rather than yourself :-) - into large brush thickets, severe branches off near their base then simply pull them out. This feature alone justifies owning this tool, particularly when clearing blackberry or wild roses, let alone honeysuckle and other invasive species.The same holds true when trimming thorn trees like buckhorn, honeylocust and hawthorns PLUS you eliminate the need for a ladder!It's all GOOD.
Date published: 2013-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Pruner but can get heavy to handle This is a great buy and extremely useful around the house and on the farm. It has already paid for itself in one week because of all the limbs I have trimmed in my tree lines. The only negative I have is that this prunner can get very heavy after using it for a prolonged period of time. I believe Stihl sells a shoulder/back bracket to help hold the prunner. That is something you might want to consider purchasing to make it easier on your arms and back.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ptoduct. Great product. The ability to extend the shaft is helpful. Great power. Only down side is weight.
Date published: 2013-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power Quitness Fuel Efficentcy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The HT 101 Pole pruner is great for tree trimming cutting branches of any sort wood and is great for high places u can't reach with a regular saw fuel efficent and strong for any job requiring a high extension an excellent piece of equipment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent pole saw, totally satisfied This pole saw meets all of my tree trimming needs. Its has flawless operation and is priced right. You will not have any regrets with this saw.
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is very effective. The only drawback is weight. Initially the saw blade was installed backwards. After purchasing another chainthe saw performed outstanding. It is a little heavy after repeated usage. I will try the backpack brace to see if that helps.Overall an excellent tool for the trade.
Date published: 2013-05-09
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_ht101, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips