My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 211

A feature-packed chainsaw with advanced engine technology at a value price.

MS 211
MS 211 is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 124.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product super easy to start, light enough to use for extended time,has plenty of power to cut even bigger trees.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the easy start. The saw is very easy to start just needs a little more power.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has good power in a lightweight package. After using an MS 180, this saw really packs a bigger punch. A bit small for serious firewood cutting but a beast at lighter jobs.
Date published: 2019-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Impossible This is my 10th Stihl saw and by far the worse. It’s the first saw I’ve owned with the new choke configuration and I can’t seem to get the hang of it let alone the point. It is almost impossible to start and once started and warm it is still a hard start. I run manufacturer recommended FRESH gas and oil as well as follow all startup and care recommendations and nothing changes.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I used this chainsaw three times for very light work and it stopped working. The first time I was hopeful but it didn't run as well as expected. During the second use it kept sputtering to a stop and then leaked oil. The third time I couldn't get it up and running for more than a few seconds before it stopped running all together. Customer service simply told me that it was 6 months past the 12 month warranty. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Use and Good Power Very happy with this purchase. The saw has been easy to use and provides great capability for homeowner tasks. Capable of jobs big and small on an occasional basis. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice tool I love this saw, easy to use, well built, and a good price.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Multiple problems in this budget saw I bought this saw for some light work around the house. I only have 10 acres now, so I really don't need a heavy duty saw. Well, this one is certainly NOT heavy duty. After three uses, the choke lever wouldn't stay down. You have to hold it down manually while making your first couple of pulls. Then the bar oil started leaking. I'd set the saw down for a week or two, and it would be sitting in a puddle of oil when I returned. The last two times I've used it, the chain keeps coming off. I'm pretty convinced that the oiler isn't working correctly, so I will take it in for warranty service. You'd think the world's number 1 chainsaw manufacturer would protect their reputation by avoiding such horrible quality, but here I am with a Stihl that is not living up to its name. Avoid this one. Maybe some of their other models are built better.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for homeowner I was going to buy an MS250 but changed my mind at the last minute and bought an MS211.At first I thought I might have made a mistake, you know bigger is better, Not in this case, For my use its the perfect chainsaw. I live on 1 1/2 acres of wooded property. I have many ash trees which were killed by the "emerald ash borer" I always have a tree down somewhere. I used the MS211 today for the first time to cut a few 8 to 10 inch diameter trees. The chainsaw was flawless. This saw cut through dead ash trees like butter.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power, does what i want it to do. perfect size for my needs, very smooth on the motor, and chain, cuts great.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The new standard for homeowners I've owned many Stihl products over the years but this one is the best! Starts right up and idles smooth. Plenty of power to keep the woodshed filled. Light enough for an old man to cut for hours and earn that well deserved cool one.
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE SMALL SAW WITH GOOD POWER nice ,small, lite saw with good power. easy starting, even in the middle of a Vermont winter.
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS211 Great Saw Always wanted a STIHL and finally broke down and bought one. After using a friends STIHL I discovered it cut much better the my (other) brand name saw. Having a big project to do, I put this saw straight to work and it didn't disappoint. The easy start mechanism does as advertised as well. Kind of weird on the first couple of starts after the saw is warm. Pretty impressive design stuff. I certainly recommend these saws.
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor The carburetor had to be replaced after having it worked on several times. It leaked oil over everything.I've spent $100 on a new carb & oil leak repairs. Do not buy this saw. The carburetor should have been a recall. The saw is expensive in the first place for what you can buy in another brand.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Homeowner's saw I don't have much cause to use a chainsaw, but when I have needed it my 211 has worked very well. No hassle to get it started, and plenty of power for all my needs. I'd purchase it again.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best saw in it's class I purchased the Stihl 211 chainsaw about two months ago after putting in a wood stove. I've cut several kinds of wood ( cottonwood, cedar, oak, pine etc.) and it hasn't failed to start or due it's job once. I don't know what I'd do without it. I highly recommend the Stihl 211chainsaw.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money. Plenty of power to run the 18 inch bar. Lightweight and cranks every time. lots of bang for your buck! I really like that this saw has the metal teeth on the power unit end. They grip much better than the plastic style on the less expensive saws.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Once it finally starts, nice little saw. I wish I had thought to look at reviews of this saw sooner. I bought my MS 211 in April of 2009, and from the get-go experienced difficulty starting it. I use it only 2 to 3 times a year, so I have always assumed it was due to sitting in my shed for extended periods unused. I went to use it today for the 2nd time this year, and took out the spark plug to check it. It looked great. The air filter was clean. However I was reminded that the last few times I've used it I noticed that the bar oil had run out the bottom and was all over the shelf. That's just unacceptable.I had this thing all apart a little over a year ago to clean it and check things out. Everything "looks" just fine. Almost yearly I take one of my chains to the Stihl dealer I bought it from to get a sharpening. I keep my gas fairly fresh and I'm compulsive about mixing and using Stihl branded oils and additives. However, I curse and huff every time I go to start it, and today was no different. I nearly pulled my shoulder out when a few times it bound up while trying to yank the rope. Once it's running, it's a decent little saw. I'm horrified that after all these years, people as early as this year are reporting the same dang problems. What's going on Stihl?
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Don't know why people are having problems. The EZ start system works with a fraction of the effort of most pull-start systems. The primer bulb is especially nice, (and cannot be overprimed.)Good power for most needs. (You always want more grunt out of what you've got.) If you go stronger, you've got a heavier saw on your hands that's harder to work all day. This is a very good weight-to-power saw.Excellent vibration damping. Has the gas and oil lids that are easy to remove and don't fall off. Very simple to fill and refill in the field, (and both tanks have a window gauge.)The Side-Access cover for the chain tensioner is hard to open with a gloved finger. It needs a bigger lip to get a gloved finger under. When open, the tensioner works, but I've run into a lot of too tight chain issues that are confusing. I tension it when the chain is obviously loose, but then it starts getting hot and freezes when it becomes too tight. Hard to gauge this.The factory chain and 18" bar work great for most of my needs. I'm not getting into anything over 24", so this is a perfect combination. You can't beat new Stihl chains.Very reliable and easy to start. I've used it probably 100 hours this summer and it's held up great. No issues. Sorry others are having problems. Has worked great for me.
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable, good saw I've owned this saw for almost a year now. Mostly used for storm clean up around the homestead and trimming garden trees. I don't cut firewood. I put a 14" bar on it and it really rips with the shorter bar vs the 18" that it comes with. As long as I don't go a month without firing it up it starts fairly easily. A few pulls on choke and maybe a few more on half choke. After it's warmed up it'll restart on the run setting every time. One or two pulls max.On two occasions so far after sitting for a month or more it is difficult to start. I just follow the "flooded engine" process in the Stihl manual of removing the spark plug, dry it off, leave the selector in the off position and pull the string a few times to clear the chamber. Reinstall spark plug, leave selector in the middle choke position, one good yank and it starts right up. Not sure the reason behind all this. I use nothing but the Stihl pre-mix fuel and leave the saw stored in a cool, dry place off the ground. Perhaps a saw with easy2start or a purge primer would have suited me better when considering my long storage times. Nevertheless I can get it working again without having to bring it to the dealer. (knock on wood). During use I have had zero problems with power, nimbleness, smooth running, etc. It's a really fine little saw. Exactly what I was looking for. I was choosing between this one and the 201 C-EM. Glad I saved the money as this homeowner Stihl does everything I need it to do vs the farm saw or professional saw category.
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality motor I bought the MS 211 in the spring ('18) for a lighter, more compact option over my Wood Boss MS251. The dealer offered it for a promotional price and they knocked of a few extra dollars on top of that as I wanted a 16" bar rather than the 18" it came with. The motor is rated 300 hours, which is an important feature to me. It was difficult to start for the first time, but I expect the motor is tighter than a 125 hour power head. After the initial difficulty the motor loosened up. Autumn is just around the corner and I've sharpened the chain once so far. Excellent for cutting limbs, and I also dropped a 30+ foot dying tree on the north side of our small-acreage property. It does need to warm up on idle a bit longer than the MS251, but I don't mind one bit (only about 60 seconds). As a child I watched my father start saws often as we needed 10 cord at least to make a winter. He always gave them a little time to warm up. Only been half a year, but I would buy it again in a heart beat
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Brand new and had a hard time cutting a 10" pine tree. Disappointed!!! I finally bought a STIHL after buying other brands. Was disappointed with the power/cutting when cutting down a 10" pine tree. Second tree to cut down, first was a small Red Bud.
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I bought this saw from a local Farm Supply when a good size tree fell in my yard. This saw cut the tree up in no time. Like a hot knife going through butter!! I had been struggling with a different brand stalling, or just not starting. I'm glad I bought this STIHL. It's a little beast. Starts easy, lightweight and powerful. I love the fact that I can see the bar oil and gas and the caps are easy to remove! Buy this saw, you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product does an amazing job This product is exactly what I needed for the jobs I have to do. I would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good little saw I have used it around the yard several times. It starts easily and cuts well. The cuttings a\re shavings up to one inch in length...no saw dust, no little pieces, just shavings. Pretty nice.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective Bought the saw new and used it once. Used the Stihl mix and recommended fuel. Saw would not restart after one use and the dealer has had it in their shop for 5 weeks. They replaced the carburetor but says it still isn't operating properly. I am still using the same fuel mixture with my other tools, blower and weedeater they operate very well and crank easily. The dealer has been difficult to work with stating that this isn't the only saw they have in their shop to work on and not returning calls.So far my first experience with Stihl has been extremely disappointing and I will not do business with Westlake Ace in the future.
Date published: 2018-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from compact Nice little saw, bought it real cheap from my boss after he only used it for a couple months. He didn't like the way it started. Oh well my gain saw starts every time, nice and easy.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Used this saw cut down many trees over a Three week period starts well if used properly and easy to maintain
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Carburetor is junk I purchased new in 2013.Leaked bar oil over everything every time it was filled.I've had two carb kits & it still won't run right. Other customers I read about in Farm show magazine say the same thing. Carburetor is junk & it leaks oil over everything.I have two other Stihl saws that I like. This 211 is a lemon & Stihl should recall it. Or at least fix the junk carburetors the customers are suffering with. I use Brandt chainsaw in Chamois, Mo. I like them but even they aren't magicians.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS211 light powerful and runs well Bought this model MS211 less than 1 week ago from Ace in Clawson, MI. Product is light and powerful. It starts well and runs well. I like how one can see oil level through translucent reservoir while cutting so you know when you're running low.I received excellent support selecting the product. Very patient gentleman answering my questions and even went to parking lot with me to show me how to start it easily after my purchase.
Date published: 2018-05-23
  • y_2019, m_8, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms211, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl