My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
MS 362 C-M is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 156.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Firewood cutters dream! Outstanding power to weight ratio, easy to start, hope it lasts years...
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect medium ground saw This saw is one great saw for such a reasonable price! Has impressive power for its size and once again this saw has never bogged down on me but then again never had a STIHL saw bogged on me. I keep a 20 on it and awesome lasting power cuts all day long and begs for more to eat up ..
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw in my fleet! I bought this saw brand new. Dealer started it up right in front of me and explained everything about the Mtronic. After a few tanks of gas the saw really seemed to come to life. More than enough power to cut everything I need. I've owned a MS180, MS290, 039 MS441 and now the MS362. I have loved them all but the 362 is my favorite saw.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy with This Saw I have owned Stihl products for most of my adult life. I have had my 025 for going on 30 years and other than ware items I have never had serious problems with it. In fact, I likely overworked the little thing most of the time. In 2016 I decided it was time for a bigger saw for felling and serious bucking. I went to the local fair and talked to the Stihl dealer to help make up my mind between the Farm and Ranch class and the Pro models. The dealer sold me on the Pro saw and I bought it a couple weeks later. I am so pleased with the performance of this saw. I cut a lot of very hard wood (oak, hickory and maple) with no issues. Great buy!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is a light weight work horse. this is a Great saw for cutting down Locust trees I This is the king of fuel efficiency and easy use the saw is a little pricey but in the long run you'll get your money worth with the M-tronic system. They could have done away with the decompression value. If you can't start it with out the value you should let someone else do the work for you. But all an all this is the saw to get , it will last a life time.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If all else fails, read the directions. I recently left liberal Oregon and moved to Montana. When I was a young man, I worked in the woods of Idaho and ran Stihl Saws. The 056 was the top dog in the woods at that time. I personally ran the 038 Super and Magnum, so when I went to our local Stihl saw shop looking for another professional saw for firewood cutting on our property I was looking for a similar saw as to what I was accustom to operating. This is where I found the MS 362 (Non M-Tronic). It blew me away when I first picked it up because, it was so light as compared to the 038's. Then I got it home and started felling and bucking trees on our property using a 25" Rollomatic ES bar and 3/8th. full skip (yellow) chain. This saw is a beast and gets stronger with every tank full. It starts in cold and in warm climates with one pull. I cannot say anything bad about this saw all I can say is, run non-ethanol fuel, sit down, read, study and fully understand the instruction manual of not only your saw, but of any power equipment you purchase and if you are still having difficulties, contact your Stihl "Professional" dealer for assistance. No, I do not work for nor am I endorsed by Stihl. I have only used their products for many years with great success.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mine is a lemon. I love saws from this company and I'm sure that this model is excellent as well, however, my particular saw is proving to be very unreliable as it is always impossible to start after its been running for 20 minutes.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tree dropping beast. Had the saw for 2 years not a single issue. The decompression valve makes starting the saw a breeze. At first I was rather skeptical about the M-tronic auto adjusting carb but it has definitely came through and I see absolutely no loss of power.I thoroughly enjoy the saw and recommend it too anyone who can handle the power of this beast.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad Butt Saw! Runs strong!! Starts easy! This is my first Stihl and it is very powerful saw.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My .02 This is a wood cutting son of a gun! You better be ready to stack lots of fire wood!. I've own 4 Stihl chainsaws in my 57 yrs, however the 362 out cuts them all. I replaced my last saw a Stihl 028AV w/18" bar with the new Stihl 362 CM 20" bar Please be careful not to flood the saw trying to start it! If, so just waiting 10-15 mins then restart the saw. I'm also using professional chains vs homeowners chains BIG DIFFERENT!!
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful - Dependable - Lightweight - Always Starts First Pull Dependable, powerful, great balance and maneuverability and always starts on the first pull no matter altitude or temperature. Performance is great at high altitude and in cold (20s and below). Well built and solid. Excellent, dependable machine.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy Bought my 362 from ace and it was great for 1-1/2 years and gave out. Had it re built and lasted an hour with explanation. I been given an option of another rebuilt 362 or pay for another after waiting on a warranty that in mind im told was of out of warranty but the saw was well with in warranty when it gave up. I didn't respond in time now I'm facing 8 months without direct use of the saw and only option is another rebuilt 362 ( not to excited about) or pay the difference for a different saw that is also a rebuilt saw ugg...
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy starting good handling dependable saw. New saw with only 2 gallons of fuel through it. We have fell, limbed and chunked dead dry pine from 15" to 30". I like the 25" bar for reach and balance, if the bar is buried the motor will pull the weight of the saw with a sharp chain (Green). We have had one issue where the compression release was used while engine was warm, would not start until release was closed. I never use release and have started and used saw from around 0* to 25* with winter shutter open. Exhaust heat seems to heat chain oil res nicely with adjustment screw opened some. We have not had issue with caps and have used with insulated cotton wool blend gloves not mittens (Yet).
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall a good saw I have owned my saw for two winters and cut approximately 120 cords a year as a small firewood sales company on the side. I like the reduced vibration than my old 360 and 034 but hate the new fuel and oil caps. Have a lot of problems especially with the oil cap on cold days. Being in Alaska I deal with a lot of cold days. Although I like the saw overall I will not buy another having to deal with the new caps. This one will be staying in the truck most of the time and I will continue to use the old saws.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start Great performance out of this 362 cm like it so much bought another saw that is just as awesome purchased the 180 for limbing out.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power and balance Bought this saw to replace an aging 55cc saw from another manufacturer, and wow, what a difference. Ease of starting was the first bonus of the new saw, it is easy to start cold and easy to restart when warm/hot. The power is amazing and the saw is well balanced.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very well constructed saw Very easy starting, idle is excellent and never stalls between cuts, awesome power. Glides through 20 inch trees like a hot knife through butter.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I have owned many saws over the years, primarily for cutting my own firewood, some I have liked and others were just ok. This is the first saw that I have had that I am excited to get it out of the case as I know it is up the to task. It starts easy and cuts easy without working me.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice saw, not too heavy with a 20" bar, excellent power I purchased this saw to replace a Stihl 034 AV that I brought back home to use. Wt. wise it is about right, not too heavy, with plenty of power for handling beech and maple in the UP. I had a 25" bar on the saw, which I replaced with a 20";this length handles better in my hands and is ideal for limbing and bucking. I have only had the saw for a short time, so cannot comment on long term reliability, although, if anything like my other Stihl saws, I expect it to continue to perform well. The only problem I have had thus far was my own doing in that I flooded the engine by leaving the starting lever on choke too long. This was easy to remedy--simply remove the cover, take out the plug and dry off, turn engine over several times with the starting switch in the OFF position, replace plug and problem solved. Since that episode I have had no issues with starting. I would recommend using a high octane gas and premium oil.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Now this is a saw!' I've waited five years to write this review because I wanted to truly test this piece of equipment. I've used this saw to maintain 13+ acres of forested property in addition to bucking four chords of oak and pine each winter. Like clock work, on the fourth pull using the choke along with two more pulls this saw begins, "humming like a song." With the 25" bar I cut through 99% of the trees I fell or am cleaning from our property. You can easily limb, fell and buck any tree quickly. The only legitimate problem I have had is that the saw will "bog down" when cutting 18" or larger trees especially when I bite the dogs into the bark. I rarely use the dogs anymore unless I'm making a back-cut when felling. Besides that one short coming, I really enjoy using this extraordinarily dependable piece of equipment.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This saw will not stay running brand new I have owned several Stihl 362's. They have all been great until the new c model with auto tune. We bought 5 of these saws to replace our old 362's. Whatever the sales people tell you about how much better they are its not true. I have heard the same from other crews who bought them. When they get hot they shut down, and then require constant restarting if you can get them to start at all. Terrible saw
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 362cm love it Bought this saw with a 25 inch bar I use it for felling and limbing. It starts easier than my ms150 top handle...no lie. A previous review I read described the saw as one that purrs like an angry kitten...so true! This saw is a pleasure to use if you don't have one you need one!
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Power Great throttle response,easy starting, cuts with no problem.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw This saw has a wonderful easy to start engine with really good power. I cut 14 cord of firewood every season and this saw can keep up.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect midde of the road product I bought the MS 362 C-M 20" and I am pretty impressed with all the new features. It fires right up, easy to start, and gets the job done. I'm not sure about the smaller bars but it's slightly underpowered for the 20" bar. I could not imagine using it with the 25" bar. I live in the Northeast. It has no problems with smaller trees and limbing but it becomes a little underpowered when you start getting into medium sized trees and bucking. The vibration control and weight is ideal. I can run up and down the ladder and use it all day without much effort. The oil adjustment screw is pretty tiny and tough to find if your saw is dirty. Overall it's a good buy if you're just the occasional user or fell mainly smaller trees. However, I would jump up into the 461 if I had it to do all over again.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw rips. I bought the 362 cm for cutting up logs for firewood. I have zero complaints. It starts easily, runs great, and rips up oak as if it were pine. The anti vibration measures stihl has taken are noticeable. I'm happy with the size of the gas tank too as I need to stop for a refill less often. This is a nice saw.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really good saw. This is definitely a great saw. It starts easy every time. It has some weight to it but nothing inconvenient or uncomfortable. You can tell from the feel it's a pro saw. As great as this saw is I can't help but think at times it's a little under powered. I'm cutting red oak and most of the time it cuts like a hot knife through butter, but out will bog down if you get a little to aggressive with it. It's a fine line between out running like a beast and and wanting to fall on it's face. And yes that's with a freshly sharpened chain. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to buy this saw again or recommend out to someone else.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I've cut with stihl saws for 35 years and have always liked them. I cut 6 to 8 cords of wood each year for firewood. My saw needing replacing and after a lot of research and comparing I went with the MS 362 c-m. I'm getting older and wanted a saw that would do more of the work so I decided to spend the extra couple of hundred dollars and get the professional level saw - so glad that I did. I was out cutting my son (26 years younger) 2 to 1. I've only used it for one season and so far no problems at all. The auto electronic system works fine. I was (still am a little) nervous about not being able to manually adjust the high and low idle, but no problems at all so far. This saw made the loading of the wood the work part instead of the cutting of it.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great workhorse I'm a weekend chainsaw guy, clearing out trees on my families property whenever I get a chance to go out there. Chainsaw runs great as to be expected, I only had an issue on my second day with it. I choked it after it already ran and I flooded the engine. Learned to give it 2 pulls choked, then don't use the choke the rest of the day. Hopefully that little rule will save someone some grief. I run it typically with an 18" bar and an .063 chain which tears through anything I put it up against. I do have a 25" bar for it when needed, but it can get bogged down with it. I was cutting a tree thats been dead for quite a while, and it struggled a little getting through it, but dead hardwood thats dried out and 20" across - yeah, thats gonna require a little patience. My dad has used a 310 for years and the saw feels lighter and more powerful which is why I sprung for it.Some guys splurge on golf clubs, for me its a chainsaw - at least thats what I told the wife ;)
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts and runs great! I feel like I am just repeating what everyone else is saying, but my summary line says it all. You can't beat one pull starts every time. Set the start switch, pull, let it warm up, cut.The M-Tronic system has been working awesome for me. I like to think I can adjust almost any small engine carb, but I never enjoyed taking the time to do it. M-Tronic eliminates that, yet it still works! I was hesitant to buy a saw with an electronic component, but the system is simple and reliable...so far.I only have a handful of tanks of fuel through this saw, so it has not reached it's full potential yet. Within the first couple tanks I noticed a difference in power and how the motor sounded like it was starting to run smoother. Every time I use it now, it runs smooth and continues to cut faster.
Date published: 2016-08-17
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips