Find a Specific Product: Hedge Trimmers

HS 46 C-E

Our lightest gasoline-powered hedge trimmer for homeowners featuring STIHL Easy2Start™.

HS 46 C-E
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 46reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs like a Stihl Great product! Had a husky that was trouble from the start Replaced bad fuel lines cleaned the carb still only ran on full choke. The Stihl runs good cuts good makes the job a lot faster December 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great balance and blade speed. I bought a HS 46 C-E when my dealer was out of HS 45s, and I couldn't be happier. The jump to a mid unit gas tank makes a huge difference in balance and user fatigue.Blade speed and the HS 46s ability to rev quickly is a huge plus.It would be nice if the tank was bigger, but then it's be heavier. December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding trimmer as advertised. This trimmer has so much more power than my old electric trimmer. Lightweight, easy to start and well balanced. Has plenty of power to easily cut through larger branches. I got it home from the store and immediately put it to work, and work it did! Works great on hedges and smaller tree branches. Performs with the expected power and reliability of a Stihl product. This is my fourth Stihl purchase and I've yet to be disappointed. You can't go wrong with this trimmer. November 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes an ugly Job fun and easy This is my first hedge trimmer and I am totally impressed. Purchased it a Rural King and was recommended it by the sales person that owns one her self. She has a landscape biz on the side. It does everything she said. Powerful, cutting through 3/4 branches when needed, quick and light. Very impressed. No more shears for me. :) October 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I received what I thought from Stihl, a very good, easy to use, start, w/ great workability What more can I say? You have a great product .I've been using stihl products for years without any complaint. To have any other chain saw would be a Mistake. the dependable starting on all my Stihl tools is wonderful to have. September 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very reliable I have been using a 30 year old trimmer with cord. This is such a vast improvement. August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Trimmer Light weight easy to use and it does a fabulous job. I have been using landscapers to do the work in the past. I watched how they did the joband went out and bought this baby. I had considered other manufacturers less expensive models but lets face it there is none better than the Stihl. I am very pleased with my HS 46 c e. August 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Handle falls apart I love Stihl equipment, especially the hedge trimmers. I bought a 46 CE last weekend. I'm taking it back after 3 hours of use because the handle, which is made up of 4 or 5 interlocking plastic parts will not stay together. The engine and cutting are still great, but it the handle won't stay together it's useless. Probably going to buy the 82T, just didn't want to spend that much.Very disappointed. August 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy for the money and what a time saver! I used to trim bushes by hand for many years. I was a little apprehensive about spending the money on this. Once I did purchase, I wondered what took me so long. This cut my trim time by 75%. Best purchase I have made in a long time. This trimmer meets all of my expectations and more. The dealer was very helpful in helping me make my purchase. They were very knowledgeable and friendly at that. July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Power My son in law told me about Stihl, love my son in law. What an outstanding trimmer. It is easy to hold and control for a 65 yr. old, and the power is unreal. It allows me to trim everything in record time and I do have a lot of bushes and shrubs. July 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by problem with product purchased this trimmer on 5/9/15. it worked great for 2 1/2 days then wouldn't start. took it to the dealer who told me it had a faulty carburetor and that they didn't have one in stock and would have to order one. surprised they didn't have a carb in stock or a loaner hedger to let me borrow til mine was repaired. greatly disappointed in this hedge trimmer. the saw is light weight and cuts super good when it's working. don't like the controls on this trimmer and wish it just had a cold start switch or a pull choke which in my opinion would be much better than the controls on this trimmer. don't like the controls at all!!! was going to purchase a stihl weedeater as well but have changed my mind based on my experience with this trimmer. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Replaced my electric trimmer Replaced my electric trimmer and I am so happy. Lots of power, cut my trimming time in half. I've only used it twice since purchase so I'm a bit ahead of myself with quality and dependability ratings but I've had a Stihl weed wacker/brushcutter since 1998 and it's still going strong. Counting on this lasting as long. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is lightweight, easy to start, fast and trims shrubs with ease. This is my first gas hedge trimmer previously I used an electric. Wow I can't believe how much faster and easier the HS 46 C does the job. It cuts larger shrubs with ease and it took me about 1/3 the time to do all my shrubs than before. I always had to worry about the extension cord and I can't tell you how many of those had been cut. I would recommend this to any homeowner. If I would have known how fast, lightweight and better this unit is than my electric I would have bought one a long time ago. Don't procrastinate go out and get one you won't be disappointed! November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by light weight with plenty of power This hedge trimmer is awesome. It is light weight, powerful, and easy to use. It is by far the best trimmer that I have ever used. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First gas trimmer - makes a quick job of trimming shrubs. My corded electric hedge trimmer died, and my neighbor has used Stihl for years and recommended this gas powered one. It is light weight,well-balanced, surprisingly quiet, doesn't get stuck or stall on branches, and is much easier and quicker to use. No more cutting through power cords. I love it and wish I would have bought one years ago. I particularly liked buying the Stihl 6-pack of oil and getting my warranty doubled to 4 years. With this positive experience, I bought the vacuum/blower with attached collection bag, and next spring I'll be buying the Stihl weedwacker. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The HS 46C has many great features and will let you go for hours at a time with its lightweight and well balanced design. I purchased the Stihl HS 46C to attack some landscaping that hadn't seen attention in a few years, so you can only imagine... EVERYTHING was overgrown. The Stihl HS 46C did a great job and is very reliable every time I reach for it off the hanger. I used to landscape part time and have used the pro series, and this model will rival the pro series!Pros: easy to start, plenty of power, lightweight and durable, cuts great and runs smooth!Cons: none. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far, I thought I made the right purchase. I have to rate the dependability and value as average. Ask me after two years. But, if this trimmer is like my blower, weed trimmer, and chainsaw, I will not be disappointed. I burned through my hedges better than my old electric and battery powered trimmer. This gas powered trimmer is the cat's meow! June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful upgrade I have used the HS46 for a couple of years and enjoyed it's reliability and ease of use. I didn't know it could be improved until I purchased the HS46C-E and totally loved the improvements. It is light, easy to start, reliable, quiet and wonderful to use. I totally recommend it. The swivel handle would have been nice, but I still love it. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hedger I had an electric corded hedge timmer for years. I used to always hate trimming the bushes. Now with this… it's one of my favorite projects. I've had it for 2 years and it's been very reliable. It makes even major bush reshaping a breeze. I'm very pleased. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product to have My new Stihl Hedge Trimmer has increased my productivity. The HS 46 C cuts through large bushes with ease reducing the need to stop and retrieve additional tools. Its a must have power tool for landscaping. December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful and easy to run. Just bought my Stihl trimmer and gave it a substantial test. I had 80' of hedge to trim back before winter set in. I was cutting through 3/8 to 1/2 limbs and knocked it all out in 20 minutes tops. I was doing the Tim the Tool Man Taylor grunt sound the whole time. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great new lightweight - easy to handle I am a female and bought this to trim the hedges - 6 ' tall. The lightweight made it much easier for me to use and I could cut alot more and not get tired. Great, sharpe blades. Weighted perfectly. Very easy to operate. November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and powerful. This trimmer reduced the amount of time it takes me to trim shrubbery and ornamental grass to less than half. It has the power to cut larger branches so that I don't have to stop and use pruning shears to get the job done. I like the balance and light weight of this trimmer. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another excellent product An excellent product as is all equipment from Stihl. A little more expensive than I would like, but worth it for the quality. Cut my trimming time and effort by about 75%.No more heavy bulky cords to drag around. A good investment that will last for many years. I am very pleased. November 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmers I've been working for a landscaping co. For 5 yrs. we have always used red max trimmers and weed eaters. I now use stihl products and have never been happier! These hedge trimmers are awesome!! November 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficult to Start Purchased a new home, and all New Stihl products. This trimmer has been a problem from the beginning, and returned to the shop 3 times. Its very hard to get started, and still does not work. However when it did run, I had zero issues with cutting tasks. October 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent power, makes trimming easy and fast Excellent machine, makes trimming faster and easier. Also used this trimmer to clear paths to hunting stands, makes short work out of clearing wild roses!! September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent trimmer! Nothing but Stihl, great quality! Sure beats the old electric trimmer! August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the weekend warrior in all of us Quality, power and value for the price paid you cannot go wrong. Like the rest of the STIHL line of products My HS 46 C makes the job so much easier and safer.I've tried other brands ( Japanese) and electric models and done nothing more thanwaist my time and energy. Now I understand why the professional's use STIHL. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great power to weight, easy to start My wife used this trimmer after I brought it home and she loves it! We able to get our hedges under control and with the ease of use, we will keep them in shape all season. August 3, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips