Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 118reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hot rod of mid size chainsaws! First ever purchase of a Stihl and now I know that the saying is true: You get what you pay for.The 362cm is a powerful saw that is a great all around saw. It may be a bit heavy for those only doing trimming, but for anything more is will rip through wood. I have never experienced such a fast saw. It had a 25" bar on it at the dealer, but I had them switch it out for a 20" bar with a yellow chain. Talk about fast cutting. And with the power of this saw, its definitely a Hot Rod saw!Also, the antivibration works very well.I can assure you, I will only buy Stihl products from now on!! May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great power I bought a 362 about 2 months ago ..used it to cut down 4 large poplar trees 20-24 inches in diameter...cut through these trees like hot butter.never seen anything like this saw...25 inch bar.... all kinds of power. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my second 362. The first one got stolen after 6 months of use and nicely broken in. My second 362 had what I occasionally see in these reviews a problem with quitting when hot and not wanting to start until it cools down. I called my dealer and talked to a service tech about the problem and he gave me the reset procedure for the M tronic module and the saw runs perfect. It's seen a lot of heavy use since and is the smoothest running saw I've ever owned. Guys and gals, give the carbide chains a try. Been running carbide on all my saws for a couple of years now and will never go back to steel! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth every dollar If you are thinking about getting one - do it.You get what you pay for. This saw makes me smile every time I use it.I think it should come with the solid bar for the price. That's the only downfall of this excellent machine. April 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I had a MS311 saw for 5 years, it had great power, but was heavy as all get out. I upgraded to the MS362 and its even better! Higher RPM, more power, just a better saw. Best part is that all my extra bars and chains fit from the 311. I am currently using a 18" bar with a carbide tipped chain, and it chews through wood. April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful saw. Just needs a more aggressive chain to be perfect. Love it. The best saw I've ever owned. You will not be disappointed! March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Incredible Today I purchased a new Stihl MS 362 C-M to replace and upgrade my trusty but tired 1999 Stihl 026 Pro. Brought the 362 home and tried it out on a big 18" maple that had toppled over the winter. Now I am 62 years and I've cut a lot of trees, but man oh man, I have NEVER cut with a saw like this. Flat-a freakin' amazing. Like the proverbial hot knife through velvet butter. Smooth and wonderfully powerful. It was like nothing at all, just a few minutes, and I had that whole large tree all limbed and sectioned into nice fireplace lengths ready for splitting. I don't often write reviews but I had to come in, sit down and write this one. Stihl builds a first-class saw and I'm very happy with the choice I made in the pro-grade 362. My dad used to say, when you buy tools, don't be cheap, buy good ones. They will last and you'll be grateful for their quality every day. Thank you, Stihl... I just wish could last as long as I know this saw will...! March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Most Reliable Worker This saw has been a godsend to me, had this for 3 years now and not a single problem with it. The power this baby has is incredible. Looking at purchasing another one and keeping a smaller bar on for brush. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's hard to beat a stihl pro saw Bought the 362 to replace a aging 036 pro. I'm impressed that the new saw has as much or maybe more power with what seam like twice the fuel efficiency even running a 25" bar. Hate to spend that much but you do get what you pay for!!! March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased I bought this saw last winter for taking down and bucking Ash trees, it performed flawlessly and with the carbide blade it was even better. It starts super easy no matter the weather conditions. My only complaint if you can call it that is the oil fill cap, and is the same on my 260 pro, there has to be a better way than these caps, it is inevitable that you will think it is locked down and it won't be. March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 362 C-M Love it! I've had the MS 362 C-M for about a year now and it replaced a MS 029 purchased in 1996. Starts right up and tears through cutting chores. What a difference between the two saws and I loved my 029 Farm Boss. Stihl is not a cheap product to begin with and the MS 362 is pricey but if I can get a similar 19 years of use of it I'll be very happy with the price tag I paid. March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrade Have two MS 290's with 18 @ 20 inch bars. They cut just fine with no problem l, great machines. I wanted an upgrade with a 25 inch bar to handle some bigger rounds but didn't want to break the bank in doing so. I decided on the MS 362 and couldn't be happier, great saw with plenty of power. The little extra money over the MS 391 is worth it hands down. Just a better built machine. You do get what you pay for. Very happy with it. I run it with the skip chain and it rips through the rounds. If you need a small upgrade and a starter into the professional saws grab a MS362! March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beast!!! Starts easy, tons of power, makes short work of any cutting. Stihl is the only brand I "wood" trust. March 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw This is a fantastic saw, with lots of spare power. Using it with a 20inch bar. Wish I'd bought this 30 years ago rather than the other brands i've bought. Easy to start, easy to use, cuts through 20 - 24 inch diameter oak, like cutting through butter. March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Saw I was on the fence about whether or not to purchase this saw or one a little bigger and was also hesitant about the new m tronic as I have not ran one before. I get into big wood from time to time and after running it for a week and about 15 tanks of fuel later this saw was a decision I'll never regret. I was hesitant about its power to turn the 25 inch bar I bought with it but I am running a yellow rs full skip chain and this thing cuts like crazy and never thinks twice. It has always started easily and is hands down the best saw I've ever had and that's been quite a few from several pro model manufacturers. I now have 3 pro model stihls and am getting another one of these saws soon. Also I have to give it to Conway Farm and Home. If you are in Arkansas they are far beyond the best dealer I have ever dealt with. Their guy on the sales floor knew everything I asked even a few things I expected him not to as well as knew all the saw chains they carried, what they had in stock, and what every chain number meant. Will never buy from anyone else again. Also great service department March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great performer I had the choice of an MS362 and an MS311. The side by side comparison was difficult as the are similarly equipped. I chose the 362 just because I intend on keeping it forever. I bought it to clear my property and I am not a pro. To my old big box chainsaws there is no comparison. This saw ate all of the trees in my yard to include a 28" sweet gum. The beauty is this saw is capable of doing that much everyday. Glad I paid the extra 200 for a saw I will eventually put in my will. Mike March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome saw great saw bought it last year ran it all summer ran it in -46c saw never gave me issues for start up or anything highly recommend this saw ive convinced about 5 people to go out and buy a stihl the saw just chew through anything I give perfect weight to power ratio February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality I bought a 362 to replace my 290. There's nothing wrong the 290 it's just about 10 years old and I needed a bigger saw to cut some trees out of a property line. I will keep the 290 to trim with Now about the ms362 what a saw. Great saw typical Stihl runs good starts good plenty of power. After reading some bad reviews, I can't help but wonder if it's not the person running the saw? Mine's great. Most of all built in the USA February 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good all purpose saw I purchased this saw from a local dealer, based on reccomendations from several coworkers. Was going back and forth between this and a MS660, and glad I did. easy to maintain, will comfortably run a 28" bar with full skip chain which makes cutting limbs for firewood much easier not bending down. Aside from the occasional hard start when the engine has been running for a while, it saves me on average 2-3 tanks of propane per year and more than paid for its self in the first season. Just keep up on maintainence and run ethanol free fuel and Stihl 2 stroke oil, it will just keep chips flying. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good power and Fuel Efficient Been using this 362 for 2 and a half months now, and runs great has lots of power for good size solid Ceder and Juniper trees here in the Northwestern New Mexico area. The M-Tronic really helps when i cut at elevations of 5750 and another day cutting at a elevation of 7600. cant wait to compare to a Family member's 391 come tree thinning time at our Ranch January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very capable chainsaw This chainsaw is easy to operate and well balanced with the 20" bar. I would definitely recommend this chainsaw for anyone who cuts a lot wood. January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome saw I was reviewing between the 391 and the 362. Leaning towards the 391 because of the price it was most likely going in the truck. So I started reading the reviews on thie 362 and really only saw pro and no con comments. The 391 basically was underpowered by the comments I was seeing and wasn't pro standard witch means alot to me. So I sprung for the more costly 362 but let me tell you my jaw was on the ground at how well it did on the first tank of fuel with know hiccups at all I mean it did more than I ever expected, now with that being said this was with a 18 inch bar but got them to put me a rapid super chain on it but I do believe a 24 wouldn't hurt it at all. Cutting oak, hickory.and beach. January 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL saw I bought the 362 just a year ago. Mine has a 20" bar and is 1 of my 5 Stihl saws. I have 2 Stihl 026's...one of them I bought new in 1994. The saw still runs like a champ!!! All i have done to the saw was to replace the bar, buy more chains and add gas & oil.The 362 is my "in between" saw. When looking at the stats, I didn't know if it was going to offer much more performance over my old 026's. Belive me, It DOES!!! The 362 is very light considering performance. My bigger saw is a 1994 038 magnum with a 24" bar. This old saw STILL runs extremely well. My point is that Stihl products are extremely reliable and are built to last. I know that my new 362 will still be running long after I am dead and gone!!I have a little over 65 acres of hardwoods. I usually cut between 5 - 8 cords of wood each year. When I take off to cut firewood, I ALWAYS take 1 of my old 026's and the 362. It REALLY shines when I get to tree branches which are over 10" in diameter. So, if you are looking at an "in between" saw, this will make a great addition. When I get to tree's over 20" in diameter, I pull out my old trustworthy 038 mag. That saw burns a lot of gas, but melts through those big logs lightning fast. The 362 is just an excellent choice. If you only want to own 1 chain saw, this could very well be the best compromise saw for you. This is a GREAT choice. It has excellant power to weight ratio l. I could not be more pleased. January 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The 362 is a beast! I use this saw for firewood while camping. This is by far the beast all around saw on the market as you can run a 16" bar all the way up to a 25" bar. I bought mine with the 25" bar and do not plan on changing it. My buddies all have smaller 16" and 18" saws and it takes them forever to produce the wood needed to camp for a week, this saw will do the job on one tank of gas.After reading some of the reviews below and seeing some had issues with carb adjustments and flooding, I bought the saw anyway and glad I did! Read the manual, change the carb setting to warm weather or cold weather depending on temp you are running it in. If I need to turn the saw off for whatever reason and then restart, I do not push the compression release in, starts on the first pull every time.If you don't mind paying for a quality product, this is your saw!!! December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Best saw I have owned great saw starts every time and has awesome power for size December 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great medium sized saw Cut with the MS 361 in Alaska, and ran a firewood crew for 3 years in the middle of the woods in Washington. We had a stash of a 261, 3- 362's and 4- 460's. The 362's were always what I trained my people on due to their ease of use and dependability. Stout enough to get beat up while training and still continue to cut through just about anything, easy to diagnose and fix and enough power to run a 25" bar with a full-skip chisel chain with ease. and certainly quite easy to maintain.Held its own with big brother (the MS 460).My only complaint about this saw is that its a bit light (weight) when running a large(r) bar. Certainly has the power to do it, just requires a bit more ergonomic effort. Found the MS 460, which is obviously heavier, to balance better when cutting with something 25" and above.That said. I've found the MS 362 is a great all-around, go-to, saw for the price. I recently purchased one for my home (bit over kill for sure), as I know the investment will last me for a long long time.Do yourself a favor: get this saw. December 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most reliable saw I have ever owned I have owned a 362 for 3 or 4 years now and love the power to weight ratio. It is a fast cutting saw and has been the back bone of my tree service. Light enough to use in the tree when the wood gets too big for a top handle. I prefer to use a 25" bar with it, but I have put a 36" bar on it when a Larger saw was acting up. If I could only have one saw, this would be my first choice. November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy saw I am a carver and due to my Christmas tree carvings suddenly becoming in demand this year I needed a saw that would speed up the initial shaping process my small ms 150 that I use for detailing just couldn't handle doing long angled rip cuts at any kind of speed but the ms 362 absolutely flys through anything rip cut or not I'm chuffed it has easily halved the initial shaping process. November 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My go to saw I own a small east Texas tree service and own 13 stihl saws ranging from the ms192tc to the ms660 and this is my favorite. Pound for pound easily the best i own. Saw starts 2nd pull every time. It's even better light enough to climb with for bigger jobs where a top handle just won't do. November 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Multi-purpose Saw Ever! I have used this saw for over a year now with both the 20" and 25" bars. I have used Husky saws and Stihl saws for over 30 years now and hands down the MS362CM is the best all around saw I have put in my hands---fast cutting, light for the power, starts so easy, balance is very nice, and just flat fun to run. I am also a big fan of the MS241CM.Anyway, happy cutting folks! November 7, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips