Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

MM 55 STIHL YARD BOSS®

Using a universal power train, this cultivator can transition into other useful tools for around the home or farm.

MM 55 STIHL YARD BOSS®
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 46reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weeds fear it and owner's will Love it. This is Fantastic. The Best I have ever had. I affectionately call this weed eater Vicious because of how it takes out almost all the weeds. You can move it left right, forward or backwards and it cuts a large SWAT of weeds. I find that if I rev it up just a little as I'm cutting the weeds it does a better job and I save on wearing out the grass cutting rline. July 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed I have used my Yard Boss for only about 4-8 hours a year for the past 4 years. It is very powerful considering how light it is. It is very convenient for to use - Always starts - Always performs.It has saved me a ton of work - And made my wife very happy with the loose dirt in her flower beds June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product preforms great and has great accessories I have been researching mini cultivators for a while and this was at the top of the list. I have a medium size garden and this machine allows me to put the most into my garden without having to give up space to get a larger tiller in between the rows. The accessories that are available with this tool are the reason for purchasing it becauset it will save me in time and labor to care for my garden and lawn. Being able to use one machine to do several jobs is a huge benefit. I own several different Stihl products now and have no issues with any of them. June 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding tiller Very happy with this tiller compared to other models. Has lots of power and will tear through grass with ease when putting in new flower beds. We tilled good soil into pure clay and we've been extremely happy with the results. June 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad I bought it. I bought the MM 55 Stihl Yard Boss several years ago. It works very well as a cultivator and as an edger for the lawn. It works reasonably well as a tiller in areas where my large rear-tine tiller won't reach, although it takes some work to get it into hard, compacted soil.The only problem I have is that the transmission assembly tends to twist some in relation to the head. I have tried tightening it, but to no avail. This is not a serious problem, but it is an annoyance. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tiller for small garden I have a raised bed garden plot. This has great power and tills like a charm. the wheel attachment makes it super easy to handle. Easy to move from bed to bed. Narrow enough to get into small spots but large enough to till a nice swath. June 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by It's collecting dust in the garage. I basically sold it to myself. I worked in a Stihl dealership. I bought this thing in 2006 and it's hardly had 1/2 hour of use since I bought it. It will not start. The dealer want's a fortune just to LOOK at it. I wish they would simply come and get it and refund my purchase price. I am sorry I bought it. June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well crafted and durable Very well crafted tool. I love the light weight and maneuver ability. A little pricey but would be fine if it had the option of accessories as a base price. I had to order the heavier tines for what I wanted. Stihl was timely with getting the out of stock product to me. My dad trusted stihl and I do too. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best small tiller on the market! We purchased this tiller after looking at many others at the big box stores and reading the reviews. Having owned Stihl chainsaw, weed whip, and hand held blower, I know the quality that comes with owning the best! May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Thumbs Up! Added the MM55 to my "Stihl stable". Am quite discriminating #picky# and this machine exceeds my expectations! Handy, portable, starts easy. Perfect for tight areas, and small jobs needing cultivation. It's "lively" working hard ground but never misses a beat. I use highest available octane gas #93# with Stihl Synthetic. NO probs. Doubling the warranty was a nice touch. Love it! May 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by warning...means more yard work! Bought this afternoon several years of renting a power broom to sweep rocks of the lawn. Now I can use it when I want. Absolutely love it. Handles rocks and small branches/twigs with ease. Decided to buy the dethatcher attachment. Takes longer to do the yard than using the lawn mower with thatch blade, but brought up 3 times more dead grass! Will most likely get the weed wacker attachment next. April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product for the money I use this machine when I use to work in landscaping and this machine does work well, and just bought 1 for myself today and I am happy April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bad boy can dig! With wheels it handles very well... very little bouncing around. Easy to start. Huge quality difference above a Mantis. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST LAWN & GARDEN POWER TOOL EVER I purchased a Stihl Blower and string trimmer about 6 years ago and when tilling garden with the really big Troy Bilt I decided I needed something a little smaller to get around the plants and in some beds around the house. I purchased this unit along with several different attachments for it and it is the best piece of lawn and garden equipment I have ever owned. I use it all the time and it has never failed to start or run, is easy to use and maneuver around in tight areas and around small plants. I have always used Stihl synthetic 2 cycle in it since new. I recommend this tiller to everyone. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased the Yard Boss to save myself more pain. I was suffered a head & back injury a number of years ago, when I tried to use a regular weed eater it caused me extra pain. While on vacation I found the yard Boss while walking through a store taking a break (stretching my legs). It has been a life saver, not too mention to tiller attachment. Since the wife & I retired and moved to the country I've needed something to help me get a little garden started. The Yard Boss allows me to complete my yard work and gardening without killing myself or causing me extra pain. Thanks STHIL!!! June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding tool for many applications. This is undoubtedly my favorite tool. The problem is all my neighbors want to borrow it too often. I hope my wife of 40 years never asks me to choose between her and my Yard Boss. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yard Boss, best mother's day present yet! Now some of you may be shaking your heads at my title, but let me tell you I love my Yard Boss. It's small enough for me to handle as a female without feeling like I'm being beat up (I'm 5'5"), big enough to get the job done. I work hard and expect my tools to keep up with me and this one does. I've used bigger tillers but felt like the tiller was using me. This one is easy to start, runs like a champ, and makes gardening so much easier. I've used it to help clear up a planting bed gone wild with weeds and to do some regular cultivating in a more managed bed and the results are great. It's small enough to maneuver around existing plantings without damaging them, strong enough to do a small garden without taking all day. One suggestion, spend a few extra dollars and fill this with premium fuel with NO ETHANOL. It really does make a huge difference in these small engines. June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good product I bought this piece of equipment 4 years ago to utilize in small raised beds.....Worked pretty well the 4-6 hours I used the first year....Following summer, would not start....Was advised leaving untreated gas in unit over winter would foul carburetor.....Replaced carburetor and used approximately 4 hours during summer with no further issues.....Left fuel stabilized gas in unit....Following summer, would not start.....Advised leaving stabilized gas in unit was issued and to take unit and run out of fuel for winter storage....Replaced carburetor and used approximately 4 hours with no issues.....Ran unit completely our of fuel (even though I was taught never to run a unit out of fuel because it leans out the engine and is hard on it) and stored for winter.....Unit started this spring for tilling beds.....Used two hours but noticed a small gas leak around the carburetor.....Two weeks later just pulled out to use again for tilling a couple of extra beds and noticed that all of the fuel leaked out of the unit....Put more fuel in, noticed larger leak and gas line not holding pressure and will not start....Cannot see where leak is coming from but all lines are connected from tank to carburetor and lines look good......Unable to till my beds as needed and back to service store again tomorrow......I have maybe 30 hours use on this unit and have determined this is one of the most unreliable pieces of equipment I have ever purchased..... Seems to work pretty well when running but I now hate the thought of ever needing to pull it from out of the shed to use....Never seems to work when needed.....I commented last year to the service store that I bought another name brand weed eater 6 years ago and have used approximately 6 hours per week, 9 months of the year for the past six years.....Always starts, performs well, and merely store in the shed at the end of the summer season without worrying about the gas to include adding any stabilizer or draining the tank or carburetor......I just set it against the wall and come back in the spring, turn on the switch, choke and crank a few times and it starts right up and performs well,,,,Never even replaced a spark plug, just weed eater line......I will try one more service (and most likely a third carburetor replacement)....The next time needed and does not work will find the unit meeting a trip to the dump.....I will just have to chalk this one up to experience and knowing to never buy another Stihl product........ June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is really easy to use great little tiller, works really good, starts easy, would recommend it. June 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Broke down in only 2 years and 5 months - low quality This tiller started leaking fuel and wouldn't start after only occasional use over 2 years and 5 months. The dealer wouldn't honor the extended four-year warranty, which I should have received because I bought the Stihl oil at the time of purchase.This thing broke only 5 months outside of the two-year warranty. I only have a couple small raised beds, so it hasn't been used very much.The dealer replaced the carb and coil and charged me nearly two hundred dollars. That's well over half the cost of the item when it was new.This really is a low-quality tiller that isn't worth the cost and doesn't deserve the Stihl name.It worked fine for tilling garden beds, but it's not even up to a homeowner level of quality. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I purchase this to replace my 5 year old homelite, which I was very glad to replace. I was considering a couple other replacement tillers. I have to say I own a Stihl O42 chain saw and a Sthil FS90 weed-eater, but never considered a Sthil cultivator until I my local dealer sugested it to me. It looked impressive but so did alot of others, but I decided to check the internet for reviews and sales. No sales but the reviews were good. Friends recomended another tiller was the way to go, but my chain saw is over 20 years old and the weed-eater is at least 7 years old with no major problems so I went with the MM 55 c. It is lite, starts easily with a couple of pulls and works the soil nicely. I really like the handle configuration which makes it easy to control, plus it folds up making it nice to carry and hang up in the barn. All n all it is a great tiller / cultivator for flower beds and gardens.The only issue I have is the weight. It digs in fine, but a little more weight would help. Stihl sells a weight kit if it becomes a big problem. May 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by questiionable design poorly engineeredI bought my stihl in October of 2013, when it was on sale at my local dealer. last week April of 2014 I first set out to use my MM55 in the garden. My garden is very small, 200 sq. ft. but there are some rocks in it. Most of the rocks are small, but every once in a while there is one about 4 inches. Before I finished my second tank of fuel in a brand new tiller the gears in the head broke when they hit a rock. The customer service told me this tiller is not designed to work in soil where there is rock, which would make it useless to me as all my soil has some rocks. What has to be obvious is that the rock did not break the gear, but rather the engine did. The rock merely stoped the tine from turning. It was the torque of the engine that broke the gear. If the gear can not handle the torque of the engine then there should be a shear pin or someother design feature to protect the gears. I will take this to my dealer on monday and see if it is covered under the warranty, but i'm confident it will occur again as the engineering behind the design is flawed. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing yard tool I bought the MM 55 over five years ago after renting a mantis for two weekends. I have only changed the spark plug and cleaned the filter a couple times and finally had to take it in for service ... but only because of the ethanol eating away at some of the carburetor parts. My yard has that tough Texas black clay, and Boss grinds right through it. A few of my neighbors have enjoyed my purchase also. I am so pleased with this product, that when it came time to fix my Craftsman trimmer, I just headed to the Stihl dealer and have not regretted it. January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Yard BOSS I purchased my MM 55 from my local dealer that was a demo model and had a wheel kit included for free! This amazing machine makes little work of dirt where you want to cultivate, just line up and push the trigger! I did purchase the weight kit bc due to clay in my soil, the YB wants to jump every now and then. I did have to get it repaired last year for a new carb, but after much use that was expected. My local dealer is very friendly and a top notch guy. The fuel seems to go down quicker than normal, but the machine NEVER lets up. Additionally, I purchased the edger option and the bolo tines, both work great and quickly on off-site landscaping jobs. The folding feature is great, esp. while transporting the tool (even fits in the trunk of a car!). This STIHL power tool makes all other cultivators hide in shame, a true must have for all landscapers/home-owners. January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for these two women!! I've owned Stihl before and have always been pleased with the products.The ONLY con is that the handle is up TOO high for either of us who are 5'4" and 5"7" tall. I wish it had three or 4 adjustment placements.Other than that we are extremely pleased and know it may outlive both of us.Thanks of a great product. November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful product. Very versatile product. Starts with ease every time. Very ergonomic design. Rear wheel attachment is a little flimsy but nice to have on it. Wish there were more attachments available. Very compact for storing. Glad I went with this over the Mantis. Seems much more powerful. Attachments easy to swap out. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many chores made easier Love my little 'beast', had it over ten years great for small gardens, use it to dig holes foe trees and shrubs. Use it at Habitat for all kinds of landscaping chores. Makes trenching easy by tilling the soil to shovel out. Been low maintenance and reliable starter. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality product Had this for four years. After two it didn't want to run. Bought a new carburetor and put it on in about ten minutes and runs like brand new. I suggest to only use premium non oxygenated fuel. The best part though is the wife can start it easily and I don't even have the easy start June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has too wide wheels attachment for smaller gardens. Stihl should have a narrow wheel attachment available as option also. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best tiller in its class Of other tillers in this class this is the best.The 2 stroke motor has good power andis light weight. and as always the stihl quality is great May 25, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips