My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

BF-KM Mini-Cultivator

This STIHL KombiSystem mini-cultivator attachment is ideal for flower bed rejuvenation and mixing amendments into the soil.

Image of bcmini
BF-KM Mini-Cultivator is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wear steel toed boots I bought this to till a couple of garden areas at the house and wish I had just spent the money for a real tiller. It is a chore to get it to dig into Carolina clay and if you do not pay attention, it will pull out and drive towards your toes real quick. I have learned how to shuffle backwards faster than the cultivator can go. Maybe if I weighed more it would be better, but as a 140lbs, 5'-4" male, I do not recommend it. I love my adjustable scythe and pole saw attachments.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not last 2 minutes I purchased this item to take care of my flower beds and till some dead grass spots to re-plant seed. I also liked the idea of taking up less space in my garage. I bought this today Friday 3/16 with plans to put it to use on Saturday. When I got home I thought boy let's see this thing in action as I was a little excited to put it to use the next day. I literally used it for 2 minutes and it is now non functional. I can only hope ace allows me to return it for a refund as it's too expensive and has already proven to be not worth the money.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Costly but effective I'm SO glad I bought this accessory! I'm putting in some raised beds, and conditioning the soil in some bare spots in the yard in prep for seeding with Bermuda grass seed. The mini-cultivator made quick work of breaking up the Georgia clay and mixing in new soil. Running my Kombi 111R on half choke to have constant speed seemed to make the job easier, allowing me to focus on the results, but I don't know if that's a good idea. Even if I have to work the throttle, the mini-cultivator is a huge time and labor saver. Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I have the largest Kombi Motor. Have more than enough power for the this tool to dig right in. . I use it for cultivating flower beds and breaking up sod and compacted soil.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good attachment tool. I originally purchased this product to dig out around a wide tree stump. Was worried about breaking the gearbox. Held up well in this punishing condition. The narrow head and long drive pole makes tight spaces highly manuverable.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I use it when planting in the flower beds. Creates great holes for new plantings and makes great back-fill for around the plants. Big time saver. Would work great in a garden.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A heavy hitter in a small package KM 110 R provides the power... It's a beast. But about the BF-KM mini cultivator...I purchased this as a mechanical weed puller, since pulling weeds in a garden takes forever and is just a boring chore. With my "mechanical weed puller" it takes 10-15 minutes, tops. I'm impressed with the housing/shaft design which appears engineered to keep weeds away from the oil seals, and this is a huge benefit in my book, and part of why I invest in a Stihl versus the other guys. Being made here in the USA is a bonus as well.The day I purchased this with the KM110 I went to a friend's place and he had some weeds growing up in rocky soil, and he had me clear that for him. I'm thinking instead of relying on shear pins (you'd need some sort of exposed shaft) the cultivator will bounce up when it hits items it doesn't like. After the rocky, weedy soil was turned, I used it to break down a couple of small square hay bales for mulch there.Since then it's lived an easier life, keeping my garden weed free and mom's garden weed free as well. With an appetite for the occasional tomato cage (seriously this thing will tear them up! So be super careful while operating near anything you don't want cultivated... possibly chicken wire, plant stakes, and feet.), I'm overall super impressed with this, and while cleaning out the weeds that tend to wrap themselves up around the tines, I noted that it was engineered as such to keep the weeds away from the seals (weeds will tear up oil seals amazingly fast) , which don't permit the use of shear pins, but will keep the unit from leaking for a much longer time.As usual, with anything built to last, comes a weight penalty, and of course being a lightweight ground engaging tool, it tends to be difficult to control when it hits a potato sized rock or tree root, but this is typical of mini cultivators in general, so I'm not going to ding Stihl for unavoidable compromises. So long as you're of average strength, you'll get a little workout operating this, but nothing too unreasonable. For the elderly or weaker folks out there, I'd look toward the yard boss (?) with the wheel kit.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Gearbox broke the second time I used it. There's no shear bolts, just gear to gear. Not sure what good a tiller is that allows the soil it's tilling to break it. No, I do not recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product yet again from Stihl Bought it the other day been testing on my mothers flower beds due to her bad RA, and have the curve tines needless to say it is ripping right through hard packed Alabama soil like butter. The ext. is heavy wear the strap protect your back.I use greentouch advanced trimmer racks but not recommended to leave on any trimmer rack if you have bump roads like my location just swap over to the pole saw or some other light ext. when carrying on the racks.I use the KM110 head to power these.
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from good idea but not for all soils I rented the KM130R because my soil is clay. I have tried to use it in untilled clay and again 2 weeks after the area was rototilled with a Heavy dury hydrostatic tiller.Here is what i found.The tines don't overlap so you wind up cutting 4 furrows if you cultivate straight. so you have to go forward and side to side. In really loose light dry sandy soil or compost this might be OK but in clay forget it. Large lumps of hard soil are fun to chase around the yard especially since the guard prevents you from seeing where the lumps wind up. Actually in the garden you have to guess where exactly you are cultivating. You have to either keep lifting the cultivator or try to look around the guard. This gets frustrating real quick since this is not a light machine.Any swale cutting in clay is a joke especially if there is grass.Again i used the HD Tiller and just raked it out.All in all I got some real bad advice about what this Cultivator could do.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT A LITTLE AKWARD I previously had a competitors tiller attachment which I loved. I love my Kombi Stuff so was actually excited when I had a reason to purchase another attachment after the competitors quit working. With that being said. I do not like the angle of the tiller I am 5'5" and its just hard to get an angle for good torque and even tilling. My other system had a slight bend in the shaft at the head which made it much easier. All in all another great Stihl product just will take a few backaches to get used to it.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfortunate that the blades do not overlap. Bought this mostly to clean up our existing raised garden beds which consist mostly of composted garden soil. Unfortunately the tines do not overlap and you are left with raised ruts, especially in the center. There seems to be plenty of power, so the only reason I assume it's done the way it is, is to make it easier to remove the weeds that get tangled between the tines. This is the first of five attachments that I am not happy with and since it "touched dirt" I can not return it. I would suggest borrowing or renting one before buying it.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but... Mini-cultivator is solid, well engineered, tough and durable. A bit heavy and hard to find the balance point when mounted to the 110 power head.Note that there are (at least) two styles of tines that can be mounted on the cultivator. The pick-style (shown in the picture) is very aggressive and will produce uniform but very fine soil - regardless of how hard the soil is initially. The bolo-style tines are, for me, a better choice in that there are fewer picks which leaves the soil a bit more clumpy.A previous poster noted the mini-cultivator is good for tearing out vines. With the 110 power head there's plenty of torque to rip out vines. The downside is the unit produces so much torque the vines can get tightly wrapped around the tines and shaft which then requires a multi-minute, mult-tool job to remove them.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The right tool for specialized jobs Works great for tilling soil in tight areas in flower beds or in between vegetable garden rows. I use mine with the 130 R power head.The tines are stronger than they look. Hitting sizeable rocks in hard packed soil has surprisingly not bent any tines at all.I dug about 100ft of narrow trenches with a shovel, to bury sch40 PVC extensions for downspouts and a sump pump discharge. I used the mini cultivator to backfill the soil over the pipe. What a HUGE time and effort saver! Standing on one side of the trench, I reached across with the cultivator to the dirt pile on the other side, and "pulled" the soil back into the trench. It keeps the soil loose so that it fills in decently around the pipe. Most importantly, I have to believe I completed the task in about a quarter of the time it would have taken me with a shovel, with minimal effort. I decided right there this attachment was a good purchase.It's the right tool, for the right job. Be aware that larger areas with hard packed ground will not till up very easily, and without lots of effort. It's just not that type of a tiller.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cultivates the toughest soil! I purchased the mini-cultivator as the first attachment for my KM90R and I have been more than pleased with it. We tilled up our first year garden in heavy clay soil and this cultivator has no problem keeping up with it. My wife uses it quite a bit and she loves it as well. She has even used it with my 11 month old son strapped on her in his carrier. It has made weeding a breeze and I used it right before we planted the garden to break up the soil a bit. I couldn't be happier, thanks stihl!
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This lil bugger is perfect for flower beds, raised beds, or garden boxes. I was able to cultivate a 20' x 7' bed in about 10 minutes. The soil looked great and it absolutely demolished some small, unwanted roots in the soil. My flower bed looks great and it's ready for planting. It would've taken me at least an hour with hand tools. Instead, I was inside sipping iced tea after ten minutes of work and didn't even break a sweat. Awesome!
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Use this n the property I manage for removing ground vines, mertle, ivy, and turning under small weeds in different beds.Best feature is the quick release tine, 1 pin and both blade come off 1 side, also has a feature to install 1 to 4 of the blades and run it like that. All blades a separate, very easy to clean/untangle.Works great on ivy, stick it in, it balls it all up on the head, pull the pins, throw the vines in the trash, repeat.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the yard boss is the boss this tool is high quality but if your going to do a lot of tilling the two handles on the other one would be much easier to control. i have a similar mini till with 2 handles and it is much less stress on the back . but i use this too and have a couple other tillers. but i am a landscaper so i got everything. see if you could find a dealer that would let you test it.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even Works in North Carolina Clay Prior to purchase, I read reviews indicating that the tiller worked great but was still skeptical as it is a handheld. So far, I have used this tiller several times this spring and amazingly the tiller makes quick work of breaking up the soil and clay. The KM 55 R motor has plenty of power for this attachment. I just helped a friend till up some ground for a new garden and the tiller actually cut through 1" or so roots while tilling. If you are looking for an inexpensive attachment, this one is not it, but so far appears it will be worth it in time saved.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds my expectations My garden is too small for a normal tiller configuration, so I tried this product. It dug into the packed soil with relative ease, ripping through roots from nearby trees with no problem.There is plenty of power. It's pretty well balanced. And it starts with ease. A very dependable unit.I will be buying the chain saw accessory next.
Date published: 2013-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty tool that really tears up dirt I was a little worried that this cultivator would not have enough power and that I might need a mantis or yard boss type system, but it handles hard packed dirt with ease. I was impressed at how it digs into the ground, hardly any bouncing around on top of the soil.The thing that really surprised me was when I hit some roots. I know this is not what the tool is designed to handle, but at full speed with my KM110R unit it ripped the roots (1" thick) right out of the ground and threw them 5 feet forward. The area I was cultivating was once home to a large bush so this happened many times. Only once did the unit bind and I had to unhook it from a thick root which on the next attempt tore it out.It is a solid unit, like everything that Stihl makes, and I am very satisfied with it.
Date published: 2013-01-23
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_bcmini, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl