My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
MS 251 WOOD BOSS® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 189.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features at a great price This saw is an excellent value, it is comfortable and easy to operate.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saw Love this saw. My friends are huskivarna owners. We all did a job together and they liked it, most important I LIKED IT. Just as powerful as theirs but about 3 lbs lighter for the same engine size. 3 pounds ain't that much but as the hours pass it makes a big difference. My first saw, so I'm learning how to keep and maintain it but it's pretty easy so farSATISFIED!!
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed after one tree Brand new - I bucked *maybe* half a cord of wood in one afternoon and this saw is toast! Completely disappointed in the saw and I ran it by the book. I watched every Stihl video and read the manual cover to cover before I even started it up. The saw & all of the associated Stihl protective and maintenance equipment was cheaper than hiring a tree guy to take care of one tree that fell onto my neighbor's property in a windstorm. NOT WORTH IT. At the end of day one with the saw, the bushing that is supposed to be clipped in place between the shaft and flywheel was GONE. Lots of wear on the shaft, clutch and flywheel black from heat, chain dried out. Hingham Lumber told me the bushing has actually melted, because I ran the saw with a dull blade...interesting considering it is brand new. Everyone I asked for advice told me to pay up for a Stihl. Shocked that this happened and t ruly disappointed in the product
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of power I have had several brands of saws. But the 251 wood boss is the best. Yes it costs a little more than the ones you get at the Home Depot or Lowes. However it has the power to get thru large trees very quick. You are not fighting the saw to do the work, The wood boss does the work for you. Great on fuel, easy to start. Don't wast your time or money on any other brand. If you need to clear out trees from your land this is the saw to get.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wood boss this saw is one of the best tools for a home owner.it's easy to use,light weight,starts quickly and is very efficient. this saw came in handy after hurricane matthew as we lost a few trees and branchs,it made quick work of cleanup.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly what I expected This is my 3rd Stihl product. Bought it because I was very satisfied with other purchases. Stihl chain saws are exceptional and perform flawlessly.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw I purchased this Stihl chainsaw to replace a lesser known brand and I was glad I did. The Stihl is a beast. I love this chainsaw and I will never own anything but a Stihl from now on.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Straight from the store, this saw started and ran fantastically. Having grown up on a farm with a father who was a professional logger for a period of time in the 70's; I have been around chainsaws all my life. They were universally old and while in fair repair, difficult to start. Starting the Wood Boss is a dream! Generally one easy pull and it is idling reliably.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Quality as I have come to expect from STIHL! I have owned the MS 251 Wood Boss about 30 days now. It is easy to start cold, if you follow the directions. Always starts on the first pull when warm. I have cut down about 20 trees now with it and I am totally impressed with the saw. It's light weight and easy on fuel.The chain oiler works great and servicing the saw is easy. It's one great saw!
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lemon Had the saw less than a year. Hard starting, Eventually wouldn't start. Service found low compression, sidewall of piston scratched, pitting at the top of the cylinder and muffler full of junk. Replaced the saw. Hope the new one lasts longer. Had a wood boss years ago and NOT a problem.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light Weight I purchased the ms#251 to replace an older chainsaw that I already owned. I had a hard time trying to start the saw for the first time, due to operator error on my part. This chainsaw will flood out if it is not started the correct way, thanks to my local Stihl dealer they got my saw running and since that day I no longer have a problem starting my Wood Boss saw. This saw is great for small and med. sized trees. You can cut for long periods of time, because it is light and also very fuel efficient. The one complaint that I have and I consider it a major one is after using the saw for the day is that the chain will stretch making it to loose when I try to use it the next time. I loosen the chain after using it to cut with so that it will not stretch due to the heat, but it doesn't matter. I'am thinking that the saw chain and bar is not getting enough oil when using it to cut wood. Therefore I will start using a spray bottle with bar oil in it to help control the heat. Bar oil is cheaper than a new chain after each use!
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very smooth cut the ms 250 was hard to start until I was informed how to start. the manual does not explain. the non-manual cold start does not have a bubble to push for fuel. so you pull 2 times on the choke )I( . then once on the next switch up (I) then the next switch up / it took about 5 pulls fired right up.. then while it was still warm after shutting off for about 30 minutes...one - two pulls fired up every time... cuts great. love it.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl is my Go to brand in Quality Products Stihl products are my go to brand when I want a tool that will last for years of service when well maintained. I have bought Stihl products new and used and have had excellent results. My local hardware store sells and services my Stihl products and keeps them ready for the constant chores that are needed on a wooded horse farm property.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw Above The Rest A Go Getter! Just the right amount of everything you need in a chainsaw to do those weekend project around the house.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If it's not STIHL, it's not real !!!!!!! I only use stihl equipment and purchased my first saw eight years ago which was a ms210, it has always functioned properly and is still running well. However I decided to upgrade to a larger saw today, I purchased the ms251 wood boss. Smith Chapel supply is a phenomenal dealer and is very pleasant to work with. They fueled up the saw and ensured that I was familiar with it before I left the store. When I got home it fired up on the first pull and cut threw the trees with ease. I ran the saw hard for a few hours today and was impressed with the power of this saw. "If it is not stihl, it is not real" !!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ms251 Wood Boss (without the easy start) Bought this saw 5 months ago, first time saw owner, grew up helping my Dad cut trees, just never handled the saw, got minimal saw experience as I got older.I had a real hard time getting it started the first time, the store of purchase had shown me how to start it initially, but it was a week before I got to use it, so had forgotten. Between my buddy and I, once we got it running, it ran like a champ, start and stop all day, one pull fired up! ...though it hemorrhaged oil. Upon closer inspection, I noticed the piece that the bar attaches to, wasn't recessed enough, a couple of nuts tightened together ran it down flush, no more oil spill! (I blame the assembly at the store, not Stihl for this!)About a month later, pulled the saw back out, could not get it started! Wore myself out pulling! (...again, this does NOT have the easy start sys.) Read the instructions, did everything they said, (completely forgetting AGAIN!!! my in-store advice!) Turned to Youtube, found the proper way to start it there, got up the next morning and it fired right up, had totally flooded it! Again, after that it ran all day without a hitch, start and stop one pull! I thoroughly enjoy running this saw, now that I've worked out the kinks, it's amazing! Easy to adjust, light weight, doesn't wear you out running it all day, and very affordable.My only other gripes would be that the supplied tool doesn't fit the spark plug, (found that odd!) and the case is extra.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw I have had this saw for almost a year now. Between light trimming and cutting around my house and clearing fallen trees on my land up north it has been a great saw. It is well made, reliable, easy to start/use and is a good looking saw. I have always run stihl moto mix through the saw as I don't use it often enough that it breaks the bank. Plus it is always good to know you are using quality fuel with stabilizer included. One thing that I will note which other places don't do. A stihl dealer will fill the saw with fuel/oil mix as well as bar oil and start it up for you right then and there. They will also adjust/tune if needed. I can't say the same for other retailers...
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from don't buy an MS 251 When I picked it up at the store it wasn't putting much oil on the chain. The store representative said it would need some time to get the oil going. I accepted that explanation. First tank of Fuel the bar chain sprocket seized. The chain oiler is not working. I returned it to where I got it. Mechanic there said he cleaned wood chips from the oiler outlets and to try it again. I did and it still does not put oil on the chain. Returned to the store and they sent it to Stihl for repair. Stihl changed the oiler and sent it back still not oiling per the manual. Oil pours out of the bottom but very little gets to the chain. I'm using Stihl bar oil and their per moved gas. I had the store pull a new one out of the box and test it and it was not oiling the per the manufacturers manual. I have a new saw, less than two tanks of fuel through it and I can't use it. The first sudden stoppage of the motor I'm sure did damage. I'm using Stihl bar and chain oil. First premium and now the wood cutter oil
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Bought this saw this morning after a hurricane to cut trees that fell in my hunting club. I'm 8 thick pine trees into the day and it's running like a champ. Easy to use, powerful, and lightweight.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used a year now I have used this saw for a year now and it works flawlessly. I heat with wood so I have put this tool through a work out. Best saw for the money hands down.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power and lightweight Just what I was looking for in a smaller saw very well balanced and much lighter than my bigger saws very pleased with the 251 wood boss
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, powerful, not too heavy Power and balance with an 18" bar make this saw a pleasure to use. Can run for hours without fatigue and it's the easiest starting saw I've owned. Easy on fuel too.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new saw will NOT start I bought the saw Thursday, and it started at the store. The person who sold me the saw showed me the proper way to start it. NOT being a newbie, I understood the process. I took it home, put it in my garage, and didn't use it. Today Saturday, it would not start. I did follow proper procedures. So I took it to the store where I bought it from, and the manager could NOT start it either.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Workhorse This is a saw that does a little of everything. I have used it to cut small and medium size trees and for cutting limbs. It worked flawlessly on all. Great all around saw.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I have used Stihl for many years as a fireman and know the Stihl products to be reliable, powerful and dependable. I had always wanted one of their chainsaws but always figured them to be to expensive. I was wrong because they are reasonably priced. I love my new chainsaw!
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too many problems out of the box Overall poor quality is dragging this brand down. Chain oiler is unreliable and often overheated chain. Oiler Smoked when I was cutting or waiting to cut. Engine would not idle well, revved high for no reason. Chain would stop in mid cut or between cuts. No break used. Would have to restart chain by pushing it against wood. The nut to secure bar wouldn't come off, rather the entire bolt unwound! Due to so many problems, I think quality and store site assembly strategy is destroying the brand. I hope I just got a bad one, but who cares about warranty if it's always in shop getting repaired? Huge disappointment.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from father in laws chainsaw is very durable, dependable, and user friendly I borrowed my fathernlaws chainsaw, for a big clean up of our new home that we bought. I haven't ever used a chainsaw very often and so for me to get out and cut trees down for firewood and other smaller saplings for nearly every weekend for the last three weeks without any hiccups. The only hiccup I have had is keeping the three chains sharpened with the all day cutting. This 251 is a good chainsaw and the reason I was on here is to check out the price of a brand new one so I can own my own Stihl 251. As you know, its not so easy to ask the fathernlaw to borrow his tools lol. So I am getting my own stihl!
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair saw Good saw over all. Started out well. After the break in period, saw began to miss and was just not running right. Major loss of power and very difficult to get started. Changed the plug and took apart the housing to ensure the air flow was not obstructed. No obvious signs. I am hoping it was just a bad plug, but only time will tell.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw This is a great saw! I have been using various chainsaws over the past 10 years. This saw by far was the best saw I've used.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If chain oiler worked better it would be hard to beat. Cut up one pecan limb about 8 inches diameter and chain will not cut. Upon further inspection it was every other tooth that was worn. The teeth between shows no wear at all. I think I could spit more than the oiler puts out. Stihl should sell plenty of chains with this product.
Date published: 2016-09-13
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_189
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips