My Servicing Dealer

MS 661 C-M

A professional chainsaw with enhanced fuel efficiency and STIHL M-Tronic™ technology.

MS 661 C-M
MS 661 C-M is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw for felling timber I love this saw,as an owner of the ms880magnum, 201t,and a ht131 pole saw and a backpack blower ,I knew the quality would be great,but man this saw cuts like a dream.everyone should do themselves a favor and buy a ms661.cant wait to get back in the woods.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this saw Hi contemplated and researched saws for a few weeks. It finally came down to the 461 or the 661 CM. The 661 CM won and became a no brainer decision when I found it was on sale and not much difference in price. Took it out last weekend and cut up some 20" maple and it was like butter. Very pleased with the performance. Picking up the 36" light bar on Wednesday and plan to dig into a 4' tree on the weekend. Very pleased with the performance. I was a little nervous about the weight. However, this is how I came to my decision. I have a smaller saw with a 16" blade. I'll use this for limbing and smaller trees. I have the 24" and 36" bars for the 661 and it giving me choice. Because I'm only using the 661 for larger jobs weight isn't really a factor as I'm not twisting the saw around. Besides you just lay it down on the logs and it tears through it. ;)
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has great power and antivibe Excellent saw powerful,reliable,durable, and very well built can be a little hard to start under heavy work loads
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great antivibe Just bought this saw a few months ago and absolutely love it. From what I've seen they had a few problems when they first came out, but it seems they have solved the issues. The most notable feature for me is the antivibe system. I've been running an 044 for years, and once I ran this saw I was in love. Smooth as silk. I was a little nervous about the M-tronic, but I love the way it runs and after watching a video that showed a breakdown of it, I see how simple it actually is. I can see how it is actually better than a standard carb. I needed a saw with more power and this has delivered beyond expectations. I must say for the size of this saw the weight is really quite manageable.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Piece of Equipment. Purchased the 661 thinking it would be a neutered 660 to fit in with our changing times and EPA Regulations etc. I was wrong this saw has in many situations outperformed my 660's and 066. I do NOT do out of the box reviews so I waited 2 months to voice my opinion. This thing is a beast and very reliable! Running a 32" Bar and Chain to tackle Bur Oak's and Catalpa's. Stihl hit one out of the park in my opinion with the "Improved 660". I run alcohol free gasoline so I watch my fuel costs and have noticed it is more efficient. For a lack of better terms I get better fuel mileage with the 661. So if you need Artillery for back up on tough jobs here it is.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True powerhouse tool A serious saw for the real tough jobs. Starts easily and has an enormous amount of power. The M-Tronic system has been flawless so far. The saw is a bit heavy but the saw does all the work. You will not notice the weight on the tough cutting tasks. Very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny To everyone who has complained about not starting when hot there's no need for choking it hit the decompression button and one pull it up and running. As far as the nuts coming loose I have never had a problem as far as I am concerned it's a great saw the best money can buy and if you take care of it it will never do you wrong, and respect it its not a toy very powerful a little bit on the heavy side but not bad
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw, some issues Overall this saw is a beast! With great balance and aggressive cuts. Problems with starting it back up during heavy work load, waiting 10 to 15 min for it to cool down is annoying!!!! I like the mc441 more lighter not much difference in power. No down time.
Date published: 2017-12-15
  • y_2018, m_2, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms661cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips