Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 261 C-M

The same great MS 261, but with advanced STIHL M-Tronic™ technology for optimized performance in various conditions.

MS 261 C-M
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 81reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Resubmited Its a good chain saw and I can't see how this model could be made any better. It should have come with a 20 inch bar as I had to order it and I was not given that option. I was also not told about the current promo for an extended warrenty. My last review was rejected because I made a politically incorrect statement but it was the best review written on the 261, so well written you might think I was paid for it, like they do on Amazon. So now I want a Stihl hat made out of orange and green plaid wool with Merino wool ear pads that has replaceable ear plugs mounted to the wool ear flaps on the hat. No liner unless its silk! July 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts every time and keeps running Had an MS-260 and needed another saw at our primary residence in case of a hurricane and to do trimming. Model changed slightly, but not much. Starts after a few pulls every time and keeps on running without cutting out. Cuts well with minimal vibration. Came with a 16 inch bar but purchased an 18 inch bar and chain as well. Was told that it could handle up to a 20 in bar/chain, but thought that might put too much of a strain on it.Have had excellent experiences with all of my Stihl products. Have blowers, chain saws and trimmers, all running flawlessly.Have also bought and given Stihl products to my sons to use at their houses. They have had the same experience with Stihl that I have had. July 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw has incredible power I was hesitate to buy this saw at first. I'm glad I finally made the purchase. It's a very enjoyable experience to operate. Cranks every time! July 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by New to me stihl brand This 261 sounds really deep and very high on compression..awesome ..I'll be glad that I've got this one in the long run.. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hands down, Great Saw I have several Stihl saws going all the way up to a 660. I am very impressed with this 261! First started cutting with it and I did not at all expect it to have that much power, and cut through all different types of hardwoods with absolute ease. If u want a lightweight, powerful saw; buy the 261 hands down!! You will never regret it! May 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dad said buy the best care for it and it will last forever. Excellent saw, plenty of power, light weight and cuts like butter used for clearing a runway and not a single complaint. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy the Best I needed a bigger chainsaw for lots of hardwood trees we had cut down as well as trimmed.The tree service guy recommended this saw so I bought one.This thing is a monster and cuts like butter.Makes my job easier and I don't mind cutting all the logs we have now.If you can afford this, buy it.Anything less just makes your job harder. April 25, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problem starting. After the very first cut, saw would not start. Returned saw to dealer that afternoon and salesman could not start it. Left it overnight for the mechanic. It started the next day after a few pulls. Took it home and again the saw would not start after one cut. Returned saw to mechanic. He said he would call Stihl Support. They told him to calibrate the carburetor and the "module" and if it happens again for him to replace the "module". Took saw home again and it appears to be working better. Not sure for how long. Great experience with other Stihl products in the past. Not going to give up on them just yet. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Little Beast Really a great saw. It has handled everything I have thrown at it so far. Would buy a again. Great buy. April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light weight saw with plenty of guts! Easy to start, great weight to power ratio with easy to start features. Not a young guy but can work with this saw all day without getting over tired. The de-compression feature makes starting less of a chore. April 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best chain saw I ever used or owned. Love using this saw. I love cutting firewood again. I heat with wood so I cut 5-10 cord a year and this saw has had no problems cutting anything in the 13 months I've owned it and no problems of any kind. I have a 16" & 20" bar for it which makes it very versatile. I spent 2 months looking and comparing saws and settled on this saw based on features, and power to weight ratio and have not been disappointed. It usually starts on the 3rd pull when cold and 1st pull when warm. Hard for me to believe any of the negative comments I've read here, have not seen any of those issues.Best chain saw I've ever used or owned. March 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw First time stihl owner, been cutting firewood for 25 years on a 7 acre woodlot.Extremely impressed with quality, light weight and power.Cutting 16-18 inch dry ash and hickory with the 18 inch bar, saw never bogged down and ran through first 4 tanks full of gas flawlessly.Starts effortlessly everytime.Great saw, should have never waited so long to buy one. March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw! I'm 55. Been using saws since age 12. Moderate to heavy use on a 3 acre wooded lot. I've owned most, if not all, major brands in the last 30+ years. This is the best saw I've ever owned. Starts easily. Powerful. Holds a chain adjustment. Good on fuel. Easy to maintain. I plan on keeping my other Stihl (251) so my neighbors can borrow it instead of my 261! March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw from a great name I live at 10,000 feet on a mountain. I use wood as my primary heat source, so needless to say I use a lot of firewood. I had been using cheaper saws of varying brands, but found that I spent more time getting them to work than working. When I looked into getting a professional saw I referred to my father who was a commercial logger in the Pacific Northwest for years and swore by Stihl. I purchased the 261c-m because I cut wood from all elevations from 4500-11000 feet and hate the hassle of adjusting carbs. This saw is amazing from cutting anything from 10" aspen all the way up to two 75' spruce that blew down in a friends driveway last weekend, which were both 30" in diameter. I've found that the RM3 chain on a 20" bar isn't the best setup, but just changed to the regular RM chain for the 20" bar or the RM or RS for my 18". I've cut down, limbed, bucked over 20 cords of wood in the year I've had this saw, never once has it failed to start or run as expected in temperatures from 100 in the summer to 30 below in the winter when I had a tree blow down across my drive. Great product, great accessories Stihl! You'd have made my late father proud. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by You get what you pay for Great saw with plenty of power, and built to last. A bit lighter than non-professional saws. February 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect 2 yrs and 20 plus cords of oak. enjoyable to use with plenty of power for me. I run a 20 in bar. January 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cuts great but didn't run long For 1-1/2 tanks of fuel this saw cut like no saw, including my old Stihl 026, I've owned. Unfortunately, it then promptly quit. It turns out the electronic carburetor had failed for whatever reason and had to be replaced. My Stihl dealer managed to make this repair quickly over the holidays and my saw is back home. Hopefully, it will last 20+ years and counting like my 026.I've had 30+ years of great performance from the Stihls I own. This one, once the memory of the glitch has faded, will no doubt be the same. If Stihl makes a bad product, I haven't heard about it. January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth operator This thing is a blast to use. Very smooth power. No vibrations are transmitted to the users hands. Air filter is a cool design. A tank of fuel goes along way. Starts without fail on the third pull. My only complaint is I wish the pro saws came with the yellow "E" bar. December 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best saw I've ever owned! Bought my new 261 at my local Stihl dealer this past fall to replace my now somewhat tired 031AV. Wow, was I ever surprised at how light it is, and the power it has! This is a saw you can use all day without batting an eye. Starts like a dream, and runs like the true champ it is. It will chew through large oak like you can't believe. My only regret is that I waited as long as I did to get it! December 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My buddy call's it my light saber! I have several other "good" saws this saw makes them all seem like antiques. It is so much further advanced than other brands new saws. It starts easy, cuts like a saw 30% bigger and has very little if any vibration to the user. I have mine outfitted with 18" bar and RS chain. It is pretty light, the power to weight ratio is astounding. I tend to use it for felling,limbing and bucking. I never had a saw with a kill switch that moved up for off but after I got used to it it's no longer a concern. Price was a little higher than some other comparable saws, but after a few tanks that is the last thing on your mind. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holy Workhorse, Batman This saw is an absolute beast. It's very easy to start, has PLENTY of power for it's size, and will help get just about any job done. I like the new digital compensating carb, and look forward to testing it further in varying climates and conditions. I actually dropped 2 trees with this saw today, and cut up about 4.5 cord (red oak and silver maple) like butter. Put almost 3 tanks of gas through it. As for aesthetics and design, I also like that the body is made of die-cast metal instead of plastic. The MS 261 CM is definitely a pro-end saw, with features abound and a disposition to get things done. Fast. It reminds me of old-school Stihl mixed with new-era technology. Home run, and well worth the slightly higher price tag associated with stepping into pro-grade saws. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Chainsaw! This saw is excellent in every way, power, ease of use, very lightweight! Way above and beyond my expectations. I Finally stepped up from another brand. It was either the ms251, ms290, or the ms261 cm. I bought up and won't look back. If you are debating between these models. Go with the ms261 cm. You won't be disappointed, It's well worth the extra money. October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw ROCKS! I've owned many different saws through the years and this one put the others to shame. Knowing Stihl's reputation, it only took me 30 years to pull my head out and buy one, but I did it and don't regret it a bit. It goes through mesquite like a hot knife through butter and it starts EVERY time. I'll be buying an MS 661 next year for bigger projects ahead. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go big or go home Don't waste your money on a small saw unless your only doing limbing. If your cutting firewood or just clearing wood plot go with power.I have this saw with 20" bar. I have 13 acres of hard wood. It does everything you could want. Easy to start easy to use well balanced. It is a Hoss! October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Power to weight ratio is great! I purchased my MS- 261 this spring after retiring my MS 250. It had a lot of hard use on the farm. I have used it about 25 times on different sized jobs through out the summer. I use the rapid super chains. It cuts like no tomorrow. Starts on the third pull every time. Love it. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with this saw Professional user and this is truly a professional saw. A super all round saw. Also own a 550xp but prefer the feel of the ms 261 in my hands. September 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw Rocks! I'm not a professional but my home sits on five acres of hard woods in Florida and when My old 33cc chainsaw that I bought at a big box store finally died I wanted one with more power. I knew I wanted a Stihl this time since owning other Stihl products has sold me on their quality. After a little research I narrowed it down to two models one being the MS 261 C-M which I ultimately chose due to the advanced features. I couldn't be happier! It is a little heavier than what I'm used to but this thing is so easy to start and use compared to my little old one I can hardy believe it. The power is incredible, it cuts like nothing I've ever used before and will cut my work time in half. I'm sure this will be the last chainsaw I ever buy! September 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent power to weight ratio! In Oregon we have big trees! This saw has no problem keeping up with the work our ranch requires.Starts great and eats through Maple, Ash, Alder and evergreens!Non-ethanol fuel is a wise choice! August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I bought this to replace my 026 that still runs but is tired (21 years). I like using a 16" bar and non-safety chains. This saw does not bog down. I am cutting red and white oak and it goes through them easily. The decompression button is a nice feature for easier pull on starting August 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw! I am not an experienced chainsaw operator, but I have a sizable lot of forested land and needed to buy a saw to clear access roads and clearings. Most of the trees I am cutting are softwoods, and most have no more than a 10 inch diameter. I have been using the saw for about three months now, for about 25-30 tanks of gas, and it is an amazing cutting tool, as it rips through everything I put in its path, including the occasional hardwood.In purchasing the saw, I let the salesmen up-sell me the Stihl Pro-mark helmet, the hard plastic one with a face screen and ear protection attached, and I can't tell you how many times it has already kept my head scratch and bruise free. It's a great little piece of gear, and I would highly recommend it for anyone cutting in tight brushy areas. July 7, 2015
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips