My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Hedge Trimmers

HS 56 C-E

This lightweight hedge trimmer features professional-grade cutting power and Easy2Start™ technology.

HS 56 C-E
HS 56 C-E is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Buy Something Else This trimmer has spent more time in the shop then on the road doing its job. I have Stihl everything and this is the lemon of the lot. When it is running it does a great job, but it has been broken more than any other piece of Stihl my crew uses. Choose a better hedge trimmer.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! I have several stihl hedge trimmers. this one is my favorite so far. This one is great because I can run the protective tip cover on the much and other places without worrying about damage. As a landscaper who specializes in trimming & shaping, this cuts cleanly & smoothly, plus its relatively* light (I'm a small woman*) and easy for me to start. After experiencing Stihl, other tools seem mediocre.
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top-notch hedge trimmer Best Hedge trimmer on the market, I've used other brands in the past but none compare to the Stihl HS 56 C-E. Easy to start, powerful motor and the cutting edge breezes through my Laurel hedges - I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a top-notch versatile hedge trimmer!!!
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but worth it!!! I am a homeowner, but I do a lot of hedge trimming. The HS 56 C-E is an amazing tool that handles big jobs with ease, is great for detail work, and thanks to the guard at the end of the blade it is great close to the ground as well. The ergonomics, leight weight, and overall balanced feel made this unit the easy choice over the Husqvarna and Echo units I looked at.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great balance and weight ratio After owning a HS45 for 8 years I almost went back with the 45 but they only had the 45 with a 18" bar. So I upgraded to the HS 56ce with a 22" bar and I'm glad I did. Runs great, cuts great, and lightweight too. I've always been happy with Stihl products.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine for the homeowner. I was seeking a good hedge trimmer to use around the house. I wanted a light machine that was easy to start that wasnt loud was relaible and easy to use. This machine is all that. Very light weight machine. Very easy to start and use. This machine has a lot of power for the tough jobs. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to start My unit is very hard to start . WHERE DOES THE EASY START COME IN ?
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tool! This tool makes short work of trimming the hedge. Has plenty power to do the job. It gets a little heavy after while, but that's a fair trade-off for the power.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Professional grade that is perfect for homeowner. This is my third Stihl product purchased in the past 18 months. I've gone with professional grade products even though they all get homeowner use. This trimmer is perfect balance between the two, powerful though not too big. Starts everytime with minimal effort. It's not as loud as I originally thought. I found on average of an hour each use with no fatigue at all. Easily handles the typical pruning jobs, and can tackle some of the tougher ones that would normally require a set of loppers.Requires a minimal amount of maintenance
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is light weight and cuts easy This will make cutting tons of fun and save you lots of time also they don't hurt your back our arms after long use
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light powerful hedgetrimmer I bought this to replace a echo unit I was having problems with and am very satisfied with it.it is lighter and better balanced then any other gas hedge trimmer I have ever used and has plenty of power.I did have to take mine back to the dealer because of a carb issue but that was quickly resolved and has run perfect ever since.
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the money When I got home with the new trimmer, I started using it. It starts great and has plenty of power. It does a very good job. I have cut 3/4 boxwoods limbs with it. It is very easy to use. As with all Stihl products, a good tool. I am very pleased so far.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I found this hedge trimmer extremely easy to start and it starts first or second pull everytime. I already knew how to use the Easy2Start system from a prior unit. I understand the frustration of pulling multiple times and not having the unit start; I realized my issues were driven by operator error once I read the manual.This tool is reliable and has more than enough power.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent power to weight This unit stopped running well a few hours into the first use. Returned to dealer and after a few days they returned it to me running perfectly, and has worked reliably ever since. I used to trim by hand. This machine paid for itself the first day I used it. Stihl forever!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissappointed in HS 56 C This trimmer works fine IF you can get it started and keep it running. I spend more time pulling the cord than trimming hedges. Assuming I can get the unit started, it will quit in the middle of the job and won't restart. Better off with a pair of scissors.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unhappy with this trimmer I have 30 or more stihl units. I currently have 4 stihl hedge trimmers and 3 of them are in the shop needing repairs, the 4th I had to purchase today because I need a working set for one of our crews tomorrow. I am completely dissatisfied with the hedge trimmers I have purchased from stihl. Apart from the hedge trimmers we have line trimmers, blowers, partner saws, chain saws etc which run all day every day.......... However, our hedge trimmers, sit in the shop awaiting repairs.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've ever used! I had read some spotty reviews about the engine, but took a chance when I realized the machine with the best reviews had the same motor.I runs great! Easy, reliable start, cold or hot, it cuts like nothing I have ever owned!I have overgrown hedges and oleanders . The thicker branches (1"+) take a little longer, but it goes thru cleanly.The only thing I didn't appreciate was when cutting high, the exhaust blows right in my face, but its not Stihl's fault I let the plants grow so high.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad i have it Hedge trimming is now just a matter of a few hours instead of a weekend. Even cutting back hedges and trees is just done simple like that...
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Having used several different hedge trimmers which cost a fraction of what this did I was never pleased with the results. This trimmer has made the investment worthwhile. I will never buy cheap again this starts every time and will cut anything I can get between the teeth. Great overall product with no major complaints. I only wish it had a higher neck on the gas tank so I could get it all the way full without having to negotiate around the handle and tilting the machine.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable I just baught this machine 2 months ago,been having problems starting,serviced 3 times already,so I've spent well over what it's worth,my dealer will not accept the fact that I have a bad unit.works great when it starts .i caint even sell it cause its unreliable .
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and professional hedge trimmer! The HS 56 is a solid performer and my main work horse for all of my residential work! Starts quick, amazing fuel economy, and extremely light weight! I highly recommend this trimmer and will buy a second one as business increases!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, light enough to work with for hours, cuts like a hor knife through butter! My first Stihl product but not my last! Easy to start. Tamed my out of control Hollies, Box Woods and Leland Cypress all in a few hours instead of a few days!
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME TRIMMER !! I have been using this hedge trimmer for about a month now and it is incredible !! It is very well balanced and is very easy to use. It has plenty of power and it makes trimming hedges alot more fun !!
Date published: 2013-02-04
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_hs56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips