My Servicing Dealer

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
MS 362 C-M is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 184.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One hungry saw Replacing a 390 Stihl with my first pro series saw was a move I should have made a long time ago. Having both a 20" & 25" bar, I was amazed that this saw feels like it performs better with the longer bar! Light weight, with more durable components, how could you go wrong? Starts right up and makes me not want to shut it off, it's a beast.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works grear Had a 391 sold it bought this for a little better built saw with the mtronic. Never looked back didn't have buyers remorse go get it.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first Stihl product Chainsaw cut really well when the chain was new. Had plenty of power. Restarting after use was sometimes difficult. Figured out how to get it started. You have to hold the throttle fully open while pulling. Do this a few times and it should start. Recommended, turn the chain automatic oiler to maximize oil flow. Better to have more oil than a dry chain. Good fuel efficientsy. When you fill gas fill the oil reservoir at the same time, minimizing down time. I am really impressed with this model and would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hot Starting Problem My MS362 C-M will not re-start after getting it hot until it has time to cool down. I suspect it is a heat soak problem after the saw is turned off and the temperature inside the case initially rises, signaling the electronics through its temperature sensors not to permit re-starting. After the saw has time to cool down it will re-start and run beautifully until I turn it off and the problem repeats. Frustrating. But when the saw is running, it cuts beautifully. My typical operating conditions are above 8500 feet of elevation, temperature in the high 80's to low 90's, with very low humidity.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw I have ever run This is a no nonsense saw. Do not buy this if you want to save a nickle and sacrafice performance. There are plenty of cheaper brands out there. They may even work decent "enough" for a time before breaking. I buy Stihl saws because they can run hard and dependable day in and day out with minimal upkeep. One such saw I have is nearly 15 years old. Oh, and it was a ranch saw which does not even come close to the performance of this pro saw even though they have the same displacement. For a serious operator it will perform beyond your expectations. It is truly the best saw I have ever run. Light weight and does everything my ms660 can.If you need a serious piece of equipment and are willing to spend a litle more money than at some big box store to get a way better saw then this may be the saw for you. Big enough to fell, light enough to buck. Does not seem to vibrate at all. I tried another brand priced 33% less and actually had my hands go numb; that saw also had more displacement than the 362 c yet it was still way slower. I sold it. Oh, and the 362 starts very easy. It is like pulling the cord on a weed wacker, very little effort.Stihl needs to add an expertise category, I am a licensed arborist not a landscaper.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw runs/cuts great Great mid power range chainsaw. Light for its size and plenty of power. Real fun to work with. Only downside is cost.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has great power. I was going to buy the Stihl MS391 for it's power but the saw was to heavy and I decided to spent the extra money on the MS362 and I'am glad I did this saw has fantastic power and the weight is very light for the amount of power.I don't think there is a better Chain Saw out there that can even come close to this MS362,.buy it you will not be sorry.If you purchase a case of motomix Stihl 4 quarts minimum Stihl will double the warranty from 1 year parts and labor to 2 years parts and labor but you have to purchase that with the saw at the same time.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent saw I've been using chainsaws since the 1960s and now at almost 70 years of age I needed adequate power with less weight. My 362C fits nicely. It"s efficient and fast cutting. Actually, it cuts faster than some of my heavier saws from years gone by. It starts easily and dependably, and is the safest saw I've ever had. With a 20 inch bar it's well balanced and will quickly process everything I need. I've had bad luck with off brand bar and chain oil, so I recommend using Stihl oil. If your saw will stay in the case for weeks or months at a time, use the pre mixed fuel; it's much more dependable.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny Have only run 4 tanks of gas through it, but am very impressed with this saw. I had a farm boss 291 and was looking to upgrade to a little bigger saw. Cut 15-20 cords a year and this saw will make it much quicker.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw ever It made light work of huge trees. I have the 25 inch bar.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has great power Use it around the farm to clear fence rows, cuts great plenty of power.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw rips! I cut trees for a living and home heating too. This saw slices through 20" oak like a hot knife through butter
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trail Maintenance As I use this chainsaw for trail maintenance, I needed a saw that had good power, supported a decent bar length, and was not overwhelmingly heavy. The MS 362 C-M fits the bill. We have taken the saw into woods twice now and cut over 50 trees. The saw has been performing well and I am glad to have upgraded to Stihl.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk saw dont waste your money on this saw mine has been in an out of the shop since i bought it last year
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Saw! I struggled to justify spending the extra money and upgrade to the pro series saw. I've owned three other Stihl chainsaws, the 031, 290, and the 361. The power and performance of the 362c-m is far beyond any other saw I have ever used. I read many of the reviews and was concerned about some of the problems other people were having. The dealer assured me I was making the right choice by going with 362 c-m. I ran 3 tanks of gas through the saw with the synthetic oil mix the dealer recommended the next day. After the initial choking for the first start up, the saw started with one pull every time the rest of the day. Even and refueling the saw started with one pull ! I didn't use the compression release button most of the time because it pulled over so easy. The pro-grade chains (green) made a huge difference too. I cut off and on for 6 six hours, stopping to remove brush and never had to stop to sharpen or change the chain. Falling trees with this saw gives the operator a good sense of confidence knowing you have plenty of power and control. The owners manual said the saw reaches it's peak performance after 8 to 10 tanks of fuel has been used through the saw. I'm already impressed at three! All and all so far I give the 362c-m an A+. Time will tell but I am very pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw This saw has been great, it starts easy usually in 2 pulls even when cold. The power is amazing especially after 8 tanks of fuel. It's power to weight ratio is incredible I have a 25 inch bar it cuts like butter as long as it's sharp even in red oak and Ash.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerfull easy start lov it runs and operates good lite and powerfulmy wife bought me my first stihl ive had one eversince
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proffesional saw at a fair price, that lets the saw do the work. Great saw, bought with 25 inch bar, first job 40 inch across ash tree, cut great, good power, did the job complete . Went back and bought the 36 inch bar and chain for future bigger trees.. Proud to own it.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 1st Stihl Product only ran for 5 minutes before I had issues. We bought a 362 for work and were happy with it. I have been running Poulans for years up at my Cabin. Decided to spend the cash and buy a good saw for myself so I went with the 362 because we just got one at work. I got it home and only cut about 10 logs before it started spitting and sputtering and wouldn't idle anymore. If I let it sit and cool down and re-start it would idle. Re-tried it again with the same issues so I had to drive back 60 miles to where I bought it and they replicated the same problems I was having. Now its in the shop for who knows how long since they are backed up with repairs. So much for buying an expensive reliable saw.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw This has been an excellent saw. I've owned it for about a year, plenty of power to run a 25" bar. Easy to start, lightweight. Only negative is the top of the engine housing is plastic. A small piece of wood got dropped on it in the trailer and cracked it.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product his perfect They are powerful and always sthil there to start with no problems
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh yes! New can't wait! Just cut one tree. Testing and playing with new saw. Easy starting powerful not even broke in. Feels just like my MS250 just lot more horsepower. So it's not really a review. I can just tell it's going to be a great saw. This weekend I'm going to find out.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power to weight I had the MS 460 which was just to much saw for what i do these days..this saw is the perfect size. Starts EXTREMELY easy and the wrap handle i really like, got use to it on my 460 so this 362 feels the same.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go-To Day in and day out, this saw performs. With the stock powerhead, I can run 16" or 25" like a breeze. If you know how to tune a carb, there is no problem, even with the M factor, (computer). This is a great cutting saw! I run a full crew with a HT 101, 201 TC, 362 C, and a 661 Mag. Since I bought the new saws, (still have the old ones as back up,) I've never needed anything else. My go-to is the 362. This thing is a champ!
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smooth running starts easy Good power to weight easy starting good balance, cut about 4 cords oak with itand took down some bigger pines so far its flawless
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from makes cutting trees easy I recommend this saw to any one this saw is light and has a lot of power. i have a MS 290 and my MS 362 CM weigh just as much i love it and i would never by any other saw. in the world.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw to graduate up too! I moved up to this saw from my 290. I didn't think it could get any better than that old 290 but I was soon proven wrong. For the small additional weight the engine vibration isolation and gain in power is everything I hoped it would be. A great move that now leaves my 290 collecting dust most weekends.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance and productivity I had a lot of downed trees that I estimated would take a couple of Saturdays to cut up. With my new 362 I was able to do all of it and more, in half of a Saturday! I could not believe the power and speed with which it cut. And it seemed like I was not adding gas nearly as often as I had been with my old 361.I did have a few times when the wood chips would stick in the sprocket and the chain would be locked; I found that by pulling on a log with the chain I could dislodge the shavings, but it was inconvenient and seems like it should not have done that.Otherwise, I have been praising the performance of the 362 to many of my friends!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Firewood cutters dream! Outstanding power to weight ratio, easy to start, hope it lasts years...
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect medium ground saw This saw is one great saw for such a reasonable price! Has impressive power for its size and once again this saw has never bogged down on me but then again never had a STIHL saw bogged on me. I keep a 20 on it and awesome lasting power cuts all day long and begs for more to eat up ..
Date published: 2017-01-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_184
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips