Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 156reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good, but ... I really like the Wood Boss but there is a safety issue you need to aware of. The screw that holds down the cover of the chain drive cog is only a friction hold. If you don't fully tighten it will back out.I had it back out while sawing and fortunately felt the extra vibration before the chain dropped off the gear. I have replaced the screw with a bolt and lock washer. If that should loosen I'm going to apply Loctite Blue. September 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Saw Runs good, and cuts great when you get the green chain off September 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw Had planned on buying a cheaper Stihl for cutting firewood, but after speaking with staff, went with the Word Boss. Glad I listened. Has not disappointed. As long as you keep your chain sharp there's nothing it can't handle. Stihl and Wrights Small Engine are top notch. August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by value value/cost ratio is good. great saw for the storm damage i had to my property. 100 trees down. August 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Finally had enough of buying cheaper saws that just would not last. Bought this saw and it has done everything I've needed without any problems. Highly recommended for light to medium use. Stay within its intended use range and you'll have a dependable saw. August 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw for the money. I could not be happier with my Wood Boss. Great saw, starts every time, cuts like a champ, couldn't ask for much else. August 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality product I bought the MS251 in 2014 to remove trees and debris from my rental houses and property. My dad always told me Stihl had quality products so I figured I would buy one and try it for myself. I have used Poulan and Jonsered saws at work and I would say the Stihl to me is the best. It has a great quality feel and made in the USA which is important to me. Starts up everytime when I crank it like the directions say. I see why my dad says nothing comes close to a Stihl. The real test will be when we get a hurricane and have to remove pine trees from the roads down here in Florida which will be fun with this saw. I would recommend this quality saw to anyone. August 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 251 I just upgraded from a stihl 170 (which I have bought 5 in the last 8 years. I cannot complain about the 170 because I cut 50-70 face cord of wood a year from 2 inches to 30 inches in diameter.I know I asked a lot from that small saw. After running 2 tanks of gas through the 251 today I had 3 times the wood cut. Never had a bit of trouble starting it. I highly recommend the stihl chainsaw. August 3, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a successful work day yet. I bought my new stihl last month. I researched the products, I read the reviews. I went with this one based on power, weight, and price. I live over 100 miles from town. I was excited to use it. The first trip to cut wood there were three of us. I ended up having to use a cheap Walmart saw ( that was starting and cutting all day) because mine would not start. When I returned it, I was "taught" how to use it. So I swallowed my pride and made sure I was starting it correctly. The second trip it started smoking and the tension bar had to be tweaked, once that was better it still smoked. After testing it and watching for oil, there was no oil spray. I had read that there was not a lot of spray, we found none. Manually oiling the bar kept it from smoking but before I had finished my first tree - maybe 6 rounds total for the saw- my blade was dull. I have not had a good experience and I will be returning the saw. August 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for what it's designed to do The wood boss is a quality saw, of course it has its limits and wouldn't be what u choose for large diameter trees but it does everything else well. No complaints. July 25, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great saw...if you can get it started 1st time I went to use this saw, it would not start. I had to borrow the neighbors cheap Poulan Pro saw. Very disappointed with this purchase. July 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good saw for what it was designed for I purchased this saw for brushing, campfire wood, and general homeowner needs. The saw starts right up, runs great and cuts good. The only thing I have an issue with is the chintzy choke lever. It feels like it's going to break every time I move it. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent mid power chainsaw I bought the Ms 251 about a month ago. It took me a while to understand the Ematic oiling system that stihl saws use now, because I have been use to the oiling systems used on husqvarna saws.-if I cannot write my name with the oil coming off the bar then the oiling system is not working properly. With the Ematic oiling system the MS-251 consumes about one-half the bar and chain oil that I am accustomed to with my other saws. In other words, if I burn a tank of gas, the 251 will consume about one-half tank of Plat I'm bar oil. The same holds true for my new MS-170. At first, I thought both saws were getting ooiled, inadaquately, but such is not the case. Anther plus is the lower use of bar oil makes them much easier to clean up than my slobbering Husqvarna saws. Unlike some folks, I clean up my saws after each use.I use stihl "ultra" two cycle oil mixed at, exactly, 50:1 using non ethanol, premium 93 octane gasoline. None on that ethanol gas goes in any of my two cycle equipment. I also use stihl' platinum bar oil in my stihl saws. It keeps my bars and chains cool and wear to a minimum.Cranking a 251 is easy. I set it to full choke when it is cold and pull until it rolls over which is usually in about two pulls. As soon as it rolls over I push it up till I (run position) and pull until it starts, several more pulls. If I have been using it and it is warm, I just push it down to the ignite position and pull. It usually re-start with one pull.Adjusting the chain on a stihl saw is a little more time consuming than on other saws, but they are adjusted in the same way. The only real difference is you have to make sure the chain is on the sproket and not wedged between it and the outside spacer washer. This is why I rotate the chain, forward, as I am adjusting the chain to make sure it is still centered on the sproket. Normally, I just hand tighten the side cover nuts and this normally will center the chain on the sproket and bar groves. I also rotate the chain with a gloved hand or folded shop towel, forward, to make sure everything is centered up probably, before I begin adjusting the chain tension if anything feels amiss I disassembled everything and start over.I do not want a chain to get stuck between the spacer and the sproket. I also rotate the chain forward a few times after it has been adjusted to make sure everything is working properly. If I have time and not to tired, I often crank the saw to check it's operation before I slip the bar cover back on and put it to bed. July 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than enough power! I bought this MS 251 Wood Boss last fall and it cuts like a dream. Every time I go to the mountain my family and friends want to use it because it is lightweight and doesn't hurt the back. I can cut a whole load of wood without adding fuel. Thanks for a great saw. July 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw This is my first product review ever! I have three stihl saws the newest I purchased in 1982..it is a 015. I gave it to my son to use on his property as I wanted to get a newer saw..I decided on the ms251. The saw starts with no more than 3 pulls and runs strong! Very impressed so far with this saw! June 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to Start, but... I've had my chainsaw for a year. Used it yesterday as a matter-of-fact! Unfortunately, it wore me out before I started cutting. I can't get the thing to start and stay started! My brother owns a STIHL too and said he's never had this issue. He said, that's why I buy a Stihl. Well, for me, it's not behaving nicely. I finally got it started and it did the job but my brother was more ticked than I was and suggested I take it back! Obviously, since it's been a year, I can't do that. Not sure if I'd buy another Stihl product... though they seem to be well constructed, if they fail to start, it's worthless. Just my 2 cents. June 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Saw Bad On/Off/Choke Control Lever I have an MS 650 and an MS 460 both saws are reliable starting every time with plenty of power and a solid feel. I purchased the MS 251 to limb and trim around the property and to limb those big trees when I fell them.The saw meets the demands I place on it without hesitation. What I am disappointed in is the quality of the On/Off/Choke Control Lever. I don't know how it is on other 251's because I haven't cut with them. I just know on my saw it feels like a plastic toy lever to me. I would take the saw back to where I purchased it to have them look at it but it is a 250 mile round trip for me so it isn't worth it. I keep expecting the lever to break but it has held up for a year. Just feels cheap. June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice chain saw. I needed to replace an older other brand saw.I almost didn't buy a Stihl because they are more money but since I have heard good things and read good reviews and wasn't happy with my other brand saw I decided to go for it. I have had it for a year and don't use it a lot but have cut up several trees now. It works great.Easy controls, cuts great,runs well,easy to start. Some people expressed concern that there is only one nut to tighten/lhold the chain bar;that is not an issue,I have had no problems with it and it's easy to adjust with tool that comes with the saw.I'm glad I bought this one. June 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly What I Was Looking For This saw was a little difficult to start at first, I'm sure it is breaking in. I'm very impressed with the power. It rips through everything I've used it for. I don't cut massive trees with it, but I use it for medium duty. Meets or exceeds my expectations. May 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable medium duty saw I have a lot of large trees on my land and get to cut up 6 to 10 inch limbs quite often. I went to an arborist supply to find a replacement for my old (antique)pre-government chainsaw. This was the closest that I could find. For large stuff I own a Stihl 46 magnum but it is to heavy for limbing and small wood. Although the MS251 is bulkier and slightly heavier (thanks to government interference) the power is comparable. My only complaint is that there is no blade and sprocket combination that would allow a 3/8 chain. That would allow it to compete in aggressiveness (speed of cutting) to the lighter old saw. Bottom line: this is the best and most reliable chain-saw that I have been able to find (regardless of price) tor using in medium wood. May 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Montana Wood Cutting Easy to use saw, starts with no issues at all. Saw is light enough to use for yard work, but still powerful enough to take into the backcountry and cut firewood. STIHL has always made a good product and this one is worth the money. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable I have used lots of chains saws but not for serious work. I just bought a mountain home and needed to cut a lot of hardwood 12"-24 oaks and hickories. It is a tough pull in choke, but three pulls it starts every time. The first time I touched the blade to wood I knew it was a different animal. Small timber melts big logs cut steady. 30 trees into the project, a lifetime of firewood and it is still the best chain saw I have ever seen. It is painful to suggest weaknesses. I flat out will never buy another chain saw. It has paid for itself six fold. I mentioned the hard pull, the other thing is the oil tank cap should have a better alignment mark to close it. That's all May 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This chain saw works GREAT!! This is the 1st Stihl chain saw i've owned or used. It replaced an older chain saw of similar size. The 1st time I used it I was amazed at how fast it cut and the amount of "chips" that quickly covered my boots. I've cut down roughly 8-9 trees in my 1st year.It starts every time it is needed on the 3-4 pull. If the engine "pops", take it off choke and start it. Has plenty of power for the trees I have cut down, up to 18". The easy off gas and bar oil caps work well and don't leak. I only use Stihl gas and drain the tank when I'm done using it. April 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw Im a climber of 18 yrs.i have run many brands in the past and have owned several stihl saws.stihl is the only saw i invest money in.love the german engineering.i am a loyal stihl customer.thanks for building such a dependable saw.always impressed!!! April 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great mid-size saw Over all this saw has worked amazing. After about 30 starts the pull cord broke, but it was a quick easy fix with some 550 cord. April 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 80 years old an his new MS251 Top notch--Easy to use AND maintain (I just wish that I bought when I was youngerrather than wearing out 3 brand x (Poulans) It is well worth the price difference.MTL April 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is garbage The chainsaw has not worked right ever since I bought it. I can't even get it to start and it has leaked oil and fuel since the first day. It is a horrible product and I will never buy another Stihl product again. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding saw Chainsaw is easy to start,simple to operate and has plenty of power for all my needs.I love the easy start system April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product takes care of all my needs. This product is great for me. I use it as needed around the farm and strongly recommend it to others. It is sturdy and holds up to every job I use it for, thanks STIHL. March 31, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected Starts quick and runs all the time. I wish it cut like I expected. I've had issues with the chain oil. I get smoke when I cut so i know the oil system has an issue. Love my blower but wish I had picked a different saw - or I wish I had a version of my saw that works perfect. Bummed :-( March 23, 2016
<<prev2 3 4 5 6next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips