My Servicing Dealer

MS 201 T C-M

Advanced arborist chainsaw with a top handle and STIHL M-Tronic™ technology.

MS 201 T C-M
MS 201 T C-M is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring back the ms200 I have an amazing 7 year old ms200 and to this day is still running perfectly!I bought this new 201tcm as a backup saw and I have had nothing but problems with it since day 1. After the dealer finally admitted it was wasnt running as it should with all the hesitating and stalling they replaced the electronic controlled carb. It ran great for about 2 weeks and again started to repeat with hesitating and stalling. The ms 200 is the perfect climbing saw imo it would be nice if they could make these new saws as reliable as the old ones.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only saw I want in the tree As full time climber I am completely satisfied with this saw. Once it's broken in it honestly cut like a 200. Easy to start stays running great balance to it. Mostly I remove pines, this saw will handle a 22-24in log with out any problems.Also (this is probably just me) but it seems like the fuel consumption is extremely low.Can go up a 130ft ponderosa pine, limb, top and piece down the small wood all on one tank of gas with fuel to spare!The price tags sucks but the performance and reliability are worth it.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great lightweight saw with plenty of power. I bought this saw as a replacement for the 200 T. I do volunteer work for a large disaster relief organization. This saw is very dependable and can run for many hours.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect In-Tree Powerhouse The 201 T M-C is an awesome saw, with excellent power, and maneuverability. The saw is easy to start, cold or hot, and usually starts with just a couple of pulls. I highly recommend this saw as it has totally lived up to my demanding expectations.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Arborist Climbing Saw Ever!! I bought this saw about two years ago. And everyday it's like new. So much power for a climbing saw of its size. I'll definitely be buying another one this year. But there is nothing this saw can't take on When climbing. It's completely so simple to clean and maintain. I have no idea why anybody disrespects this saw? The only conclusion I can ever figure out is this: they don't care and take care of it like a treasure like I do! Lol. To end: This is probably one of the best climbing saws ever but one of the most powerful climbing saws ever too! No regrets buying it! I'll be buying another.Go STIHL or go home;)
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy 2 Start creates horrible user fatigue I use a couple of 201C's with a rear-handle set up. I really like this saw overall but I'm experiencing painful acute tendonitis in my starting arm (inside elbow pit) from what I believe to be the snap I get at the end of the rope pulling action of the Easy 2 Start saws. To ease the pain of my right arm, I've switched to starting with my left arm and I'm now experiencing the same pain and fatigue I have in my right arm. I've been an avid cutter and Stihl user for over 15 years and own my own land management company. I've never experienced this type of fatigue, before using the Easy 2 Start equipped saws.Does the 201C with a rear-handle set-up, come in a non-Easy 2 Start model? I sure hope so! I'm not sure how much longer these arms are going to last at the rate we're going.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MS-201 TC This machine was sold to me as the best on the market with it's easy start. I have only used it 3-4 times and each time I spend half a day trying to get it started. It is just as well I am not trying to start this whilst I am half way up a tree. In fact I can't bare to have another encounter with it. Unfortunately my 16 year old dependable Dolmar chainsaw was stolen and I can see why now as this expensive piece of equipment is no substitute.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent but... I've owned my 201T (2016 model) for several months and have cut over 200 trees clearing pastures in my farm. Anything from 1/2 inch to 6” trunks. One of the best qualities is the weight which I can carry easily and don’t get fatigued like with bigger saws. I have had no major issues (knock on wood) except I have noticed its sometimes hard to get going. I never had that with the 200T. That said, I do care for my saws by cleaning thoroughly after each use. I don’t let saw dust build around the saw like I’ve seen most professional’s do. The 201T is exactly what I needed and so far seems to perform well. Maybe the issues with starting will work itself out. My other saws are MS880, MS461 and MS291 which are all too heavy for this kind of work.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All the good reviews were put here by the manufacturer I have been using Stihl chainsaws exclusively for my tree care company for the last 15 years. I have always been a huge advocate for their equipment quality. However, since they started seemingly every year or two coming out with a new version of a saw the quality has really gone downhill. The 200T was a great saw. The 201T was definitely a durability and reliability downgrade and overall very disappointing after having used the 200T. Then they recently stopped supplying the 201T for this new version which has the "M-Tronic" system. I have purchased two of them in the passed couple months and had the same problems with both. They work at first and then just start having massive problems. I am used to their products delivering for me for at least a few months. These saws lasted literally all of two weeks each. Since then they have been in the shop waiting on parts which are on "back order" undoubtedly because I'm not the only one having these problems. They need to address these problems ASAP or I will be finding another manufacturer to purchase my saws from. I know they have EPA requirements that they are trying to attain, but a chainsaw needs to work. Especially the professional level saw. I am not he kind of person who just complains about things, but I am extremely disappointed by what I have experienced with this M-Tronic system and how the company has responded.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power and handling are excellent! I admit it -- I overuse this chainsaw, but only because it's so good. I used a MS 192 TC in the past and never had a problem. However, the 201 provides more power, allowing me to trim trees that much quicker. I see mixed reviews of some with starting problems, but mine has been fine, starting on the first or second pull every time, warm or cold. Thus, I'm impressed that the M-Tronic system seems to work well. So far I've trimmed over 100 trees and even cut down at least 40 smaller ones (often 10 inches or less). Finally, whenever a storm comes to town, this is a great saw for cutting the limbs down to a size and weight that others can handle for loading. Pricey, but oh, so worth it!
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid but boggs down One of the best tree saws you can get from Stihl. While I still also love the 150 for quick operations, the 201 can do most of your work besides tight, awkward unions and chunking down a large stem. The 201 will most likely bogg down when the stem size is near 3/4 your 16" bar length. You have to pay close attention to your oiler as well and can get clogged if doing excessive cutting. Overall good saw and easy to work on
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great saw when stays running Alot of power compared to the 201. This saw stahls all the time, the idle is too high and take 6-7 pulls to start. The saw was perfect when new, now only 3 months later it gives me many problems. Also my 362 mtronic does the exact same thing (stalls and is hard to restart(
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work all day without getting tired with my 201T CM This is my first Stihl top handle saw. I am no stranger to in tree work or professional landscaping. I've purchased this saw to work on my parent's land. They own 20 acres of coastal Redwoods with Tanoak, Madrone, and Douglas Fir intermixed. The hillsides are very steep and require ropes to work some spots. This saw does the trick and is so much safer than my 029 or 391 for that application.So far my saw has started every time the first pull. After following the instructions from my Stihl guy for initial set up of the M Tronic carb it has run perfectly.I'm actually day dreaming about next Saturday when I get to use my saw again.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 weeks 3 times in the shop. Purchased a 201tc on a friday. By the following tuesday it wasnt oiling. Took it to the dealer and it began oiling for them so they gave it back. Two days later the saw was not oiling again. Brought it to the dealer and they replaced the oiler. Again 2 days later it stopped oiling. Took it back to the dealer and they replaced a breather. Now it just oils sporadically. Very frustrating.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent climbers saw The still 201, 200, and the 020 are absolutely the best top of line arborist, or serious homeowners saw. It is light and is barely noticeable on your climbing belt. I am 30 year tree climber and will use nothing but the best. You can speed cut, and enough power to take down trees. When I would hire climbers, I would hire the climbers with the stihl toppers.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent lightweight saw! My Stihl 009L after almost 20 years of use was beginning to concern me on parts availability, and as my experience with the saw has been excellent, I went straight to Stihl to see what they had that was comparable. The 201TC-M seemed to me to be the replacement saw, and after reading the reviews I made that choice. I have multiple acres that I take care of, and some that I'm clearing, so my saws get a lot of use, like probably every other weekend. I am not a professional tree person, but I would say I have cut down 100's if not 1000's of trees, and if the 009L couldn't handle it I hired the work out. I also don't climb in trees or get off the ground. So all that said, I have now used my new 201TC-M for multiple weekends of cutting, and it has proven to be all that I expected it to be. Light weight, starts easy, good on fuel and oil, cuts excellent with the 16 inch bar, which is what I have on my 009L. It uses the same chains as my 009L, so that was a bonus. I highly recommend this saw, but it is not for the very casual user, this small saw has a lot of power and is very maneuverable, so you need to be even more cautious than with a normal saw. The 009L still runs great and is now my backup saw, I wouldn't part with it.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The much improved 201T is great ! This new 201T with the M-Tronic carb set up is a much improved version over the original 201T , which was lacking in many aspects.I have the original 200T also and this 201T CM is ready to make chips really fly right out of the box, leaves the original 201T in the dust.Starts easily, throttle is instant, no lag at all, keeps revs in the cut, super fuel economy compared to 200T, but with the 200T's power plus some more.If you were blind folded, I am not sure you could tell the difference between the 200T and 201T CM saws, yes 200T is louder, other than that, the 201T CM is the Arborists new king of the hill top handle saw.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It starts and runs in below 0 that's outta the box!! Tried the older 201 (barf) still rocking a 200t this saw is as close as I've seen yet its got the power the 200t had so far I like it better actually I can't say on how long it will last though like I said its out the box very pleased though
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's lite Its perfect up in tree I have the old version wish had new
Date published: 2015-12-03
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms201tcm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips