My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 261 C-M

The same great MS 261, but with advanced STIHL M-Tronic™ technology for optimized performance in various conditions.

MS 261 C-M
MS 261 C-M is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 115.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a animal Whoever doesn't like the ms261c needs not using a chainsaw any longer. This thing is a animal. Can't believe it took me this long to buy one. The weight and feel is like no other and the power is amazing. spend the money I absolutely promise you you will not be disappointed. Lankys bicycle shop in Dunn is where I purchased saw. They will have my business for life. Awesome people!!!!
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great limbing and firewood saw My 026 has been awesome for 27 years with very few issues.The 261 has been great so far. We'll see if it goes as long as it pretiseser.Has more power and the electronic controlled carburetor is great for big temperature swings and going from sea level to high elevations.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've owned. I probably could have gone with a less expensive chainsaw from Stihl, but so glad I didn't. Easy to use, easy to care for, and did the job without hassle. My brother convinced me to get this particular model...I actually had to say thanks, which doesn't happen often. That's how impressed I was with this chainsaw!
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts on the first or second pull everytime The MS 261 C-M starts up easily and idles right away. Has great power and cuts through everything I've needed it to like a hot knife through butter. The dealer was great and went through the saw operation and safety before i left the shop. Overall a great buying experience and a very satisified customer with the power, features, and ease of starting and operating this chainsaw
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Saw I've had the new MS 261cm for about 4 months now and I upgraded to the yellow chain and I'm extremely impressed!! I've had numberous other Stihl saws with my other newest being a 391 Farm Boss but the weight of it got old so I did my homework and settled on this Saw and I couldn't be happier. I'm so glad I bit the bullet and went with a professional model over the other models. This one will run circles around the 391 Farm Boss. It's lightweight, crazy powerful for a Saw this size and runs flawlessly as I've came to expect from all my Stihl products, I have a bunch of different pieces of equipment "11 In All" and you have a customer for life... Not one time has any of them let me down, can't ask for more than that!!! I'm eyeballing the MS 661cm model now just to have a big boy Saw for the rare times I'll need it however I do have a Stihl addiction :). Were about to buy several hundred acres that will require some cleaning up so I'm pretty sure I need it ;) I currently own a MS 180, MS211,MS391, and a MS261cm which is by far my favorite Saw. The others will rarely get used now and I'll be selling the 391 to upgrade to the 661cm. To anyone considering this Saw I can honestly say you will not regret spending the extra money on it, the old sayings true- You Get What You Pay For.... a Saw that you can do just about everything with, trust me I've ran most all of them and these are the Cadillacs of saws!!!! It's a life long investment..
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth running saw. I've only had the saw a couple months and haven't used it much yet but so far seems to be a fine saw. It doesn't start as easy as i thought it would. Pulls easy but usually take 4-5 cranks to get it fired up when it is cold. Once it is warmed up it starts 1st or 2nd pull.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing but great things to say This saw is amazing. Hands down. From ease of start, great on gas, lots of power, barely any vibration and it cuts through trees like butter. I have 4 acres of wooded property that I am working on clearing with mainly hardwoods and very large poplars and this saw makes quick work of them.It is worth the extra money in my opinion to buy a professional saw. This is something I can see having for 20 years. I replaced an old 1982 Pro Saw from a different company that I got from my grandfather that still runs but was starting to be a bit unreliable. I was leary because that old saw was a powerful beast but this thing is just as powerful if not more.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Saw I am a land owner about to build a house and needed to do some clearing of medium sized trees and dense brush. A friend came over with a small arborist saw to take care of the upper branches and I stayed on the ground with the MS 261. The saw never had a single hiccup during the entire process except a bar oil cap that popped of and drained the bar oil (user error). It handled every tree with ease.I would absolutely recommend this saw if you want a commercial line reliability/power and are willing to pay a bit more for it.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Saw Most powerful saw I have ever used. Only con was starting from a cold start. I am hoping once the saw is broken in this will change.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but I believe it will be worth it. I've had a ms 250 for several years 6+ now and have loved it. I found myself over the last two years cutting a lot of firewood from tops of trees downed from a logging operation. I loved my 250 but wanted just a little more reach (longer bar) and a little more power (larger engine). I was torn between several models including the 271, 291, and 311 all which were valued in a range that I wanted to be in. However I kept looking into this 261 c-m and ended up spending the extra bones for the lightweight body. As long as this thing holds up like my 250 has I will really believe that it was totally worth the purchase. I've used it the past three weekends and I have found myself looking for things to cut just so I can use it more. It even seems lighter than my 250 I guess because there is little to no vibration from this thing. I didn't select the quality or dependability at this time - to be fair, I haven't had it long enough to make that judgement but, it's lightweight, easy to start, the power that I was looking for, and hopefully with the same great quality that I have gotten out of all of my Stihl products. Good luck in making your decisions, hope this helped.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor return to idle performance! You never know when you let off the throttle if it is going to idle or die. This is a real problem if you need to get the saw back into a falling tree to control it. Also the oil filler cap likes to come open when you are running. Not very good quality for a saw in this price range.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the new M tonic carb No adjustments are necessary! lots of power looks good. I'd recommend it
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent mid-range pro saw I just got my ms 261 cm, yesterday, but have already fallen in love with it. It starts in a flash, usually with just one pull, and I do not have to spend time adjusting it's idle and high and low jets. It does it for me, but the one thing I really love is its decompression button. I am used to cranking my 271 and 291 and the cranking sequence is a joy, compared to these saws, even though I generally crank the 271 from the standing position. I haven't cut a lot with the 261, yet, but it mowed through some green oak and pine biscuits with no problem. The only problem I have noted was the chain adjuster gear was a little rough, so I removed the metal bar stud cover and saturated the whole area with bar oil from my pneumatic oiler. No more problem. I had a similar problem on my ms 251 and fixed it in the same fashion. I did break in my 261 with an extra cupful of stihl's Ultra oil on the first two tanks but am now running my standard 50:1 premium non-ethanol mix with Ultra two cycle oil and Platnium bar oil. I did turn the oiler up to its maximum position because I am running a 20 inch, .325, .063, 81 chain on this saw. I have a brand new RS chain to put on it when it gets a little more broken in but I will leave the standard green chain on it for a while. It is at least 2# lighter than either my 271 or 291 and atleast 5# lighter than my 65 cc 029. It will never compete with larger saws but it will stay with my other big saws. I am very pleased with it, so far.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hot knives and butter I purchased this saw to handle blow downs, general property maintenance, and I burn 20 full cord of wood/ year. Upgraded to the 20" solid bar with a 3/8" super rapid.. the saw is marvelous. Minimal vibration transferred to the operator. fairly quiet. I would recommend The only complaint I have is the oil tank is difficult to fill from a gallon jug because of the handlebar placement.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This producr ia the best in the world I bougt 2015 model first becoze we in Croatia dont have this 2016 model vith 4.9kg and 4.1 hp, and i goo in to Ljubljana and buy yesterday this 2016 model and is twice bether than 2015 model is powerful and light is is the best saw in the world. I have aleredy tuning kit and i put it on that saw and i didnt remove it from saw is the best preformance of cuting
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American stalwart tool that will be around a long, long time. My brother swears by his Stihl M271 Farm Boss chainsaw and told me the only chainsaw to consider was a Stihl. Seeing as he uses his chainsaw extensively on his farm along with his bobcat, trencher, and ATV's all of which he also maintains himself, I figure he knows what's mechanically sound and what is not. He was absolutely correct in pointing me at getting a Stihl. The proprietor of Georgia Chainsaw was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. My requirement was to have a chainsaw that could adjust to elevation/altitude with the least amount of difficulty. Traveling off road and potentially confronted with a downed tree blocking the route was part of the reason for the purchase. I'm very pleased with my choice and happy to support an American company and American jobs!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING PRODUCT I HAVE OWNED THIS SAW FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS AND I LOVE IT. IT HAS A GREAT POWER TO WEIGHT RATIO. DEFINITELY A VERY POWERFUL SAW FOR ITS SIZE. HAS A VERY ROBUST AV SYSTEM THAT VIRTUALLY ELIMINATES ALL VIBRATIONS. IT HAS POWERED THROUGH ALL THAT I HAVE THROWN AT IT. WELL WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION. GREAT SAW.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ripper! Stihl makes the best saws hands down. If you want the Best Buy the best. This saw is packed with power I run it with a 20" bar full chisel 33rsf and it sinks through the wood. I use it when my 200t gets to small while climbing. It's perfect for chunking down big 10' ers and catching big tops.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw races to get through a log so that it can start cutting the next one. Great power to fuel consumption ratio. Easy to handle. Revs up quickly while cutting. Great saw.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This latest MS 261 CM is amazing. I have had an original MS 261 for six years. It is a great saw.I have been wanting an MTronic one ever since they came out a few years ago.When I held this latest version, I knew it was time. My Stihl dealership is very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.Brought the saw home today and went through a half tank of gas in our woodlot before the MN winter drove back inside. This saw was not phased by the cold at all. It's lighter and has a faster trigger response than my last saw.Very pleased with this saw!
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buy It I didn't think I was going to keep the saw long when the engine stalled five times between cuts on the first tank of gas (dealer supplied fuel). The second tank the engine stalled three more times. The following tanks (gallons) the saw has run nearly flawless. The engine does stall when a significant change in the outdoor temperature occurs from the last use. It seems like the M-Tronic engine management system needs a few cuts to adjust to new conditions. With that said, I really like the M-Tronic engine management feature. I'm not an engine mechanic, so I just want the saw to perform under all varying conditions. And, it does without any manual adjustments. I have a 18 inch bar and the engine is fully maxed when the bar is buried in a trunk of hardwood. All my thoughts of putting a 20 inch bar on this saw have vanished. The greatest feature is its light weight. I have a small saw for limbing, but I have noticed that I use it very little now.The second best feature is the decompression valve. Works very well and the engine starts easily. The button is perfectly located for easy and quick access. The engineers got this one right!This professional saw is worth the premium price over other Stihl saws that cost less.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw! this saw always starts reliably, has very good power. stihl has their stuff together on this one!
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a good saw The 261 saw has improvements over the old 026. Easier to start. The oil and gas fill opening have been improved. The only thing on the oil fill opening, it is a little harder to clean the wood chips off before opening to refill. The air filter has been improved but I never had a problem with the old one. It is a good running saw. I still have my 10 year old 026 and plan to get a kit with all the rubber mounts (if I can find one) and stuff where I can rebuild it. It still runs great just a little hard to start and the mounts are worn out..
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw elevates my skill level. At 68 years old, and having only owned a few chainsaws in my lifetime, I'm not exactly an "old pro" like a lot of you. Old, but not a pro. But I do know tools pretty well in general.So when two fairly large (20"+ diameter) oaks fell recently, here on my property — and with only an aging Husky saw available (which I like, but, again it's getting old) — I started looking at the Stihl brand just out of interest. The MS 261 C-M was a bit out of my price range, but kept coming up in positive reviews, and I've learned that you tend to get what you pay for. Once I got a look at it in person... the heft, the features, the good looks and all that just sucked the cash out of my wallet! Funny how that is.I've now cut rounds out of the 20" oak trunks (fast, easy), bucked up other wood around a few acres, and done various other jobs around the property (it's powerful, and overkill for most things, but that's sure better than to listen to a chainsaw suffer). I can say I got my moneys worth. It seems to be great saw, and so far I can't say anything bad about it. I also sort of enjoy maintaining mechanical things (up to a point) and this Stihl has a build quality that gives me the confidence that it'll be my friend for a while.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good saw but overheats and quits I haven't used the saw much as it tends to overheat and I can't get it started back up.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big tree versus medium saw Old red oak fell over in storm. Trunk circumference is 99 inches. Diameter is 32 inches. From root flare to first branch is almost 16 feet. Waiting to hear back the sawyer to make lumber out of the trunk and the bigger logs that were limbs. It's been a very able saw so far. It's been taking a cut on each side to cut back the trunk with 18" bar.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Finally decided to go buy an MS 241.When I arrived at my dealer I also looked at MS 261 Big mistake because I left with two news saws.Took saws out today and man do I love both My 290 Farm Boss will spend a lot of time in toolbox of truck.I am now the owner of three pro grade Stihl saws 241 261 and 372 . The pro grade saws are awesome Thanks Stihl and my dealer Phillips Equipment Lynchburg VA
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and versatile Very powerful saw for the size and weight. While it comes with an 18" bar, it easily powers a 20" bar when you need a little more length. The saw complements my 193 perfectly. While I would love to have another larger saw, I have not run into a tree or situation that I couldn't overcome. Great saw and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best saw for the money I have several Stihl saws this one is by far my favorite. I do not have anything bad to saw about it.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can keep up to the big boys I purchased this saw last winter put a full chisel chain on it this saw can almost keep up to my 440 and 460 awesome saw I had to order another one, light weight, starts easy
Date published: 2016-08-30
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_115
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms261cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips