My Servicing Dealer

MS 391

Our top-of-the-line chainsaw for farm and ranch.

MS 391
MS 391 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 261.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blown motor Bought saw in December, it's only been fueled with pure mix stihl gas already mixed. Had made 6 stump cuts, and maybe 8 other big cuts, started dogging them completely lost power. Took to dealer, they talked to stihl said jugs and piston bad needed rebuilt. Not warrantied..... How is that even possible. I have 12 year old saws that still run good , I keep very good care of my saws sand their operations. Totally switching after 20 years to husky
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best saw I have owned! Some people complain a little on the weight of this saw but I don't have a problem with it and with a properly sharpened chain the weight of the saw does all the work. After I broke in the saw I used it to buck up a fir log that was 36 inches on the butt. The saw went through it like butter!
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent The 391 Farm Boss head then more than reliable and dependable has plenty of power. I have a 25 inch bar on mine which is Max I believe but it's all the saw that I need and I tackle the task of trees that are 40 plus in diameter I would never go with another brand again which have always proving to be unreliable and pieces of ....!!!!
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs hard and cuts even even harder. Very pleased. Dads 038 mag was a heck of a saw. I loved that thing. Long sad story short she is still running but not on our farm. Picked this haus. Fired it up on 3 pulls (the way stihl should) had a BIG hickory down and my farm boss was too small. This hog ate that tree. So proud of my new saw and welcome it proudly to the stihl family in the barn. Thank you stihl for making a quality that I can count on.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beast! I purchased this Stihl MS391 based on the legendary Stihl name which is synonymous with reliability. I've had several other brand name saws that do some jobs, but I needed something bigger and more powerful to accommodate several projects that my smaller saws just couldn't handle. I've read several reviews on this saw and others and after owning my saw for a little over month, I just can't understand why there are so many reviews discounting this model saw. I have never had a problem getting my saw to fire up. First pull it burps in the choke full on position, after moving the choke lever to the warm engine start position, 2nd pull it's off and running. With this being said, I recently had an anterior cervical discectomy where 3 levels of my cervical spine were rebuilt including the removal and replacement of a crushed disc in my neck. The decompression valve used to help in the assistance of starting the saw makes my life much easier as I have found this feature makes this saw much easier start than my other big box store much smaller saws. This leads me to believe that problems that other users have experienced with starting this saw most likely is the result of operator malfunction as I doubt that Stihl would put out chainsaws that do not start for customers after they test start them at the factory before being shipped out.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is a quality product, not the junk you find at the big box stores. After using some of the other chainsaws out there, I thought they were pretty sorry, then I bought the stihl ms391, & I knew right away it was a REAL saw that will last & not the typical disposable ones that are far too common. Stihl; keep it up, build quality products & you will always have my business.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I chainsaw is easy to use and to start. It zipped through a bridge bean in no time. Best purchase I ever made. I should have bought one a long time ago
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money. This saw cuts quick and easy. Only wish it could handle a 25" bar. I normally cut bigger trees and would like to put a bigger bar on the saw. Now I'm looking into a 261 professional saw. Which can handle a 25" bar, but has less cc.
Date published: 2018-02-04
  • y_2018, m_2, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_261
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips