My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

KM 56 RC-E

This low-emission KombiMotor features Easy2Start™ technology.

Image of km56rce
KM 56 RC-E is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 114.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use great product this is by far the best investment i have made. all attachments , and i have many , hold up great and do the job intended, plenty of power . we use this at least once a week and sometimes more . from weed eating to edging , tilling ,sweeping . i love the fact that i have so many tools and only one engine . first start of the day takes three pulls , after that it always starts on the first pull
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save you some trips to the dealer Bad quality. It's keeps breaking ,the attachments keeps getting stocked in the unit. I have been using 6 times in the course of 1 year of owning the KM-56. So far it's been a nightmare. I Would not recommend this unless your want to keep taking it back to the dealer.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk features Bought this Motor and the weed eater and edger attachment, been back to the store twice already going back for the third time in three weeks. First the edger worked for 20 feet then quit working. Now where you attach them together is broke. Just what I thought before I bought them it wasn’t a good setup but the salesman talked me into it. I own three other Stihl products and never had any trouble with them. Not happy with it at all.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Required 2 fixes within 1 year of ownership Bought this system as an upgrade assuming it wouldn't have the problems of a cheaper brand. Hasn't been the case with this system. Required 1 attachment fix and 1 engine fix within the first year..
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for typical homeowner I have about a 2 acre yard and have a my share of flower beds and gardens. I also have more than enough trees. This tool is by far my "go to" for any yard work I have. I have used it over the past 7 years to do all of my edge/trimming, trimming trees with the pole saw, and cultivating my flower beds and garden. I only have the 3 attachments as of now, but it has always been my favorite and most reliable yard tool I own. It was the first STIHL product I ever owned and because of it I will always look to STIHL from now on for anything else they make that I need. I used to mix the oil and gas for it, now I just buy the pre-mix and its never failed to start for me, or had any problems running. I HIGHLY recommend this for the homeowner that needs to do different things around the yard and who wants something reliable that gets the job done right!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is by far the best product The product I purchased is easy to handle, It is very light and safe. It starts with ease and I can add different attachments to it with little or no Everett. I like the safety guard, I also purchased the pre mix gas and oil which makes it so easy.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and easy to use. Easy to start and easy to use. I am very satisfied with this product so far. I got the edger, trimmer, and blower. All work great. I should have bought a STIHL long ago.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I had a battery powered trimmer and blower that worked fine at our old house but were inadequate at our new place which is a farm with acreage. The kombi has been the perfect tool for everything. I absolutely love it. I have four attachments now but will definitely acquire more.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from caution: you will buy many many acessories I bought this entry level model and the "tiller" to cultivate a small backyard garden. Since then I have bought and used an edger, weed whip, blade for weed whip, blower, second set of "bolo" tines for tiller, hedge trimmer, pole saw, carbon fiber extension for pole saw, and the big paddle wheel sweeper which i use for both snow clearing on the deck.....works awesome including the stairs! all the attachments have worked well beyond expectations and even though this little guy is the entry model I cant imagine needing any more power.....I'm not a little guy 5'11 220 lbs work hard for a living, and I can tell you this guy will wear you out before you can bog it down....only "complaint" is that it is a little tough to start when it gets real cold out and it is time to clear the deck, I find that pushing the primer 35 times and pulling the cord three times after the first ten and then three more after 20 then three times after 35 and she will bark right to life and things are golden!
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing tool Easy to start and powerful for the jobs I've thrown at it so far. The range of attachments is what sold me on this product. It is a little pricy in my opinion
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One power head with tremendous versatility Purchased this unit a year ago to trim a rather tall and long cedar hedgerow. Since that time I have added the string trimmer and the pole pruner. Recently used the pole pruner to remove the same hedgerow and it performed flawlessly. This tool has far exceeded all expectations I had prior to purchase and will continue to add attachments to increase it's usefulness.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable - it's a Stihl I haven't used it much yet, but it has sure worked well when I have. I am using the straight trimmer attachment, but plan to buy a brush cutter and possibly a pole trimmer also. Good power and runs smooth. Not sure the harness is that helpful, doesn't seem to balance well, but the machine is plenty light enough to use without it.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the ability to change out the trimmer to the heavy brush cutter etc. with ease I love the ability to change out the trimmer to the brush cutter with ease
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All attachemnts keep sticking. I purchase this product and it has been back to the dealership for repair 3 times in less than 6 months. The attachments is very hard to separate from the base.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love easy2start This is the best powerhead I have owned it starts easy and has plenty of power to handle tiller attachment in heavy clay areas.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quick start. Love the quick start, and power to get the job done, without giving me any issues.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool for Around the House I purchased the Kombi system with the string trimmer. I have been looking at replacing my battery operated string trimmer with a gas powered one because I hated the loss of power I would experience in the middle of trimming my lawn. I knew STIHL was a market leader and so I wanted to incorporate this brand in my next purchase. I settled on the Kombi so I can expand the use in the future. I plan on purchasing the hedge trimmer along with the bed definer or edger in the future.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adaptable with great power It's great to have only one engine with multiple attachments and not have to compromise on power and dependability.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great residential multi-tasking tool with a strong motor. Worth every penny, well worth every dollar. Strong motor with more power than any other residential product on the market. A great investment, purchased the head and trimmer first and the curved edger second. Invest in the quick change trimmer head over the standard. The curved edger has plenty of power and it easy to use. Use premium non-ethenal gas and Stihl 2 cycle oil and your motor will run great. Change the air and fuel filter yearly too. The power and dependability of Stihl makes their products worth every penny, well dollar. GS in Germantown, TN.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasure to Use Just what I expected from Stihl - top notch quality. Blown away how professional & helpful the whole purchase experience was. The KM 56 RC-E is so much easier to use with the curved edger attachment then my old walk behind edger I have been using for the last 30 years. Plenty of power for my needs. It even makes a cleaner edge than my walk behind. Starts right up every time. Can't wait for the next accessory which should be the blower.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Right Tool What a difference having a quality tool makes. Nearly 20 years ago, as a fire fighter instructor in the Australian Defence Force, I would train future emergency responders on the use of chainsaws. Stihl were the brand we used at the school. So I have known for a long time that Stihl products are high quality and designed to be reliable and easy to use. That being said, for a long time I have been trying to get away with using weed eaters from cheaper brands. Finally after going through 4 of them in the last 3 years, I came to my senses and bought the Kombi with the FS KM Line attachment that has an AutoCut 25-2 head.I should have done this years ago. It is ridiculously easy to start, runs smooth and powered through the work in my yard with ease. I live in a rural area and have a drainage ditch that runs about 80 yards along the front of our property. The sides of the ditch are too steep to mow. This has always been a real chore, however I was impressed with how well the Kombi ripped through it, and I got the job completed quicker than I have ever done in the past.I said to my wife that if she ever wants to get me something for Xmas, birthdays etc that she can just get an attachment for the Kombi.Glad I have it.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for a homeowner This was a great purchase. Not a cheap big box piece of equipment. Cranks up very easily and runs strong. I have a half acre with a fence and sidewalk/driveway and it does everything that I ask. Plenty of power to do homeowner jobs. I purchased the weed eater and curved edger attachments.I would like to see more information on the warranty when purchased - that is a big factor for me on a purchase like this.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best grass trimer I have owned This is the best trimer I have ever owned got it at a very good price with 50% off atachment.I have always wanted to own a STIHL this machine is very easy to use starts great every time easy to handle and helps the job at hand to complete faster. Line is very easy to extend and lasts longer than other machines that I have owned.Hope this review helps you .
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes work easy I recently moved to a house that was overgrown with weeds. The lawn hasn't been edged in years either. The weed trimmer attachment took all the tough stuff out and didn't bog down once. The edger cut through the dirt like a hot knife through butter. It was a piece of cake switching the attachments out and even easier to start. That completed my switch to Stihl equipment. Great products at a great price!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait? So happy I bit the bullet and purchased it! I got the Weed Wacker and Edger heads. Was amazed at how quickly they take care of the trimming and edging. I see the blower and pole saw attachments in the near future. I strongly recommend purchasing.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only used three times so far When it was demonstrated for me, it seemed to run a little rough. Was told that after using it a short time, it would smooth out. Starts very easily. I've only used it three times so far, but it is still running a little rough. At full throttle, feels like there is an engine miss. I expected it to run smoother. Maybe after I use it more, it will break in.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use switch out attachments Really love using the KombiMotor and attachments. It is well balanced and so easy to add and change out the attachments.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very versatile yard tool This is my second multitool and like it alot.cafsafvsdfvsd
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spent much more on Troy Bilt So far, this system has actually cost less than my Troy Bilt conbi system. With the amount of personal labor and factory repair costs I had to put out for the Troy Bilt and its accessories, I'm money ahead after the first year. Not only that, but the Stihl combi system has so much more power, I get done with the yard work faster and have more time to spend with the family.I wish I had done this years ago.Thanks
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What I expected from STIHL. Quality, Dependability, Durability. I have had STIHL products for years. From Chain Saws to Trimmers. I moved and sold my yard tools. All of them. I moved south and figured I would move in a community that supplied all the work done. I did not move into that type of community. So I had to purchase new equipment . STIHL was my first thought. I had STIHL products for many many years and never had any issues with them. I purchased a Kombi system. Very easy to use and you can hang the attachments up in a small area. I purchased the Trimmer, Blower , and Edger. I love this system. I have had it for 3 1/2 years now.
Date published: 2016-10-16
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_114
  • loc_en_US, sid_km56rce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl