My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Pole Pruners

HTA 85

A 12’ telescopic pole pruner, powered by 36-volt Lithium-Ion battery technology. 

Image of hta85
HTA 85 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If the future is battery power, bring it on! Love this. Not a single negative. Plenty of power for trimming without the hassle and noise of gas. When I was done using it the first time I was going to use my Stihl chainsaw to cut up some logs from trees that I had taken down earlier. I had a hard time getting the gas chainsaw going so I grabbed the pole trimmer. It had no problem cutting through a 14' log multiple times.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product ! Product works great . light weight , easy to use and the battery lasts long then expected.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid product, can handle big jobs, great battery life and recharge time. We have apple orchards with some old, overgrown trees that are full of grape vines and/or bittersweet. These are 70-year-old 20'+ tall trees. The HTA 85 is good for about 3 hours of this type of pruning, which for me is enough time to completely clean up 3-4 overgrown trees. A lot of that time is spent analyzing the tree or clearing out the cut branches, but a lot of it spent sawing through 10" apple wood, which is very hard wood. Saw does an impressive job with this kind of work. I am overall very satisfied with the product.Some minor complaints: I bent over the "hook" almost immediately upon using the saw - very soft metal. The battery should be in a weatherproof compartment, especially because you'll be putting it on the ground while you work and you definitely do not want to get the battery wet. Should have at least come with the stand included.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected Little Pico chain. Not as much power as the gas powered version. I borrowed one (HTA 65) from a friend and was surprised by how easy it was to use and the precision of the cut. I decided the cost was too much and bought two other brands that were cheaper. Sent them both back. Counted how many times I could have used the HTA 65 and clearly it was better than a hand pole saw in many cases. I have made the switch to battery power for leaf blower and small chain saw as well. The positives out weigh the negatives. Push a button. No exhaust. Almost no maintenance. Less noise.If you are wondering why your shoulders are sore and your neck hurts consider what happens when you hand pole saw when it gets stuck or just won't cut that branch that refuses to stay still. You will thank the designers of the HTA 65.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has alot of power This saw has more power than my gas pole saw.batteries last about an hour of constant use..pole has a new design and it is more rugged..chain is small but spins and cuts fast..great product
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful for a battery powered device The battery on the HTA 85 lasts longer than I do on a tree trimming project. The 12" bar allows for cutting large limbs. Much of my trimming is with the pole at maximum extension, and it is a bit unwieldy being so long. But trim it does! Small branches or larger limbs are cut quickly.The motor is quiet enough that ear muffs are not required. Just push the trigger and the chain starts. Release the trigger and the motor stops. The unit is easy to clean, as there is only one nut to loosen to remove the cover or adjust chain tension.All in all, I'm impressed with this pole saw, plenty of power, easy to use, and the construction seems rugged.
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product works better than the gas model I replaced. I have a hard time believing that some of the people writing reviews are using the same product that I am. Maybe they just have not used power equipment before. My HTA 85 is an absolute workhorse. I have 15 acres that I mow and brush hog. I have trimmed low hanging limbs all over my property. I have trimmed limbs back from my RV port. I have trimmed trees out of a bucket around my house and shop. Performs flawlessly. Sure, fully extended it can be a handful. That is not the brand but simple physics. Do I use this constantly? No. But in over one year of ownership I have only charged the battery once. I am a walking advertisement for this product.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broke after two weeks of light use I own numerous Gas Stihl products and was told at the store that this is as good a quality as the gas units. I wanted less noise so I was ready to sell my gas pole saw. Bad move on my part. It cuts almost as well is super quite and no gas oil mixing thats the good. The bad it weighs almost as much as the gas saw but i was cutting a branch about two to three inchs thick on my farm and it fell funny and snapped the extended part of the pole in half. Never before with my gas saw did this happen even when branches and limbs fell on. The pole extensions seems like it is made of very thin aluminum that will not hold up to heavy use. If this is for a backyard homeowner great but anything more Dont Buy
Date published: 2018-04-16
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_hta85, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl