My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

Image of ms251
MS 251 WOOD BOSS® is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 466.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Probably a defective unit but won't take a chance on a second one I used the one-year disposable box store 18" chainsaws for years. I got tired of buying a new one every year and everybody kept telling me to get a Stihl. I went to my local Ace and purchased the MS251 18" Wood Boss. Worked fine for first year and a half. Since then, even after routine maintenance it has been nothing but issue after issue. The oiler is not heavy duty enough for heavy usage of the saw. I am currently on my 3rd oil pump, 3rd worm gear, I've lost count of the amount of cage bearings, and now I am on the second engine. It is finally running decent again, but this is after practically the whole saw has been replaced. This is my third year with the saw and I hate to have to buy another saw with all that I have invested in this one. I do believe with the amount of trees/wood I cut, I will have to go bigger and heavier duty with my next saw. The MS251 isn't capable of cutting much more than a tree or two every now and then. It definitely does not like felling trees and the poor design of the oiler does not allow for using the saw in a horizontal position for much more than a few seconds without overheating and burning up bearings and ruining chains. Overall, I have been very disappointed and dissatisfied with this saw and it's underwhelming performance. Wish I would have just continued with the cheap and chinsy brand chainsaws. Next saw I purchase will be much bigger and made for actually cutting wood and constant usage.
Date published: 2019-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First saw Birthday gift from the wife, first chainsaw. Been using it for five months now. Cutting up firewood, clearing fallen trees from big storms. Loving every second of it. Easy to flood if you're newer like me. My local Stihl dealer straightened me out though. Great product, great service. Its the bee's knees. Buy a Stihl!
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Running issues Returning my 251 wood boss tomorrow. I used it for 2.5hrs, then the following day it would not start. From my diagnosis the ignition coil is bad. And of course this happens when I need the saw most.. For the little time I used it I enjoyed the saws performance. But I feel like I may need to spend a little more money and get a 271 wood boss, assuming that it's built better as it will be used more frequently.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ezy start up, Ezy start up, cuts like hot knife thru butterVery pleased with my new purchase Highly recommend
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't stay running After 20 minutes the chain spun off. OK that can happen. Worked good for about 2 hrs. Went to use it on a different day and wouldn't stay running. I'm surprised that the saw wasn't ready for some extended use. Hopefully the tech can adjust the carb. and make it more usable.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not hot start, the no tool chain adjuster does not work. This saw is a nightmare to use. It will not restart hot, and the tool free chain adjuster will not adjust once the saw is hot. It binds up, and will not turn until the saw has cooled for at least an hour. Big R does not have in store service, and the two local Stihl service centers want their hourly rate to provide warranty work because I didn't buy it from them. I can't wait the six to eight weeks that Big R says it will take for them to send it in for repair. The purchase was a mistake, and I won't make that mistake again.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked good, once. Bought the wood boss based on awesome reviews. Trimmed a small tree in the yard and turned it off. It never started again. Took it back to Ace where I bought it. 2 times no certified tech was available. Finally asked for my money back but oh wait, now I was past my 7 day window. While there an ex employee walked in and offered to help, he was certified. I told the manager if he could start it I would be more than happy to keep it. Well I ended up getting my money back after an hour of failed efforts. Seriously disappointed. Cost me so much time and aggravation. Perhaps I got the one bad one they ever made but I felt obligated to report here since I got nowhere with phone calls to Ace or Stihl.
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay saw The only saw I can compare it to is an 028 WB I purchased in 1980. The 251 is nowhere near the saw the 028 was. Once running it seems to cut fine but can be a bear to start at times. It's lighter than the 028 but that's because of all the plastic on it. Hopefully it will last as long as the 028 did but I doubt I'll be around to find out.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw with plenty of power Great chainsaw and it has plenty of power for the farmer too. I say that because I use it on the farm too. It's weight and ease of use, I wouldn't want too use anything else on the farm all day long. It's a great chainsaw to have for cutting wood. The only thing I would change is the oil cap. I have had issues with it locking closed like it should. That would be the only thing I would change. Even with that I would still say the same for this chainsaw as I did previously.
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from floods easily, but solid once you know what not to do Had to go back to store for some pointers on how not to flood machine, but I've had no problems since.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw! Everyone loves this saw. It was a frenzy of nearly cannibalistic wood chopping amongst the guys when I first got it and went camping!
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good home owners saw First of all, i love this saw. I bought thinking i could do anything with this saw, and it will do it. The question is for how long. Keep in mind, this is not a pro saw. If you have a ton of cutting to do, get a higher end saw. Pro saws use bigger pitch chain, have more power, run faster, and have a more solid magnesium housing. This is a polycarb housing, no oil adjustment, and no chain catcher to protect the sprocket cover from a chain that has come off. You can buy the 262 catcher, and it will fit this saw. I am maticulous with my machines. I use stihl synthetic 50:1 oil and non ethynol fuel. I clean it after every use. I never have starting issues.. It's an all around good saw for what i do. Just a few things i would change. I would definitely recommend to a homeowner.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Great chainsaw, easy to start, cuts like a dream, comfortable for continuous use...What's not to like?
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wood boss is a beast! The wood boss starts easy, runs great, and has plenty of power. I have used other brands and will only by Sthil now.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Difficult to Start This was my second chainsaw, and with a dozen wild "weed trees" to cut along the back of my property, I thought I would step up to an 18" better quality" chainsaw. I guess I should have known that I had a "lemon" right from the start. The dealer that sold it to me, always checked the chainsaws by starting them before we complete the purchase and HE had a tough time starting it. It was always a tough start for the 5 or 6 times I used it the first year. Then next year, I brought it out and never was able to start it despite employing a variety of choke combinations. Never should have purchased this dog. I refuse to pay hefty service fees to repair a 2 year old product!! Threw the thing out.
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chainsaw makes quick work of clearing dead wood This chainsaw works excellently and cuts through tough wood like butter. The selector switch (off, run, 1/2 choke, full choke) is a bit flimsy and seems out of place in an otherwise excellent chainsaw. This saw performs great and does everything I need it to do.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MS 251 Wood Boss Review The MS 251 Wood Boss is a good saw, but I finding it lacking (power) compared to the MS 250 that it replaced. Other than that the two saws are virtually identical. To me a chainsaw needs that straight (when called upon) power like that of the MS 250, but with the MS 251 one has to get it spooled up before making the cut, and that's not a good look for a quality saw. It is for this reason that I could only give the MS 251 Wood Boos four out of five starts. It's still a quality STIHL product, but every time I use it I miss my old MS 250.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great home use saw I love this saw I have 11 acres and this makes my job easier good power for money 18 in bad was plenty for me typically use couple times a month at least
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL - best products out there. I've had plenty of other brand saws over the years and only a couple of those lasted several years of hard use. But even then they dint come close to a STIHL. I've had an STIHL SF 55 weed eater since1986 and it still runs great, even with little maintenance. I love the size, power, simplicity and the dependability of the my new 251 Wood Boss. I am very pleased with my purchase and hope to get many years of service from this trusted brand.
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product This saw is so lightweight and powerful, it handles the 18 inch bar well and it has been through it all and it will still start right back up after 3 years of service so far.
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This saw failed twice this year when I needed it the most. I like the saw for its power, weight and engineering. That said, it has been back to the dealer twice this past year for not oiling the chain. The first time was during hurricane cleanup in North Carolina. Yesterday it stopped oiling while cutting a hickory tree in my yard that was blown over in a storm. And yes, it had chain oil in it. I’m disappointed that I can’t trust this saw. I spent a long time researching the right saw for my needs and In the end, I went with stihl for the dealer network and reputation. I own several stihl products and have been happy with them.
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far it has been great. Does everything I expected. I bought my saw at Westlake ACE hardware and got a good deal on it. I feel like it does a great job. It goes through wood like a knife through butter. So far I have loved it. It starts very easy and keeps running through everything I have cut so far.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NIce Saw Nice saw all around but starting is the only fault I have with saw. It is hard to start but I may get better at starting it as time goes on. I hope so.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value Starts quickly and doesn’t stop working hard. Cuts well
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from product does the job well easy to start and handle cuts like butter light enough to handle dealership is very helpful
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this saw!! I own the MS251 Wood Boss from few months, it works just beautifully. It always start easy and it has more than enough power for my needs! I like a lot the weight, that make her pretty comfortable! It’s a super nice help in my property! Thanks STIHL!!
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from saw will not start I could not start saw. Took it back to dealer who could not start it either. He replaced spark plug and cleared chamber and then was able to start saw after several different attempts. They gave it back to me. The next day I attempted to start saw -- same result -- no ignition. I am returning saw this morning. This is pathetic!... By the way, the handle is too small to insert the toe of one's show, no matter what the starting diagram shows. Poor design.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A decent chainsaw This chainsaw is extremely finicky about starting and floods easily. Once you get it going it does a good job though.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality and price Great little saw, cuts through 16 inch logs like a much bigger saw, would recommend this saw for someone looking for a light saw that really cuts well.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw with small annoyances Traded in my old Poulan. This does in 10 minutes what my old saw did in an hour. The cap for the lube oil can sometimes be very difficult when the seal gets rotated. The bolt for the bar screws into the frame, so if you are not careful, it can back out instead of the nut. It can take several pulls to get the engine going. Other than that, I love this saw!
Date published: 2019-05-16
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_466
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl