My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
MS 362 C-M is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 252.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all positive I have had the saw about two years, store it dry keep a extra sharpened chain and hope you will be as satisfied as I am. zero issues, I always run fresh gas non ethanol local store 91 octane. I have the oiler wide open wish it oiled a little more EPA.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flat gets it on, awesome saw!!! This saw cuts like a monster hungry for wood! Give this saw some RPMs and it wants to pull it’s way through trees. Keep the chain sharp and hold on! By far the best saw I have ever had a chance to run! Would definitely recommend it to a friend. The only drawback is it’s a little bit pricey, just save up and enjoy the experience! I did.
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good power and cutting. I will have to make the rating down because of the cold start difficulty. I have to pull in excess of 15 times to get it to crank over. Good thing it has the compression reduction button. I'm winded more just getting the saw to start than I am from actual cutting. Once fired up the saw runs very well. And when it's warm, a single pull is all that's needed.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid saw, I'm a long time user of Stihl products. I find that they are the only 2 cycle chainsaws, blowers, trimmers, etc. that start reliably. This saw starts easily using the compression release and has a lot of power. I heard that there were problems with the engine management system in earlier models, I have had no problems. I am getting used to the full wrap handle although it makes the saw tippy when refueling. The saw comes with a "safety" green labeled chain which cut ok but the saw comes alive with a "pro, yellow" labeled chain. I usually use a semi-chisel cutter because I often cut somewhat dirty wood. With a pro chain, this saw digs in and cuts fast. My only negatives are somewhat trivial, I have popped the chain a couple of times because of allowing it to be a bit loose and catching a branch. I don't care for the rubber chip flap that hangs below the bottom of the saw making it awkward to change chains. Overall it is a great saw so far.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful light saw. I am a land owner who decided to buy one of Stihl's professional saw. I have under 10 acres of wooded property that needs a lot of work. I know this might be a bit overkill for a firewood saw essentially, but my thought was to buy one saw that could handle most of task I needed and to buy it once. I have now used the saw every day for the past month and ran 30 plus tanks of fuel. It is a delight to use. Tons of power! Almost 5hp at only 12.35 lbs! Crazy. I see why this saw is the "industry standard". I'd say if you are in the market for the 271 Farm Boss like I was, look into the MS362 C-M. It weighs the same as the 271 but 1.2hp more! Tons of upgraded features as well. This is what I consider a "Legacy" saw. This is a saw that can last your lifetime and hand it down to your sons. I have a 20" bar on it and I can plunge it through hardwoods all the way to the bucking spike and it just rips. M-Tronic has been perfect! Easy start every time, runs amazing. Can't wait to add more Stihl saws!
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw all around saw I have had this saw for a few weeks now, I have cut three cords of wood and fell two trees so far. I am very pleased with the performance and the power that the 362 C-M has to offer. This is my first stihl saw that I have owned, due to being hesitant on paying so much but as I have learned you get what you pay for, and after my experience so far I wont own any other saws. I purchased this saw with the 25" bar the saw has no problem pulling the chain through 24"+ oaks, although I do plan to get a 20" bar for smaller trees. Since buying this saw I have already began looking to replace my smaller saw with another stihl.
Date published: 2019-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I've been using mine since October and love the power. It's a very well made saw, great, easy to change air filter. It runs as smooth as a sewing machine. It makes short work of any trees. I haven't had to reset it, nor had any issues with starting or running. I do run ethanol free, Stihl oil. I'd buy another tomorrow.
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I recently purchased this saw so I have only used it a short time. It appears to be a great saw with excellent power. This is my first Stihl saw and I'm very please with it and would definitely recommend this to others.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Running Saw! I really like my MS 362 C-M. I have the 25 inch bar and full chisel chain on it. I purchased this saw with the intent of cutting some large ash trees on my farm wood lot. It has good power to cut through 24 inch or larger diameter trees. My saw starts right up with a few pulls. I love the decompression valve for cold weather starting. I also have older stihl 028 and 034 saws which still run great. Stihl makes very durable, reliable, long lasting products.
Date published: 2019-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power to weight ratio! I love it. Compared to a ms271 it has a lot more power with only a little more weight. 3/8 chain has treated me well and I love how it jumps from off to on so its always ready to start.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has great power and dependability Saw got a lot of power not much vibration easy Startin two or three pulls it starts it uses a lot of gas though Lite saw for the amount of power it Nice air filter easy to clean
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good but pricey This is a good saw and my favorite one I have. The only issue I have is it seems over priced but I feel that way about all stihl products.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product needs a lot of work I am a wildland firefighter in northeastern Washington, we used many of the Still 362c chainsaws. These particular chainsaws seem to not want to stay running after the first tank. They die repeatedly and it either takes several pulls to get it started again or you have to start it with the choke completely on. Which is ridiculous after running a full tank. In our environment our firefighters can't even run the saw because trying to run it around a running fire is impossible when the saw won't stay running. It exhausts the firefighters trying to start it and frustrates them to the point to where our whole company returned all of the saws and won't use them. This isn't on one saw, it is on every saw. The 362c needs a lot of work. I'm not sure if it computerized to run at lower elevations or what the problem is but Still has a lot of work to do on it.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saw I purchased this saw with many hours worth of research into many saws. The saws I looked into were the MS461, the MS441, and the MS362. I also considered waiting on the MS462, but ultimately settled on the MS362 for several reasons. Reason one was I needed a bigger saw than my MS250, and needed it asap having been in the eye-wall path of Hurrican Michael.The MS461, which was what I nearly bought, was just too expensive at $300 more than the MS362, and also it felt heavier with the 25" bar that it came with. I love nearly all Stihl saws so it's hard to pick one. I use the saws as a farm owner and with the many trees currently down, I thought the pro grade saw would be a better investment. I now have a MS250, 362, and 133 pole pruner. Hopefully they will work well during cleanup.I used the MS362 for quite a while today and can say that I am impressed. It starts easily and runs strong. It sounds awesome but it's loud. It is a very comfortable to operate. I got the one with M tronic and I know others have said some negative things about that, but my experience this far is very good.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Impression I bought the saw with a 25" bar from Billings Lawn Equipment in Clawson MI from Scott Johnson. Its a new store and I think i'm the first customer. I just ran it for the first time and I am very impressed. I cut a twenty foot section of 20 inch Ash in minimal time. Using the throttle as recommended for the break in period. I like the long bar since it helps from bending down. The saw idles and runs perfectly. I have been cutting trees for many years. Used a bunch of different saws. This Stihl is the best so far.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chainsaw for the wood cutter Light, compact, and powerful. Was worried about the oiler, but these saws don't throw oil all over like other saws do. Kept a close watch on oil usage and it is right on. Ran a few tanks of gas thru it and have had no problems. VERY GOOD SAW!
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same weight as a 291 with way more power I started out with a 291. It is a great saw but I needed more power. After owning a stihl 291 and a husqvarna 455, I found my 455 was always having issues. I did a lot of research and comparison on saws. I chose the 362cm. It Is AMAZING!!!!. It is the same weight as my 291 with 1hp more and a 25 inch bar. It is so easy to work on. It starts so easy and runs like a dream. I wish I would of bought this saw first. I get 10 cords of lodgepole a year. This saw has cut down on my time per cord substantially. I am forever a loyal stihl customer.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I had been looking at this saw for about a year now and finally decided to pull the trigger. I cut anywhere from 5-10 cords a year for firewood. The full wrap is great since I'm a lefty. I currently have it set up with a 25" bar which I like, but the saw could use a little more power when it comes to driving a 25" bar. Overall, a great saw.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Porche of saws If I owned a race car with unlimited power, speed and dependability this would match it........unbelievable wevos!
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw So far great saw, plastic handle could be metal but other than that no complaints. Does what it says it will fo.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ms 362c I am in the line clearance industry... we use the pro series saws day in and day out.. these saws are junk. I am working on them more than they are running..styhl has went way down hill with the computer crap. I also ordered some Ms 362.. not bad but not good..they at least hold up a hair longer.. I'm switching all our saws to another brand..sorry styhl but you dont have the most powerful saws and you most certainly do not have the most dependable..I have given these 2 types of saws 9 months..now I'll give another brand 9 months..just a hunch, I wont switch back from that brand..I'm almost certain they wont have the engine problems styhl does..I have 15 saws in action when I started..they broke down so fast I had to buy more as I worked on the others..then I got over whelmed and took 9 to a dealership to be fixed while I worked on some myself..i would get 4 back and have 5 sitting there waiting to be fixed..they literally do break down more than they run..
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing saw with a lot of power Bought this saw 2 months ago and wow!!!! Simply amazing in every way possible!!! 20 inch bar & chain combo rips thru anything like butter!!! Has tons of power for any size trees!!! Buy one u can’t go wrong!!!
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a BEAST! This is by far the best saw I've ever owned! This thing eats whatever you put in front of it! It definitely makes cutting up trees a breeze, has an insane amount of power and is by far the most reliable saw I've owned. Well worth the $$$. Don't second guess or wonder. Buy this saw. You'll thank yourself.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for medium sized hardwoods, decently priced with lots of features I am a landowner that cuts 3 to 6 trees a year. There was a 90' red oak, 30" at the base that was in the wrong place. In my assessment this was out of league for my aging MS 290. So I took the convenient 10 minute drive to the nearest Stihl equipment dealer and purchased the MS 362 C-M. Using an aggressive chain and 25" bar, the mighty red oak was crashing to the ground in minutes. I was able to cut up 50 percent of the tree into firewood on the complimentary tank of gas. It was impressively fuel efficient for the power/size. Also light with good ergonomics. As for the Mtronic feature, only time will tell since this is my first experience with it. The MS 290 is now relegated to limbing duty.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage I purchase this chainsaw about a year ago. Used it maybe for 30 mins. Then we had several tornados land in our area. I had four trees fall in my yard. I fired up the chainsaw and within 10 mins the throttle linkage came loose or broke. I really don’t know because the dealer can’t fix tit. It’s been 5 weeks and I still have no chainsaw. I purchased an 18 (smaller one) to clean up the branches but find it overrated as well with reliability. I have nowhere to take this chainsaw to get it fixed.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power to saw weight ratio.....absolutely perfect chainsaw I have many Stihl products from backpack blowers, trimmers, weed eaters, and chainsaws. I own both the MS 362C Professional Chainsaw, and MS 201C Professional Pruning Saw. Both are excellent in ever respect. The MS362C is especially noteworthy in terms of the fact that it's a lightweight saw in my eyes when compared to the MS661 and MS461, yet provides the high horsepower and bar lengths needed for much larger jobs than the pruning saw MS 201C can handle. And....although not quite as powerful as the MS661C and MS461, it still has very good power and can handle moderately big jobs. It's weight and size are perfect in my mind when not cutting the largest of trees. I can switch from the 201 pruning saw to the 362 with no big issues from a weight standpoint. Many people just mention saw weight when discussing these type tools, and I find the 362's power to weight ratio to be exceptional....this saw can cut, and will not lug you down due to excessive weight. I rate both the MS362C and MS201C as the best available for my needs, anywhere from any manufacturer. Simply an excellent chainsaw in ever respect.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl 362 cm I first bought a 261 Stihl but I was not happy with the power, Stihl representative was outstanding to deal with and got me into a 362. I am extremely happy with my choice. Well worth the extra money. The saw is an absolute Beast with a 20 inch bar. The Stihl rep also gave me direction on the best chain for my use. Great information.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD SAW MOST OF THE TIME SAW IS VERY HARD TO START WHEN COLD. IF YOU RUN OUT OF GAS ITS A BEAR TO START.
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good all around midsized saw. This review comes from a retired logger/pulp wood yard manager. Good all around mid-sized saw. Fuel economy is excellent. Enough power to run well with 20 inch bar & yellow full chisel chain. Oiler is very stingy though, even when turned up all the way (As compared to less modern saws). If you really need to run a 25 inch bar & chain on a regular basis, Then a MS 460 series is a better choice, It has more lubrication and enough low end torque to really turn a longer bar and chain.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the chainsaw I ever wanted! This chainsaw ate up what other saws struggle with. The first day I bought this saw I cut up a debranched medium size tree in about 30 minutes. This chainsaw delivers!
Date published: 2018-04-16
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_252
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl