My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 180 C-BE

With the STIHL Easy2Start™ system and Quick Chain Adjuster, this high-tech chainsaw is unbelievably easy to use.

MS 180 C-BE
MS 180 C-BE is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 531.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Very fast saw. It doesn’t bog down when used for extended periods. It goes through fuel very fast but that’s a non-issue. Best saw I’ve owned.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations Easy to start-this is the 4th chainsaw l’ve owned & by far the best for my woodcutting needs. The above normal storms this year left several trees down on my place, saw was efficient, easy to handle & vibration compensation made my work much easier (69 years old) @ my pace without fatigue.
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to start I've had this saw for around 3 years. It ran and started good the first outing. The second time I used it , ran good till it ran out of gas. Finally was able to start . The saw ran for about 5 seconds and quit. It has started once more. Tried to use this week. It will not start at all. I had the older model it was fantastic. I have a stihl weedeater. Went today and replaced my junky new saw. Probably the last Stihl product I will own.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Start Wonder Plenty of power and starts like a dream. Just don't flood the engine or pull too hard. Only choke for max three pulls then go to run setting. Love it!
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I have a chain saw and the 131 kombi system with most all of the attachments and I cant say enough about these products..2 thumbs up I am super happy with them all..
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Homeowner Saw This is a good quality, reliable, easy start chainsaw. My only comment is that I wish it had a larger fuel reservior,
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best small saw I have ever owned/ used. I have ran many different saws. This saw is light weight but powerful enough for any home use cutting that you need to do.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw and does an excellent job! This is a great saw, although I wish it had a little more power. But it does do a great job, and I really like this saw.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw. Great price. Really great value saw. Starts immediately. Runs strong. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only Good For Two Time Use I bought this chain saw from the Stihl dealer because i heard of the quality of Stihl product, first one did not start at all!! took it back to dealer and the man in charge took it out side drain my gas and put Stihl premixed gas in there and start pulling the rope!! no matter what he did chain saw did not start!!! He gave me another brand new one to take with me which I appreciated. This second saw started with a little trouble but finally got going. The first thing I noticed was when I was cutting full throttle saw was choking and slowing down and then speeded up! right then I should have taken it back because obviously carb was not setup correctly but I got lazy and did not do it.After my job was finished I drained the gas and ran the saw dry for storage. Two years later I needed to use it again but I had a hard time starting it. finally I managed to get it going but it would not idle for long. Anyways I started cutting but the same behavior started to show again at high speed cutting it was choking and slowing down finally it reached to the point that it would not start at all!! what a waste money. I always used high octane with additional additive to neutralize the alcohol in gas.So very disappointed of the product and myself for not taking it to dealer before warranty was over.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Saw For all of you that have a hard time starting, this saw is very touchy with the fuel level. There is a line on the sight gauge of the fuel reservoir, it is there for a reason, I found our the hard way. I was doing a bit of cutting and figured I would top it off (really fill it) so I wouldn't have to stop as often. Darned thing would not start. after dinking around with it for a while I drained out enough fuel mix to bring it to the line, miracle of miracles, started like a champ. later tested this again, same result. Bottom line if you have a hard time starting it, make sure you have not filled it past the "fill line". Beyond that not a complaint I can make, I have had it for several years and would by one again when this one gives up the ghost, which I believe will be no time soon. STIHL - Keep Up The Good Work. Quality Products. Remember, with everything, especially tools, You Get What You Pay For and this is worth every penny.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a Novice This is my first gas powered chain saw. I already own a Stihl Easy Start blower, I let it warm up and cool down on idle, and always used only non-ethanol gas in it, so I already understood some best practices concerning fuel and starting/shut-down techniques. The saw does take several pulls (it's EZ Start, so don't overpull!), but it always fires up and runs very well with TruFuel. I am a novice chainsaw user but, in the past year, have progressed to cutting leaning trees (including trees leaning on other trees). For the past year+, this chain saw has been very reliable, and, so far, tackling all of my requirements. I quickly learned that chain saws are much more maintenance intensive than blowers and trimmers, so I bought the Stihl 2in1 chain sharpener. In 5 minutes of sharpening time, it quickly changed my sawdust cuts to good size chunks.Takeaways - Let engine warm up/down Use non-ethanol fuelDon't over-crankKeep the chain sharp
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and easy to use product. Buy this item. For the first two re-fuels use a premixed can. After that mix it yourself. It may be more expensive than other options, but other options break quickly or don't work as well. That's something I learned through experience. If you have an issue use your warranty. I snapped my pull cord and ACE fixed it under the warranty. Lowes is cheaper, but so are their products. If you want to get the job done no hassle every time use this.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good until it tears up Ran good last summer went to crank it up this spring and pull cord broke haven't had time to get it fixed yet but so far not up to par with the rest of my stihl products
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easy every time Great product highly recommend! Get out there and buy one today1
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw for the house and hunting peopert This little saw backs a big punch. Weather your cutting off branches to trees to help out your favorite hunting spot. This Saw is what you need.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed in stihls. This saw only lasted me 2 uses, bought brand new and only used it 2 times .the saw Boggs down and struggles when it gets hot. The saw overheated and shut off ,tried to restart it and had no compression.took to repair shop and they told me the motor was shot the piston was all scorn and rings were done also .the comment from the repair man was this particular model was nicknamed the disposable one because it cost to much to repair, you could just buy a new one. Will not buy another one not reliable at all. Thanks Peter
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw THIS SAW IS VERY EASY TO START AND I LIKE THE TENSION SYSTEM
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 180 C is one rugged chainsaw I cannot say enough good things about this chainsaw. It is very easy to start, extremely powerful for its size and weight, and one of the best investments that I have recently made. I own several Stihl power products including a couple of different chainsaws but I find myself reaching for the 180 C time and time again when I have wood cutting chores around the house and farm. This is, hands down, one of the easiest to use and most versatile chainsaws that I own.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from May as well use a handsaw. On my second 180. The first one stopped oiling the chain. After 4 weeks the retail dealer couldn't figure it out so they gave me a new one. New one worked ok the first time. Second time I tried using it, it made a few cuts and then pretty much gave up. Keeps stopping mid-cut. Thought I was going to burn it up cutting small trees, and yes, it has oil in it. Doesn't have enough power to cut a log 6 inches in diameter. Not enough power, not dependable...if I got a lemon, I got 2. Probably my last Stihl purchase.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Product This chain saw has so many features I can't even begin to compare it to my old worn out Homelite Chainsaw which I thought was a great saw and gave me great service for over 10 years that wasn't real easy to adjust and maintain as my new STILH. I've just cut down two 60 foot Maple Trees and made them into fire wood. It still looks and feels like a brand new saw. Easy to adjust and maintain. Outstanding Performance.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw for home use! First, I really love this chainsaw. It is so easy to start and maintain, and the dealer at Trails West Ace Hardware in Gardner, KS was really helpful and friendly. The downside is that the fuel doesn't seem to last that long, but it is still enough to get most small projects around the yard done. I really like the safety kickback feature that stops the chain. The pull start mechanism is spring loaded, so you can just gently pull the string and it will start with very little effort. It is not as expensive as I expected it to be. I give it 4 stars overall for the quality and power to get the job done, and it is an overall good value for what you get. Just keep an extra tank of ethanol-free gas handy.
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start which is what I needed. As an over 65 female this is the best tool for limbing and cutting trees for me and simple yard chores. I have no issues starting and it isn’t to heavy. I have used other brands but starting them on my own was frustrating at best. Very happy with this product. I will be looking for an easy start hedge trimmer soon.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I was disappointed in the power of this saw for the amount of money spent compared to my last saw which I have had since 1981.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value in a capable saw for light home use This is an awesome saw for light use. The easy start system makes starting the saw (usually the biggest nightmare), a breeze. The mechanism that enables tool-free chain tightening is also great. The bar oil automatically dispenses and the anti-vibration technology works well. The dealership recommended “motomix” as the 2-cycle fuel and it works well. My only observation that isn’t positive is that it drinks fuel and uses bar oil quickly and that the chain will need regular sharpening if used heavily (as with any tool).
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, manageable and easy to start This is my first chainsaw. I admit I was intimidated by any chainsaw, but it became necessary to learn. The 180c with the easy start option has been great for this old woman! I can start it, lift it and handle the saw easily. This 16inch bar is large enough and power of the saw strong enough to take care of any task for me. I'm very pleased with my choice!
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Chainsaw Cut trees ranging from 3" to 12" in diameter for three consecutive days without a hiccup. Extremely easy to handle and very kickback resistant. Fairly easy to clean and adjust. I was very pleased to see how easy it was to use. I'm 72 years old, 5'8" tall, 150#s, and it didn't phase me a bit. Highly recommend this for the average homeowner.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Bought my 180 c be saw last week in Cookville TN. Salesman explained everything and answered all my questions. Used it 3 times so far and love it. Easy to start, runs great, plenty of power to cut my firewood. No problems at all. Very pleased
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect saw for me My husband bought me this saw a few years ago because his Stihl 044 is too big for me to use. This saw starts easier than his and is now his go to saw for small jobs. I have no trouble starting it or using it. It is the best present he ever got me.
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and easy to use Just purchased my very 1st saw ever with the help of my boyfriend and went with the MS180 C-BE. I've only used it a few times but it is great. This saw is light weight and the easy start feature is amazing, plus the built in chain tensioner just cut my 1st tree down with it, even my boyfriend was impressed with the saw and it inspired him to buy a new farm boss to replace his old school O41AV.
Date published: 2019-03-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_17, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_531
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl