Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 128reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great workhorse I'm a weekend chainsaw guy, clearing out trees on my families property whenever I get a chance to go out there. Chainsaw runs great as to be expected, I only had an issue on my second day with it. I choked it after it already ran and I flooded the engine. Learned to give it 2 pulls choked, then don't use the choke the rest of the day. Hopefully that little rule will save someone some grief. I run it typically with an 18" bar and an .063 chain which tears through anything I put it up against. I do have a 25" bar for it when needed, but it can get bogged down with it. I was cutting a tree thats been dead for quite a while, and it struggled a little getting through it, but dead hardwood thats dried out and 20" across - yeah, thats gonna require a little patience. My dad has used a 310 for years and the saw feels lighter and more powerful which is why I sprung for it.Some guys splurge on golf clubs, for me its a chainsaw - at least thats what I told the wife ;) August 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts and runs great! I feel like I am just repeating what everyone else is saying, but my summary line says it all. You can't beat one pull starts every time. Set the start switch, pull, let it warm up, cut.The M-Tronic system has been working awesome for me. I like to think I can adjust almost any small engine carb, but I never enjoyed taking the time to do it. M-Tronic eliminates that, yet it still works! I was hesitant to buy a saw with an electronic component, but the system is simple and far.I only have a handful of tanks of fuel through this saw, so it has not reached it's full potential yet. Within the first couple tanks I noticed a difference in power and how the motor sounded like it was starting to run smoother. Every time I use it now, it runs smooth and continues to cut faster. August 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great saw but, a needle bearing failure causes concern. I love the saw and it has plenty of power but, the needle bearing sleeve failed that the sprocket housing spins on so, had to take it in for repair. The saw has been used very little and I only use it for cutting the larger sections of timber since too heavy to use for general cut up of things so, really surprised to have it fail. I've got two other Stihls that are homeowner series and, they've been through the ringer and back without problems. Luckily, it was within the 1 year warranty period and, I also had the extended warranty due to buying oil at the same time as the saw so, it should get repaired under warranty. It's still in the shop. I bought the professional series saw to hopefully get high level of quality in a large saw but, I'm a little concerned with it at the moment. August 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by a pro saw for joe everyman I'm not a professional by any stretch, but I work this saw hard. Felling/bucking dead pine and aspen for firewood, cutting trees that have fallen across single track trails, etc. Haven't tried to accomplish a job yet that this saw isn't up to. It's my third Stihl, and probably as big a saw as I'll ever need. If you're out there wondering whether a pro saw is overkill for a regular guy, the answer is no. A great all around saw that makes any job more fun. August 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Chainsaw I have Ever Used After beginning my tree removal and landscaping business I knew it was time to stock up on some good quality equipment, Stihl was the way to go. I had purchased 5 brand new saws from Stihl,a 880, a 661, a 362 C-M and a 201 and a 391, but besides the 391 they all were great, but the 362, stood above the rest. A 25 inch bar on this powerhouse of a fuel injected chainsaw has made this tool the best 760 dollars i have ever spent on a power tool. super fast, it always starts, not heavy, not awkward to handle, can run for hours and hours. i had fallen a 190 foot sweet gum and besides to actually cut the tree down with the 661, I used the 362 to do the rest, it never has a problem with overheating, never gives me any issues with starting whether I am down below sea level or up in the higher areas. I have had the saw for 4 months now, and have ran through easily 5 gallons of fuel through it. never an issue. i will say though even though it is quite expensive i have found the chainsaw run optimally with VP Vintage C9, no ethanol and i have it blended to 94 octane and run Stihl oil, best way to keep a saw running greatr. Overall, I cannot thank Stihl Enough for this great saw and i will hope it keeps me smiling every time i start it up. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this saw! This is the 4th Stihl saw that I own. My first is an 032AV that I bought 33 years ago when I was just finishing high school. The second one is a little 009L that I won in a raffle. I bought an MS290 Farm Boss 3 years ago, when my 032 start having carb problems, which I eventually got fixed.I bought the MS 362C-M 3 weeks ago. When I first started running it, I was under impressed! It bogged down, was very under powered. I got the manual back out and read it again it talked about the computer learning. Wow, did it learn! Tonight I went out for an hour and cut on a giant Ponderosa Pine that I have been working on for a while. This was the first time with this saw. I have a 25" bar and yellow chain. The small end of the log is about 35" and the bigger end is still about 4' . I cut for an hour with a 5 minute fuel stop.I cut 35 rounds of this tree in that time. I couldn't believe how much wood it cut, in such a short time, and how little fuel it used! This tree has supplied my home for 3 years of firewood. It was 5 1/2' on the butt and 189' on the ground. We burn about 4 1/2 cord per year. June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect saw for the serious woodsman I purchased this saw a year ago after a recommendation from a friend who owned one. I was concerned it would become too heavy overtime. I was wrong. This saw has made my wood cutting so much more efficient. I cut 7-10 cords per season. This saw is well balanced and powerful. Another great product from Stihl!!! I can cut twice the wood in half the time. I never use a limb saw now. I don't want to take the 362 out of my hands. June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around saw I am an average 6' 200 Lb male and this saw just fits me perfect. I can work with it all day and love to work with it all day. It isn't too large or too small. It is easy to start and I am proud to have it as a friend June 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great saw for the money I would recommend this saw for everyone that cuts firewood, best saw for your money . June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by i would buy it again I have had this MS362c for almost a year. I had an 044 which was a good saw but now is tired. I don't regret getting the smaller saw for fire wood and the occasional falling. I really appreciate the isolated hand holds. they really cut down on the felt vibration. when you are into a log whit one of these just reach down with your finger and touch the saw and you will see what i mean. I was reluctant to get into a saw with electronics but has operated flawless so far and i appreciate the auto altitude adjust.I also appreciate the air filter system compared to my 044. it stays much cleaner.I opted for the 28" bar which is comfortable and i don't need to bend over much but i would say the 28" maxes out this saw. I sure it would run stronger with a 24" May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hot rod of mid size chainsaws! First ever purchase of a Stihl and now I know that the saying is true: You get what you pay for.The 362cm is a powerful saw that is a great all around saw. It may be a bit heavy for those only doing trimming, but for anything more is will rip through wood. I have never experienced such a fast saw. It had a 25" bar on it at the dealer, but I had them switch it out for a 20" bar with a yellow chain. Talk about fast cutting. And with the power of this saw, its definitely a Hot Rod saw!Also, the antivibration works very well.I can assure you, I will only buy Stihl products from now on!! May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great power I bought a 362 about 2 months ago ..used it to cut down 4 large poplar trees 20-24 inches in diameter...cut through these trees like hot butter.never seen anything like this saw...25 inch bar.... all kinds of power. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my second 362. The first one got stolen after 6 months of use and nicely broken in. My second 362 had what I occasionally see in these reviews a problem with quitting when hot and not wanting to start until it cools down. I called my dealer and talked to a service tech about the problem and he gave me the reset procedure for the M tronic module and the saw runs perfect. It's seen a lot of heavy use since and is the smoothest running saw I've ever owned. Guys and gals, give the carbide chains a try. Been running carbide on all my saws for a couple of years now and will never go back to steel! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth every dollar If you are thinking about getting one - do it.You get what you pay for. This saw makes me smile every time I use it.I think it should come with the solid bar for the price. That's the only downfall of this excellent machine. April 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I had a MS311 saw for 5 years, it had great power, but was heavy as all get out. I upgraded to the MS362 and its even better! Higher RPM, more power, just a better saw. Best part is that all my extra bars and chains fit from the 311. I am currently using a 18" bar with a carbide tipped chain, and it chews through wood. April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful saw. Just needs a more aggressive chain to be perfect. Love it. The best saw I've ever owned. You will not be disappointed! March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Incredible Today I purchased a new Stihl MS 362 C-M to replace and upgrade my trusty but tired 1999 Stihl 026 Pro. Brought the 362 home and tried it out on a big 18" maple that had toppled over the winter. Now I am 62 years and I've cut a lot of trees, but man oh man, I have NEVER cut with a saw like this. Flat-a freakin' amazing. Like the proverbial hot knife through velvet butter. Smooth and wonderfully powerful. It was like nothing at all, just a few minutes, and I had that whole large tree all limbed and sectioned into nice fireplace lengths ready for splitting. I don't often write reviews but I had to come in, sit down and write this one. Stihl builds a first-class saw and I'm very happy with the choice I made in the pro-grade 362. My dad used to say, when you buy tools, don't be cheap, buy good ones. They will last and you'll be grateful for their quality every day. Thank you, Stihl... I just wish could last as long as I know this saw will...! March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Most Reliable Worker This saw has been a godsend to me, had this for 3 years now and not a single problem with it. The power this baby has is incredible. Looking at purchasing another one and keeping a smaller bar on for brush. March 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's hard to beat a stihl pro saw Bought the 362 to replace a aging 036 pro. I'm impressed that the new saw has as much or maybe more power with what seam like twice the fuel efficiency even running a 25" bar. Hate to spend that much but you do get what you pay for!!! March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased I bought this saw last winter for taking down and bucking Ash trees, it performed flawlessly and with the carbide blade it was even better. It starts super easy no matter the weather conditions. My only complaint if you can call it that is the oil fill cap, and is the same on my 260 pro, there has to be a better way than these caps, it is inevitable that you will think it is locked down and it won't be. March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 362 C-M Love it! I've had the MS 362 C-M for about a year now and it replaced a MS 029 purchased in 1996. Starts right up and tears through cutting chores. What a difference between the two saws and I loved my 029 Farm Boss. Stihl is not a cheap product to begin with and the MS 362 is pricey but if I can get a similar 19 years of use of it I'll be very happy with the price tag I paid. March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrade Have two MS 290's with 18 @ 20 inch bars. They cut just fine with no problem l, great machines. I wanted an upgrade with a 25 inch bar to handle some bigger rounds but didn't want to break the bank in doing so. I decided on the MS 362 and couldn't be happier, great saw with plenty of power. The little extra money over the MS 391 is worth it hands down. Just a better built machine. You do get what you pay for. Very happy with it. I run it with the skip chain and it rips through the rounds. If you need a small upgrade and a starter into the professional saws grab a MS362! March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beast!!! Starts easy, tons of power, makes short work of any cutting. Stihl is the only brand I "wood" trust. March 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw This is a fantastic saw, with lots of spare power. Using it with a 20inch bar. Wish I'd bought this 30 years ago rather than the other brands i've bought. Easy to start, easy to use, cuts through 20 - 24 inch diameter oak, like cutting through butter. March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Saw I was on the fence about whether or not to purchase this saw or one a little bigger and was also hesitant about the new m tronic as I have not ran one before. I get into big wood from time to time and after running it for a week and about 15 tanks of fuel later this saw was a decision I'll never regret. I was hesitant about its power to turn the 25 inch bar I bought with it but I am running a yellow rs full skip chain and this thing cuts like crazy and never thinks twice. It has always started easily and is hands down the best saw I've ever had and that's been quite a few from several pro model manufacturers. I now have 3 pro model stihls and am getting another one of these saws soon. Also I have to give it to Conway Farm and Home. If you are in Arkansas they are far beyond the best dealer I have ever dealt with. Their guy on the sales floor knew everything I asked even a few things I expected him not to as well as knew all the saw chains they carried, what they had in stock, and what every chain number meant. Will never buy from anyone else again. Also great service department March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great performer I had the choice of an MS362 and an MS311. The side by side comparison was difficult as the are similarly equipped. I chose the 362 just because I intend on keeping it forever. I bought it to clear my property and I am not a pro. To my old big box chainsaws there is no comparison. This saw ate all of the trees in my yard to include a 28" sweet gum. The beauty is this saw is capable of doing that much everyday. Glad I paid the extra 200 for a saw I will eventually put in my will. Mike March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome saw great saw bought it last year ran it all summer ran it in -46c saw never gave me issues for start up or anything highly recommend this saw ive convinced about 5 people to go out and buy a stihl the saw just chew through anything I give perfect weight to power ratio February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality I bought a 362 to replace my 290. There's nothing wrong the 290 it's just about 10 years old and I needed a bigger saw to cut some trees out of a property line. I will keep the 290 to trim with Now about the ms362 what a saw. Great saw typical Stihl runs good starts good plenty of power. After reading some bad reviews, I can't help but wonder if it's not the person running the saw? Mine's great. Most of all built in the USA February 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good all purpose saw I purchased this saw from a local dealer, based on reccomendations from several coworkers. Was going back and forth between this and a MS660, and glad I did. easy to maintain, will comfortably run a 28" bar with full skip chain which makes cutting limbs for firewood much easier not bending down. Aside from the occasional hard start when the engine has been running for a while, it saves me on average 2-3 tanks of propane per year and more than paid for its self in the first season. Just keep up on maintainence and run ethanol free fuel and Stihl 2 stroke oil, it will just keep chips flying. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good power and Fuel Efficient Been using this 362 for 2 and a half months now, and runs great has lots of power for good size solid Ceder and Juniper trees here in the Northwestern New Mexico area. The M-Tronic really helps when i cut at elevations of 5750 and another day cutting at a elevation of 7600. cant wait to compare to a Family member's 391 come tree thinning time at our Ranch January 20, 2016
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips