My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 661 C-M

A professional chainsaw with enhanced fuel efficiency and STIHL M-Tronic™ technology.

MS 661 C-M
MS 661 C-M is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cutting Machine This chainsaw is a cutting machine, have taken down trees that were pretty good sized and it worked great! Would recommend this saw to everyone.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really easy to use with power to spare Fantastic...even when pinched the chain keeps moving and gets you out of the jam. had it happen 4 times in a 32' felled tree. Powered its way out each time. Need or want power...this gives it all.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great when it runs often unable to start, especially when shut down hot
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a huge difference! I had only used homeowner chainsaws until I purchased this very powerful pro saw. I'm preparing to move to Alaska and I anticipate needing to fell some huge trees killed by the bark beetle. I'll also want to use this saw for milling boards with an Alaskan chainsaw mill.My neighbors huge oak tree just fell and we took turns bucking it into nice piles of fire wood. The saw was a pleasure to use and I highly recommend stepping up to a pro saw. I love the MS 661!
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 661 has some good features.(anti vibration ) The only problem I had with my 661 is that the electronics for fuel management went 3 times in the first month and a half. So now this saw sits in my shop not making me any money until such time as stihl makes the electronics better.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this saw is a beast this saw can really pack a punch it moves like a hot knife though butter
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw i own I just bought this saw right before Christmas. I love it!!! It has the more power than i expected and its a lot lighter then my 064. The 064 is a beast but the 661 has it beat hands down. This is my go to saw now for all my cutting. I have a 024, 029, 064 and now the 661 and i have used all my saws hard and they hold up great.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 6 month review This is my daily saw it's pretty much a good saw. It is a little piggish on gas. Every once in awhile it will only start of its held wide-open. Has plenty of power in the six months I've owned it.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw I ever handled When you hold this saw in your hands you instantly know your holding something awesome. I can't pick it up without grinning ear to ear. Well worth the money
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad apple? What an absolute piece of junk. Do not buy. I repeat, do NOT buy this chainsaw! Problem after problem from day one. It's had a new cylinder and piston put in it, on top of every single warrantable part replaced. Along with a handful of non-warranty parts. Still doesn't run correctly. Much less, as advertised. Supposed to be a professional level saw yet you could walk into Walmart, buy the cheapest saw they have, and it would be more reliable. Extremely dissatisfied
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is it wrong to love your saw more than ur wife? goes thru even the hardest wood like a hot knife thru butter
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 660 1 year later After 1 year of use I can say the MS 660 is a great saw. Always starts on 1 or 2 pulls, never has needed the choke but you must use the decompression button. I have the 20, 25 and 36 inch bars with Stihl carbide chains, as I cut mostly flood damaged, dirty wood. I have not found a tree that even challenges the saw. After about 4 hours of cutting I may switch to my MS044 as I start to get tired. The MS 660 is heavy but that really does help when cutting a felled tree, just hold the saw and it cuts all by itself. I could not be happier with a chainsaw than I am with my MS660, although my MS044 and 009 rate real close.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw for your dollar. This saw is the definition of professional. Tough durable and ready for any task when time equals money.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power demon I added the ms 661 to my fleet this spring. I previously have owned a ms360, ms461, and a 201T, and an old 015L. The 661 I added mostly for milling, running a 36" bar with milling chains on an MK III mill. I have since put a 28" light weight bar on it, and love it. It walks through everything I have cut. Oak, hickory, walnut, nothing makes it bog. Twice after being shut down I could not get it to restart until it cooled off. I'm assuming it was an issue with the M-tronic while it was breaking in, as it has not happened for about five, or six gallons of fuel through it since. I always run super unleaded with the HP Ultra oil, since I had to rebuild the top end of my 360 after twelve years of cutting at least ten cords of wood a year on top of other work. I would say this is a great saw. I have no hesitation in making recommendations for this saw!
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I use my MS 661 with my Alaska chainsaw mill to turn timber into lumber on my remote property in Alaska. I make everything from 16' beams to wall studs and planks as thin as 3/4" thick. I use a 20" bar and ripping chain, man does this baby cut! Very fuel efficient and easy to handle. I have been using Sthyl products for over 30 years and have never been let down.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Priceless I do full time selective harvest low impact logging. Broke in the 13th saw in collection. Bore cut a butt 60 inches wide. Went to the back and finished her off quickly..bucked off the log at 37 feet.35 inches at that height. Cut clean.no splits cracks or imperfections..thank you stihl..let's just say this is a good example of 26,000 reasons to buy a stihl!! Sincerely jack the veneer hunter..PS.,the wife made quick work of the limbs with a 441c..
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!! I bought this 661 after giving my dad my fairly new 441 this year. He had an old 028 and needed something bigger and I have an addiction to saws it seems.Recently my friend needed help taking down and bucking a few 24"-30" Beech trees and White Oaks. This saw fired right up and never stopped. Running my 362 with a 25", it sometimes bogs down, but not this hoss. I think ill keep an 18" on the 362 and run the 25" on the 661. I did not rate dependability, as i have not had it for long. I was hesitant with the Mtronic as I had an issue with the 441 when i first got it, but took it to my local dealer to recalibrate it. So far, i am 5 tanks in and this thing just keeps getting better.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw in my collection Stihl hit a home run with this one this is my seventh stihl saw and my fifth pro saw I bought new and there all good I defently would not recomend this to casual or first time users but highly recomend to experienced cutters its about 3lb heavier then 361 on paper but I never noticed in the field well ballanced it flies thru big wood I named mine Rooster it really has amazing rooster tails of wood chips the mtronic tunes it perfect like a true woodcutter would also im glad they went with the flippy caps I've never had any luck with the old school caps im at the one year mark and have run about 7gal of fuel thru it best saw ever I found a pre filter for a stihl cut off saw that fit hd filter just trimmed to fit
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas gift to myself I added the MS661C to my inventory of Stihl chainsaws shortly after Christmas 2015. My other saws include a MS441C, MS261C, MS201TC-M and a couple MS150's. Soon after buying the MS661C with a 36" bar, a coworker asked me to cut a freshly downed oak for him to use as firewood. Cutting 42" diameter pieces of trunk into 14" lengths seemed like a great way to break-in this saw.I was very impressed with the MS661C's capability. I cut the trunks into 14" thick discs, then segmented the discs using my MS261C. The MS661C operated flawlessly, and I only needed to resharpen the chain 3 times during the course of producing over 500 pounds of sawdust. Admittedly, I was worn out after each of the three 4-hour sawing periods.My experience with the Stihl M-tronic saws has been terrific, and I must give a shout-out to my favorite Stihl dealer, Land & Coates of Newport News, VA. BTW, I also bought a KM130R multi-task system with straight-shaft trimmer and blower attachments.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from problems hy im from italy,i am very disapoined of my 661 it shut down and decrese power unexpected.i will sell it and rebuy the old 660 that is a real saw
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken from the start I purchased a bran new 661 and began having problems with it on the very first job that I used it on. The saw engine would abruptly cut off and would not start until it cooled down. Also if you turned if off after running it it would not start either. I have had it in the shop for at least six times maybe seven and it is still in the shop now. The warranty is running out and I have only been able to use the saw on three jobs. I have been happy with other Stihl saws but this one is a Lemon.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Operator Added the 661 last year as my second M-Tronic (362 cm). Nice improvements. I still kept my 660 and 362 as well. The new 661 seems to have a smoother powerband in the cut. The 661 also oils better. I'm upgrading my 660 to a high output oiler. I really like the M-Tronics but was sorely disappointed that it was switched to the flippy caps instead of screw caps. Captive bar nuts are neat but I never lost one and always carry a couple spares just in case. All saws and other Stihl equipment kept running well with fresh ethonol free fuel and Stihl Ultra oil and sharp chain. Always excellent service from independent Stihl dealer.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw with great power I upgraded from a excellent running 046 magnum with a 25 inch bar. Didn't really need a larger saw, but wanted to try a new m-tonic. I traded up to a new 661 with a 28" lightweight bar and WOW!! I was really impressed. Tons of power and not a bit disappointed despite of being apprehensive of trading a great running saw for a newer and bigger one. Will cut thru any type tree with ease. I couldn't expect anything less from my dealer, Martin's small engine repair, they are the best! Own 6 chainsaws and a weedeater. STIHL. the name says it all.
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw - Would buy again! I don't normally do reviews, but I really like this saw. I have a 362cm as well. I rarely use the 362 after getting this saw. Tons of power and cuts the oak around me like butter. Great saw for sure. I would buy another no doubt. Always impressed when I use this saw.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite saw This saw is incredible. I have not found a tree that will stop it! I bought after running 2 different friends 660s, which are nice units, but sometimes hard starting. This saw starts right up, and goes to work. I have a 362, but find myself using the 661C more. I can put up a lot of firewood, a whole lot faster now.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth power I upgraded from a 66 Magnum. This saw starts easier and runs smoother. It has good power. The new fuel/ oil caps are nice as well as other convenient features. The shut off, the cover nuts being retained and the M tronic fuel system. I would recommend this saw for sure!
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from upgraded Upgraded from an 0 36 to this bad boy,easy starting an less vibration,and cranks right up
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best choice Upgraded from a ms660 mag and immediately the results were noticeable. The ms661 never loads up....it has more low end torque along with overall more power a refined power band....its quieter and uses less fuel....along with easy starts in any temperature . It has less vibration and easier to use. Thanks again Stihl
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw why is the 660 rated for up to a36 inch bar and you only rate the 661 to a32 inch bar which has more power.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The m-tronic carb raised the bar for chain saws no more tuning carb when cutting in below zero temps. can idle forever & not load up .
Date published: 2015-02-18
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms661cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips