My Servicing Dealer

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
MS 251 WOOD BOSS® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 270.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Very disappointed...The starter pull cord broke twice during the first week.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I have ever owned. Great product! Well built. Plenty of power for a home owner. Used to clear some trees and cut firewood.Love the easy access to adjust tension on the chain.Cover, chain, and bar are easy to remove and replace. Makes clean up a snap.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back up saw to my Husky Bought this saw as a back up for my 25 year old Husky. Got it just before hurricane Irma hit. Has been going since. Hard to find replacement chains this week with all the power outages and downed trees. Been helping the elderly neighbors, using both saws. Hope it holds up like my Husky has and I'll be happy.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ms251 woodboss is a good saw, but I have noticed... I bought this saw (ms251 withought easy start or easy chain tensioner) over a month ago. Cut down a dying/dead 10" apple tree days after purchasing. The job was a breeze (aside from the heat in NC), and the chain performed great. I personally have not had issues with starting the chainsaw. I believe many people who are experiencing these issues (admitted by some) are Not following the appropriate steps. If cold, move choke lever to cold choke. Pull the starter rope until it starts to fire, making sure you don't exceed 3-4 pulls as to not flood the engine. Next, move lever to the "starting choke" position, and pull starter rope to finish the startup. If warm, or if you've started it already that day, begin starting the saw in the "starting choke" position. Simple as that. My only issue with the saw, after cutting down a handful of trees, is that the chain is not being oiled sufficiently. Oil is coming out (as I removed the bar/chain and started the saw briefly to observe this), but not enough comes out to properly lubricate the chain. I have been manually lubricating the chain before, and sometimes, during a job. This seems to be a recurring issue amongst owners of this saw. It's important to have the chain lubricated so that the chain, bar, and clutch down overheat, and so the chain doesn't dull out prematurely. While this is unfortunate, and somewhat annoying, I still enjoy the saw, and am impressed with its performance.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good choice i have cut up about 12 8 foot logs of various thickness and not disappointed at all.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bang for your buck I received this beauty from my family on my 63rd Birthday, I can tell you - I am very pleased indeed! I have felled quite a few Ash trees that had emerald bore infestations on my property. These aren't sissy trees, they are good size and the Wood Boss held up to it's name.Easy to start - easy to operate as long as you are conscious of your surroundings and stay alert and safe.Good weight distribution and pretty quite too.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great balance of weight and power The MS 251 Wood Boss is a great homeowner/woodcutter saw with an ideal balance of weight, bar length and power for tasks around the home/ranch and for firewood cutting. Starts easily and runs great - easy to keep in tune. I ran Stihl chainsaws years ago professionally and I'm very pleased with this 'small' saw - it has the same quality design and construction as the big pro saws I used to use.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl saw I've owned several Stihl chainsaws in the past and just replaced a decades-old 025 16" that just finally gave out. This new saw is more powerful,slightly longer (18") bar works as charmingly as my previous Stihls. I like some of the newer features like the quarter-turn caps for bar oil and fuel.Looking forward to many good years of service!
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tree saw excellent machine, easy to use ,and start up every time.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased overall A few times a year I cut wood at the house or help a friend with fallen branches. So far it has been great.Quality at 4 stars because when the shop assembled it, they did it incorrectly. This caused the chain bar stud to back out of the saw and was a frustrating saturday. The shop fixed it by removing the stud, cleaning hole, using locktite, and inserting stud.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for smaller jobs This is the first chainsaw I've owned or operated with any frequency, so understand this review is coming from a novice user. It was purchased to dispose if a large Bradford Pear Tree that fell on my property, which people who know about trees better than I do claim it's a weak and soft tree. The chainsaw worked perfectly for about half of the work but the chain became noticeably dull as cutting got much more difficult as I continued. By the end of the work I was struggling to cut limbs as small as 2-3" thick. Additionally, this model started immediately when first purchased, but also became more difficult as the work continued. I'm aware power tools require ongoing maintenance to stay at peak performance, but I assumed I could at least take care of one tree easily and take the chainsaw back to ACE for a tuneup afterwards simply to stay ahead of the game, not because it was absolutely necessary. In this case, there's no way I can begin another project without that tuneup first.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality saw that is very dependable Bought the ms251 to cut down dead elm trees on my property. So far has performed flawlessly after cutting down over 30 trees, some almost 3 ft across. Keep the chain sharp and it goes through wood without issue. Starts right up and never stalls. Worth a few extra bucks over the saws you get at Home Depot or lowes.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best chain saw I have ever owned Would recommend this chain saw to everyone! Starts every time & runs consistantly.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3rd week after Log Cabin purchase. Beats the previous saws I have had. We had a wind storm down over 200 trees. I burned up a box store cheapie. The next weekend a bought a Stihl MS251 and never regretted it. It took a week to before I drive all the way up my driveway to our cabin. A year later I am still working on cleaning up the mess upland. The Stihl starts and runs on demand. Has never given me grief. Cuts twice as fast and is more predictable previous saws I have owned. I would buy another Stihl but realistically I don't see me ever needing another saw. Time will tell.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Restarts poorly After the saws been running and then you shut it down, you go to restart it within 5 minutes it starts very poorly have to pull it 20 times. Had a 35 year old wood boss was a much better saw more power more reliability.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chain saw on the market. Best saw thus far. Very dependable and easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saw I have had the saw for about out year. It starts up every time with out a fuss. ( I put full choke on, pull 2-3 times ( it stutters), put half choke on, pull once, let it run for 10-15 seconds till the chain starts spinning, turn choke off and start cutting)Cuts great. I have been using it to clear my wooded lot that I plan on building on in the future. So far I have cleared a 20 x 220 path for my driveway. The saw has a little bit of weight, but not to bad. There is not much vibration as I'm cutting. The location of the gas and chain oil is very nice, easy to poor into with out making a mess.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice perfect weight Awesome saw starts right up runs amazing. Ready to buy another
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Starts easily every time, good power, easy to handle
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw simply works as it should Fell a large tree. and limbed about 4 big oaks. All with one chain. After using cheap saws and getting maybe a day of decent use I was just sick of messing with them and being stuck in the middle of a project. Stihl is used by professionals for a reason. It is a great saw. Planning on replacing many of a lawn and garden tools with stihl products. Next up is a weed trimmer for sure. I tend to buy one every year because the cheap ones just give me fits.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice all around saw I was in the market for a new saw and had been using my father-in-laws Stihl Farm Boss. Naturally I gravitated towards the Farm Boss but after talking to the dealer, he convinced me to try the MS251 Wood Boss. For cutting medium trees and carrying a lot, this saw has plenty of power and very easy to handle while limbing. Great Saw!!!!
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'v had it for three days only used it for 6 hours I dont its ok so far. maybe with a little mor use I might be able to give a better review
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Chain tighening screw stripped after third use The chainsaw cuts like a dream, when everything is functioning properly. During the third use, the chain became loose and slipped off the bar. While putting it back on, with normal pressure, the tightening screw stripped on the inside. Seems as if the plastic parts malfunctioned. Everyone said buy a Stihl because it will last a lifetime. I hope this is the case once it's fixed. But, for now I'm questioning my purchase and it's ability to work through the test of time.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Saw starts easy, cuts great, and no problems. Really like the saw. Lighter than the Farm Boss I used from 1975 to 2016
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light weight! Nice running saw for the money, but it don't have much power so be prepared fortime for getting the job done because it will be slow.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy starting but oiler doesn't keep chain oiled properly I really want to love this saw but I can't. The engine starts and runs great as long as you follow the starting procedure. The single bolt holding the chain works fine but does allow bar to loosen and constantly needs adjusting.The big problem, and I see others have the issue as well, is the bar oiler doesn't put near enough oil on the bar. This can cause the bar and chain to heat up and become dull a lot quicker. You have to be very careful to not allow bar to heat up. I took the chainsaw in and they said it is working normally. I was told this was done on purpose to use less oil and be better for the environment. I have all Stihl products and love them all except this chainsaw. I probably should have bought a more professional saw. I would seriously doubt the pro series has this issue.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 chains broke in one Day, never buy again! Worst Chainsaw I ever owned, never in 20 years did I have chains actually break, until I bought this Stihl.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts, runs and cuts great but the bar is constantly loosening. I love how easy it is to start! Only 2 or 3 pulls cold and 1 or 2 warm. This saw has plenty of power but the bar tends to loosen quickly.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw This thing cuts like a beast, but I have noticed the chain dries out faster than the oiler can lubricate it on larger jobs. I manually lube the chain when I have to make continuous cuts. Other than that, I love it.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent chainsaw, Not a premium product The hardest starting piece of equipment I've ever owned. Even after having run the saw for a while and cutting up a tree, it is hard to restart. I would have thought that once it warmed up it would be better than a cold start. I have equipment 4-6 years old that starts easier and faster than this chainsaw (MS 251 Wood Boss). Once it is started it runs well, and does it's job but nothing that my other much cheaper saws cannot do. Not sure it was worth the money to buy "quality". I've owned many chainsaws through the years but I probably won't come back to Stihl when I need another piece of equipment.
Date published: 2017-06-07
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_270
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips