My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Oils, Lubricants and Fuels

STIHL MotoMix®

Only from STIHL - This patented 50:1 fuel mixture combines non-ethanol, high-octane fuel and premium STIHL HP Ultra oil.

STIHL MotoMix®
STIHL MotoMix® is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pre-Mixed Non-Ethanol Motomix is good fuel, but its non-ethanol 90-94 octane mixed with Stihl synthetic. For the same cost of a quart, you can buy 2 gallons of 94 octane non-ethanol and a bottle of Stihl Synthetic. Before I bought non-ethanol, I ran Stihl equipment on premium ethanol gas treated with Lucas or Star Tron fuel stabilizers and those chainsaws, trimmers and blowers still run fine today. That’s 20+ years and no carb issues. If you treat your gas and keep your equipment and filters clean, your Stihl equipment will last a lifetime (I still have blowers and chainsaws my father bought). I now buy bulk 100 octane non-ethanol for the farm from the same place I get bulk off-highway diesel. I have noticed my Stihl equipment runs and sounds a little better. If your a homeowner and use your Stihl equipment sparingly, or just blow leaves, Motomix might be a good choice (there are similar products VP Racing, Trufuel). For a farm, I would have to buy pallet loads which doesn’t make sense.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MotoMix I like the time factor. It lasts 2 years open where as petrol and oil mix does not last that long before it goes old and not useable. The products was recommened when I brought my new Stihl brushcutter. Ralph
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for homeowner or occasional user I use this in all my 2 stroke power tools. I usually run through about one can in my stihl ms251 and one can in my trimmer per season so the cost does not effect me much compared to a gallon of gas and container of 2 stroke oil. Also there are not many gas stations in my area that offer non oxy gas so it saves the hassle of trying to find that. The containers make it easy to throw in the back of the truck without worrying about them spilling. It makes it very easy to throw one of these and my bar oil into a 5 gallon bucket and head out into the woods to cut firewood or clean up the atv trails.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No worry Fuel This product and s fantastically! You never have to worry if you have the right mixer or ethanol in the fuel. Take the worries from mixing and use this fuel.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eliminates having to worry whether a gas station uses ethanol. I don't mind mixing fuel but I do mind trying to "time" my gas purchases to avoid ethanol. Using the Stihl MotoMix allows me to buy fuel any time throughout the year. MotoMix keeps well and I have had no starting problems if I store my machines with empty fuel tanks in the winter. I fuel up using the MotoMix canister I opened the year before and have had no problems.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Buy Some! I was very skeptical how this product would make any noticeable difference in my equipment . I poured a little more than half a can in my empty FS130R tank and the remainder into my 2 cycle blower. Both fired up first pull and ran cleaner and stronger than I ever expected. I waited a few days and fired them both up again without any hesitation. I'm not the guy that usually writes reviews about anything but I highly recommend this product. Just buy some... you won't be disappointed that you did.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for light power equipment user Great for someone who lightly uses there power equipment or does not have experience using fuel and oil mix this is great because it uses stihl hp ultra witch stabilize it and all sorts of great things it also uses high octane gas so you don't have to worry about getting the wrong gas and it has ethonal free gas giving it a longer self lofe
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fuel that solves real problems for many users I wish Stihl provided a little more technical detail about Motomix in its marketing, because I think that even more people would see that it really is a fair value given the problems that it solves. The Stihl brand fuel is one of the highest quality of the "canned" fuels on the market. A look at the MSDS shows that MotoMix is an alkylated fuel, which makes it a very close cousin to that of aviation gasoline. The main differences between the Stihl fuel and aviation fuel is lower octane (good), no lead (good) and pre-added synthetic lubricant (highly convenient). Still's competitors' MSDS sheets show that they allow more "lesser grade" gasoline constituents than Motomix. The Stihl fuel does not have the strong smell of automotive gasoline because it does not have benzene in it. This makes using a two-stroke engine much less smelly than with car gas. Also, being a straight-run alkylate fuel, it is extremely stable, just like aviation fuel. For the occasional power equipment user, using this fuel is simply the least expensive option given the major degradation and gumming problems caused by automotive grade fuels. There's no way you can take your equipment in for service for less than the price of even a case of MotoMix. For a pro user, they will see little value in this fuel for daily usage since the equipment doesn't sit long enough for the fuel to degrade and cause problems.. For winter storage, MotoMix is still a good bet even for the pro.Give it a whirl. You'll be impressed at the things you don't have to worry about later.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS FUEL! i bought this fuel for my STIHL BR200 (i also reviewed) and it works great! 1: dont have to worry about ethanol 2: it is STIHL 3: price is costly, but not overpriced or overrated. I reccommend this fuel for homeowners or a small lawn care business. if you need more fuel or you think this is to pricy, go out buy ethanol free gas and put in STIHL HP Ultra oil.
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Can't say enough great things about this motomix. Great for home owners. I used to try and mix my own fuel enough to lay 30 days and then drain all the fuel form my equipment in the winter. Now all o have to do is use motomix already mixed last two years great to leave in your equipment. No mixing no guessing no mess and just like everything stihl makes great products. Has a shelf life of 2 years and can be left in equipment during the winter months what more could you ask for. As far price yeh it's a little pricey until you figure in the amount of oil and gas and not to mention the trip to the stihl dealer to have your equipment worked on with all the ethenal they put in fuels today. All around great product saves time money and a mess and no worries of measuring anything.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta Love it Helps me start the gas chainsaw without problem because it's already mix.Whereas before I would mix and well I'm not good mixer almost damaged my saw :/.With this mix I pour and ready to go.Varooom don't ya love that sound ;).
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this product, but wish I could buy it online! I use MotoMix in all of my Stihl tools, but as a home owner, I don't go through much more than a case in a season. I really wish I could order this product online since my local retailer only has weekday hours.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for home owner I switched from mixed fuel to motomix this spring for my kombi trimmer and power sweep, I used only 3 cans from march 2015 to October 2015 so it was not that expensive for me to operate my equipment this season. I think it has excellent value for the home owner. For heavy use it might cost to much. Also I run this in my 20 year old homelite super 2 chainsaw and the performance over mixed fuel was very noticeable. It starts easier and much more power. Ill continue to use this product.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient Easy and convenient. I use it for all of my Stihl equipment.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, Easy, Perfect. So simple and easy to use. Pour right from the can and no worries. Very cool how Stihl doubled the warranty when I bought a blower and a trimmer by using this product. I will continue to use it for the life of my equipment...and with Stihl that promises to be long time.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An awesome quality product! I just purchased the Stihl FS56 RCE trimmer. The manager Travis, at my dealer Crossroads Ace Hardware highly suggested this fuel. The MotoMix blend always ensures a quick start, and smooth consistent power each and every time! There is no guessing on the mix. It is right on the mark. I wouldn't use anything else! Less down time! The cost is a bit high but worth it.
Date published: 2015-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome When Used I agree with concensus that Motomix is great product but not cheap. If your an occasional user it is MUCH cheaper than service and frustration of neglected carburetor or the mortal sin of accidently straight gassing! I only use ethanol free fuel and Stihl Ultra Synthetic Oil when mixing my gas (my local Country Mark Fuel has an ethanol free pump). I still use Motomix in my small blower and trimmer that sip fuel. I also put in my chainsaws to store for summer. Home town fire department uses Motomix to insure easy start of saws when needed and preventing accidentally filling from straight gas can.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it I've always mixed my own fuel. But I had a friend that had a can of Stihl premixed fuel so I tried it and my saw had much more power and cut lots more wood. Great stuff.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worthwhile Investment Many have said, and I must agree, that this fuel is expensive when compared to mixing your own. But, there’s a price to be paid when using fuel with ethanol and that price could be a trip to the repair shop, , or even the need to replace a tool. While it is expensive, it is also comparably priced to other pre-mixed fuels on the market. If I know I will be using multiple talks of fuel through the course of a day I may go to the local airport and get some fuel without ethanol and mix my own, but more often than not I just use MotoMix. Another thing I’ve noticed is that my saws seem to have more power when burning it; Granted, it’s a subtle difference, but anyone attuned to their equipment’s performance will likely notice . I like keeping my saw sharp, fueled, and ready to go at all times in case a tree comes down on the property unexpectedly. For this reason I only keep MotoMix in my saws and I can’t think of much that would change that.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a rarely used MS-460 I have a variety of Stihl chain saws for different applications. From the HT-100 to a 'baby' MS-180; and I use them a lot on my orchard. What I use infrequently is my MS-460. When I need it - it must work. This means there is trouble or the job is very tough. I heard that All the local fire fighters use pre-mix Stihl gas in their MS-460R and other Stihl equipment so I decided to give it a run.I never looked back.This is the only gas I use in my expensive but some times very necessary MS-460!
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good product Equipment runs great on it,no ethanol worries.It is expensive but all fuel of this type is.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but well worth it !!! When the task at hand requires more than 1 tank full , I use premium gas & oil mix , then after the job is done I fill the saw up with MotoMix and let it run for a minute or two until I'm ready to use again, whenever that may be !!
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth its price, all things considered Wish ethanol didn't exist, but because it currently does, MotoMix is essential if you desire any reliability from your 2-cycle tool (and who doesn't)? This is truly a no-brainer. Yes, MotoMix is expensive. Compare its cost to a repair or two because of pump gas containing ethanol, and you'll join the MotoMix camp. This stuff is like Stolychnia vodka for your 2-cycle engines. Try it and agree! Thanks, Stihl!!
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but... Yep, this stuff costs 4-5 times what unleaded and the add-in oil costs, and like the other guy said, if you're using your saw/trimmer/hedge cutter, etc regularly, it may not be of as much value to you, Buuuut, when you throw in the cost of taking your tool to the Sthil dealer in the Spring 'cause you have a gummed up whatchama-franzit, it nmitigates that issue a lot.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was sceptical...but it's great stuff...for specific applications I bought 3 liters of Motomix because I had two Stihl chainsaws, an MS391 and an MS250, that I had neglected to use for a year. They still had full tanks of regular 50:1 gas/oil mix. They were in bad shape. Even on a hot day they wouldn't start easily, and if they did start they would sputter and and fail.I drained all the fuel, worked out the bad stuff by pulling slowly on the starter, then refilled with Motomix. Both saws started after a few pulls. I let them idle for a few minutes to get the fresh fuel through. After that they both started after just 2 or 3 pulls, even without engaging the choke. The difference was pretty obvious. My MS391 even "burped" on a nasty cold morning with just one pull.I would not use this fuel for times when I'm using my saw regularly, but since I do most of my work during spring and fall I will definitely store them with Motomix in the tanks. Also, since the MS250 sits in my pickup as an "emergency" saw there's no knowing when it will be used. When I reach for that saw I need to know it's going to fire up and run - I won't care how much the fuel inside it cost.Having said that - if they cut the price by 50% I'd probably buy only this stuff for my saws. I understand it's "space fuel" but seriously, 5 times the price of "earth fuel"?
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jet Fuel for Chainsaws I purchased a MS362 last year. The only gas that has graced its tank has been Motomix. The stuff is SUPER expensive but the performance cant be denied. I take pride in my saw and don't mind spending the extra money while using only the finest products. Friends were skeptical while felling trees and getting whiffs of the Motomix exhaust, which kind of smells like fryer oil. Their questions diminished quickly once Motomix replaced their regular mix on our next gas up. Pricey but legit, Its like jet fuel for your chainsaw.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome product i have read all these reviews and almost every one.had said this product is expensive but when u buy the best chainsaws on the market.you should put the best fuel in your equipment to protect your investment . just common sense .
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, but expensive Stihl was really smart coming out with this Moto mix. I wrecked a FS46 because of bad gas. Stihl Moto mix is basically all I run in my MS250 and my new FS50c. I have noticed more power and better fuel economy when I use Moto mix. My only complaint is this stuff is too expensive, but in the long run it might be worth it. Like I said I wrecked a FS46 with ethanol gas. One key thing I have noticed about Stihl products is read the Manuel and shop around not all dealers are the same. I do recommend Moto mix I can see the difference in my tools performance.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the Bomb for 2 cycle engines I have several 2 cycle Stihl products. 2 weed wackers, a kombi motor system, a blower and a chainsaw-all Stihl products. I have all thru the years had starting problems and replaced more carbs than than I care to think about. You can never master the blend of 50:1 ratio with a little can of oil and so much gas. Even using 92 octane gas, it breaks down after a few months and causes issues with your equipment. Most gas today is 10% ethanol-the enemy of small 2 stroke engines.Using this product is costly, but the best treatment you can give your machines. They will run like new, and can stay idle for long periods, without worrying if the gas is breaking down during long down times. All my equipment runs like a top, thanks to using motomix. I highly recommend this product. Wish I used it years ago, and then would not have had so many repairs and aggravation.
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does make a difference This is not your ordinary 92 octane pump gas. Having the ethanol and additives for cars removed from your gas makes a big difference in performance and emission.All my 2 cycle equipment has becoming more powerful and easier starting than before.Pulled the muffler screen off my 2 month old FS130R trimmer yesterday and it was way cleaner than I ever seen using pump gas.Give it a try, your equipment especially the gaskets, carburetor and the fuel line will thank you for using it.
Date published: 2014-04-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_motomix, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips