My Servicing Dealer

MS 170

A lightweight chainsaw designed for woodcutting tasks around the home.

MS 170
MS 170 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 714.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good little saw I have been in the tree business for a couple years and stihl is the only saws I would buy I got this 170 for an extra little saw around the house and it dose exactly what I would except out of this size saw but definitely out preforms competitors in same size great for around the house clean up and small tree removal starts with 4 pulls every time cold if you know the stihl starting procedure (not hard read your manual) and starts one pull if warm overall good little saw break in took 3 tanks of fuel then noticed a little more power I use this saw a good bit and has never let me down for what I use it for
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from VERY COMPLICATED AND HARD TO START First day review: WOULD NOT START. I made 50 or so pulls , all I got was noise most of the time, other times NO noise at all, and no start either. Finally it just started. No rhyme or reason, but after I shut it down, it was back to not starting. There seems to be a lot of things to do to get this saw to "be a saw". I've been reading other peoples reviews, and can't really comprehend why someone would say "it's EASY to start". At this time, I will not in good conciseness, recommend this product. AND STIHL- You don't need to reply to this because I've already heard all you have to say on other customers reports. AND this is ALL you ever will say: "Response from STIHLCustomer Care , Customer CareVery sorry to hear about your experience with a STIHL MS170. Please contact the STIHL Customer Care Center at 1-800-467-8445 (option 2) to see how they may assist with any concerns or questions you may have." - Why would I need to contact "STIHL Customer Care Center at 1-800-467-8445 (option 2)" when the reply came from " STIHLCustomer Care , Customer Care" ??? Anyway, it's going back to the dealer today. That's all for now.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice starter saw Bought this for my son to learn how to use a saw. He is 10 and can handle it. Very light. A+
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Little Saw Ever** I own the MS250, Kinda hard to start, I also own a Husky Saw. But this Little MS170 is the BEST out of all of them! Starts EZ, Light, Powerful for a little Saw!
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Running 4 cords strong Cut between 4-5 cord this year with the saw and pleasantly surprised with its ability to keep up. As long as you keep the chain sharp it does a good job and it's light weight keeps you from getting tired. Took at least 3 tanks to break in and notice better performance. Consistently takes about 5 pulls when cold to fire, then switch it to half choke and good to go. I had one issue consistently when it was hot out where it would not start again after refueling and quick chain sharpening (6-8 mins) or it would snuff itself out above half throttle. I learned if I took off the cover and kept it cool it would run fine every time, now that it's fall I don't have the heat soak issue. I just ran into an issue where it wouldn't turn off when I flipped the switch up, read online that a wire might have come loose and to check those, I wiggled everything I could and the issue went away. Overall very happy with the saw and love the light weight portability.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL LOVE This saw is awesome! Starts with 1 to 3 pulls every time. Light weight and goes through everything I put in front of it.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy use Easy to use and start. Great for small jobs. Lightweight.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great light weight saw. I bought this saw because I'm getting older and I wanted a lighter weight saw than my 310. This saw is much lighter yet still has plenty of power for cutting small to medium diameter fire wood. I did have just a little trouble starting it during my first day using it but it is fine now. I definitely recommend it to others with similar needs as mine.
Date published: 2017-10-18
  • y_2017, m_11, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_714
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips