My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Hedge Trimmers

HS 46 C-E

Our lightest gasoline-powered hedge trimmer for homeowners featuring STIHL Easy2Start™.

HS 46 C-E
HS 46 C-E is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved having my first gas powered hedge trimmer I found my new trimmer easy to start, easy to hold and it cut through most things the first time as I learned its ability to cut the right size bush. I looked back after finishing the work and felt like my bushes have never looked this good. I like having good equipment
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellenty improvements could not believe how much quieter it was than my older one. and my new one has the 22" cutting blades my older one had 18" blades, and yet if feels no heavier.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start & easy to use I love this Stihl hedge trimmer, it has a lot of power and cuts through tree branches with ease. It's the lightest trimmer I've ever owned. Glad I finally bought one.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice product Bought this to trim shrubs and bushs around the house. Only use a couple it a couple times a year but when I do the jobs are fast easy. Always starts right up. No complaints at all. Lightweight and lots of power. Love it.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed after a year of use I have lots of shrubs and also do two neighbor's yards. When I first got it I would have recommended it in a heart beat. After 8 months I started having a few problems that were fixed be the Stihl dealer. About two months ago (14 months old) it lost power and then the engine would race at the most inopportune times. The dealer has had my hedge trimmer for 6 weeks and can't seem to fix it. They pulled two brand new unit out of the box that had the exact same issues as mine. Still don't have my trimmer back.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product for my home needs My old generic electric trimmer finally gave out. I previously switched all my home lawn and garden tools to Stihl so I purchased a new gas powered Stihl trimmer. I love my Stihl products because of their dependability, power, and available support.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job DONE! I always knew Stihl was the best but after a few of the box store hedge trimmers, I was ready for something that could get the job done. My Stihl hedge trimmers are powerful but lightweight. You pay more for a quality product. I could have bought 2 of these for what I have spent on the box store brands.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is awesome I've used this product commercially and love it always starts right up and has lots of power and is very lightweight and easy to use and I and i am even thinking about buying a second set for my guys and getting rid of the other brands that we aren't happy with this is a awesome set of hedge trimmers
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good for what it stated it would do This is product is not acceptable for the job I needed, used less than 20 minutes and tried to return to the store and they gave me a very flat NO. Will never again spend this kind of money with no return available if it turns out not to work for the job intended.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight but powerful This was my first gas powered trimmer. I wanted a light weight yet powerful enough trimmer to cut 1/2" size limbs. This fit the bill. Starts easily and runs smooth.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product This was the first gas powered hedge trimmer I"ve purchased, I have been very impressed. I have used it to cut a variety of hedges and it's made short work of all of them. Not only could it not be easier to start and operate, this machine has plenty of power to make any job much easier. I look forward to my hedges growing again in the near future.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost a light saber I own lots of Stihl tools, finally bought a hedge trimmer. It definitely outperforms my old one. the blade is fantastic, cut through 1/2 boxwood limbs without a problem. One swipe and trimming is done. No debris caught in between blades, clean cuts.Light, powerful, the anti vibe is a welcome change. Never any fuel issues with 91 octane and platinum mix.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for home use I am glad I invested in still products. They are dependable and easy to use
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product This is the first Stihl product I've owned. Not sure why I've waited so long. The quality of this product surpasses all my expectations. Stihl will be my first choice for any future home care products.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs like a Stihl Great product! Had a husky that was trouble from the start Replaced bad fuel lines cleaned the carb still only ran on full choke. The Stihl runs good cuts good makes the job a lot faster
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great balance and blade speed. I bought a HS 46 C-E when my dealer was out of HS 45s, and I couldn't be happier. The jump to a mid unit gas tank makes a huge difference in balance and user fatigue.Blade speed and the HS 46s ability to rev quickly is a huge plus.It would be nice if the tank was bigger, but then it's be heavier.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding trimmer as advertised. This trimmer has so much more power than my old electric trimmer. Lightweight, easy to start and well balanced. Has plenty of power to easily cut through larger branches. I got it home from the store and immediately put it to work, and work it did! Works great on hedges and smaller tree branches. Performs with the expected power and reliability of a Stihl product. This is my fourth Stihl purchase and I've yet to be disappointed. You can't go wrong with this trimmer.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes an ugly Job fun and easy This is my first hedge trimmer and I am totally impressed. Purchased it a Rural King and was recommended it by the sales person that owns one her self. She has a landscape biz on the side. It does everything she said. Powerful, cutting through 3/4 branches when needed, quick and light. Very impressed. No more shears for me. :)
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received what I thought from Stihl, a very good, easy to use, start, w/ great workability What more can I say? You have a great product .I've been using stihl products for years without any complaint. To have any other chain saw would be a Mistake. the dependable starting on all my Stihl tools is wonderful to have.
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very reliable I have been using a 30 year old trimmer with cord. This is such a vast improvement.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trimmer Light weight easy to use and it does a fabulous job. I have been using landscapers to do the work in the past. I watched how they did the joband went out and bought this baby. I had considered other manufacturers less expensive models but lets face it there is none better than the Stihl. I am very pleased with my HS 46 c e.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Handle falls apart I love Stihl equipment, especially the hedge trimmers. I bought a 46 CE last weekend. I'm taking it back after 3 hours of use because the handle, which is made up of 4 or 5 interlocking plastic parts will not stay together. The engine and cutting are still great, but it the handle won't stay together it's useless. Probably going to buy the 82T, just didn't want to spend that much.Very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy for the money and what a time saver! I used to trim bushes by hand for many years. I was a little apprehensive about spending the money on this. Once I did purchase, I wondered what took me so long. This cut my trim time by 75%. Best purchase I have made in a long time. This trimmer meets all of my expectations and more. The dealer was very helpful in helping me make my purchase. They were very knowledgeable and friendly at that.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Power My son in law told me about Stihl, love my son in law. What an outstanding trimmer. It is easy to hold and control for a 65 yr. old, and the power is unreal. It allows me to trim everything in record time and I do have a lot of bushes and shrubs.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from problem with product purchased this trimmer on 5/9/15. it worked great for 2 1/2 days then wouldn't start. took it to the dealer who told me it had a faulty carburetor and that they didn't have one in stock and would have to order one. surprised they didn't have a carb in stock or a loaner hedger to let me borrow til mine was repaired. greatly disappointed in this hedge trimmer. the saw is light weight and cuts super good when it's working. don't like the controls on this trimmer and wish it just had a cold start switch or a pull choke which in my opinion would be much better than the controls on this trimmer. don't like the controls at all!!! was going to purchase a stihl weedeater as well but have changed my mind based on my experience with this trimmer.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced my electric trimmer Replaced my electric trimmer and I am so happy. Lots of power, cut my trimming time in half. I've only used it twice since purchase so I'm a bit ahead of myself with quality and dependability ratings but I've had a Stihl weed wacker/brushcutter since 1998 and it's still going strong. Counting on this lasting as long.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is lightweight, easy to start, fast and trims shrubs with ease. This is my first gas hedge trimmer previously I used an electric. Wow I can't believe how much faster and easier the HS 46 C does the job. It cuts larger shrubs with ease and it took me about 1/3 the time to do all my shrubs than before. I always had to worry about the extension cord and I can't tell you how many of those had been cut. I would recommend this to any homeowner. If I would have known how fast, lightweight and better this unit is than my electric I would have bought one a long time ago. Don't procrastinate go out and get one you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight with plenty of power This hedge trimmer is awesome. It is light weight, powerful, and easy to use. It is by far the best trimmer that I have ever used.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First gas trimmer - makes a quick job of trimming shrubs. My corded electric hedge trimmer died, and my neighbor has used Stihl for years and recommended this gas powered one. It is light weight,well-balanced, surprisingly quiet, doesn't get stuck or stall on branches, and is much easier and quicker to use. No more cutting through power cords. I love it and wish I would have bought one years ago. I particularly liked buying the Stihl 6-pack of oil and getting my warranty doubled to 4 years. With this positive experience, I bought the vacuum/blower with attached collection bag, and next spring I'll be buying the Stihl weedwacker.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The HS 46C has many great features and will let you go for hours at a time with its lightweight and well balanced design. I purchased the Stihl HS 46C to attack some landscaping that hadn't seen attention in a few years, so you can only imagine... EVERYTHING was overgrown. The Stihl HS 46C did a great job and is very reliable every time I reach for it off the hanger. I used to landscape part time and have used the pro series, and this model will rival the pro series!Pros: easy to start, plenty of power, lightweight and durable, cuts great and runs smooth!Cons: none.
Date published: 2014-07-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_hs46ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips