My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Lawn Mowers

RMA 510

A 21" walk-behind battery-powered lawn mower that delivers the power and run time to handle small to medium suburban yards. Batteries and chargers can be purchased separately or as a set combined with tool.

RMA 510
RMA 510 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my battery mower and battery products. I love this mower. I have used the RMA 510 the whole first summer with no issues. I have a yard of about 3500-4000 sq-ft and on the eco setting I can almost get my yard bagged twice on a charge, one and a half times for sure. I have mainly tried, even before the new mower, to mow on the same day every week. It just helps any mower out. Also I use the entire battery cycle before I charge it again and never leave the battery in the unit or on the charger.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Customer I've been mowing my lawn for over 10 years. 5 years in a cold climate and now 5 years in sunny South Florida. I always hated dealing with the oil and gas of a traditional mower but never wanted to sacrifice the power for a battery mower or deal with a long cord on a plug-in. That is until the 510 came out. My local repair shop and Stihl dealer - Joe Blair in Miami, FL - had one on display. I actually had my gas mower in the shop to deal with yet another carborator problem and seeing the 510 on display got me thinking... no more specialty gas to buy (I only used rec fuel), no more oil changes, no more carb repair bills. The math worked. I bought floor model and couldn't be happier (shout out to Dave Sr. For his help and advice).Ok, now to review the 510. First, it's very easy to use and light to push around. I used to use a self propelled gas mower and dont really notice a difference in effort with the 510 even though the propulsion is 100% human. Even with a full bag it's an easy push. Nearly 80% of my hour and half of mowing is spent on "Eco" mode which is plenty powerful to handle my St. Augustine grass. My yard is between 3,500 and 5,000 sq. Ft. And at the end I have about half a battery left. Oh, and I have to mention how quiet it is. Its hard to tell in the store because over a solid surface the noise is amplified but once you get over the yard it's incredibly quiet - you could easily carry on a conversation while mowing.I've only noticed two downsides. 1.) in Eco mode the power is a little light so some grass blades dont get sucked up verticle to cut, so I end up going over about 10% of the lawn a second time to get a clean cut. 2.) I used to use my mower as a vacuum after edging but again the eco mode just doesn't have the oomph to suck up the dirt and clippings from the sidewalk... so with the half a battery I have left after a mow I use a brand new Stihl blower to clean up.Overall it was a great purchase - highly recommended!
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use, efficient, less noise. I have always said that I would never buy an electric mower, but I also always said that if STIHL made a mower I would buy it. So when I bought a house with a lawn, I also bought the RMA 510. It is easy to use, has a simple design, the battery lasts much longer than I expected. I do not like the missing feature of self propelled, but I need my excercise anyways. I also found the power to be a bit less than a commercial grade walk behind mower, Therefore it does not create enough vacuum for my preference, however I beleive it is all the mower I need for my house. As a fomer landscaper and turfgrass expert I would reccomend this mower to follk with around 1000 square foot lawns or less, on relatively flat ground. For folks with more I would reccomend borrowing or demoing 1 first.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mower, but doesn't last long. I was given this mower as a gift by my boyfriend, who works for a Stihl dealer, to replace my gas mower that I always complained about because it was too hard to pull start. I'm glad that it was a gift, and that I didn't buy it.The pros: Very easy to use, and there is no gas or oil to fool with.The cons, and I'll try to keep it short: The battery doesn't last long, especially on ECO mode! I have about 3,600 sq. ft. to mow, which takes me about 45 minutes, and the battery dies halfway before I am finished. That is on ECO mode too! Two people that reviewed this mower stated that they mowed about 1,500 sq. ft. in a 1/2 hour, and only had about 1/2 the battery life left after they were done. That seems about right. So why do the specs state that this mower can do about 5,100 sq. ft. on a single, fully charged, AP300 battery? I had my boyfriend come out and mow, and he had the same problem. He swapped out the battery with a new one, thinking that it was a bad battery, and still had the same problem. Now he did slow his walking speed down a little because it didn't seem like the mower was cutting the grass well in ECO mode. It left some blades of grass uncut. Another con I have is that it isn't self propelled. Now if it was, then I am sure that the battery life would be even shorter. Now I have two other Stihl products that I love, but this one falls short. I'll still keep buying Stihl products because of their quality, but will think twice when it comes to their battery line.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Throw out your fossil fuel mowers I was a die-hard power mower guy from 1975 until 3 days ago. Have 3 older 2 cycle smokers one each for leaves, grass & mulching. Chasing parts on e-bay and stockpiling oil and gas mix is really getting old at 62. This RMA 510 lawn mower with AP 300 battery is beyond any expectations I had. Bought the hedge trimmer a few months back with the dealer suggested bigger battery and charger, just in case I saw another product it fit. I made the jump to battery power with the neighbors watching, who were probably cheering for the noise and smoke reduction. Easy to push, easy to steer, easy to start, easy to empty catcher, easy to adjust cutting height, and easy to keep going to the neighbor's lawn. My size 13 feet and 6 foot height is accommodated in all ways with handle height and rear bag. The engineering is great, seems very durable, and is very quiet. Used on eco setting and cut my whole yard, and 2 neighbor's front lawns approx. 7,000 sq ft.with light leaf debris and fall growth patterns. It never revved up to full power, so reserve for heavier spring cutting is there when I'll need it. Put battery in charger and was ready to go again in 30 minutes. Fortunately, the wife put a stop to me cutting 3 more lawns.Stihl battery products may seem expensive, but if you want good equipment, spend the money. This is the first new mower I have ever owned and was it worth waiting for! The only draw back is, I can't wear my bell bottoms or have hair below my shoulders, according to the manual.R.I.P. to the gas mowers, you had a good run!
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks to Stihl I remain self-sufficient with my yard work I am a 74-year-old woman who likes to stay active in my yard. One day the starter cord on my gas engine lawnmower was finally too difficult to pull. Stihl to the rescue! Now I just drop a battery into a slot, push a button and away I go. My RMA 510 is much quieter and easier to manage than my old mower, easily cutting about 1,500 square feet on only half a charge with one and a half bags of clippings. The only improvement would be a self-propelled mode to help on slopes.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the feature it has to automatically goes to more power when have taller grass and then automatically goes back down as soon as the grasss is sho I like that I don't have to go buy gas and oil. It is light weight for mowing our hills.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Set up for mulching; no need to install a kit I have used various makes and models of battery powered electric mowers for 20 years. This is by far the best. I was previosly having to stop and recharge the battery halfwaythrough my mowing job. Now I have power to spare.
Date published: 2017-08-14
  • y_2018, m_1, d_15, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_rma510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips