My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 C-BE

A powerful, fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use and easy to adjust.

Image of ms251cbe
MS 251 C-BE is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 376.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but... Bought this a couple weeks back. Did a lot of cutting before and after a hurricane. Everything works great and this thing tears through sizeable logs. I spent a little more for the “easy start” function and I am not sold on it. I have only had for a short time but I think I would rather have the regular start. Overall though I am very pleased with the saw and believe it will serve me well.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time Still saws are for people that want to spend more time working on the saw than getting work done with a saw. Ive used stihl for 20 years and I'll never buy another one. They're all garbage. My newest one won't start after a break. So if you take lunch forget about using the saw for the rest of the day. Junk. Take it from someone who's already made the mistake of using this brand.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from location. Product. Great saw as always stihl provided and great saw and it performed great cutting all the wood like hit knife thru butter and also starts with just about a half pull. Love it.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Dealer provided excellent service This Dealer provided excellent service and highlighted this product great features for our needs.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up to its reputation I have several low and high end chainsaws, this model is by far the most pracical for the weekend warrior no doubt.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 251 C is a great all around saw I am coming from a 70's vintage 031 AV which is finally getting tired. I was slightly skeptical about buying this saw with the quick chain adjuster but I thought I would give it a go. I don't have enough good to say about this saw.We had a bunch of very large trees come down and I have cut about 5 cords of wood with it ranging from 3" up to 3' in diameter. The saw has not missed a beat, easy to start every time and runs like a champ. As long as I kept the chain sharp, it would darn near keep up with my buddy's pro Stihl saw which was much larger. Admittedly this was an unusually big job for this saw but it handled it perfectly and now I have an easy to use, lightweight saw for future, much smaller tasks. All of this in a light weight, extremely low vibration package - I never felt I needed more power. In all of the cutting I have done, I have never had an issue with the adjuster binding or allowing things to come loose. I really think the negative reviews are from people who haven't read the manual, aren't operating it correctly, or not using the proper fuel. Even though the price is high, I have only ran Stihl MotoMix through it. I looked at and almost bought a major competing brand but the overall fit/finish, components, hardware, and build quality of this Stihl saw was hands down better. If I had to pick one thing that I didn't love, it would be how the radius of the sprocket cover sticks out farther on the right side due to the quick adjuster. On logs with an odd profile, it can make the spikes a little hard to engage correctly. Very minuscule criticism as the pros of the easy start/quick adjust definitely out weight the con. I think it could benefit from longer spikes. It is very easy to quickly tighten a stretching chain or release pressure when I am done cutting.
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The chainsaw is new, won't start I purchased this chainsaw less than a month ago. I had used a family member's identical chainsaw 5-6 times and was very impressed, so I based my buying decision on this. What a mistake! The unit was hard to start ("Easy Start"???) the first time I used it, but I attributed this to the saw being brand new. I did get it started eventually, and used it for about 45 minutes to an hour. Warm starts during this usage were uneventful. I tried to use the saw yesterday (8/28/19), and I could not get the unit to start. I was following the starting instructions precisely, and I am using Stihl canned fuel. I now regret this purchase, especially since it's supposed to be a "high end" homeowner saw.
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts every time Powerful reliable saw, with the spring assist the saw is simple to start. At 74 I was having a little difficulty starting the saw, so my dealer suggested the 251, it was just what the doctor ordered. Most of my saw work now is Carving, so I must saw my absolute favorite tool is the Stihl MSA 200.
Date published: 2019-08-27
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_376
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl