Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 143reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than enough power! I bought this MS 251 Wood Boss last fall and it cuts like a dream. Every time I go to the mountain my family and friends want to use it because it is lightweight and doesn't hurt the back. I can cut a whole load of wood without adding fuel. Thanks for a great saw. July 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw This is my first product review ever! I have three stihl saws the newest I purchased in 1982..it is a 015. I gave it to my son to use on his property as I wanted to get a newer saw..I decided on the ms251. The saw starts with no more than 3 pulls and runs strong! Very impressed so far with this saw! June 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to Start, but... I've had my chainsaw for a year. Used it yesterday as a matter-of-fact! Unfortunately, it wore me out before I started cutting. I can't get the thing to start and stay started! My brother owns a STIHL too and said he's never had this issue. He said, that's why I buy a Stihl. Well, for me, it's not behaving nicely. I finally got it started and it did the job but my brother was more ticked than I was and suggested I take it back! Obviously, since it's been a year, I can't do that. Not sure if I'd buy another Stihl product... though they seem to be well constructed, if they fail to start, it's worthless. Just my 2 cents. June 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Saw Bad On/Off/Choke Control Lever I have an MS 650 and an MS 460 both saws are reliable starting every time with plenty of power and a solid feel. I purchased the MS 251 to limb and trim around the property and to limb those big trees when I fell them.The saw meets the demands I place on it without hesitation. What I am disappointed in is the quality of the On/Off/Choke Control Lever. I don't know how it is on other 251's because I haven't cut with them. I just know on my saw it feels like a plastic toy lever to me. I would take the saw back to where I purchased it to have them look at it but it is a 250 mile round trip for me so it isn't worth it. I keep expecting the lever to break but it has held up for a year. Just feels cheap. June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice chain saw. I needed to replace an older other brand saw.I almost didn't buy a Stihl because they are more money but since I have heard good things and read good reviews and wasn't happy with my other brand saw I decided to go for it. I have had it for a year and don't use it a lot but have cut up several trees now. It works great.Easy controls, cuts great,runs well,easy to start. Some people expressed concern that there is only one nut to tighten/lhold the chain bar;that is not an issue,I have had no problems with it and it's easy to adjust with tool that comes with the saw.I'm glad I bought this one. June 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly What I Was Looking For This saw was a little difficult to start at first, I'm sure it is breaking in. I'm very impressed with the power. It rips through everything I've used it for. I don't cut massive trees with it, but I use it for medium duty. Meets or exceeds my expectations. May 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable medium duty saw I have a lot of large trees on my land and get to cut up 6 to 10 inch limbs quite often. I went to an arborist supply to find a replacement for my old (antique)pre-government chainsaw. This was the closest that I could find. For large stuff I own a Stihl 46 magnum but it is to heavy for limbing and small wood. Although the MS251 is bulkier and slightly heavier (thanks to government interference) the power is comparable. My only complaint is that there is no blade and sprocket combination that would allow a 3/8 chain. That would allow it to compete in aggressiveness (speed of cutting) to the lighter old saw. Bottom line: this is the best and most reliable chain-saw that I have been able to find (regardless of price) tor using in medium wood. May 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Montana Wood Cutting Easy to use saw, starts with no issues at all. Saw is light enough to use for yard work, but still powerful enough to take into the backcountry and cut firewood. STIHL has always made a good product and this one is worth the money. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable I have used lots of chains saws but not for serious work. I just bought a mountain home and needed to cut a lot of hardwood 12"-24 oaks and hickories. It is a tough pull in choke, but three pulls it starts every time. The first time I touched the blade to wood I knew it was a different animal. Small timber melts big logs cut steady. 30 trees into the project, a lifetime of firewood and it is still the best chain saw I have ever seen. It is painful to suggest weaknesses. I flat out will never buy another chain saw. It has paid for itself six fold. I mentioned the hard pull, the other thing is the oil tank cap should have a better alignment mark to close it. That's all May 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This chain saw works GREAT!! This is the 1st Stihl chain saw i've owned or used. It replaced an older chain saw of similar size. The 1st time I used it I was amazed at how fast it cut and the amount of "chips" that quickly covered my boots. I've cut down roughly 8-9 trees in my 1st year.It starts every time it is needed on the 3-4 pull. If the engine "pops", take it off choke and start it. Has plenty of power for the trees I have cut down, up to 18". The easy off gas and bar oil caps work well and don't leak. I only use Stihl gas and drain the tank when I'm done using it. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw Im a climber of 18 yrs.i have run many brands in the past and have owned several stihl saws.stihl is the only saw i invest money in.love the german engineering.i am a loyal stihl customer.thanks for building such a dependable saw.always impressed!!! April 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great mid-size saw Over all this saw has worked amazing. After about 30 starts the pull cord broke, but it was a quick easy fix with some 550 cord. April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 80 years old an his new MS251 Top notch--Easy to use AND maintain (I just wish that I bought when I was youngerrather than wearing out 3 brand x (Poulans) It is well worth the price difference.MTL April 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is garbage The chainsaw has not worked right ever since I bought it. I can't even get it to start and it has leaked oil and fuel since the first day. It is a horrible product and I will never buy another Stihl product again. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding saw Chainsaw is easy to start,simple to operate and has plenty of power for all my needs.I love the easy start system April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product takes care of all my needs. This product is great for me. I use it as needed around the farm and strongly recommend it to others. It is sturdy and holds up to every job I use it for, thanks STIHL. March 31, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected Starts quick and runs all the time. I wish it cut like I expected. I've had issues with the chain oil. I get smoke when I cut so i know the oil system has an issue. Love my blower but wish I had picked a different saw - or I wish I had a version of my saw that works perfect. Bummed :-( March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nimble but powerful for the woodcutter I got this for a christmas present last year as we were going to a fireplace insert to save on home heating energy bills. I used this saw all summer, fall and winter and it has been excellent. Its light and nimble but has plenty of power and starts up like a dream. I also have a 362cm for large stuff and it is also an excellent saw but I find myself using this woodboss much more often. I highly recommend it. I would say I actively cut firewood every other weekend. March 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Homeowner Saw This is the first new saw I have purchased and have always had hand me downs. Saw has plenty of power and is balanced enough for bucking or limbing. From day one I used the RS .325 .63 Yellow chain and the saw now cuts like a Stihl branded saw. Wear your chaps and wear your gloves and helmet and respect your saw, This isn't a weed eater your playing with. 1# key to safety is to not put your legs, feet or head in the follow through path or kick back path of the saw. Seems like common sense but you know the saying. When you walk with the saw, use the brake, that's what its there for. Tripping with a running saw is easy to do and will make you have a bad day.The green chain takes 2-3 times longer for the same cut as the yellow RS chain. The Stihl 2 in 1 file is a must when running Chisel chain. As soon as the saw stops throwing chips and is making saw dust then you need to touch up the teeth with the file. Use the green chain for cutting up that dirty dead wood trees that is full of ant holes. You would be surprised how much dirt ants bring into a tree. I'm not a big fan of the single bar nut but it does make it easier to get the side case off and clean up the saw. There is a metal collar that the nut cranks down on so its not just cranking down on plastic. The chain will slack when its hot so don't immediately rush to tighten it. I highly recommend the Oregon 100961X Power Mate Sprocket System over the paddle wheel design. The chain seems to pull better through wood and less wear and tear on the saw. I use the .325 7 tooth sprocket. Not sure why Stihl doesn't make a rim sprocket for this size saw. Cold starts are easy, 1 or 2 pulls until the saw burps then move the choke up one click and it starts every time. Warm starts it will normally start with the choke on run with 1 or 2 pulls. I only run the Moto Mix in my Stihl blowers so I normally have a gallon on hand for the saw. You can run premix but make sure it is ethanol free gas. There is a lot of plastic on the saw so only time will tell if it holds up. There is a trade off of weight vs. durability. Over all I'm pretty happy with the saw. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great chainsaw backed but awesome service. I ended up deciding on the 251 Wood Boss and am so glad I did. I looked into other brands of chainsaws as well. The support at the local Stihl dealership was really helpful to confirm my research online. I also feel like I have a place to go if I ever need anything or actually wear it out (doubtful). I already used it to cut small rounds off a downed tree for firewood and cut up some large limbs that fell on the property.One thing that I love about this chainsaw is it's incredibly easy to start. I wore out my last chainsaw (another brand) and towards the end I really had to pull to get it to start. With the Wood Boss, it takes about 5 pounds of effort with only two pulls from cold. I also love that it doesn't leak fuel or chain lube. All my other chainsaws did. It's also the little things that matter like the way the caps screw down and how the bar adjusts. All those things really add up when you use it. I'm so glad I purchased it and literally love firing it up to go cut wood! February 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great Homeowner chainsaw fo the price. I bought this saw about 2 years ago from a local dealer in NH. It's a great saw for cutting firewood and clearing brush and small trees. I ran this saw for about 2 hours nonstop one day while clearing brush and small trees. never over heated or bogged down. it's a great saw for the price and it's more than a homeowner saw. February 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I wanted... I own 2.5 acres in East TN surrounded by trees on 3 sides and have a lot of trees to maintain. During last winter's ice storm ~12 pine trees either snapped in half or came down completely. I bought an MS251 in November and its made short work of that mess over the past 1/2 dozen weekends. It starts easy every time, even when its only 35 degrees outside. Having owned several other chainsaws over the years the STIHL is worth the extra coin. I'd have given it 5 stars across the board but cannot vouch for Quality as I've only been using it for ~3 months. So far so good though and its easy to adjust the chain tension. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Saw The Stihl 251 Wood Boss is the first chainsaw I have purchased. I was set on a Stihl after using a Stihl 290 Farm Boss that my father in law has owned for years. You get what you pay for and the 251 delivers. I have only run two tanks through it during the break in period. So while only using half throttle, it has plenty of power. The vibration reducing system is great. 4 hours of cutting and no tingly hands. It also seems to sip fuel. Very happy with my purchase. January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good saw. This is my second Stihl saw. The first, an 021, was a great saw. I've owned this current Wood Boss for 9 months and it is as or more powerful than the 021, but I believe it's a little bit cheaper built. The biggest complaint I have about the Wood Boss is the single chain-tightening bolt. I'm having a heck of a time keeping the chain tight and I'm afraid to really crank down on the tightening bolt head as it has a plastic grommet looking thing around it. Other than that, the saw is powerful and cuts like a demon. It cranks right up, usually on the second pull when cold, first time when warmed up, and I really like the easy-fill oil and gas tank covers. December 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 251 WOOD BOSS I was looking to buy a saw so I could cut some fire wood and smoking wood. I searched and searched red reviews and all that jazz. I went to a local ace hardware that was stihl dealer and the salesman who also happened to be there mechanic took the time to go over this particular saw with me. After I decided to buy it he took me in the back to his shop and filled it up with gas an bar and chain oil. He started it and tuned it and got it running perfect (it didn't take much). I took it out today the same day I bought it and cut a truck bed full of oak and this saw did phenominal. Never had one issue with it. I ran it hard and never had a problem restarting it. I am very pleased with this purchase and glad I went with a stihl December 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shil 251/Wood Boss Needed a saw, could have done the less expensive, or gone cheaper (route). But I got a Sthil. I needed to trim the 3 large oak trees in my yard. I got the Wood Boss! Well the chain saw DEFINITELY lives up to the name. I used all of the recommended products from the dealer in Deer Park, TX. I purchased the bar oil, fuel oil, lanyard, extra chain, sharpening stone (dremel) and carrying case. Great service, great product. Reliability is the best, I had a bit of trouble starting out but the dealer advised me over the phone and I was underway in no time. The built in safety feature on the Stop-bar, was much appreciated while I was 30 feet at the top of a ladder (while tied off). It prevented me from hurting myself. Great reliability, great fuel economy, and a well designed safety feature. December 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw for home owners A excellent saw lots of power for cutting fire wood extremely pleased with performance and durability of the MS 251 my next saw will be a stihl professional saw for the larger trees. December 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw worked me We just had an ice storm come through, needed a new saw, so I decided on this one. Used this one first day, and it was great. Plenty of power, easy to operate easy to handle. Very good product. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets my needs I own a Pecan tree orchard and it's a normal event for limbs to fall or for trees to be trimmed. I've had the pleasure of using this saw for an entire year and it has met my expectations, fully. Limbs can be anywhere from 4 inches to 25 inches though, this saw is never too heavy to handle. Only on one occasion did I have an issue with getting it started however, I blame myself for getting into a hurry. Aside from that one episode, it has been flawless. Some would disagree to this but, I run STIHL's Moto Mix fuel only. I do so because there can be periods where the saw could sit for more than 2 months - guess I'm paranoid. Overall, this is probably the best saw for light to medium work. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a work horse I wanted a saw for some tree cutting around the house 50"pine trees, After looking at different saws i picked the stihl ms 251 wood boss. This saw is a beast. Starting up cold 3 or 4 pulls starting up warm 1 pull, The ms 251 never missed a beat took trees down like they were made of butter. light weight in size and easy to control very little vibration . very very happy with the stihl ms 251 wood boss November 15, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5 6next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips