Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

KM 56 RC-E

This low-emission KombiMotor features Easy2Start™ technology.

KM 56 RC-E
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 77reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best investment in outdoor power equipment Last fall I purchased the Homeowner Kombi system to replace a home improvement store system. The Stihl system has done nothing but exceed my expectations. I initially purchased the motor, Brush Cutter, string trimmer head and Pole Pruner to maintain my ~ 1 acre yard. To start with, the motor has plenty of power to handle all my jobs. I was able to quickly trim branches on my trees, dispatch with some tough brush and the string trimmer makes easy work of trimming my yard. This spring, I added to my attachments with the Blower attachment. The blower is amazingly powerful. I even purchased the gutter kit to blow out my gutters.As the old saying goes, you really do get what you pay for. However, buying separate items at the home improvement store would have cost me just as much.To top it all off, these products are made in the USA. June 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very versatile I have had the kombi system for two years and use it almost on a daily basis. It is very dependable and easy to maintain. May 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It does a better job than I anticipated. Starts easy, trims, and blows. Easy starts, easy to put new line on, attachments change simple, performs well. May 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product has great performance First of service at C&L on Austin Hwy, San Antonio Tx was outstanding, answered all questions, provided the registration for the product on the spot. Walked me over to service area. They tested machine and explained startup steps. Machine works beautifully, easy start, great performance. I feel confident these folks will take care ofMy service needs on this machine. April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best weedeater System!! It WAS IT WORTH THE MONEY!! Hands down the best lawn equipment ever invested. Powerful and easy to use. I would recommend a strap because it does get tire with time. Other then that well worth it. April 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Easily breaks down Engine broke down after less than 10 uses over a month or two of ownership. I've used stihl all my life. Worst product I have ever purchased from them. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by `plenty power mine is about a little over two years old,plenty of power. the pull cord and spark plug failed quickly. other than that is has been fine. i use the blower, line trimmer auto cut, and the metal blade. they all do a good job. i have used 5 gallons of fuel mixture so far. starts 4-6 pulls April 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable, reliable, easy to start I think they are very reliable. For those of you with burnt pistons , you need to buy the pre-mixed gas. Mine is going on 5 years old and my mother has an earlier model that is still kicking. If you think its under powered buy a bigger model. I have 3 saws, this trimmer / pole saw, a br 600 back pack blower and the sh 56 shredder vac. I have had no problems. I have two different backpack blowers that only made it one season. They were not a STIHL product. February 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kombi connection ayatem This product has lots of power and performs the different jobs quite well.The downside is the connector system one has to be very careful putting different attachments otherwise it is possible to jam the attachment and have extreme difficulty pulling apart.Motor is very powerful and pulls throw many things without issue. January 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I love using the Kombi. I only have the string trimmer portion currently and will be adding a few more pieces over the next year. I have used it 5-6 times so far, it starts reliably, runs smooth and has great power. I haven't had to use full throttle at all. I use it along a 350 foot fence on both sides and the rest of my property, about 1/3 acre and has reduced my trimming time in half. I checked other makers and to get the same power required a 50% price increase. I anticipate this engine will provide all the power I need. January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great single motor with outstanding attachments for around the house needs I started out with a Stihl 18" chainsaw, added a Stihl trimmer, and replaced an electric blower with a Stihl backpack blower (absolutely love the power). When my electric edger started giving me problems, I decided it was time to invest in a Stihl KombiMotor and add attachments as needed. So far I have the edger and just purchased the hedge trimmer. I could not be happier. The Stihl products start up easy, are easy to maintain, and make my life around the yard simpler. No cords, quality results, and takes less time than before, Life without a Stihl is a headache waiting to happen! December 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Long Lasting Purchased product 4 years ago with line trimmer attachment and blower attachment when the product was the KM 55 R. Worked well until last weekend when it would not make full power, died at idle, would not restart and locked up while pulling the starter cord. After trouble shooting, discovered a hole in the piston, a broken connecting rod bearing and two crankshaft bearings that were no longer turning smoothly. Product has always been operated in accordance with manufacturers specifications. Estimated cost in parts alone does not make repair a sensible option. Will not purchase this product again. November 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weed eater' Every thing works fine except the string release and that is a piece of junk it has yet to release string have to take apart and unwind and re thread it and put if back together this is sad piece of equipment to all of the still products we have bought am going to see if another way to do the cutting. Thank youTommy herron October 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life is now easier! Finally bought this head along with straight hedge trimmer and weed trimmer. Upgraded trimmer head with easy load type and got 4 year warranty on head to boot by buying Sthil oil! This system has been a hugh time saver. Was worried about the hedge trimmer capabilities but no worries. I have done more trimming in the last month than the last few years because it works. Stop throwing money away on cheap stuff that won't start. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! If you are tired of your gas trimmer and are thinking about cordless don't! I almost did the Stijl gas trimmer starts without effort,has way more power than needed,and hardly ever needs service! The fuel lines are top shelf.(completely different) they do not split like every other brand. The unit is solid and durable. Very happy I found Stijl products. No other brand for me. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product This is my second Stihl product. I have been using a Stihl backpack blower for over 5 yrs now and have not had a single problem. After dealing with a junk weed eater for some time I honestly couldn't wait for it to die just to get my hands on the Kombi system. This thing so far is rock solid and handles anything I throw at it around the yard. Can't wait to get my hands on a few more of the attachments. The quality of Stihl is unmatched in my opinion! August 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely happy I originally was thinking of buying a lower power battery of electric weed wackier but after being shown the ease of operation and how the strap could be adjusted so it was balanced, I decided to pay the relatively small difference in price and purchase this better machine. I also purchased a set of plastic blades for the extremely course thickets. The ease of changing out the cutting heads was also a major sell point.Al - New Boston, NH August 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice and powerful I use the km56 daily with edger attatchment and have no issues at all it is light weight and easy to start I would recommend this product to anybody August 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tool Just said good by to my trimmer of 22 years and replaced it with a Stihl KM-56R I like the easy start and all the different tools that are available. August 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Km 56 Rc-E Love this machine..I only have one engine to upkeep and store but I have the flexabilty to add any number of attachments... Cranks easily and has plenty of power for what I need to do around the house. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by CANT BEAT THE PRICE FOR THE OPTIONS I bought this unit with 2 attachments. The line trimmer and the cultivator. Could not have been more impressed!! I had some over grown beds on a new house I bought and this thing couldn't be stopped. I cut and dug some old bushes out and this just ripped the roots out and tilled with ease. Plenty of power for a typical home owner. Had it for 2 years now and I use MOTOMIX everytime and I haven't brought it in for service yet. Unit sat all winter unused and 4 pulls and it was up and running in the Spring!!! What more can you even hope for? June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed I eliminated several tools with this purchase. It starts perfectly every time, I have used stihl saws forever and now I will use stihl for all my other chores as well. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Homeowner must! Bought this to replace a edger, weed eater and a leaf blower. Stihl is hands down best product on the market. Have had other inferior brands they don't even come close , will only buy Stihl from now on. June 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent unit, very pleased. Pruning attachment bent very easily, other than that, very good. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Piece of equipment! I bought this the other weekend, I've used it pretty much all day for two days trying to get caught up. It starts like a champ, and is very rugged. I wouldn't recommend any brand but Stihl. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally some quality and durability Everyone knows Stihl is not the cheapest and now I know why. I purchased the powerhead with the straight shaft string trimmer attachment after my craftsman string trimmer head grenaded the second season I owned it. I was reluctant to spend the money but my dad had bought a ms250 chainsaw a couple years prior and loved it. He puts up 8-10 cords of wood a year (has probably put up 100 cords with it at this point) and the thing has been a real workhorse so I decided that I would give Stihl a shot. I could tell right away that these things are engineered with precision because of how smooth running and responsive it is. After a using it a couple times I was hooked. Next I bought an edger, which I have no complaints about. The following year I received the cultivator attachment for fathers day. Wow! I wouldn't have thought that the little motor was gonna be able to turn over beach sand. I was wrong! The thing is like a power shovel. I use it to open my small garden every year but most impressively, I used it to excavate an approach to the second stall of my garage. Sod is a pain to chew through but only because the thing is so light that you need to add a lot of down pressure. Which is exactly what I did. As of this writing I'm about to go purchase the blower attachment. I love only needing one power head for do many implements. Only one engine to maintain which I am yet to need to do going into my fourth season with it. Buy the right tool once! May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't use anything else I have always used stihl products and love them. If stihl made a gas powered pushmower along side there battery mower i would buy a gas powered one in a heartbeat and sell my current mower. I would love to be an all Stihl person. Love there products and never think about buying anything else. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tool I have been very impressed by this tool. Lots of power and great quality. My only gripe is that it really isn't made for tall people. I am 6'04" and I have to bend down quite a bit. Still I am very impressed. The people over at Chino Mower have been great to. The crew there is always friendly and willing to answer all my questions. Thumbs up to Stihl and Chino Mower February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to start bought for the power sweep. i cant believe how easy this to start even at 10 degrees f. this has good power. will by more attchments soon. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with purchase I am very happy with this Kombi unit, it starts very easy thanks to the easy start feature. I will stay with that feature in future purchases.I purchased this to use the power sythe for trimming around the pond and not throw grass in the pond, and now I use it for most of my trimming. January 15, 2015
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips