Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws


A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 167reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Brand new saw will NOT start I bought the saw Thursday, and it started at the store. The person who sold me the saw showed me the proper way to start it. NOT being a newbie, I understood the process. I took it home, put it in my garage, and didn't use it. Today Saturday, it would not start. I did follow proper procedures. So I took it to the store where I bought it from, and the manager could NOT start it either. September 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Real Workhorse This is a saw that does a little of everything. I have used it to cut small and medium size trees and for cutting limbs. It worked flawlessly on all. Great all around saw. September 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw I have used Stihl for many years as a fireman and know the Stihl products to be reliable, powerful and dependable. I had always wanted one of their chainsaws but always figured them to be to expensive. I was wrong because they are reasonably priced. I love my new chainsaw! September 23, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too many problems out of the box Overall poor quality is dragging this brand down. Chain oiler is unreliable and often overheated chain. Oiler Smoked when I was cutting or waiting to cut. Engine would not idle well, revved high for no reason. Chain would stop in mid cut or between cuts. No break used. Would have to restart chain by pushing it against wood. The nut to secure bar wouldn't come off, rather the entire bolt unwound! Due to so many problems, I think quality and store site assembly strategy is destroying the brand. I hope I just got a bad one, but who cares about warranty if it's always in shop getting repaired? Huge disappointment. September 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by father in laws chainsaw is very durable, dependable, and user friendly I borrowed my fathernlaws chainsaw, for a big clean up of our new home that we bought. I haven't ever used a chainsaw very often and so for me to get out and cut trees down for firewood and other smaller saplings for nearly every weekend for the last three weeks without any hiccups. The only hiccup I have had is keeping the three chains sharpened with the all day cutting. This 251 is a good chainsaw and the reason I was on here is to check out the price of a brand new one so I can own my own Stihl 251. As you know, its not so easy to ask the fathernlaw to borrow his tools lol. So I am getting my own stihl! September 20, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fair saw Good saw over all. Started out well. After the break in period, saw began to miss and was just not running right. Major loss of power and very difficult to get started. Changed the plug and took apart the housing to ensure the air flow was not obstructed. No obvious signs. I am hoping it was just a bad plug, but only time will tell. September 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw This is a great saw! I have been using various chainsaws over the past 10 years. This saw by far was the best saw I've used. September 19, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by If chain oiler worked better it would be hard to beat. Cut up one pecan limb about 8 inches diameter and chain will not cut. Upon further inspection it was every other tooth that was worn. The teeth between shows no wear at all. I think I could spit more than the oiler puts out. Stihl should sell plenty of chains with this product. September 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw Enough power for around the house and easy to start and use September 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw Cuts fast. Not to heavy. Easily adjusts. Stihl quality as expected September 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Like a Boss" In having used a Farm Boss several times before, I was very pleased with the performance of my 251 Wood Boss. The more compact size and less weight made it perfect for all day use. I ran it for about 15 hours over the course of my fist week and not the slightest issue with the product. It's simple, ingenious manufacture makes clean up and maintenance a breeze. I highly recommend this product and to recommend to other potential customers that this saw can cut a lot more than you would think. September 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good, but ... I really like the Wood Boss but there is a safety issue you need to aware of. The screw that holds down the cover of the chain drive cog is only a friction hold. If you don't fully tighten it will back out.I had it back out while sawing and fortunately felt the extra vibration before the chain dropped off the gear. I have replaced the screw with a bolt and lock washer. If that should loosen I'm going to apply Loctite Blue. September 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Saw Runs good, and cuts great when you get the green chain off September 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw Had planned on buying a cheaper Stihl for cutting firewood, but after speaking with staff, went with the Word Boss. Glad I listened. Has not disappointed. As long as you keep your chain sharp there's nothing it can't handle. Stihl and Wrights Small Engine are top notch. August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by value value/cost ratio is good. great saw for the storm damage i had to my property. 100 trees down. August 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Finally had enough of buying cheaper saws that just would not last. Bought this saw and it has done everything I've needed without any problems. Highly recommended for light to medium use. Stay within its intended use range and you'll have a dependable saw. August 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw for the money. I could not be happier with my Wood Boss. Great saw, starts every time, cuts like a champ, couldn't ask for much else. August 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality product I bought the MS251 in 2014 to remove trees and debris from my rental houses and property. My dad always told me Stihl had quality products so I figured I would buy one and try it for myself. I have used Poulan and Jonsered saws at work and I would say the Stihl to me is the best. It has a great quality feel and made in the USA which is important to me. Starts up everytime when I crank it like the directions say. I see why my dad says nothing comes close to a Stihl. The real test will be when we get a hurricane and have to remove pine trees from the roads down here in Florida which will be fun with this saw. I would recommend this quality saw to anyone. August 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 251 I just upgraded from a stihl 170 (which I have bought 5 in the last 8 years. I cannot complain about the 170 because I cut 50-70 face cord of wood a year from 2 inches to 30 inches in diameter.I know I asked a lot from that small saw. After running 2 tanks of gas through the 251 today I had 3 times the wood cut. Never had a bit of trouble starting it. I highly recommend the stihl chainsaw. August 3, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a successful work day yet. I bought my new stihl last month. I researched the products, I read the reviews. I went with this one based on power, weight, and price. I live over 100 miles from town. I was excited to use it. The first trip to cut wood there were three of us. I ended up having to use a cheap Walmart saw ( that was starting and cutting all day) because mine would not start. When I returned it, I was "taught" how to use it. So I swallowed my pride and made sure I was starting it correctly. The second trip it started smoking and the tension bar had to be tweaked, once that was better it still smoked. After testing it and watching for oil, there was no oil spray. I had read that there was not a lot of spray, we found none. Manually oiling the bar kept it from smoking but before I had finished my first tree - maybe 6 rounds total for the saw- my blade was dull. I have not had a good experience and I will be returning the saw. August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for what it's designed to do The wood boss is a quality saw, of course it has its limits and wouldn't be what u choose for large diameter trees but it does everything else well. No complaints. July 25, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great saw...if you can get it started 1st time I went to use this saw, it would not start. I had to borrow the neighbors cheap Poulan Pro saw. Very disappointed with this purchase. July 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good saw for what it was designed for I purchased this saw for brushing, campfire wood, and general homeowner needs. The saw starts right up, runs great and cuts good. The only thing I have an issue with is the chintzy choke lever. It feels like it's going to break every time I move it. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent mid power chainsaw I bought the Ms 251 about a month ago. It took me a while to understand the Ematic oiling system that stihl saws use now, because I have been use to the oiling systems used on husqvarna saws.-if I cannot write my name with the oil coming off the bar then the oiling system is not working properly. With the Ematic oiling system the MS-251 consumes about one-half the bar and chain oil that I am accustomed to with my other saws. In other words, if I burn a tank of gas, the 251 will consume about one-half tank of Plat I'm bar oil. The same holds true for my new MS-170. At first, I thought both saws were getting ooiled, inadaquately, but such is not the case. Anther plus is the lower use of bar oil makes them much easier to clean up than my slobbering Husqvarna saws. Unlike some folks, I clean up my saws after each use.I use stihl "ultra" two cycle oil mixed at, exactly, 50:1 using non ethanol, premium 93 octane gasoline. None on that ethanol gas goes in any of my two cycle equipment. I also use stihl' platinum bar oil in my stihl saws. It keeps my bars and chains cool and wear to a minimum.Cranking a 251 is easy. I set it to full choke when it is cold and pull until it rolls over which is usually in about two pulls. As soon as it rolls over I push it up till I (run position) and pull until it starts, several more pulls. If I have been using it and it is warm, I just push it down to the ignite position and pull. It usually re-start with one pull.Adjusting the chain on a stihl saw is a little more time consuming than on other saws, but they are adjusted in the same way. The only real difference is you have to make sure the chain is on the sproket and not wedged between it and the outside spacer washer. This is why I rotate the chain, forward, as I am adjusting the chain to make sure it is still centered on the sproket. Normally, I just hand tighten the side cover nuts and this normally will center the chain on the sproket and bar groves. I also rotate the chain with a gloved hand or folded shop towel, forward, to make sure everything is centered up probably, before I begin adjusting the chain tension if anything feels amiss I disassembled everything and start over.I do not want a chain to get stuck between the spacer and the sproket. I also rotate the chain forward a few times after it has been adjusted to make sure everything is working properly. If I have time and not to tired, I often crank the saw to check it's operation before I slip the bar cover back on and put it to bed. July 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than enough power! I bought this MS 251 Wood Boss last fall and it cuts like a dream. Every time I go to the mountain my family and friends want to use it because it is lightweight and doesn't hurt the back. I can cut a whole load of wood without adding fuel. Thanks for a great saw. July 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw This is my first product review ever! I have three stihl saws the newest I purchased in is a 015. I gave it to my son to use on his property as I wanted to get a newer saw..I decided on the ms251. The saw starts with no more than 3 pulls and runs strong! Very impressed so far with this saw! June 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to Start, but... I've had my chainsaw for a year. Used it yesterday as a matter-of-fact! Unfortunately, it wore me out before I started cutting. I can't get the thing to start and stay started! My brother owns a STIHL too and said he's never had this issue. He said, that's why I buy a Stihl. Well, for me, it's not behaving nicely. I finally got it started and it did the job but my brother was more ticked than I was and suggested I take it back! Obviously, since it's been a year, I can't do that. Not sure if I'd buy another Stihl product... though they seem to be well constructed, if they fail to start, it's worthless. Just my 2 cents. June 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Saw Bad On/Off/Choke Control Lever I have an MS 650 and an MS 460 both saws are reliable starting every time with plenty of power and a solid feel. I purchased the MS 251 to limb and trim around the property and to limb those big trees when I fell them.The saw meets the demands I place on it without hesitation. What I am disappointed in is the quality of the On/Off/Choke Control Lever. I don't know how it is on other 251's because I haven't cut with them. I just know on my saw it feels like a plastic toy lever to me. I would take the saw back to where I purchased it to have them look at it but it is a 250 mile round trip for me so it isn't worth it. I keep expecting the lever to break but it has held up for a year. Just feels cheap. June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice chain saw. I needed to replace an older other brand saw.I almost didn't buy a Stihl because they are more money but since I have heard good things and read good reviews and wasn't happy with my other brand saw I decided to go for it. I have had it for a year and don't use it a lot but have cut up several trees now. It works great.Easy controls, cuts great,runs well,easy to start. Some people expressed concern that there is only one nut to tighten/lhold the chain bar;that is not an issue,I have had no problems with it and it's easy to adjust with tool that comes with the saw.I'm glad I bought this one. June 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly What I Was Looking For This saw was a little difficult to start at first, I'm sure it is breaking in. I'm very impressed with the power. It rips through everything I've used it for. I don't cut massive trees with it, but I use it for medium duty. Meets or exceeds my expectations. May 24, 2016
<<prev2 3 4 5... 7next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips