My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 C-BE

A powerful, fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use and easy to adjust.

MS 251 C-BE
MS 251 C-BE is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 363.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase This saw is the easiest to start out of any saw I've ever operated. It's almost eerie how easily it starts. Cut through chunks of a 65' tall maple like it was butter.
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value I love how easy it starts every time and it is the light weight
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value/works great Excellent chain saw, easy to start, good power, vibration damper works well.Only con is choke/run lever flimsy. Other than that. Two thumbs up.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw that I've ever owned. This truly is a great chainsaw. It is extremely easy to start and to adjust chain tension. It has plenty of power for any homeowner task. This is about the sixth chainsaw that I've owned, but my first Stihl. If I ever need another one, it will definitely be a Stihl.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product This saw is all it was promised to be. It’s so easy to start and operate. Love the easy chain adjustment also.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chainsaw I have ever owned! I used to cut 8 to 10 cords of firewood for my dad every summer. With that much cutting, I went through saws every couple of years. I heard about the easy start technology, from my sister in law. When I went to LaPine Ace Hardware. I was interested in getting another Stihl, as I liked their products. When I found they had the 251 in easy start, I bought the saw. It is exactly what I needed in a chainsaw. I used it to clear trees (over 30) and cut firewood. It has worked perfectly. I have Tendonitis in one shoulder and tendonosis in the other, as well as a bad back. Thank you for making a saw that starts so easily, and works perfectly for my needs!
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get the "C-BE" Freakish start with the "E" Easy2Start system (in a good way). Well worth the $20 differential. I'm not sure why Stihl makes the decision hard for homeowners by offering the saw without. The delay between when you pull the cord and when the engine actually fires can be a bit disconcerting the first few starts. You definitely need to be ready. Bucked a 16" oak that a comparable 2.4 hp <another product> couldn't (in fairness, I think the new <other product> had a clutch defect out of the box). There were a couple of times the 3 hp Sthl engine bogged a bit but a quick re-positioning of the saw and it took off again. Of course there's nothing like a new sharp chain.18" seems to be a good size for a homeowner. I agree with what another reviewer said comparing this saw and the 3.5 hp 371 with the 20" bar - "why buy a saw for the tree you might cut".This jury is still out on the Quick Chain Adjuster. I like the "no tool" aspect since one can get lazy about tightening a loose chain when you have to search for the combo tool. But the mechanism is a bit temperamental. Hand tightening the cover with the wingnut generally changes the tension you dialed-in forcing a repeat. The double posts on saws without this feature seem to do a better job holding the bar in place. But a couple of tries and you'll figure this out. I am also a bit concerned that a hand tightened wingnut will slip, as some reviewers have noted, but I didn't experience this cutting up the first tree.BTW, the <other product> went back to the Big Box store. I felt guilty since the manual says "Do not return to place of purchase" and the fix was probably relatively easy, had I taken it for repair. But who wants to do that with a new purchase. It was nice of the store to take it back without hassle. You won't get the same insurance purchasing from Stihl's well controlled distributorship network and you will pay $70 more for this saw, but in the end you'll be happy you did. At least I am.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for homeowners The saw starts easily andr runs smoothly. It could have a little more power, but is really fine for my use. I notice that the switch and chock are flush with the outer case, seems to protect them from being bumped and broken. This a great improvement. One thing for me is the handle is very easy to change positions when working in tight spaces compared to other saws.
Date published: 2019-05-24
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_363
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl