My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Hedge Trimmers

HSA 45

A hedge trimmer with a built-in battery, combining excellent cutting performance and affordable price.

Image of hsa45
HSA 45 is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice little trimmer....not too dependable I got this hedge trimmer for Mother's Day 2018 to primarily be used for trimming vines (mostly honeysuckle) on about 500' of chain link fence. In my experience a fully charged battery lasts about 30 minutes with constant use. It is lightweight and easy to operate. So far, so good. The issue I had was, even after spraying the blades with Stihl resin remover/lube as instructed by the salesman, if the trimmer was idle for a few weeks the motor would not engage the blades. It seemed to be stuck. I returned the trimmer to the dealer and was given a replacement. The next time this happened I left it at the dealership for two weeks to see if they could fix the problem. They could not, and I was given another replacement. I did not use the trimmer during the winter months and when I tried to use it just last week I again had the same issue.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good Piece of Equipment This is just what the doctor ordered for our yard work. It made quick work of trimming the bushes and shrubs and is easy to start and use. Those are the two qualities that make all the difference in the world for me.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small enough to do Big jobs ! A smaller hedge trimmer with the ability to do any job !
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this hedge trimmer I was concerned it would not be up to what I needed it for. NO PROBLEM!! I trimmed 6 bushes without an issue the first time I used the trimmer. The battery was still charged and it cut very nice.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thought gas power was best but had to change my thinking after purchase of HSA45 very pleased with performance ease of use . Battery life is great,lasts longer than I can use at 1 time
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light to hold and goes far on one charge It's great to trim my bushes without dragging that 100 foot cord around, and I get a lot done on one charge.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver For 50 years been using junky hedge trimmers. Broke down and purchased "to me" expensive ones! Omg..Stihl where have you been all my life? Cut down the cutting time for my 39 hedges to one half the time. This is more than amazing...its a miracle. At age 65, being female the weight was not cumbersome at all to use and lift up and down. One very very happy customer.Barb polakoff
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light enough for a small lady quick charging. Charge lasts a long time. Cuts through bigger branches than expected. Nice piece of equipment
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product! I was tired of waiting for my landscaping crew to trim my hedges.I normally prefer the precision of hand pruners but picked this up at the recommendation of Dale at Ace.I absolutely love the design, power ,weight & accuracy of these.I am a 61 yo women & find this easy to maneuver & FUN!I believe I have almost recouped my investment.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Product for Occasional Use Purchased the HSA 45 Battery Hedge Trimmer on 7/1/2018. Charged up the onboard battery, then trimmed a 10-foot x 6-foot bush.Product worked well and the battery was at 1/2 charge level after 30 minutes.Stihl currently sells three levels of battery Hedge Trimmers:-- HSA 45 (built-in battery, OCCASIONAL use)-- HSA 56 (snap-in AK 10 Battery + AL101 charger, FREQUENT use)-- HSA 66 (snap-in AP 300 Battery + AL300 charger, EXTENSIVE use)If I wanted more power or planned more frequent use, I would purchase one of the more expensive products. However, the HSA 45 works great for my needs.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, not great The model higher, the HSA 56, is probably the appropriate model for almost every user, but if you have some small bushes and don't plan to trim for any more than 20 minutes, this product is perfect. I like the integrated battery a lot.Con: I don't love the 3-point activation. You have to engage the wrap handle trigger, the back handle trigger and the "safety" release on the unit to start trimming. The 56 is just 2.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lightweight unit Great light weight unit, the only problem is that even after I use it and spray the bar after time it does not have the power to start because the cutting bar shears are stuck. I have to loosen the screws and pry with a putty knife to start it out. Then re tighten the screws. I tried spraying several time with the STIHL bar cleaner and lub. and it still sticks
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! It's the best thing ever. Turned a weekend of hedge trimming into an afternoon. (We've got about 40 bushes to keep trimmed) We keep them trimmed to 2-3ft globes, it'll do about 12-15 globes on a single charge (more if you aren't a perfectionist.) It's recharged by the time you've cleaned up your trimmings. No more hand shears for this guy. Money well spent.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get buy for the money. This is a great product for money. Only thing we don't like is the gas tank is to small.
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for small yards I have only used the trimmer twice, but it has met my expectations. After trimming three medium sized bushes, there was no noticeable battery drain as measured by the built-in meter. I really like the light weight - much less strain on my shoulders than with heavier models.I believe that it meets the specs for size of branch it will cut, but it did stall out when I tried to remove one year's growth on a mature laurel. So I will just trim at six month intervals.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made my Hedge trimming faster and much easier! Very handy and convenient. Lightweight and very maneuverable. Great for hedges with smaller limbs. Battery run time and cutting power ok - but both could be a little better. Ran out of power about 15 minutes prior to being finished with front hedges.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the money good job stihl!!!! Did all my shrubs and I have like 13 individual ones ,medium size ,on one charge and it used all of it !! Very impressed!! Only issue was it was a little difficult on 1/4 inch branches which product says that's its max .it still cut but slow but very happy I bought and would recommend !! Say goodbye to cords!!!! Thanks Stihl!!!!
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from product not recomended for excessive use purchased this model late 2014had to grease excessively throughout lifetime of machinenot powerful enough for amount of trimming I do
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Very user friendly, and tackles all the task I need it too, and knowing that I have not only a great product but a great brand too back that product up is a great piece of mind!!
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good But Lacks Power I decided to try out an electric outdoor power tool. After a thorough review, I decided on the Stihl HSA45 hedge trimmer based on the solid reviews it was receiving. There are a lot of good points about the unit. It's well built, light weight, well-balanced, and has a decent battery life (about 45-50 minutes on a full charge). However, the plethora of pros is outweighed by one significant con...a substantial lack of power. At only 18V, I was not expecting much and only intended to use this for some light trimming. Unfortunately, it doesn't have the power to even do that. Often times, the unit wasn't cleaning cutting stems.of shrubs. I resembled a lawn mower blade that has insufficient power to turn the blade at a high enough speed to get a clean cut. As a result, I had to go over my shrubs with shears to make it look decent. For this reason, I can't recommend the product. I wish I could because everything else about the machine is excellent. If you are intent on going with an electric unit, I would advise looking at the next modesl up...the hsa56 or the 66.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, good customer support and made in america Great product, good customer support and made in america
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power & very light STIHL has done it again. 20% lighter than nearest competitor. With blade tip guard and auto-cutoff when fully charged (so that you can leave the unit plugged in the charger), hedge trimming is a breeze. Took an hour for charging and runs for more than an hour. 5 stars in all aspects.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BETTER THAN EXPECTED WAS A LITTLE CONCERNED ABOUT WEIGHT AND SIZE BUT THIS PRODUCT PERFORMED VERY WELL. THE WEIGHT CUT DOWN TRIMMING TIME AND THE BATTERY LASTED LONGER THAN EXPECTED
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value hedge cutter Great value hedge cutter from Stihl. Top quality again and so light. Ideal for gardens as they are so quiet and no cable to watch out for. Did all my trimming and still plenty of battery power left
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Great Hedge Trimmer. Big improvement on latest model.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Love this machine for most of the trimming around my house. Long lasting battery and plenty of power to trim very nice and clean!!!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight! I could not believe how light this hedge trimmer was when I first picked it up. It works beautifully. I cut 32 shrubs, including several hollies and one very large holly and the battery still hasn't quit. These aren't for bushes that are out of hand and need an overhaul, but for shrubs that are kept trimmed every couple of months or so. They are easier to use than my larger Stihl HS45 gas hedge trimmers, which can handle the larger, more aggressive tasks. These will be my new "go to" hedge trimmers because of their incredibly light weight and how beautifully and easily they cut. I would highly recommend this hedge trimmer. It has an internal lithium battery and a battery level meter as well as a removable key for safety from accidental engagement. The HSA 45 also has adequate length and reach at 20". Another great product from Stihl, the company that never, ever settles for second best. Stihl is #1 for a reason. They never compromise their standards of perfection.
Date published: 2017-04-15
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_hsa45, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl