Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 156reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nimble but powerful for the woodcutter I got this for a christmas present last year as we were going to a fireplace insert to save on home heating energy bills. I used this saw all summer, fall and winter and it has been excellent. Its light and nimble but has plenty of power and starts up like a dream. I also have a 362cm for large stuff and it is also an excellent saw but I find myself using this woodboss much more often. I highly recommend it. I would say I actively cut firewood every other weekend. March 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Homeowner Saw This is the first new saw I have purchased and have always had hand me downs. Saw has plenty of power and is balanced enough for bucking or limbing. From day one I used the RS .325 .63 Yellow chain and the saw now cuts like a Stihl branded saw. Wear your chaps and wear your gloves and helmet and respect your saw, This isn't a weed eater your playing with. 1# key to safety is to not put your legs, feet or head in the follow through path or kick back path of the saw. Seems like common sense but you know the saying. When you walk with the saw, use the brake, that's what its there for. Tripping with a running saw is easy to do and will make you have a bad day.The green chain takes 2-3 times longer for the same cut as the yellow RS chain. The Stihl 2 in 1 file is a must when running Chisel chain. As soon as the saw stops throwing chips and is making saw dust then you need to touch up the teeth with the file. Use the green chain for cutting up that dirty dead wood trees that is full of ant holes. You would be surprised how much dirt ants bring into a tree. I'm not a big fan of the single bar nut but it does make it easier to get the side case off and clean up the saw. There is a metal collar that the nut cranks down on so its not just cranking down on plastic. The chain will slack when its hot so don't immediately rush to tighten it. I highly recommend the Oregon 100961X Power Mate Sprocket System over the paddle wheel design. The chain seems to pull better through wood and less wear and tear on the saw. I use the .325 7 tooth sprocket. Not sure why Stihl doesn't make a rim sprocket for this size saw. Cold starts are easy, 1 or 2 pulls until the saw burps then move the choke up one click and it starts every time. Warm starts it will normally start with the choke on run with 1 or 2 pulls. I only run the Moto Mix in my Stihl blowers so I normally have a gallon on hand for the saw. You can run premix but make sure it is ethanol free gas. There is a lot of plastic on the saw so only time will tell if it holds up. There is a trade off of weight vs. durability. Over all I'm pretty happy with the saw. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great chainsaw backed but awesome service. I ended up deciding on the 251 Wood Boss and am so glad I did. I looked into other brands of chainsaws as well. The support at the local Stihl dealership was really helpful to confirm my research online. I also feel like I have a place to go if I ever need anything or actually wear it out (doubtful). I already used it to cut small rounds off a downed tree for firewood and cut up some large limbs that fell on the property.One thing that I love about this chainsaw is it's incredibly easy to start. I wore out my last chainsaw (another brand) and towards the end I really had to pull to get it to start. With the Wood Boss, it takes about 5 pounds of effort with only two pulls from cold. I also love that it doesn't leak fuel or chain lube. All my other chainsaws did. It's also the little things that matter like the way the caps screw down and how the bar adjusts. All those things really add up when you use it. I'm so glad I purchased it and literally love firing it up to go cut wood! February 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great Homeowner chainsaw fo the price. I bought this saw about 2 years ago from a local dealer in NH. It's a great saw for cutting firewood and clearing brush and small trees. I ran this saw for about 2 hours nonstop one day while clearing brush and small trees. never over heated or bogged down. it's a great saw for the price and it's more than a homeowner saw. February 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I wanted... I own 2.5 acres in East TN surrounded by trees on 3 sides and have a lot of trees to maintain. During last winter's ice storm ~12 pine trees either snapped in half or came down completely. I bought an MS251 in November and its made short work of that mess over the past 1/2 dozen weekends. It starts easy every time, even when its only 35 degrees outside. Having owned several other chainsaws over the years the STIHL is worth the extra coin. I'd have given it 5 stars across the board but cannot vouch for Quality as I've only been using it for ~3 months. So far so good though and its easy to adjust the chain tension. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Saw The Stihl 251 Wood Boss is the first chainsaw I have purchased. I was set on a Stihl after using a Stihl 290 Farm Boss that my father in law has owned for years. You get what you pay for and the 251 delivers. I have only run two tanks through it during the break in period. So while only using half throttle, it has plenty of power. The vibration reducing system is great. 4 hours of cutting and no tingly hands. It also seems to sip fuel. Very happy with my purchase. January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good saw. This is my second Stihl saw. The first, an 021, was a great saw. I've owned this current Wood Boss for 9 months and it is as or more powerful than the 021, but I believe it's a little bit cheaper built. The biggest complaint I have about the Wood Boss is the single chain-tightening bolt. I'm having a heck of a time keeping the chain tight and I'm afraid to really crank down on the tightening bolt head as it has a plastic grommet looking thing around it. Other than that, the saw is powerful and cuts like a demon. It cranks right up, usually on the second pull when cold, first time when warmed up, and I really like the easy-fill oil and gas tank covers. December 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 251 WOOD BOSS I was looking to buy a saw so I could cut some fire wood and smoking wood. I searched and searched red reviews and all that jazz. I went to a local ace hardware that was stihl dealer and the salesman who also happened to be there mechanic took the time to go over this particular saw with me. After I decided to buy it he took me in the back to his shop and filled it up with gas an bar and chain oil. He started it and tuned it and got it running perfect (it didn't take much). I took it out today the same day I bought it and cut a truck bed full of oak and this saw did phenominal. Never had one issue with it. I ran it hard and never had a problem restarting it. I am very pleased with this purchase and glad I went with a stihl December 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shil 251/Wood Boss Needed a saw, could have done the less expensive, or gone cheaper (route). But I got a Sthil. I needed to trim the 3 large oak trees in my yard. I got the Wood Boss! Well the chain saw DEFINITELY lives up to the name. I used all of the recommended products from the dealer in Deer Park, TX. I purchased the bar oil, fuel oil, lanyard, extra chain, sharpening stone (dremel) and carrying case. Great service, great product. Reliability is the best, I had a bit of trouble starting out but the dealer advised me over the phone and I was underway in no time. The built in safety feature on the Stop-bar, was much appreciated while I was 30 feet at the top of a ladder (while tied off). It prevented me from hurting myself. Great reliability, great fuel economy, and a well designed safety feature. December 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw for home owners A excellent saw lots of power for cutting fire wood extremely pleased with performance and durability of the MS 251 my next saw will be a stihl professional saw for the larger trees. December 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw worked me We just had an ice storm come through, needed a new saw, so I decided on this one. Used this one first day, and it was great. Plenty of power, easy to operate easy to handle. Very good product. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets my needs I own a Pecan tree orchard and it's a normal event for limbs to fall or for trees to be trimmed. I've had the pleasure of using this saw for an entire year and it has met my expectations, fully. Limbs can be anywhere from 4 inches to 25 inches though, this saw is never too heavy to handle. Only on one occasion did I have an issue with getting it started however, I blame myself for getting into a hurry. Aside from that one episode, it has been flawless. Some would disagree to this but, I run STIHL's Moto Mix fuel only. I do so because there can be periods where the saw could sit for more than 2 months - guess I'm paranoid. Overall, this is probably the best saw for light to medium work. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a work horse I wanted a saw for some tree cutting around the house 50"pine trees, After looking at different saws i picked the stihl ms 251 wood boss. This saw is a beast. Starting up cold 3 or 4 pulls starting up warm 1 pull, The ms 251 never missed a beat took trees down like they were made of butter. light weight in size and easy to control very little vibration . very very happy with the stihl ms 251 wood boss November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw...Stihl continues to make great products I've owned a Stihl 034 for over 20 years, and it has never let me down. I still run it today. I bought this saw, looking for something lighter for trimming branches and small trees. I find myself grabbing this saw for almost everything now. For it's small size and light weight, this saw is a beast. Easily cuts through large logs and cord wood, but is still light enough for small pruning jobs. Seems to be a good quality saw that I expect to own for another 20 years. October 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Product I purchased this product after a wind storm occurred. I have owned several chain saws that never seemed to get the job done. They didn't last long and failed to start and didn't seem to cut like they should.This saw cuts like a dream. The local Ace hardware store convinced me bite the bullet and purchase this saw. We cut the downed trees with ease. Two days of constant cutting and it never failed. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this Saw! I bought this saw after a tornado struck our campground. It is the first chainsaw i have ever purchased, and I am so glad I did. Always starts easy, easy to adjust the bar and very fuel efficient. I have put in about four days of constant use at the campground and only went thru 1 gallon of gas. 8 hrs a day almost all day long it has had to be sharpened a few times, but does all the ground work effortlessly. I highly recommend this saw for a homeowner as I have punished this saw, it even fell off a ten foot high roof and never missed a beat. September 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disaapointing... Returned for Refund Cheap Plastic trigger Handle was so thin and cheaply made that it moved apart far enough to pinch the skin on your hand . The plastic is slick on the handle as well , so it doesn't grip well. I cranked this saw a few times and it picnhed the skin on my hand enough that I didn't even start it , I took it back . Everything about this saw was cheaper made than the 250 model . there is only one bar bolt mounted in plastic.. The choke lever felt so flimsy.I have gone out and looked at other brands to compare quality since I took this one back, so far I have not seen any saws in the price range of the 251 that felt so cheaply made as the 251...and none that piched my skine when I held it.. I was very disappointed in the stihl 251 saw, wish I had looked a little closer before I wasted my time with buying it.. I guess I gave the stihl name a little toooo much respect.. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most reliable chainsaw I've ever owned Purchased my MS 251 in September 2013. Wood is my only source of heat so I researched carefully prior to purchasing a new saw. I needed a tough saw that would be reliable in the woods. I'm starting my third season this fall using the MS 251, cutting white oak and hickory. I use a bit over 5 cords a season. In its first two seasons, the MS 251 easy start has never failed to start on a couple pulls (I took the time to learn the recommended start proceedure). I just cut this season'e first two pick-up loads, again the saw has performed flawlessly, a good start on its third season. My cuts range from 3" up to 16'+. The saw handles all amazingly easily (I keep a sharp blade). For a heavy fire wood user, this is a great machine. August 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw I have replaced a 028 with this saw and am very impressed with its ease of use and how well it is balanced. i was worried that the size would make it a bit undersized for cutting firewood but am truly amazed at how well it handles the job. I will recommend this saw to anyone who heats with wood. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw Best saw I have ever owned. No problems with it. Great value.Easy to use. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Malfunctioning Starts As a handyman, apt. complex facilities manager, I've owned & operated professional grade STIHL equipment since 1968. My daughter recently moved to Asheboro, NC where her property has many trees. As a gift I purchased a new STIHL MS-251 WOOD BOSS. Sometimes the truth is hard to take! The Master Control with the compression combination needs to be reengineered. I used the chainsaw for 2/12hour days. I read & studied the operator manual. "Even a child can start it." Really? To start, each time I had to pull the cord at least 10 times. After it ran out of gas, I had to remove the spark plug to get it started, per manual.The cold start was very difficult, no matter how the Master Control/Chain Lock were positioned, finally after 7 pulls it started at the ON position. It is being returned to the STIHL dealer. July 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has a little performance anxiety Talked my friend into buying this saw for his yard worked and checked it out with some more experienced sawyers I know and they thought it was a good deal. However after less than an hours work the first one siezed and would not restart. I found this curious as a previous model I had used in my training had no issues. We took it back exchanged it and assumed that it was bad luck or inexperienced sales people. The new one though ran rough the first day so I took it right back they said it had flooded but offered no explanation. After some running it eventually started to run better for the last 2-3 days. Then just this evening before I was going to have my Instructor and friend, also a certified technician and experienced firefighter look it over to be safe it would not start and finally siezed entirely. As a sawyer I cannot wait to find out the root cause of this issue, hopefully have some answers soon and hopefully the warranty will cover this. I put my faith in Stihl even with this hassle but based on some other reviews perhaps Stihl needs to revisit their design on this particular model. On final note I will say the price was good and it was good to buy a saw now before they all go to these stupid electric EPA carburetors. Stihl will still be our choice for equipment for our forestry work this year. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw i have had stihl saws from 1991 was my first one and it lasted till 2011 , when the dealer said it was giveing me proplems and to just get a new one . so i bought a ms 250 and in june 2015 i lent it out to some one to use and they took off with it and never got it backso i just got this 251 and its about the same as the 250 but just a touch more power love the saw and all i got to say is gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo stihl one great saw and alwasy was a great company so buy one you will love it June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by incredible power.. doesn't wear you out! We had a couple big limbs on a huge oak tree get hit by lighting and had to clean up the back yard. the largest part that fell was probably 2 feet in diameter. my father had an ms 181 c and i did a lot with it. actually amazing how much power it has for a little saw. but when i bought a new wood boss and took on the rest of the tree it blew my mind how much more power it had and really due to the way its built i didn't get any more tired using it then the much smaller ms 181. i got the ms 251 wood boss because it just felt like the perfect size in my hand and it still in the 40-50 cc range and i didn't feel like i needed the upgraded ms 251 c with the fancy tensioner and easy start. my fathers saw had the quick bar tension deal on it and mine does not and ill tell you I'm alright with that. i felt like it kept coming loose on me and it just doesn't take that long to use the old school stud and nut method.all in all i am amazed with this saw, for the money, the power you get , and the stihl service behind it, you can't beat this saw if your felling a good size oak tree or just doing some trimming here and there. this saw won't let you down. June 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall saw. For a homeowner saw, it has good power and has held up very well. I wanted something in the 40cc''s and didn't want to dump a ton of money so I bought one in March of 13. Even with an 036 and a 461 the 251 has generally been my go to saw especially for smaller stuff and limbing. I've put a lot of fuel through it and it's held up very well during use and transport.My pros would be good power, always simple to start, good quality for homeowner saw, and super simple to tune for anyone with a little knowledge.My cons would be it's a little pricy for what it is, single bar nut, and you have to remove three captives to access the air filter but I suppose that's being a little picky. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to start,and handle Was given this saw as a birthday gift,this is my very first chainsaw and it really is very easy to operate,READ THE MANUAL step 1!! started on 2nd pull without any problems.going up on the family property to widen trails this saw is very user friendly,after 2 refills i checked the tension on the chain made adjustment as needed,worked for about 4 hours straight no problems at all! ms251 has plenty of power to cut all day long.I am very happy with this quality tool.THANK YOU STIHL! June 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl, the best of the best! I came from an electric chainsaw with an almost worthless manual oiler, so honestly any gas chainsaw is an improvement. That having been said, so far this is a lovely saw. What an awesome piece of equipment! I've only had an opportunity to use it once so far, but it sure was fun. My first cut with it was limbing off about a 12" section of tree. I just set it against the branch and let it do the work itself. Just like butter! Lots of power. Perhaps a little louder than I expected, but I like that about it. Hearing protection advised.I really enjoyed the experience of buying my saw from a dealer who knows about what they are selling. They answered all my questions and stepped me through the starting procedure and such. I'm sure it will be great to work with them if I ever have any issues. I will be visiting them again as I will only buy Stihl oils and products for my saw.If there is a con, it might be that it only has a two year warranty if you purchase a 6 pack of Stihl synthetic oil or a can of Stihl pre-mix fuel. The other brands offer a two year warranty without any additions such as that. But, if warranty work is required, my Stihl dealer is only a few blocks away and work will be performed in-shop as opposed to the box store saws that would get shipped off. Another reason you pay a little more for a Stihl.Overall worth the price I paid. I put four stars for value due to the price, but it is a Stihl and I expect it will last practically forever. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw! Bought this saw after looking at other brands. Glad I went with Stihl. Easy to operate and trouble free. Good power to weight. Been taking down 16" - 18" trees no problem. Well made. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Optimized value and performance. Quality product. This saw exhibits the quality level one expects from STIHL. Overall it performs well, having the power I need to cut trails and fall trees up to 2 feet in diameter with ease. If you are into managing recreational land for wildlife management by creating trails this saw will do all you need it too. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This chainsaw is a dream to use, easy starting, fast cutting. and very durable June 3, 2015
<<prev 23 4 5 6next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips