My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 261 C-M

The same great MS 261, but with advanced STIHL M-Tronic™ technology for optimized performance in various conditions.

MS 261 C-M
MS 261 C-M is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 94.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw! this saw always starts reliably, has very good power. stihl has their stuff together on this one!
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a good saw The 261 saw has improvements over the old 026. Easier to start. The oil and gas fill opening have been improved. The only thing on the oil fill opening, it is a little harder to clean the wood chips off before opening to refill. The air filter has been improved but I never had a problem with the old one. It is a good running saw. I still have my 10 year old 026 and plan to get a kit with all the rubber mounts (if I can find one) and stuff where I can rebuild it. It still runs great just a little hard to start and the mounts are worn out..
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw elevates my skill level. At 68 years old, and having only owned a few chainsaws in my lifetime, I'm not exactly an "old pro" like a lot of you. Old, but not a pro. But I do know tools pretty well in general.So when two fairly large (20"+ diameter) oaks fell recently, here on my property — and with only an aging Husky saw available (which I like, but, again it's getting old) — I started looking at the Stihl brand just out of interest. The MS 261 C-M was a bit out of my price range, but kept coming up in positive reviews, and I've learned that you tend to get what you pay for. Once I got a look at it in person... the heft, the features, the good looks and all that just sucked the cash out of my wallet! Funny how that is.I've now cut rounds out of the 20" oak trunks (fast, easy), bucked up other wood around a few acres, and done various other jobs around the property (it's powerful, and overkill for most things, but that's sure better than to listen to a chainsaw suffer). I can say I got my moneys worth. It seems to be great saw, and so far I can't say anything bad about it. I also sort of enjoy maintaining mechanical things (up to a point) and this Stihl has a build quality that gives me the confidence that it'll be my friend for a while.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good saw but overheats and quits I haven't used the saw much as it tends to overheat and I can't get it started back up.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big tree versus medium saw Old red oak fell over in storm. Trunk circumference is 99 inches. Diameter is 32 inches. From root flare to first branch is almost 16 feet. Waiting to hear back the sawyer to make lumber out of the trunk and the bigger logs that were limbs. It's been a very able saw so far. It's been taking a cut on each side to cut back the trunk with 18" bar.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Finally decided to go buy an MS 241.When I arrived at my dealer I also looked at MS 261 Big mistake because I left with two news saws.Took saws out today and man do I love both My 290 Farm Boss will spend a lot of time in toolbox of truck.I am now the owner of three pro grade Stihl saws 241 261 and 372 . The pro grade saws are awesome Thanks Stihl and my dealer Phillips Equipment Lynchburg VA
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and versatile Very powerful saw for the size and weight. While it comes with an 18" bar, it easily powers a 20" bar when you need a little more length. The saw complements my 193 perfectly. While I would love to have another larger saw, I have not run into a tree or situation that I couldn't overcome. Great saw and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best saw for the money I have several Stihl saws this one is by far my favorite. I do not have anything bad to saw about it.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can keep up to the big boys I purchased this saw last winter put a full chisel chain on it this saw can almost keep up to my 440 and 460 awesome saw I had to order another one, light weight, starts easy
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power to weight ratio After reviewing all the saw features, I decided on the MS261CM. It came with the 18" bar and the green label "Anti-Kickback" chain. So, for the occasional user looking for professional quality, safety and great power to weight ratio, This is throne!
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it all! Great power to weight ratio, balanced, torque, build quality and M-tronic! This saw does everything very well! It has a great power to weight ratio, it is very well balanced, has great torque and the build quality is exceptional! I had no problem paying more for this than either a homeowner or ranch saw. It also starts, idles and restarts great! The M-tronic is a great feature! I now would require the M-tronic on any other saw I purchase. I'm extremely please with it! Simply put it is exceptional. I'm not sure what I would recommend to improve upon it?
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worthy replacement for .028 Wood Boss After 25 years my Stihl .028 suffered a score on the piston & rings, probably from a piece of carbon breaking loose. I looked to Stihl for a replacement of course and first tried an MS250. I found it was not nearly the saw I was used to using and did not meet my expectations. I then moved up to the MS261. While considerably more expensive it also compares favorably to my old saw, including bar/chain compatibility. It's a great saw with a number of improvements over the .028. I'm very satisfied and if it lasts me another 25 years I'll be 100 years old and will probably have quit sawing wood.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First experience with my 2016 MS 261 cm I took my new MS 261 saw out to cut some very hard dead gum trees and it performed wonderfully. After putting gas and oil into the saw and setting the controls as directed, the saw came to life and idled right off. After the initial start up, the saw started first pull. The new version is a little lighter and has a little more hp. The weight difference will make a big difference after a few hours of sawing but this saw has lots of hp so I don't think I will notice the hp improvement.. I have a 20 in bar and need to up the oil going to the bar. I now look forward to working with it.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Resubmited Its a good chain saw and I can't see how this model could be made any better. It should have come with a 20 inch bar as I had to order it and I was not given that option. I was also not told about the current promo for an extended warrenty. My last review was rejected because I made a politically incorrect statement but it was the best review written on the 261, so well written you might think I was paid for it, like they do on Amazon. So now I want a Stihl hat made out of orange and green plaid wool with Merino wool ear pads that has replaceable ear plugs mounted to the wool ear flaps on the hat. No liner unless its silk!
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts every time and keeps running Had an MS-260 and needed another saw at our primary residence in case of a hurricane and to do trimming. Model changed slightly, but not much. Starts after a few pulls every time and keeps on running without cutting out. Cuts well with minimal vibration. Came with a 16 inch bar but purchased an 18 inch bar and chain as well. Was told that it could handle up to a 20 in bar/chain, but thought that might put too much of a strain on it. Have had excellent experiences with all of my Stihl products. Have blowers, chain saws and trimmers, all running flawlessly.Have also bought and given Stihl products to my sons to use at their houses. They have had the same experience with Stihl that I have had.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has incredible power I was hesitate to buy this saw at first. I'm glad I finally made the purchase. It's a very enjoyable experience to operate. Cranks every time!
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New to me stihl brand This 261 sounds really deep and very high on compression..awesome ..I'll be glad that I've got this one in the long run..
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down, Great Saw I have several Stihl saws going all the way up to a 660. I am very impressed with this 261! First started cutting with it and I did not at all expect it to have that much power, and cut through all different types of hardwoods with absolute ease. If u want a lightweight, powerful saw; buy the 261 hands down!! You will never regret it!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dad said buy the best care for it and it will last forever. Excellent saw, plenty of power, light weight and cuts like butter used for clearing a runway and not a single complaint.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy the Best I needed a bigger chainsaw for lots of hardwood trees we had cut down as well as trimmed.The tree service guy recommended this saw so I bought one.This thing is a monster and cuts like butter.Makes my job easier and I don't mind cutting all the logs we have now.If you can afford this, buy it.Anything less just makes your job harder.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problem starting. After the very first cut, saw would not start. Returned saw to dealer that afternoon and salesman could not start it. Left it overnight for the mechanic. It started the next day after a few pulls. Took it home and again the saw would not start after one cut. Returned saw to mechanic. He said he would call Stihl Support. They told him to calibrate the carburetor and the "module" and if it happens again for him to replace the "module". Took saw home again and it appears to be working better. Not sure for how long. Great experience with other Stihl products in the past. Not going to give up on them just yet.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little Beast Really a great saw. It has handled everything I have thrown at it so far. Would buy a again. Great buy.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight saw with plenty of guts! Easy to start, great weight to power ratio with easy to start features. Not a young guy but can work with this saw all day without getting over tired. The de-compression feature makes starting less of a chore.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chain saw I ever used or owned. Love using this saw. I love cutting firewood again. I heat with wood so I cut 5-10 cord a year and this saw has had no problems cutting anything in the 13 months I've owned it and no problems of any kind. I have a 16" & 20" bar for it which makes it very versatile. I spent 2 months looking and comparing saws and settled on this saw based on features, and power to weight ratio and have not been disappointed. It usually starts on the 3rd pull when cold and 1st pull when warm. Hard for me to believe any of the negative comments I've read here, have not seen any of those issues. Best chain saw I've ever used or owned.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw First time stihl owner, been cutting firewood for 25 years on a 7 acre woodlot.Extremely impressed with quality, light weight and power.Cutting 16-18 inch dry ash and hickory with the 18 inch bar, saw never bogged down and ran through first 4 tanks full of gas flawlessly.Starts effortlessly everytime.Great saw, should have never waited so long to buy one.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw! I'm 55. Been using saws since age 12. Moderate to heavy use on a 3 acre wooded lot. I've owned most, if not all, major brands in the last 30+ years. This is the best saw I've ever owned. Starts easily. Powerful. Holds a chain adjustment. Good on fuel. Easy to maintain. I plan on keeping my other Stihl (251) so my neighbors can borrow it instead of my 261!
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw from a great name I live at 10,000 feet on a mountain. I use wood as my primary heat source, so needless to say I use a lot of firewood. I had been using cheaper saws of varying brands, but found that I spent more time getting them to work than working. When I looked into getting a professional saw I referred to my father who was a commercial logger in the Pacific Northwest for years and swore by Stihl. I purchased the 261c-m because I cut wood from all elevations from 4500-11000 feet and hate the hassle of adjusting carbs. This saw is amazing from cutting anything from 10" aspen all the way up to two 75' spruce that blew down in a friends driveway last weekend, which were both 30" in diameter. I've found that the RM3 chain on a 20" bar isn't the best setup, but just changed to the regular RM chain for the 20" bar or the RM or RS for my 18". I've cut down, limbed, bucked over 20 cords of wood in the year I've had this saw, never once has it failed to start or run as expected in temperatures from 100 in the summer to 30 below in the winter when I had a tree blow down across my drive. Great product, great accessories Stihl! You'd have made my late father proud.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for Great saw with plenty of power, and built to last. A bit lighter than non-professional saws.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect 2 yrs and 20 plus cords of oak. enjoyable to use with plenty of power for me. I run a 20 in bar.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cuts great but didn't run long For 1-1/2 tanks of fuel this saw cut like no saw, including my old Stihl 026, I've owned. Unfortunately, it then promptly quit. It turns out the electronic carburetor had failed for whatever reason and had to be replaced. My Stihl dealer managed to make this repair quickly over the holidays and my saw is back home. Hopefully, it will last 20+ years and counting like my 026.I've had 30+ years of great performance from the Stihls I own. This one, once the memory of the glitch has faded, will no doubt be the same. If Stihl makes a bad product, I haven't heard about it.
Date published: 2016-01-01
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms261cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips