My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 201 T C-M

Advanced arborist chainsaw with a top handle and STIHL M-Tronic™ technology.

MS 201 T C-M
MS 201 T C-M is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent but... I've owned my 201T (2016 model) for several months and have cut over 200 trees clearing pastures in my farm. Anything from 1/2 inch to 6” trunks. One of the best qualities is the weight which I can carry easily and don’t get fatigued like with bigger saws. I have had no major issues (knock on wood) except I have noticed its sometimes hard to get going. I never had that with the 200T. That said, I do care for my saws by cleaning thoroughly after each use. I don’t let saw dust build around the saw like I’ve seen most professional’s do. The 201T is exactly what I needed and so far seems to perform well. Maybe the issues with starting will work itself out. My other saws are MS880, MS461 and MS291 which are all too heavy for this kind of work.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All the good reviews were put here by the manufacturer I have been using Stihl chainsaws exclusively for my tree care company for the last 15 years. I have always been a huge advocate for their equipment quality. However, since they started seemingly every year or two coming out with a new version of a saw the quality has really gone downhill. The 200T was a great saw. The 201T was definitely a durability and reliability downgrade and overall very disappointing after having used the 200T. Then they recently stopped supplying the 201T for this new version which has the "M-Tronic" system. I have purchased two of them in the passed couple months and had the same problems with both. They work at first and then just start having massive problems. I am used to their products delivering for me for at least a few months. These saws lasted literally all of two weeks each. Since then they have been in the shop waiting on parts which are on "back order" undoubtedly because I'm not the only one having these problems. They need to address these problems ASAP or I will be finding another manufacturer to purchase my saws from. I know they have EPA requirements that they are trying to attain, but a chainsaw needs to work. Especially the professional level saw. I am not he kind of person who just complains about things, but I am extremely disappointed by what I have experienced with this M-Tronic system and how the company has responded.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power and handling are excellent! I admit it -- I overuse this chainsaw, but only because it's so good. I used a MS 192 TC in the past and never had a problem. However, the 201 provides more power, allowing me to trim trees that much quicker. I see mixed reviews of some with starting problems, but mine has been fine, starting on the first or second pull every time, warm or cold. Thus, I'm impressed that the M-Tronic system seems to work well. So far I've trimmed over 100 trees and even cut down at least 40 smaller ones (often 10 inches or less). Finally, whenever a storm comes to town, this is a great saw for cutting the limbs down to a size and weight that others can handle for loading. Pricey, but oh, so worth it!
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid but boggs down One of the best tree saws you can get from Stihl. While I still also love the 150 for quick operations, the 201 can do most of your work besides tight, awkward unions and chunking down a large stem. The 201 will most likely bogg down when the stem size is near 3/4 your 16" bar length. You have to pay close attention to your oiler as well and can get clogged if doing excessive cutting. Overall good saw and easy to work on
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great saw when stays running Alot of power compared to the 201. This saw stahls all the time, the idle is too high and take 6-7 pulls to start. The saw was perfect when new, now only 3 months later it gives me many problems. Also my 362 mtronic does the exact same thing (stalls and is hard to restart(
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work all day without getting tired with my 201T CM This is my first Stihl top handle saw. I am no stranger to in tree work or professional landscaping. I've purchased this saw to work on my parent's land. They own 20 acres of coastal Redwoods with Tanoak, Madrone, and Douglas Fir intermixed. The hillsides are very steep and require ropes to work some spots. This saw does the trick and is so much safer than my 029 or 391 for that application.So far my saw has started every time the first pull. After following the instructions from my Stihl guy for initial set up of the M Tronic carb it has run perfectly.I'm actually day dreaming about next Saturday when I get to use my saw again.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 weeks 3 times in the shop. Purchased a 201tc on a friday. By the following tuesday it wasnt oiling. Took it to the dealer and it began oiling for them so they gave it back. Two days later the saw was not oiling again. Brought it to the dealer and they replaced the oiler. Again 2 days later it stopped oiling. Took it back to the dealer and they replaced a breather. Now it just oils sporadically. Very frustrating.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent climbers saw The still 201, 200, and the 020 are absolutely the best top of line arborist, or serious homeowners saw. It is light and is barely noticeable on your climbing belt. I am 30 year tree climber and will use nothing but the best. You can speed cut, and enough power to take down trees. When I would hire climbers, I would hire the climbers with the stihl toppers.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent lightweight saw! My Stihl 009L after almost 20 years of use was beginning to concern me on parts availability, and as my experience with the saw has been excellent, I went straight to Stihl to see what they had that was comparable. The 201TC-M seemed to me to be the replacement saw, and after reading the reviews I made that choice. I have multiple acres that I take care of, and some that I'm clearing, so my saws get a lot of use, like probably every other weekend. I am not a professional tree person, but I would say I have cut down 100's if not 1000's of trees, and if the 009L couldn't handle it I hired the work out. I also don't climb in trees or get off the ground. So all that said, I have now used my new 201TC-M for multiple weekends of cutting, and it has proven to be all that I expected it to be. Light weight, starts easy, good on fuel and oil, cuts excellent with the 16 inch bar, which is what I have on my 009L. It uses the same chains as my 009L, so that was a bonus. I highly recommend this saw, but it is not for the very casual user, this small saw has a lot of power and is very maneuverable, so you need to be even more cautious than with a normal saw. The 009L still runs great and is now my backup saw, I wouldn't part with it.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The much improved 201T is great ! This new 201T with the M-Tronic carb set up is a much improved version over the original 201T , which was lacking in many aspects.I have the original 200T also and this 201T CM is ready to make chips really fly right out of the box, leaves the original 201T in the dust.Starts easily, throttle is instant, no lag at all, keeps revs in the cut, super fuel economy compared to 200T, but with the 200T's power plus some more.If you were blind folded, I am not sure you could tell the difference between the 200T and 201T CM saws, yes 200T is louder, other than that, the 201T CM is the Arborists new king of the hill top handle saw.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It starts and runs in below 0 that's outta the box!! Tried the older 201 (barf) still rocking a 200t this saw is as close as I've seen yet its got the power the 200t had so far I like it better actually I can't say on how long it will last though like I said its out the box very pleased though
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's lite Its perfect up in tree I have the old version wish had new
Date published: 2015-12-03
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms201tcm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips