My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Lawn Mowers

RMA 460

A walk-behind battery-powered lawn mower with a 19” deck that delivers great performance for small to medium suburban yards. 

Image of rma460
RMA 460 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Performance This was my first battery powered lawnmower and I was skeptical about purchasing one. However, I am not new to STIHL and own several tools that I am more than pleased with. After discussion with my wife, we went ahead and made this purchase. I could not be more pleased with the quality and performance of the RMA 460. I love the variable speed motor that will conserve the battery power if it is not needed and it is an excellent fit for the yard size of our home. Even in the tallest grass, there has only been a single time that I have had to recharge the battery before finishing. I high recommend this product to anyone considering making the jump from gas to battery. Thank you STIHL for your quality, service, and proven track record of USA made top of the line tools and products!!
Date published: 2019-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light Quiet and Easy to Mow I have the RMA460, the trimmer and the blower. Good battery life, AK30 easily powers my lawn-cutting, and powers my Stihl trimmer and blower for a full hour and a half. would recommend getting a second battery so you are ready to use the system whenever you need it. Lives up to Stihl's high gas equipment standards
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Mower I have a small yard, 200 sg ft in front, 400 sq ft in back. The RMA 460 does well, even the first mow of spring when I procrastinate and let the back yard get too tall. It has respectable power, is light in weight, quiet, and has decent battery life. Overall, a great purchase.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mower. This is a great mower. Light in weight, well built and very smooth running. Low noise, consistent even cut, even in taller grass.The battery life is good. I have about 5,000sf of lawn and the mower will handle that with ease on one battery when the grass is at average length. If it gets long, I use the backup battery for a second pass with the mower. I highly recommend this mower.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Underpowered and too long to charge I cannot recommend this product to anyone with more than a 400 square foot hard (aka 20 feet by 20 feet). Stihl claims is will go roughly 2800 square feet on the included AK30 battery. My quality rating is based on the mover top getting scratched heavily by running it under a hydrangea.My dependability and power ratings are based on the battery taking in excess of 6 hours to charge. That charge lasted maybe 20 minutes with the wheels at full extension to leave the longest grass. If I can't run it, it's not dependable.My value rating is based on this: After buying I found out that it is a 36V system, which given the fact that I found an 80V self propelled system from another company for $150 more. Stihl is clearly underpowered. I ran that one for 40 minutes and the power meter on the battery still reads full. It is rated to mow more than an hour and by experience I can say it fully charges in less than 2 hours. I am very thankful that Scott McClendon's Hardware in Belfair took it back after I had it for 7 days. (It seemed problematic like they really weren't supposed to do that with Stihl products.) I recommend an electric mower. I can't recommend Stihl until they replace the casing with a higher density plastic, increase the power, and improve the charger.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has exceded my expectations My first entry into battery-powered equipment and at a good price. Mows more than I expected and has charge left for more. Light weight and small size make it good for mowing around garden beds and fruit trees.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mower-2 batteries would be nice. I needed a new mower and had been shopping around for an electric one.The Stihl 460 fit my needs well.I was amazed at how lightweight it was and how easy it was to use.Unfortunately, my lawn is just large enough that I can't complete it on a single charge, and waiting an hour or more for it to recharge and finish kinda sucks.I'll have to buy a second( rather pricey) battery to be able to swap out and keep mowing.This is easy enough to do, but I notice several other brands come with 2 batteries with purchase of the mower, which in my opinion just makes more sense.Otherwise I'm pretty happy with it and have been showing it off to my neighbors.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great light weight mower Retired my self propelled gas mower got the rma 460 love it. Easy to maneuver.bagger is just the right size to dump without tearing to clipping bags with the ak30 battery have no problems doing whole yard over all a very good purchase
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Stihl Purchased my first electric mower, leaning heavily on the brand. I have not been disappointed and Parkrose staff are so nice to work with!!
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and powerful Powers through even the tallest grass without even slowing down!
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loud as a gas mower I don't know what the last reviewer meant by quiet, but this battery powered mower is just as loud as a gas mower. Not a big deal, but it is by no means (quieter than a gas mower)I have about a 1/4 acre backyard and a small front lawn no more than 200sq ft. I can mow the front and mow about a 1/3 of the backyard with the 1 battery I have now. I will need to buy the 2nd battery, that is why I am on stihl.com right now. Im not sure how much my papa paid for this mower, but imho I would prefer a gas powered. Only because of the battery life. If in the future they can make a battery more powerful (and cheaper) then I would recommend this mower. Unless you have a smaller yard, I would go with gas.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still Impressed After a Full Season I bought the RMA-460 along with an AK-series Blower and a String Trimmer. I have a 1/4 Acre yard and use the Mower for edge mowing and for mowing the Street Lawn. It does a great job cutting and mulching. It is also incredibly quiet. I’ve had a conversation with the little boy next door in a normal voice while running the mower; also can hear birds singing in another neighbor’s yard while running my Mower. I rarely need to use the second battery when mowing, only when the grass is extremely tall or thick. I have two AK-30 batteries and rotate which one I use - only recharging when nearly used up. I use a small riding mower for the main part of the lawn. When Stihl makes a rider, I’ll be first in line to buy one!
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power just pick mine up last night and I'm very impressed. Walked right thru 8" grass like it was meant to. I was very pleased I pulled the trigger and got this, definitely have this for a long time.
Date published: 2018-06-21
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_rma460, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl