My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 880 MAGNUM®

This heavy-duty chainsaw offers maximum power for the most demanding cutting conditions.

Image of ms880
MS 880 MAGNUM® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This saw is a beast I bought the 880 and 59 inch bar to use in a chainsaw Mill, and a 36 inch bar to use for felling. It took me a couple of tries to get the starting procedures down, but has given no trouble since. I've yet to use it in a situation where more than about thirty three inches of bar was engaged, but with that much engaged it doesn't even pretend like it wants to pull down. It is heavy and it sure ain't cheap, but if you want a commercially available saw that is adequate for a bigger mill, this is the one.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The last saw you’ll need The saw came flossed which about 2 shoulder surgeries to clear. But after that this thing starts in 5 pulls every time and can power through just about everything effortlessly with a 36” bar. I’ve been using to mill Pecan logs. Thus far it has been flawless. It’s a little heavy for other uses but that is the sacrifice for ultimate milling power.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw i have ever used and i have used all leading brands I am a logger in the northwest in Washington state and i use the stihl 880 daily with a cannon 56 inch bar for felling trees. This saw can cut all types of trees. This saw has never failed in all types of weather from heat to snow and yes lots of rain. This saw has had several trees fall on it and has rolled down many mountains and still runs great. This is the best saw i have ever owned. This saw is pretty heavy so not everybody could sling this saw all day felling trees.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good But Needs More Torque I like my ms880 for most heavy duty tasks and it seems at home with a 36in bar and Stihl RS skip chain. It has been very dependable and easy to maintain as well as very ergonomic. I also use the Stihl ms880 for chainsaw milling which is where my disappointment began. I use the saw for milling either by itself on a 66in double ended chainsaw bar with a helper handle or with a Stihl 090 on the other end. Having purchased the ms880 first I thought it had decent torque for milling but I new I needed more power for big wood and using my 66in double ended bar. I ultimately purchased a used 1970s stihl 090 and that pretty much ruined my relationship with my MS880. Sure the vibrations are almost non existent with the 880 and its much lighter too but nowhere near the torque of the 40+ year old 090. I can literally shut off the ms880 in a 48 inch trunk I'm milling and the 090 will pull the full comp rip chain by itself which wouldn't be possible if I did the same with the ms880. So in summary my 090 ruined my relationship with the ms880. I don't mind paying big money for big power in a saw but I feel weird looking at antiques for the most powerful Stihl saw I can get my hands on.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Power to weight ratio: Not good My boss recently purchased a new 880, a 391 and a climbing saw. I am currently employed with a tree removal company. We only use the 880 when a log/tree warrants the 47" bar that the saw wears. Considering the massive weight and size of the saw, it is very underpowered. Easy to start and use (as long as you're comfortable with a 20+lb saw), but the thing is a gutless brick. I can't imagine how useless it would be with a longer bar, cutting anything but wet pine.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When you dont need to ask yourself if you brought enough saw for the JOB!! Best saw made!! Hands down toughest, strongest and sexiest saw God ever made!!
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Purchased new 880 Purchased the saw new and the first tree I had to fight the saw to keep it running. I run nothing but stihl in my business. First week I took it back to be adjusted, bought a 41” bar because it didn’t have enough power for the 59”. It gets the job done but I’m not happy with the power even with the 41” bar.
Date published: 2018-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The MS-880 R "BAKERIZED" Hi-Performance/Timbersports Custom Pro Before purchasing this saw, I read the 25-Reviews posted here to make an informed choice. Enough of the Reviews suggested this saw needs more power or an update. My search for a pro custom Chainsaw builder led to Adam B. of TimberlandSupply.ca in Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA. I did not buy this saw for an ego trip. I need it for flush-cutting large forest stumps to eliminate that "stump ranch" look & to fell huge cottonwood/birch/poplar trees which grow near Inland Northwest waterways.I opted for the Wrap Handle (R) version because I find a lot of situations where I can work from one side of a tree only due to obstructions, terrain, or water. My Bar of choice is a 41" Duromatic E with a solid tip which I prefer when plunge cutting. This is the stiffest Bar in the Stihl line which helps to limit droop or sag of such a long Bar when felling. The 41" length is about as long as anyone can handle & reliably keep the tip out of the dirt in awkward situations, yet still makes short work of trees 4-5 feet in diameter. I replaced the stock Spur Sprocket with a Ring Sprocket Kit & installed an 8-Tooth Sprocket to boost Chain speed. If you prefer SPEED, opt for an 8-Tooth Sprocket. If your prefer TORQUE, stay with a 7-Tooth Sprocket. My Chain choice was Stihl 46RSF123E (.404/.063) for that 41" Bar. Be advised that you will need to add one extra Driver Link when opting for an 8-Tooth Sprocket set-up, which will provide proper clearance between the Sprocket & the rear of the Bar once the Chain is tightened. I opted for a Clutch modification to make it more "grabby", given the increased horsepower of the customized Engine.Engine modifications include shaving 2 mm off of the Cylinder Block, removing the Gasket, & resealing it with Permatex MotoSeal. This boosts compression by raising the Piston at top-dead-center. Nominal compression is increased to approximately 140 psi. The Piston Skirt was shaved 1.055 mm on the Intake side. The Intake & Exhaust were ported & polished. The Muffler was modified with the addition of a second Exhaust Port & Spark Arrestor using existing Stihl-available parts. The Air Filter Shroud was cut to provide two additional Air Intakes with Filter Screens epoxied in. I was able to purchase a Limited Lifetime Engine Warranty.The Fuel Mix I use in this custom Chainsaw & all of my other Stihl equipment is: 50% Aviation Gasoline (111-120 Octane); 50% Premium Gasoline (Ethanol-free) (91-93 Octane); & Stihl HP Ultra 2-Cycle Oil. This mixture averages at 105 Octane. High-compression Engines REQUIRE high-octane Fuel to prevent predetonation which will damage the Engine. Proper Spark Plug torque must be maintained. Any NEW Chainsaw should be run at low-RPM until the Engine is warm. Peak or high-RPM should be avoided until several Tanks of moderate cutting have been performed. Idle-down for a cool-off period prior to shutting down.If you opt for a custom Chainsaw, just remember it will only be as good as your Product Support Team & You. I cannot heap enough praise upon Dan, Grant, & Adam of TimberlandSupply.ca in Edmonton, AB. Absolute consummate professionals. Further, I receive great product support locally from Boundary Tractor, Bonners Ferry, ID; Pape' Machinery & North 40 Outfitters, Ponderay, ID; & Northwest Motor Sports, Libby, MT.As an interesting side story, TimberlandSupply.ca tells me that most of the MS-880's they sell are used to harvest ice. They are mounted vertically on snowmobiles, usually with 41" Bars, to cut out slabs of ice in a grid pattern. The slabs of ice are then towed or pushed ashore with bulldozers & buried in sawdust as an insulator. This creates a refrigeration source for those living off of the electrical grid up north during the Arctic summer.My MS-880 R "BAKERIZED", as equipped, weighs 36-lbs. You don't pack this kind of Chainsaw around unless your need is absolute. However, it knows how to r-u-m-b-l-e!!!
Date published: 2018-09-01
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms880, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl