My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Oils, Lubricants and Fuels

HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil

This fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil is specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools.

Image of oilhpultra
HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but Impressive So Far I stated using Stihl Ultra Synthetic 2 stroke oil last year. I use it not only in my Stihl equipment but also in equipment from other manufacturers. Previously, I was using the Stihl Premium 2 cycle oil and 91 octane gas. I stated having quite a few carb issues with this mix in the last 2 years so my dealer suggested given the Ultra version a try. Since I started using it, I have noticed: easier starts, better fuel efficiency, increased power and performance, and it appears to be cleaning out carbon deposits as it works as well. All in all, the oil is expensive but from my experiences, it seems to be worth it.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HP Ultra Oil - The Best!!! I run this in all my 2-cycle and 4-Mix STIHL machines and I do not seem to have any of the carb or starting issues I have seen in reading many of the reviews on this site. I use the pre measured bottles for 1 gal of the HP Ultra synthetic oil and 1 gallon of fresh 100LL Aviation Fuel. The machines seem to love this combination and appear to give a bit more power and run a little more eager on it. I've actually given a few bottles away to friends with mixed brands of machines for them to try it "risk free" and they all seem to love it too. I think this product is a winner!!
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like 2 cycle synthetic oil no smoke good the best I like 2 cycle synthetic oil no smoke runs like a 4cycle
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best engine protection This oil additive prevents gas going bad within 30 days...Shaking the gas can before each refueling​ also helps. Engines run cooler with synethic oils...Making them last longer..this the best value of all.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for 4 mix engines I purchased this oil to extend the warranty of my FC 110 Edger. This edger idles and runs better when I use this mix. I have tried it on other two strokes and it works well. However, I notice a slight odor when I use it on non-Stihl 2 strokes. I have not noticed any smoke but I run it at exactly 50:1.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from question about mixing my own fuel Since I don't use my chainsaw or blower that often I like to buy small quantities of oil. It comes in 2.6 oz which is 77 ml. I have a 2.5 l container for the mix. But at 50:1, 77 ml does not work out. What size oil should I get to measure the fuel easily?
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More power in all my Fuel Mix Engines I tried out the HP Ultra oil to get the extended warranty on my pole pruner, Hedge Trimmer and Blower. They run great with this oil, no super bad odor, no blue smoke, just smooth running engines, BUT what I didn't expect was when I fed it to a 13 year old Husqvarna String Trimmer that had run on Husk'ie oil its whole life. just the beginning of the tank through the machine and it magically picked up what I would estimate to be about 200 RPM and ran much better than before. WOW!! I always use fresh gas 91RON and factory oil in my machines, so this was a shock!! I expect that STIHL engines would run well on it, but I was shocked about the performance gains in the 13 year old trimmer!!!! I will never run anything else in any of my engines. HP Ultra is well worth the marginal increase in cost.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Option for Your Tools Originally purchased this oil to extend the warranty on a new chainsaw and became hooked to the quality operation of all my stihl engines. This stuff is superb and will make all your 2-cycle engines reach peak performance. My three stihl tools chainsaw (MS 271), trimmer (FS 130), and blower (BR 600), all burn this oil and I have found it to be superb. I switch to the pre-mixed product for my last run each fall/winter. Use this oil - you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great oil! This oil is not only good for stihl, but other equipment. It runs great in my BR200 and I expect it to run great on my stihl tools I plan to get. If you need oil for 50:1 tools, use this. Don't worry, youl love it!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This oil is great for all day and everyday use. This Ultra oil is great for rugged commercial use. I use it in all trimmers Fs70r, Fs 240r, and other 2 cycle equipments like blower and chainsaw. It also great for 4 mix/ 4 stroke hybrid too. This oil is best to use for rugged commercial use and if you care for reliable, and longivity or if you have 4 mix then that oil is for you.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this makes my gas power tools run great Love this stuff the best 2 cycle engine oil yet mixed sum up put if in my Husqvarna 128DJX started first pull put it in my stihl ms 170 gave it lots of power and when I bought it I got it with my chainsaw to get the extra warranty
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Primum Oil , Great product. I started running this oil last summer in all my 2 cycle engines . And they started preforming like new . Recently purchased a MS 250 and the dealer and he insisted I buy a six pack to extend warranty . And per 2.8 oz bottle by buying it in the pack it is actually cheaper than what is sold in the box stores . For avabilty the local general store here even sells it.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great oil I own several stihl products, BG 56, BG 86, KM 90R, KM 130R, BR 600 Magnum, and HS 45, I use to run the orange bottle in all my equipment but was told by the dealer I needed to switch to the silver bottle because I kept having to replace my priming bubble due to it cracking and the silver bottle will not eat the rubber fuel lines. After switching to the silver bottles I have never had to replace another priming bubble, great stuff
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Saws Running Great I use it in all my stilh products I have probably 15 different engines that run that same 2 cycle oil from stilh i have never used another product. It actually voids the warranty anyways not to use it.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two cycle engine oil is awesome Two cycle engine oil is awesome it is a good product keep selling it
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best 2 cycle engine oil on the market use this in all my 2 cycle equipment and it preforms better then any other type of oil. I use it in my still products that run at peak performance and with my non still power equipment and they run even better.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ecxellent for RC gasoline engines. Cleanest oil I've found. I am a Radio Control Airplane Hobbyist who flies gasoline powered planes, using engines very similar to those found in a chain saw. This oil has proven to be the best we have tried at our club so far. Some of my fellow club members and myself were using very expensive high end oils from different manufactures but found that the Stihl Ultra outperformed them all. It is not that the other high end oils are bad; they are just not design for such small engines like the Stihl Ultra is. The biggest difference we found was in how clean the engines look from the inside when using Stihl Ultra. The difference between two engines, one using Ultra and another one using anything else, is evident right away.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleans Engines This stuff cleans engines especially after you have broken them in with mineral oil. I really love the way this oil makes the engine performs. I was using Lucas Semi-Synthetic and switching over didn't make much of a difference but I would rather have a full synthetic rather than a semi-synthetic. My only concern is the smell that it produces when burnt. The High Performance orange bottled 2 cycle oil smells way better. After this was used up I used Royal Purple Synthetic and it smelled a little better. The engine performance was the same from switching, but it leaves residue on the exhaust port on the cylinder. Will be switching back to the HP Ultra.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great when u can get it I own all stihl.....chain saw, weed eaters, edger, pole saw......loyal....dependable and long lasting equip ment and I only use stihl 2 cyle oil.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Synthethic HP oil only average. I no longer use the Stihl HP Ultra 2 cycle oil. Doesn't match up to the higher quality 2-cycle oils I've used. Stihl HP Ultra is only JASO-FB certified. The best ones are JASO-FD or ISO-L-EGD. The price of the Stihl oil is as much as the highest quality certified oils on the market. When you pay premium prices you should get a premium product. A JASO-FB oil is not a premium oil. They make excellent pro saws but their oil is only average. They need to produce a higher quality oil to match their pro saws.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HP Ultra oil High Power Ultra oil. Absolutely amazing oil when mixed with 89/91 grade gasoline. I only use this oil in my Stihl equipment and REALLY makes a difference. The engines run SO smooth and clean and the gasoline seems to last longer too! I can not recommend this oil enough. Try it and you will the difference in the first run!
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great oil The Stihl HP Ultra synthetic oil has become one of my favorite oils for my two-cycle engines. It burns clean and seems to actually clean old engines when I run it in them.
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best there is. I've been using motor oils for years now on my RC plane gas engine and none got to the results this oil did.The engine is cleaner than ever, no carbon on the pistons, the spark plug is very clean but, wet, so the engine is NOT running lean, the exhaust ports are very clean like the day Ive got the engine, and I can tell you this after running more than 35 Gal with it .Before that I ran a different kind of oil, a premium style, that left a lot of carbon in the engine, the STIHL cleaned it all.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! This product is great and works very well with my Stihl gear. Ive only used this Ultra oil because when the dealer sold me my first stihl trimmer he said if i use this and only this, the dealer can see a difference if they have to take apart the engine. I depend on my equipment and it has yet to fail me.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Product I bought the HP Ultra 2-cycle Engine Oil today along with my new Ms170 Chainsaw and put them to the test and experienced no problems at all.Great product and saw Stihl. I give the both a 5 rating
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL HP Ultra 2 stroke full synthetic oil I've bought a 6 pack of this oil with several Stihl machines I have bought, and it doubled the warranty on my machines which was awesome. It burns very cleanly and hardly puts off any smoke unless the engine is cold, it does like to drip a bit out the exhaust if you leave your engine at idle long enough but at higher speeds it burns efficiently and barely puts any wear on my engines. I recently took my Stihl BG55 apart that I ran the oil in and the rings were very well lubricated and not sticking whatsoever and the engine had no scoring on the cylinder or piston, keep in mind the engine has over 250 running hours! I put the engine back together and it still continues to power on year after year. I also use it in my 4 mix Stihl FS90R trimmer and it runs very nice with it. I recommend it for the price, it's a very high quality oil.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full synthetic is worth it. Good stuff, keeps my chainsaws running and starting like new. Can't go wrong with this oil and fresh ethanol-free premium gas. (Like another reviewer said already) - they should darken the oil up to get more of a mixed gas look to prevent straight gassing your 2 stroke equipment.
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing response and cleanest burning oil you can buy I was talked into this mix when i purchased my MS311 chainsaw and was a little hesitant at first to even use the product but man was i fooled. Not only did it smell and look better it performed like no mix even had a chance against its clean burning powerhouse of a burn. Im an avid and well experinced landscaper. I use all types of two stroke tools hedge trimmers weedeaters chainsaws blowers concrete cutters. Using this mix has improved all my tools starting fuel consumption throttle response and over all power. Ill never use another mix again
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Choice To Use In Your Stihl This is the only oil I will run in my Stihl's. I run 91 octane non oxyeginated gas with this oil. I have never had any engine proplem. I get quick starts. The gas keeps longer also.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for the serious user. I started using HP ULTRA STIHL Engine oil when gasoline started adding Ethanol. Since I switched to Premium Gasoline and HP ULTRA, I have had 90-95% less starting problems and overall maintenance to my STIHL chainsaws. It may cost a little more, BUT what you save in repair costs far outweigh the price. HP ULTRA is all I ever use in my STIHL equipment. GREAT product!
Date published: 2012-11-29
  • y_2019, m_11, d_7, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_oilhpultra, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl