Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 143reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw...Stihl continues to make great products I've owned a Stihl 034 for over 20 years, and it has never let me down. I still run it today. I bought this saw, looking for something lighter for trimming branches and small trees. I find myself grabbing this saw for almost everything now. For it's small size and light weight, this saw is a beast. Easily cuts through large logs and cord wood, but is still light enough for small pruning jobs. Seems to be a good quality saw that I expect to own for another 20 years. October 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Product I purchased this product after a wind storm occurred. I have owned several chain saws that never seemed to get the job done. They didn't last long and failed to start and didn't seem to cut like they should.This saw cuts like a dream. The local Ace hardware store convinced me bite the bullet and purchase this saw. We cut the downed trees with ease. Two days of constant cutting and it never failed. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this Saw! I bought this saw after a tornado struck our campground. It is the first chainsaw i have ever purchased, and I am so glad I did. Always starts easy, easy to adjust the bar and very fuel efficient. I have put in about four days of constant use at the campground and only went thru 1 gallon of gas. 8 hrs a day almost all day long it has had to be sharpened a few times, but does all the ground work effortlessly. I highly recommend this saw for a homeowner as I have punished this saw, it even fell off a ten foot high roof and never missed a beat. September 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disaapointing... Returned for Refund Cheap Plastic trigger Handle was so thin and cheaply made that it moved apart far enough to pinch the skin on your hand . The plastic is slick on the handle as well , so it doesn't grip well. I cranked this saw a few times and it picnhed the skin on my hand enough that I didn't even start it , I took it back . Everything about this saw was cheaper made than the 250 model . there is only one bar bolt mounted in plastic.. The choke lever felt so flimsy.I have gone out and looked at other brands to compare quality since I took this one back, so far I have not seen any saws in the price range of the 251 that felt so cheaply made as the 251...and none that piched my skine when I held it.. I was very disappointed in the stihl 251 saw, wish I had looked a little closer before I wasted my time with buying it.. I guess I gave the stihl name a little toooo much respect.. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most reliable chainsaw I've ever owned Purchased my MS 251 in September 2013. Wood is my only source of heat so I researched carefully prior to purchasing a new saw. I needed a tough saw that would be reliable in the woods. I'm starting my third season this fall using the MS 251, cutting white oak and hickory. I use a bit over 5 cords a season. In its first two seasons, the MS 251 easy start has never failed to start on a couple pulls (I took the time to learn the recommended start proceedure). I just cut this season'e first two pick-up loads, again the saw has performed flawlessly, a good start on its third season. My cuts range from 3" up to 16'+. The saw handles all amazingly easily (I keep a sharp blade). For a heavy fire wood user, this is a great machine. August 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw I have replaced a 028 with this saw and am very impressed with its ease of use and how well it is balanced. i was worried that the size would make it a bit undersized for cutting firewood but am truly amazed at how well it handles the job. I will recommend this saw to anyone who heats with wood. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw Best saw I have ever owned. No problems with it. Great value.Easy to use. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Malfunctioning Starts As a handyman, apt. complex facilities manager, I've owned & operated professional grade STIHL equipment since 1968. My daughter recently moved to Asheboro, NC where her property has many trees. As a gift I purchased a new STIHL MS-251 WOOD BOSS. Sometimes the truth is hard to take! The Master Control with the compression combination needs to be reengineered. I used the chainsaw for 2/12hour days. I read & studied the operator manual. "Even a child can start it." Really? To start, each time I had to pull the cord at least 10 times. After it ran out of gas, I had to remove the spark plug to get it started, per manual.The cold start was very difficult, no matter how the Master Control/Chain Lock were positioned, finally after 7 pulls it started at the ON position. It is being returned to the STIHL dealer. July 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has a little performance anxiety Talked my friend into buying this saw for his yard worked and checked it out with some more experienced sawyers I know and they thought it was a good deal. However after less than an hours work the first one siezed and would not restart. I found this curious as a previous model I had used in my training had no issues. We took it back exchanged it and assumed that it was bad luck or inexperienced sales people. The new one though ran rough the first day so I took it right back they said it had flooded but offered no explanation. After some running it eventually started to run better for the last 2-3 days. Then just this evening before I was going to have my Instructor and friend, also a certified technician and experienced firefighter look it over to be safe it would not start and finally siezed entirely. As a sawyer I cannot wait to find out the root cause of this issue, hopefully have some answers soon and hopefully the warranty will cover this. I put my faith in Stihl even with this hassle but based on some other reviews perhaps Stihl needs to revisit their design on this particular model. On final note I will say the price was good and it was good to buy a saw now before they all go to these stupid electric EPA carburetors. Stihl will still be our choice for equipment for our forestry work this year. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw i have had stihl saws from 1991 was my first one and it lasted till 2011 , when the dealer said it was giveing me proplems and to just get a new one . so i bought a ms 250 and in june 2015 i lent it out to some one to use and they took off with it and never got it backso i just got this 251 and its about the same as the 250 but just a touch more power love the saw and all i got to say is gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo stihl one great saw and alwasy was a great company so buy one you will love it June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by incredible power.. doesn't wear you out! We had a couple big limbs on a huge oak tree get hit by lighting and had to clean up the back yard. the largest part that fell was probably 2 feet in diameter. my father had an ms 181 c and i did a lot with it. actually amazing how much power it has for a little saw. but when i bought a new wood boss and took on the rest of the tree it blew my mind how much more power it had and really due to the way its built i didn't get any more tired using it then the much smaller ms 181. i got the ms 251 wood boss because it just felt like the perfect size in my hand and it still in the 40-50 cc range and i didn't feel like i needed the upgraded ms 251 c with the fancy tensioner and easy start. my fathers saw had the quick bar tension deal on it and mine does not and ill tell you I'm alright with that. i felt like it kept coming loose on me and it just doesn't take that long to use the old school stud and nut method.all in all i am amazed with this saw, for the money, the power you get , and the stihl service behind it, you can't beat this saw if your felling a good size oak tree or just doing some trimming here and there. this saw won't let you down. June 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall saw. For a homeowner saw, it has good power and has held up very well. I wanted something in the 40cc''s and didn't want to dump a ton of money so I bought one in March of 13. Even with an 036 and a 461 the 251 has generally been my go to saw especially for smaller stuff and limbing. I've put a lot of fuel through it and it's held up very well during use and transport.My pros would be good power, always simple to start, good quality for homeowner saw, and super simple to tune for anyone with a little knowledge.My cons would be it's a little pricy for what it is, single bar nut, and you have to remove three captives to access the air filter but I suppose that's being a little picky. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to start,and handle Was given this saw as a birthday gift,this is my very first chainsaw and it really is very easy to operate,READ THE MANUAL step 1!! started on 2nd pull without any problems.going up on the family property to widen trails this saw is very user friendly,after 2 refills i checked the tension on the chain made adjustment as needed,worked for about 4 hours straight no problems at all! ms251 has plenty of power to cut all day long.I am very happy with this quality tool.THANK YOU STIHL! June 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl, the best of the best! I came from an electric chainsaw with an almost worthless manual oiler, so honestly any gas chainsaw is an improvement. That having been said, so far this is a lovely saw. What an awesome piece of equipment! I've only had an opportunity to use it once so far, but it sure was fun. My first cut with it was limbing off about a 12" section of tree. I just set it against the branch and let it do the work itself. Just like butter! Lots of power. Perhaps a little louder than I expected, but I like that about it. Hearing protection advised.I really enjoyed the experience of buying my saw from a dealer who knows about what they are selling. They answered all my questions and stepped me through the starting procedure and such. I'm sure it will be great to work with them if I ever have any issues. I will be visiting them again as I will only buy Stihl oils and products for my saw.If there is a con, it might be that it only has a two year warranty if you purchase a 6 pack of Stihl synthetic oil or a can of Stihl pre-mix fuel. The other brands offer a two year warranty without any additions such as that. But, if warranty work is required, my Stihl dealer is only a few blocks away and work will be performed in-shop as opposed to the box store saws that would get shipped off. Another reason you pay a little more for a Stihl.Overall worth the price I paid. I put four stars for value due to the price, but it is a Stihl and I expect it will last practically forever. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw! Bought this saw after looking at other brands. Glad I went with Stihl. Easy to operate and trouble free. Good power to weight. Been taking down 16" - 18" trees no problem. Well made. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Optimized value and performance. Quality product. This saw exhibits the quality level one expects from STIHL. Overall it performs well, having the power I need to cut trails and fall trees up to 2 feet in diameter with ease. If you are into managing recreational land for wildlife management by creating trails this saw will do all you need it too. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This chainsaw is a dream to use, easy starting, fast cutting. and very durable June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't buy a cheap saw. Stihl delivers. Plenty of power. Starts great. I thought I could get buy with a cheaper home store saw. After a while, you spend more time fussing with it than it's worth. I should've bought this saw in the first place. First thing you notice is the power & ease to handle the work. It's the real deal. May 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The saw quit running while falling a tree (second tank of gas) and has not run well since. Frequently stalls; chain loosens too easily (due to one tightening nut in my opinion), and very difficult to restart once stalled. I usually have to let it sit for 5 minutes or so. I did return to the dealer in an attempt to address the stalling issues, but they persist. I was very excited about this purchase and am very disappointed with the result. This was my first Stihl purchase; it will be my last. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful and lightweight I bought this saw to replace the MS290 that I've had for 12 years. The reason for the purchase was the lighter weight, I'm not getting any younger and the MS251 is powerful and easy to carry all day. May 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by quality saw I've owned many different saws over the years. This is one of the best, I cut a monster maple in no time flat. I would rate at a 5star for everything but I haven't owned it long enough for that. It is every bit as good as my husqvarna 55 rancher and puts the echo to shame. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the single bar stud, but for the price I can't complain. It does secure the bar nicely and chain adjustment is easy. A word of caution though, when refilling the bar oil with a hot saw its easy to touch the muffler when opening the cap. May 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the "top rated saw" { power to weight ratio} in all of my hours of research,for the average wood cutter. I have used your products for over thirty years and all of them still run,what a testament to your fine Company,Thank You. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be happier I owned an MS180 and that t u r d struggled to cut through hot butter. Working as a firefighter I know the power and reliability of Stihl (all of our rescue and chain saws are Stihl) so I upgraded to the MS251. I bought it yesterday and cut down a gnarly monster located about 4 ft from our house (made sure homeowners and life insurance were current) and this thing rocked. I couldn't stop it or slow it down no matter how hard I tried. The dealer fueled it with the good stuff...my premix was a little older than I'd like to admit. The saw didn't like it much and told me so right away. Lesson learned. New fuel and it is ready for the next disaster I can find. May 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This saw was a D O double G. Owned the MS170 for years. Used over sized chain & bar. Ran it into to ground. Used and abused it. Fried the engine. Still the best saw I ever owned.Up graded to the MS251. (Wood Boss) The MS170 puts it to shame. The MS251 is under powered for the 18" bar. Boggs down the engine on a mere 12" elm log.Up graded to the MS271. (Farm Boss) (chessel tooth) This saw screams like a renegade banshee. Cuts through any size log I put it to without hesitation. Plenty of power to spare. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my Stihl's All my dads Stihl chainsaws have lasted well over 20 years apiece! I have tried all the other brands and not 1 has lasted more than 4 or 5 years at the most! will always be a Stihl for me from now on. May 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got 30 years of use out of my last wood boss The first chain saw I purchased was a Stihl Wood Boss and that was 30 years ago. After more cords of wood cut and trees taken down than I can count, I am now looking to purchase only my 2nd chain saw ever.I will get another Wood Boss and this one may last me for the rest of my life time.Great saw, plenty of power for normal residential use, quick starting. The durability of Stihl makes cost of ownership very low over the long term - which makes these saws a great value.I've purchased other products which were non-Stihl and they wear out after a few years. These days, I only buy Stihl if they make what I need. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw for the money! This was my first chainsaw purchase and it has been great! I've used many saws over the years at work and this is by far the best. I'll stay to using Stihl products for my needs. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Saw is GREAT for the $$ This is a very good saw for the money and for the average person. My only complaint is it could use a little more power but on the other hand it is very easy on gas unlike some other huskys I have used. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A real workhorse I had a 40 ft pine tree dropped in my back yard by others; and I alone cut it up with this chainsaw and hauled it away. I can't believe what this Chainsaw did. Did not break down one time. 24" trunk for a lot of the job. I did let it cool down as I went along because I worked it past what I thought was a breaking point. An incredible light weight chainsaw. What a little brute. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tool. Great tool, well balanced in hand. Easy start. Plenty of power. I have used it to take down up to about a 14" caliper tree with no problem. With a sharp chain, there is no need to provide pressure, it will pull it's way through without hesitation.Minor improvements that make a big difference from my other Stihl saw (15 yrs old) is the tool free caps for the chain lubricant and fuel. I am finally able to remove with gloves on. Huge time saver!My only complaints are the single nut holding the bar and housing in place. While it makes it easier for tensioning and speed of changing chains, it has a tendency to loosen during operation. To me, with only one nut, it is a safety concern.Additionally, I have found trying to disengage the chain brake system with gloves on is cumbersome. I am unable to disengage the brake with holding the saw on the top; I have to move my hand to the side to accommodate the distance it takes to pull the hand guard back to disengage the brake. Minor complaint, more of an observation.Overall, would highly recommend; I would buy it again. March 9, 2015
<<prev 23 4 5 6next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips