My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

MM 55 STIHL YARD BOSS®

Using a universal power train, this cultivator can transition into other useful tools for around the home or farm.

MM 55 STIHL YARD BOSS®
MM 55 STIHL YARD BOSS® is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use with ease, Lots of power! I've needed a small tiller living in a residential neighborhood and having a garden.I looked at several different small tillers, and owning a few Stihl saws I knew the reliability so for me it was a fairly easy decision. The greatness of this unit is the variety of attachments for it for home use. I had no trouble in purchasing for this reason and the dealer is not far away. Now in my late 50's this makes my gardening so much easier, Great product!
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from chews up the dirt nicely would recommend for garden and more,chews up dirt nicely
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very satisfied I really like my Yard Boss! The only problem I have had is using Alcohol/Oxygenated gas. It will plug up the carburetor if the unit sits for more than a week. Use non Alcohol/Oxygenated premium fuel with Sea Foam or fuel extender. Modern fuels with no lead cause almost all of the problems.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yard Boss Refuses To Work From the time time that it was new you had to crank it 5 or 6 times before it would stay running. Then it would not take the gas, it would just bog down. After 5 minutes it would run fine but had no power. The dealer would play with the carburetor and say that it was fixed. After it cooled off it was the same old thing. I finally bought a new carburetor and it worked great after that.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Excellent Chain saws but horrible Yard Boss I have purchased two chainsaws of different size for different purposes- one about 10 years ago, and another 2 years ago. They are working amazingly well. Based on my first experience, I bought the Yard Boss. It worked great the first season. It didn't start the second season and I had to pull many times but of no use (just like other customers reported). I had to take it to the dealer for service. and it was fine that season. However, back to starting problems this season again. Changed the spark plug and air filter, but it is of no use. Tired of this, and getting ready for another trip to the service dealer. Once the Yard Boss starts it works very well, but starting is the problem.I have several other machines and NONE of them posed similar problems. I very much support the purchase of Stihl chainsaws but not the Yard Boss.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight - Easy to Start - Very Good Product I have had my Yard Boss tiller for a couple of weeks and am very pleased with its performance. I have run about 2 tanks of fuel out thus far and have tilled already broken up ground as well as un-tilled earth. Obviously this tiller was not built to break up earth that had never been tiled but it has done well in my beds as well has some fairly hard ground.I will say that the only thing that I will have to watch out for and continue to maintenance is the tilling head becomes loose and will swivel on the shaft. I hit some pretty large rocks and the torque has loosened the tilling head. I think this is just part of reality and I will have to make sure everything is tight when I start each time.I am using True Fuel in the tiller because of past 2 cycle engine problems and hope this will keep me from having the fuel system working on in the future. If I see that I will use the tiller a lot in a season I will buy the Synthetic Stihl oil to mix with good gasoline.Thus far everything is good.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This little machine does great on big jobs This is a great little machine, it will till where ever you put it, big or small plots
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My tiller never starts. I have never got this tiller to start without taking it in to the D&B where I bought it and they always have to remove the carburetor and put it back together before it will start for them. I have 3 STIHL chain saws and they start with little problem.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool to have I own and operate a landscape company. I bought a M55 yardboss made by Stihl ,specifically to finish my artificial grass installations. Works great. I love it.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very disappointed! I own several Stihl produces (MS 180 C, FS 56 RC, and BG 56 C) and haven't regretted any of my past Stihl purchases however I purchase the Stihl mm 55 yard boss with the wheel kit and the FS-MM trimmer attachment and am very disappointed. Sorry to say that my Mantis tiller I had for years is 10 times the tiller the Yard Boss is. Stihl makes great products but I can't recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Product Hard To Start First Time I just bought the MM55 and it is the eighth Stihl product I have purchased for my home use. It works great but to get it started the first time is tough. I have Stihl chainsaws, pole saws, trimmers, and blowers and they all start with very little effort, but this one is a pretty aggravating to start. Once it starts it is easy to start as long as it is warm. If you shut it down, and it cools off, then the problem recurs. The product works great, has good power and is an excellent product, but is big a pain to start when cold. This does not seem indicative of the other Stihl products I have purchased so this problem was a surprise, and disappointment. Because of this I give dependability a low ranking, but other than that it does what I need it to do. All my other products I would give 5 stars, but I cannot do that for this product. I would recommend this product, but with caution.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pull cord 30 times to start. I have only used Stihl fuel. My chainsaw cranks in a couple of pulls usually. The yard boss on the other hand wears me out just to get it started. If it does start it typically goes dead the first 2-3 times I try and give it power. If it gets going it works as expected.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, starts right away & easy to transport. It is perfect for my small garden & other projects. The MM55 Stihl Yard Boss is the "Cats Meow" for me. Easy to handle and move from project to project. Handles fold up for easy storage. I am very satisfied with my purchase and appreciated the personal hands on instructions I received from the Stihl personal when purchasing. Most important is it starts every time.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny Bought this last week from Robertsdale Power Equipment in Alabama. I used it to till up some garden beds for vegetables. The dirt is hard clay so I had to shovel the sod off and turn the dirt deeply with a shovel. Even a commercial rear tine tiller would not have broke this ground. The tiller worked very well breaking up the clods of clay. I like that you can throttle for different speed when tilling. very easy to handle. If you let the machine work it will dig as deep as 9 or so inches. The tines are great at grinding small roots 1/4 inch. Starts easy. Stores easy. The motor has turned a little bit, maybe from the torque, will check into this. By far the best tiller I've owned of this type. Would definitely recommend this machine.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yard Boss is ok but difficut to control I bought the Yard Boss mainly for the bristle broom attachment to fluff my artificial turf. I found the lack of depth control made the tool difficult to control on even the slightest slope and required real effort to move the tool across the turf. The lack of depth control soon had small strands of artificial turf being pulled from the backing. I would not recommend this until for artificial turf. It might be good to sweep hard surfaces like side walks.I also bought the edger attachment. Don't waste your money on this attachment if you want to edge sidewalks and driveways. The blade is not designed to be an edger in that service - it is just not designed for it, the blade will bend and becomes uncontrollable I straightened the blade 5 times before giving up and using my old edger/trimmer that is over 10 years old. Never once had a blade problem with that unit except wearing down from lots of use.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weeds fear it and owner's will Love it. This is Fantastic. The Best I have ever had. I affectionately call this weed eater Vicious because of how it takes out almost all the weeds. You can move it left right, forward or backwards and it cuts a large SWAT of weeds. I find that if I rev it up just a little as I'm cutting the weeds it does a better job and I save on wearing out the grass cutting rline.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I have used my Yard Boss for only about 4-8 hours a year for the past 4 years. It is very powerful considering how light it is. It is very convenient for to use - Always starts - Always performs.It has saved me a ton of work - And made my wife very happy with the loose dirt in her flower beds
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product preforms great and has great accessories I have been researching mini cultivators for a while and this was at the top of the list. I have a medium size garden and this machine allows me to put the most into my garden without having to give up space to get a larger tiller in between the rows. The accessories that are available with this tool are the reason for purchasing it becauset it will save me in time and labor to care for my garden and lawn. Being able to use one machine to do several jobs is a huge benefit. I own several different Stihl products now and have no issues with any of them.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding tiller Very happy with this tiller compared to other models. Has lots of power and will tear through grass with ease when putting in new flower beds. We tilled good soil into pure clay and we've been extremely happy with the results.
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought it. I bought the MM 55 Stihl Yard Boss several years ago. It works very well as a cultivator and as an edger for the lawn. It works reasonably well as a tiller in areas where my large rear-tine tiller won't reach, although it takes some work to get it into hard, compacted soil.The only problem I have is that the transmission assembly tends to twist some in relation to the head. I have tried tightening it, but to no avail. This is not a serious problem, but it is an annoyance.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tiller for small garden I have a raised bed garden plot. This has great power and tills like a charm. the wheel attachment makes it super easy to handle. Easy to move from bed to bed. Narrow enough to get into small spots but large enough to till a nice swath.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's collecting dust in the garage. I basically sold it to myself. I worked in a Stihl dealership. I bought this thing in 2006 and it's hardly had 1/2 hour of use since I bought it. It will not start. The dealer want's a fortune just to LOOK at it. I wish they would simply come and get it and refund my purchase price. I am sorry I bought it.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well crafted and durable Very well crafted tool. I love the light weight and maneuver ability. A little pricey but would be fine if it had the option of accessories as a base price. I had to order the heavier tines for what I wanted. Stihl was timely with getting the out of stock product to me. My dad trusted stihl and I do too.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best small tiller on the market! We purchased this tiller after looking at many others at the big box stores and reading the reviews. Having owned Stihl chainsaw, weed whip, and hand held blower, I know the quality that comes with owning the best!
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two Thumbs Up! Added the MM55 to my "Stihl stable". Am quite discriminating #picky# and this machine exceeds my expectations! Handy, portable, starts easy. Perfect for tight areas, and small jobs needing cultivation. It's "lively" working hard ground but never misses a beat. I use highest available octane gas #93# with Stihl Synthetic. NO probs. Doubling the warranty was a nice touch. Love it!
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from warning...means more yard work! Bought this afternoon several years of renting a power broom to sweep rocks of the lawn. Now I can use it when I want. Absolutely love it. Handles rocks and small branches/twigs with ease. Decided to buy the dethatcher attachment. Takes longer to do the yard than using the lawn mower with thatch blade, but brought up 3 times more dead grass! Will most likely get the weed wacker attachment next.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product for the money I use this machine when I use to work in landscaping and this machine does work well, and just bought 1 for myself today and I am happy
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bad boy can dig! With wheels it handles very well... very little bouncing around. Easy to start. Huge quality difference above a Mantis.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST LAWN & GARDEN POWER TOOL EVER I purchased a Stihl Blower and string trimmer about 6 years ago and when tilling garden with the really big Troy Bilt I decided I needed something a little smaller to get around the plants and in some beds around the house. I purchased this unit along with several different attachments for it and it is the best piece of lawn and garden equipment I have ever owned. I use it all the time and it has never failed to start or run, is easy to use and maneuver around in tight areas and around small plants. I have always used Stihl synthetic 2 cycle in it since new. I recommend this tiller to everyone.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased the Yard Boss to save myself more pain. I was suffered a head & back injury a number of years ago, when I tried to use a regular weed eater it caused me extra pain. While on vacation I found the yard Boss while walking through a store taking a break (stretching my legs). It has been a life saver, not too mention to tiller attachment. Since the wife & I retired and moved to the country I've needed something to help me get a little garden started. The Yard Boss allows me to complete my yard work and gardening without killing myself or causing me extra pain. Thanks STHIL!!!
Date published: 2014-06-26
  • y_2017, m_10, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_mm55, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips