My Servicing Dealer

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
MS 362 C-M is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 209.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Amazing Saw for Sure!! I have put two tanks of gas through this thing and so far it is awesome. The power is well beyond its size and weight. It cuts so smooth and just mows through all types of wood. We cut Oak, Ash, Maple, and some locust and it didn't even start to bog down once. I am amazed at the fuel efficiency. We cut all most everything the amount of a full 14' trailer mounded on a single tank of gas. My understanding from the dealer is it's only going to get better as I use it more. I'm not sure how it could it is an awesome saw out of the box. Stihl this saw is just another great product out of your factory. Great Job!!!
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl saw purchase. I bought this saw to clear my 4 acres in Western Oregon. I have an 028 super but needed something larger with more horse power for the big stuff. I am cutting oak, fir, cedar, and madrone. This saw has plenty of power and tork. It is comfortable to operate for extended periods. The easy start and compression release make this the easiest starting saw I have ever operated. Stihl has incorporated a number of safety features that give the operator some extra piece of mind while operating this saw. The M-tronic system is a great improvement over the carburetor system of the older saws. Welcome to the future of chain saws. This saw makes hard work a lot easier.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Pro Saw Heat with wood and tired of replacing cheap saws every other year. Love my Husky Farm and Ranch saws but, got hold of a this saw as a demo from Stihl. This thing flat out cuts and screams. Ran a tank through it and took the Demo back and bought one two months ago. Hands down the best saw I have ever used/owned.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nothing but quality just got this saw today, I and my inlaws try to always burn fire wood for heat, I cut at least 14 cords a year and had to try this saw out as soon as I got home, it really shows the quality of stihl products, if you are looking for a extremely high quality saw do not wait any longer, my dealer is opesalisbury in north carolina
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable I am 62, live in Michigan and cut firewood to heat our home. This saw is reliable and gets the job done every time. I especially like having this bar length. My son bought this same model, when I did, and is also satisfied.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Performance I told the salesman I wanted a chainsaw that had enough power that it wouldn't bog down easily and this saw delivers! The 20" bar is great as this saw is big enough to cut down any tree on my property and small enough that I can cut off all the limbs to prep for the chipper without getting fatigued. The compression release makes cold starts easy and it runs great in hot and cold weather. There's no change in performance when turning the saw on it's side to cut the stump at ground level. I would recommend this saw to anyone looking for a great all around chainsaw
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both Strong and Easy Handling I heat with wood and bought this saw because of it's weight/easy handling and very strong power. It has proven to be a great workhorse that easily fells and logs trees. Starts easily and runs well; I have taken to calling it The Beast. I have a 251CM for limbing/small work and the two saws make a great combination!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal Purchased this saw one year ago this week, and I have absolutely no complaints about the power and reliability of it. I purchased the RSLF chain in addition and in a race through a piece of Ash, cut faster than the 461 magnum. This saw will peel through hardwood, make sure to use the Stihl oil and ethanol free fuel, the bottom line is, if you need something that cuts fast and will go the distance, this is the best choice.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very reliable so far Very easy to start no carburetor adjustment is got good power I Purchased this saw in 2017 with the facelift definitely look better than the previous my advice use 20 inch bar on this saw
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but expected a bit more power Have owned and used chainsaws for over 30 years. Last saws were Farm Bosses. Now using them for felling or bucking smaller stuff. Only ran about 6 tanks through the 362 but getting the feel of it to maximize performance. I can't comment on how reliable it is yet - too soon to tell. Expected this to have a bit more power while using the yellow chain on a 25" bar. Can easily bog the chain down with larger trees. If I had the chance to try it before I bought it (hint dealers) - I would have went up several models to just power though with the least amount of time. Note - for me this saw is intended for large felling and cutting firewood only so the weight is not the biggest issue.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around chainsaw Well balanced with great power. I purchased 20" and 25" bar and it works great for small or large jobs. reliable and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw First stihl chainsaw I am impressed with the power of this saw. Also like the ease of the chain adjustment and the guys at construction rental in North Platte Nebraska very help every time I stop buy the shop.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw to clear land I had a MS250 which wasn't quite enough saw for the 11 acres in the mountains... bought the 362 and never looked back... lots of power and with the wrap around handle its easy to position
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing, this should be a great saw I have been using chain saws all of my life.,decided to try a Stihl 362 to replace my old Husqvarna. After one day of use it is the hardest starting most frustrating saw I have ever owned. For a professional level saw it is a huge disappointment. The dealer is clueless. I just want a refund.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I would have purchased one years ago Great saw, I burn about 6 cords of wood in my stove every winter, helps me get the job done much easier and quicker, no problems at all.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra $$$ I've had a MS-290 for 15 years that has been a work and needed a bigger saw. The dealer talked me into a professional series and I don't regret it one minute. This saw is light and powerful easy to maneuver and gets the job done, I just took down a large black gum and bucked it with ease using the 362.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw for anyone I am not a pro logger but I own property and I cut firewood like a pyro. I love this MS362-CM saw and have had zero issues so far. I am on about my 7th tank of fuel and the saw gets more and more powerful as I use it and it breaks in.I recommend spending the extra money on the PRO SAW since that amounts to pennies when spread out over the lifetime that this tool will last you. It makes cutting wood so much more fun. Its like accord vs corvette. Its that simple.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 362 CM Very reliable, easy to start, VERY FAST cutting and response. Well balanced, and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Saw quit Purchased saw new in July 2015. Very impressed with the power and ease of starting. In August of 2017 saw was running and started losing power and stopped and would not restart.Took to dealer where I had purchased and was told the pistons and cylinders were scored and it would be cost prohibitive to repair. The saw was exactly 30 days out of warranty and I had never run anything but ethanol free premium gas and stihl synthetic oil in the saw.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Never had a issue always preforms alsome . Ver dependable.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Picked one up, on sale, last fall after my 390 gave up the ghost. Started putting it to use this summer. After cutting 30 cord of firewood, felt as though it exceeding all expectations. I cut wood in 50-95 degree temps. Fuel efficiency was great. Performance was exceptional. I ran 16, 20, and 25 inch bars with full chisel and skip tooth chains. All I can say is, this saw really likes to make chips. Worked well on felling, limbing, and bucking. Has made cutting firewood even more enjoyable for me. Considering a new ms 261 to add for smaller trees but nothing wrong with the saw. Have used other competitors products . . . Just can NEVER go wrong with a Stihl.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 362 cuts wood like butter! My sons and I went out to take care of a widow-maker last Sunday. We always take the old 026 with us, but I had a surprise for them this time. The day before I purchased a new MS 362 C-M to add to the arsenal. The old saw is sharp and runs well, but the saw went through the maple 3 times as fast. WOW! Anyone using this saw will not be disappointed. We intended to cut for about 45 minutes and return to the farm for lunch. Mom was a little upset when we came back 3 hours later. (She was pleased to see the boys so happy!)
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, Easy to start, Awesome to operate I've only ran one tank of gas though the saw so far but I'm loving it so far. Starts on the first or second pull everytime. 20" bar lets it rip through the wood easily with a nice sharp chain. The location of the decompression valve is in a nice spot easy to pop open with thumb before roping. I like the 3 position on/off switch, with the off position returning back to on once letting go. Fuel and oil tanks are nice sized for long run times. The newer designed bar side cover allows for an additional spike with the holes already drilled out. Price is a little steep but as long as the saw runs for many years, I'll be happy with it.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I wanted more power then my MS261, which is now my limbing saw, and the confidence with more power to tackle larger jobs. The MS362 does just that. Plenty of power, handles the 20" bar with ease, and starts reliably. I have found my "groove" with this saw, and now have what I believe to be a reliable arsenal of STIHL saws to tackle anything the woods here throw at me.Can't go wrong with this saw, you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its a beast I have ran about 15 tanks so far. Keep the blade sharp and it will go to town.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One hungry saw Replacing a 390 Stihl with my first pro series saw was a move I should have made a long time ago. Having both a 20" & 25" bar, I was amazed that this saw feels like it performs better with the longer bar! Light weight, with more durable components, how could you go wrong? Starts right up and makes me not want to shut it off, it's a beast.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works grear Had a 391 sold it bought this for a little better built saw with the mtronic. Never looked back didn't have buyers remorse go get it.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first Stihl product Chainsaw cut really well when the chain was new. Had plenty of power. Restarting after use was sometimes difficult. Figured out how to get it started. You have to hold the throttle fully open while pulling. Do this a few times and it should start. Recommended, turn the chain automatic oiler to maximize oil flow. Better to have more oil than a dry chain. Good fuel efficientsy. When you fill gas fill the oil reservoir at the same time, minimizing down time. I am really impressed with this model and would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hot Starting Problem My MS362 C-M will not re-start after getting it hot until it has time to cool down. I suspect it is a heat soak problem after the saw is turned off and the temperature inside the case initially rises, signaling the electronics through its temperature sensors not to permit re-starting. After the saw has time to cool down it will re-start and run beautifully until I turn it off and the problem repeats. Frustrating. But when the saw is running, it cuts beautifully. My typical operating conditions are above 8500 feet of elevation, temperature in the high 80's to low 90's, with very low humidity.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw I have ever run This is a no nonsense saw. Do not buy this if you want to save a nickle and sacrafice performance. There are plenty of cheaper brands out there. They may even work decent "enough" for a time before breaking. I buy Stihl saws because they can run hard and dependable day in and day out with minimal upkeep. One such saw I have is nearly 15 years old. Oh, and it was a ranch saw which does not even come close to the performance of this pro saw even though they have the same displacement. For a serious operator it will perform beyond your expectations. It is truly the best saw I have ever run. Light weight and does everything my ms660 can.If you need a serious piece of equipment and are willing to spend a litle more money than at some big box store to get a way better saw then this may be the saw for you. Big enough to fell, light enough to buck. Does not seem to vibrate at all. I tried another brand priced 33% less and actually had my hands go numb; that saw also had more displacement than the 362 c yet it was still way slower. I sold it. Oh, and the 362 starts very easy. It is like pulling the cord on a weed wacker, very little effort.Stihl needs to add an expertise category, I am a licensed arborist not a landscaper.
Date published: 2017-07-28
  • y_2018, m_3, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_209
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips