My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

FS-KM Line Head Trimmer

This STIHL KombiSystem line head trimmer attachment is designed for trimming around obstacles.

Image of fslinetrm
FS-KM Line Head Trimmer is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same quality as the stand alone units I have owned a lawn business for 24 years. This piece of gear is every bit as good as the heads on the stihl stand alone line trimmers. I own 3 of these. The problems listed are common problems for inexperienced and experienced users.The vibration noted in one of the ratings is caused by having two different length strings wound in the spool. You MUST have two exact length of strings wound on opposite sides of the head or you will get a heavy vibration.Constant string breakage: string may be wound too tight causing it to overlap in the spool and not allowing the feed Loosely wind the string like you would when you roll up a garden hose.String not feeding when you tap it on the ground: this most likely is caused because grass clippings get inside the head underneath the spring this prevents the head from fully moving upward when tapped not allowing it to rotate to the next slot everytime you open the head to add string blow out the area around the string with your mouth. If wet you may need to scrape out with a flat head screw driver.
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constant cord breakage/feed feature does not work Heard good things about Stihl, so bought top of line Kombi system. Edger is great, motor head reliable, BUT THE STRAIGHT TRIMMER HEAD SUCKS! Can't trim for more than 5 minutes before string breaks, tapping head for "auto feed" does nothing, so I have to stop and pull trimmer attatchment off, pull trimmer head off, pop out spool, pull out more string, put everything back together, and try again, only to have string break within another 3-5 minutes of trimming! COME ON, PEOPLE - this is NOT impressing anyone. Would like Stihl folks to send me a trimmer head that works...considering how much this attatchment cost. My local dealership has not been helpful- but this is a manufacturing flaw, so not dealer's problem...they only sell what Stihl provides them. HELP, HELP, HELP!!!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Read review's. It's junk. Hate to admit it, I should have listened to others review's about how bad it is. Junk as far as I'm concerned. Lots of vibration when not wide open throttle. Sounds like its feeding line when it's not full throttle. The vibration is very horrible. Constantly breaking line and having to take head apart, because line breaks clear off. Horrible design for putting on trimmer line or fixing broken trimmer line. You have to use 2 pieces of trimmer line, instead of taking 1 length and just wrapping it around. You have to bend them both to get them to stay in start holes which sucks. Don't even get close to a side walk or curb. Trimmer line will break off. Again, because you have to be full throttle to avoid a lot of vibration. In the beginning I spent more time fixing trimmer line then trimming grass. Now I I have to use it very carefully and hope for the best. Won't let my employees touch it anymore. Took it off the trailer. Can't see paying them to fix trimmer line all day, and I almost thru it across a couple clients yards trying to get my money's worth out of it. Probably just put a brush cutter on it and use the head for other attachments I bought. First stihl product I have purchased and matched it with KM 94R which I do like and it's very light. Other attachments work well. Not very happy about how their attachment system connects and disconnects, but well see over time. I've used many other Stihl products over the years that other people owned, and was happy with them. I'm not saying all Stihl products are bad, just stay clear of this attachment, and Save your money and time unless you enjoy a challenge. Not me. Wish I could get my money back. Not sure if I will buy anymore Stihl products because of 1 bad design, or because I didn't take others review's seriously which is partly my fault. Best use for this product, might just be using it as a golf club to hit beer cans with.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The string is your problem not the trimmers.... For the 1star reviewers about string problems.Get good string, load your string better, and don't slam your gears on the ground. Stop and pull out the string manually.Best string attachment.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well. I cant really complain about this thing. Its probably one of the most reliable line trimmers I have ever used. I don't have problems with the line breaking unless I do something stupid. I can move at a brisk walking pace and not have to worry about an even cut.Love it.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from String trimmer issues I’ve had my 131 for about a year now and love it, I have 3 attachments and plans for at least a 4th. I started with the string trimmer and like all stihl products I own it works very well. That being said operator error, and cheap string can cause headaches. If you wind your string too tight or put too much on a spool you will have problems. But if you have a little common sense, properly mixed fuel and quality consumable materials to go with your quality equipment there is no reason you can enjoy years of hassle free use.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The string continually binds in the spool and breaks The string continuously binds in the spool requiring a disassembly of the head to rethread. We have tried several different wnd techniques to no avail. We are using Stihl line.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cutting line very difficult to advance The cutting line is very difficult, bordering on impossible, to advance on this head trimmer that goes with the Kombi System. I try to advance the line as the instructions state, by tapping the head on the ground while the engine is at full power and it takes multiple time for the line to advance, no matter how much line is already out there. I have only had this unit about a month, and so far I have had to take the head off and pull the line out manually on numerous occasions. . NOT GOOD. I am going to put new line in and see if that helps, but so far, I am very unhappy with the performance of this trimmer.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoying it So I upgraded from an FS 40c to a KM 91 unit. I of course got the FS KM head. I broke off one side of the string like several people have stated. I had no problems re working the spool to keep the job going. I will admit it was user error with me. Not the trimmer head. Haven’t had a single problem since. I like this attachment a lot.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful trimmer Since we got a bigger yard, I wanted to upgrade from battery-powered serviceable edger to something more powerful and convenient, and based on what I read and heard, this system was the answer. Pleasantly surprised by the power of the KM 111 and was excited to start edging. However, I should've paid more attention to the reviews. I immediately had issues... within the first three minutes of operation I realized it was a bad decision to purchase this. I spent more time stopping and popping the string housing open to feed the lines through. Once I realized I couldn't run it very long before the string wore out all the way to the end, I had to stop OFTEN and see how much length I had, then bump it for added length because it was just chewing through my trimmer string - not in minutes, but in seconds. What should've taken no time to complete ended up taking a lot of time. Very frustrating.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from GARBAGE!!! Just bought the km131 with a straight line attachment Just like other reviewers said... its garbage Line snapped in first 5 minutes Wouldn’t feed Had to take apart Line is all twisted and feeding from underneath Hopefully stihl has a repair or I will be returning the whole setup next weekend!!!
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from *** DO NOT BUY THIS ATTACHMENT *** I own 4 attachments for the Kombi KM 131R system. I love the system over all however I am sorry to say I hate and regret buying the FS-KM Line Head Trimmer. Like many of the other reviews I too spend more time re-feeding the line than I actually do edging. I have tried all the recommendations set forth in the reviews to no avail. Please save yourself the headache and do not buy this head trimmer. I also own the tree hedger, extension pole and the rotatable chain saw and love them. Just don't buy this product until STIHL offers an improved version. I wish I could return it and get my money back.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Motor runs great, but feeder head needs work. I own a lawn service and wanted a quality tool, so naturally I purchased a Stihl. I purchased the KM 131 power head, the bed edger, the string trimmer, and the BR700. I expected a quality feeder head like the other components. Within one minute of beginning to use the trimmer for the first time, the line broke at the out feed location. I spent more time taking the head apart multiple times at my first customer, than using the trimmer. Not only is it hard to take apart and restring, it's a pain to do. What I don't understand is why they didn't put a speed loader on a commercial unit knowing time is money to us commercial mowers. I've read the review saying to soak the line. I've never had to soak line for any string trimmer I've purchased. Never had this issue with any other string trimmer.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FS-KM line head trimmer I purchased this trimmer with the KM 94R power head and the HT-KM pole trimmer. I have had this Kombi combination long enough to know that this trimmer is the best trimmer that I’ve used. I find it is easy to replace string in the field, no tools needed. I have used several different replacement strings without any problems with feed. The 94R has more than enough power for this attachment, although it is heavier than a dedicated trimmer. I have not had an issue with either piece in the eight years that I’ve owned them.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Initial review after using the km91 head with the line trimmer After about 5min of use both lines broke with the line supplied with the unit when purchased. I didn't see any instrcutions but after looking at the trimmer head was able to dissamble the unit and re-thread the line. Both lines broke again within 5min. RE-streaded the line again. This time I tried to advance the line regularly. The trimmer line will break quickly and force you to fix it if you are cutting along any sort of fence/stone/hard edge and let the trimmer get within a couple of inchs. I found if I stayed farther away from things it was less likely to force me to stop and fix it. I had the lines break maybe 5 times for I was able to run the unit long enough to use up the spool. Reloading was easy enough if you read the bottom of the trimmer head spool as it is labeled with instructions to wind the line.I also have a 660cm chain saw which I love and a 56 hedge trimmer which I start up and just trim things because frankly it is fun to use....the trimmer is not so much fun at this point, I am a little disappointed with it to be honest.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It just works. After having several trimmers over the years and using others at various points in my life, I can honestly say this one is the best. From batter powered, to gas powered, nothing beats this trimmer. Using ONLY STIHL trimmer line, it has always conquered any job I have given it and even though the winding of the trimmer line can get a bit annoying, its far and away worth it to have it simply dominate anything I can put in front of it.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Autocut 25-2 This has to be the worst auto line feeder head I have ever used. I have yet to go through a full load without having a misfeed on one or both lines. Currently looking for a replacement head.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to Multiple Tools This was the first attachment that I bought with my KM90R. I'm a residential homeowner and I use it semi-frequently (a few times a month). It's easy to store, easy to wind line, and the head is strong and stout enough to handle .095 line to cut through the thick stuff.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect but has one caveat I purchased this in combination with a 111 power head. It's a great combination. The 111 drives this thing perfectly. I replaced a homeowner type gas trimmmer with this and have also used home owner Stihl trimmers and a couple professional dedicated trimmers. Comparatively speaking this thing is a beast. I usually run it along my edged beds in a verticle position to quasi-edge my lawn. It works well for this. I did notice on the first day that the trimmer line does often break off right by the head. That was a pain for the first 15 minutes. Others have complained about the same issue. I then started refreshing the string (tapping it and letting out more line) more frequently, keeping the line length longer. This solved the issue completely. Now it's a pleasure to use. Replacing the string is fairly easy compared to my old big box store trimmer.... and it holds a lot more. I use this addition to a bunch of other Kombi attachments. Overall the Kombi system is a fantastic system. Highly recommend. I hope this review was helpful!
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shin/Echo Speed feed head Just buy the Shindiwa/Echo speed feed head when you get this.Speed Feed head come's with attachments to put on Stihl and you have the perfect product Speed feed head is the only good thing Shin/Echo make's Dont give Stihl a bad Name because you Dont know how to restring a trimmer do Some research first or drive up to the first professional Landscaper you see with stihl products and ask them to show you
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this trimmer After having had a Poluan pro for almost 20 years I replaced it with this product. I do not understand the negative reviews over line issues. You wind it on evenly and it works fine. If you have a problem figuring out how to do it there's a YouTube link on the website on how to do it. I have never encountered a better string trimmer. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that I could not find anywhere in the manual that specified the string size. But my salesman said I could use 90 or 105.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor documentation and support I just purchased the FS-KM Line Head Trimmer and had to return it to the dealer because it would not work. The trimmer was fixed so I used it several times and then had to replace the line. So how much line goes on the spool? I went to the manual to get instructions on how to rewind the string. There are no instructions!! Really!!!!This information should be on the inside cover of the manual!!! It's not even on the website under the specific product! Poor design!I called the 800 number and left a message for technical support and sent in a request for the information on the website. After 2 hours I did receive a call back with the magic number of "about 12ft". Something so basic makes me wonder if I made the correct brand decision.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrating line breaks I just don't understand Stihl! I bought it because I wanted the best and the best support. The string broke twice within the first 20 minutes of use. If you need to soak the string, the dealer should have told us this. Instead the dealer said we must be cutting things with a diameter larger than it could handle. This was not the case.So then I went to the manual to get instructions on how to rewind the string. There are no instructions!! That is inexcusable! I will try soaking the string or installing new string, assuming I can find some instructions, but if this continues to happen, I'm taking it back and expect a full refund.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kombi System Bought a year ago and love it !!! Even after winter started up with three pulls. Got this with the pole saw, and even after hours of use taking care of 12 plus acres I'm as pleased as the day I first got it. Highly recommend to anybody who has a large property to care for.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer No string problems works great. I did buy the larger shield.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trims nice, but buy a face shield Replaced a 20 year old FS36 with a new kombi system power head and the FS-KM trimmer. This is a nice replacement set up. Starts much easier, not as loud, and a larger gas tank.I have not had any of the string problems mentioned by others here after re-wraping the string on the head cleaner then how it came from the dealer.My only dislike is with the very small string shield, grass, sand, and small pebbles fly everywhere including up into your face. I suggest if you do not already own one purchase a face mask right away if you purchase this head. I have always used safety glasses and hearing protection in the past, that is not sufficient for this model.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Line Issues I purchased this head trimmer attachment for my kombi system and am having the same line issues as everyone else. The line constantly breaks off inside the head. I see Stihl responding with the same "soak your line in water" response to everyone. What I dont understand is why Stihl isn't doing anything about the actual issue? I've never had to soak a competitor's line in water, ever. Maybe Stihl should think about sourcing their trimmer line from a different supplier, and replace those of us who purchased the faulty line with higher quality line. This attachment will be sitting in the shed if i have to constantly stop and re-line the trimmer.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent attachment paired with KM130 Prior to purchasing this Kombi System I had purchased a similar system from A competitor years ago and was left underwhelmed and firm believer in purchasing each tool for specific task. Nick, Harris Ace Hardware's (Hinesville, GA) Stihl mechanic/ sales, coupled with reviews online and price savings vs purchasing each tool separately after shop was burglarized and equipment stolen swayed me to try this line. I purchased each attachment from pole saw, brush cutter, blower, trimmer and straight edger and have been blown away by the power and versatility of the entire system. I have read all the reviews of the line breaking and have to attribute this to user error as I have not had one issue from this head even when flipping it to edge sidewalks, beds and curbs which will quickly run through the best string. If you have prior knowledge of the button and correctly spool the string then you should rarely encounter any line breaking within the head. The deflector was adequate for me in rocky soil and thick weeds. The power can be to much for some applications and have to feather it to about 3/4 or else a spool of string can be deceimated quickly. All of the other attachments are also top notch and the only complaint is the balance of the system but benefits far outweigh any negatives.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Line cutting in the spool issues Ok, great product. However, you have to know how to properly put the line in this or you are doomed to failure. I was in fact doomed to failure because I didn't know the tricks. I watched the dealer guy spool the line in, He did it evenly and once he was done, he put the spool in, fastened the cover back on, then he pulled on both lines, then "click". Bamm good to go. That was literally the only thing I was missing and that made an absolute world of difference.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The head stinks Used the trimmer for the first time today about 20 min total run time. During that 20 minutes the line broke off inside the head 3 times. It's a major inconvenience to stop what your doing and rewind the string constantly. The deflector is a joke buy the large deflector and toss the little piece of junk in the trash before you leave the dealer.
Date published: 2016-09-24
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_fslinetrm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl