My Servicing Dealer

MS 391

Our top-of-the-line chainsaw for farm and ranch.

MS 391
MS 391 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 268.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best saw I have owned! Some people complain a little on the weight of this saw but I don't have a problem with it and with a properly sharpened chain the weight of the saw does all the work. After I broke in the saw I used it to buck up a fir log that was 36 inches on the butt. The saw went through it like butter!
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent The 391 Farm Boss head then more than reliable and dependable has plenty of power. I have a 25 inch bar on mine which is Max I believe but it's all the saw that I need and I tackle the task of trees that are 40 plus in diameter I would never go with another brand again which have always proving to be unreliable and pieces of ....!!!!
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs hard and cuts even even harder. Very pleased. Dads 038 mag was a heck of a saw. I loved that thing. Long sad story short she is still running but not on our farm. Picked this haus. Fired it up on 3 pulls (the way stihl should) had a BIG hickory down and my farm boss was too small. This hog ate that tree. So proud of my new saw and welcome it proudly to the stihl family in the barn. Thank you stihl for making a quality that I can count on.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beast! I purchased this Stihl MS391 based on the legendary Stihl name which is synonymous with reliability. I've had several other brand name saws that do some jobs, but I needed something bigger and more powerful to accommodate several projects that my smaller saws just couldn't handle. I've read several reviews on this saw and others and after owning my saw for a little over month, I just can't understand why there are so many reviews discounting this model saw. I have never had a problem getting my saw to fire up. First pull it burps in the choke full on position, after moving the choke lever to the warm engine start position, 2nd pull it's off and running. With this being said, I recently had an anterior cervical discectomy where 3 levels of my cervical spine were rebuilt including the removal and replacement of a crushed disc in my neck. The decompression valve used to help in the assistance of starting the saw makes my life much easier as I have found this feature makes this saw much easier start than my other big box store much smaller saws. This leads me to believe that problems that other users have experienced with starting this saw most likely is the result of operator malfunction as I doubt that Stihl would put out chainsaws that do not start for customers after they test start them at the factory before being shipped out.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is a quality product, not the junk you find at the big box stores. After using some of the other chainsaws out there, I thought they were pretty sorry, then I bought the stihl ms391, & I knew right away it was a REAL saw that will last & not the typical disposable ones that are far too common. Stihl; keep it up, build quality products & you will always have my business.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I chainsaw is easy to use and to start. It zipped through a bridge bean in no time. Best purchase I ever made. I should have bought one a long time ago
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money. This saw cuts quick and easy. Only wish it could handle a 25" bar. I normally cut bigger trees and would like to put a bigger bar on the saw. Now I'm looking into a 261 professional saw. Which can handle a 25" bar, but has less cc.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw. I have had my saw about 12 years. I loved its easy to start, well running engine and the absorption dampening. Over the last 5 or so years I started purchasing "parts" 440 saws off of ebay and rebuilding them. None of my rebuilt saws run as superior as this 391. I had a three day yard clearing project and this saw still exceeds my expectations. Even after 12 years this started effortlessly and wound run all day.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power After owning a few lower grade less powerful saws this was my first jump to a "big boy" saw. I generally use it for cutting large loads of firewood for heating in the winter. My only disappointment came on the first start. I got it home and after a few pulls it flooded quickly and was done for in further attempts. Took it to the dealer who replaced the plug and explained sometimes the first start is rough due to oils used in manufacturing. Home again started on 3 pulls and ran it without load for 5 minutes (burns off oils from manufacturing) after that in the timber 2-3 pulls cold and one quick one when warm and it starts right up. Saw has plentiful power cutting through anything I find and good reliability. Watch the chain, it warms up quick and gets loose, don't let it slip. Other than that a great saw, very pleased with the bang for my buck.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This saw has ample power. Instruction manual is not very helpful in regards to starting the saw. My saw does not start if it has not been used for a few days if you follow the directions in the manual. Very hard saw to start, generally always floods.Would prefer the old style caps for fuel and oil.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this saw to run a 25In bar to do some logging on the farms we lease saw works great cuts good we have been sawing 20+ inch oak logs every few days with the saw not as bad on gas as I thought it would be either looking at buying another larger saw in the near future
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine. After purchasing several inferior products, a friend of mine let me borrow his Farm Boss, I was totally impressed. Since I have a lot of hardwood on the property, I purchased this saw and it works phenomenal.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ms391 Great for firewood cutting reliable powerful easy to maintain
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, powerful saw! Takes the "work" out of felling trees!! Upgraded to this saw from a smaller, lesser brand a few years back. I LOVE cutting with this saw. A true powerhouse. I burn wood all winter, so this saw gets used often throughout the year. I'm particular about keeping it sharp, and have provided many first hand lessons to cutting buddies on the difference between a sharp saw and a dull saw. I've made plenty of friends envious of the cutting power of this beast. The chain sometimes(not very often) bogs, but likely cause I get antsy and start pushing too hard. I've never regretted paying what I did for this saw. I have a 16" bar I use when I'm doing quick limbing or cutting up a felled tree. The 20" stays on mostly for felling the big oaks around my property. The MS391 is a fantastic tool for any homeowner that wants a truly enjoyable tool.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable Purchased this saw and drove 50 miles to do a job and the saw won't start. Take it back to the store and they finally get it to start. Drive back to the job the next week and after a few cuts, the chain comes off and I am unable to re-install it. Back to the store again and they tell me the chain is damaged. I believe the fault might be a defective bar. Waiting to hear back from the store. I have had much cheaper saws that were better than this.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ms391 i'm i love with this saw i love this saw from the beginning. I have always owned cheap saws until now. it has to be started with a routine, but that's ok. it starts for me every time. it pulls like heck though oak and hickory on my 11 acres. this is the most amazing saw for me. reliablepowerfulfast cuttingeasy starting for me.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farm Chain Saw I live on a farm with 20 acres of woods and big old hardwood trees. When they come down the Stihl MS 391 has plenty of power to cut these up. Even with a 25" bar some of these need to be cut from both sides to get through them. This machine has enough power to chew through tough oak using the full length of the bar. It starts easy enough for a saw of this size. The decompression button makes starting much easier. I'm very happy with this saw.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily fell the largest trees I've ever sawed Starts on the first pull and runs great. I just cut down several large poplars that were easily the largest trees I've ever fell. I've got a 25-inch bar on mine and it's had no problem tackling whatever I throw at it. Just know that handling this saw for hours will ware you out. It's extremely powerful and is not for the faint of heart or a beginner. Highly recommend for anyone who has very large trees to remove.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw lives up to my expectations, I have been a chain saw user since the 1960's And a stihl saw user since the late 1960's. Starts easy, adequate power for my use, easy maintenance, and dependable.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well thought out design. This saw has many little features that make it very user friendly and easy to maintain. From the single control lever for starting and running, to the laser etched reference guides on the chain, and the air bypass for preheated air for cold operating temperatures. I have blocked 20+ cords of pine with this saw so far and I have had no issues to date.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw in every way. Starts right-a-way every time, cuts fast and clean, well balanced, easy access for maintenance and cleaning. I mainly cut 16 to 24 inch pine logs and the saw cuts through quickly without bogging.I highly recommend the MS391.Mike
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INSANE POWER so I'm 12 years old and I ran this chainsaw for the first time more powerful than any Husqvarna I ran this thing is overpowered and excellent for what I need it for this is an insane saw it cuts fast I love it not even broken in yet and its still a champ.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This makes retiring my old saw easy very pleased with my purchase Typical of all Stijl products they just run and so reliableMakes the work fun and quickOver all if you want a saw that you can pick up for a day of cutting or a hour or minutes get this saw as I find excuses to use it!
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw is a beast Put it to work for about 3 hours the first day. Cut through large trees like butter. Wish I would have bought a Stihl years ago.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unreliable Used this saw about 40 hours over two years before it quit starting. Starting it progressively got harder. Took to Stihl service center only to find out the ignition module is faulty. Bought one from Ebay and it still starts no easier. At least I have spark at the plug now but with arthritis I cannot pull it hard enough to start. I would think Stihl should last more than 40 hours before having to replace pricey parts.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality built Product I am comparing this product to a 35 year old Pro Mac 700, so this may or may not be a fair comparison. A little disappointed in the power for a larger saw, had the 25" bar and chain installed at the dealer before purchase. Once its running, its a smooth cutting saw. Have run several tanks of gas thru it now, and am a little surprised at how finicky is is to start, especially after a warm refuel. Like the one quarter turn caps on the fuel tank and the oil tank, and the foot hole on the rear handle.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Second day into owning this saw and it won't start Worked ok for about 3 hours yesterday, started every 4th or 5th pull but fought for an hour with it this morning thinking something must be wrong return to the dealer and they say it's gonna take 2 days to replace the carb on a saw that's 24 hours old absolutely pathetic , won't let me return it won't lend me a new one in reality I expected a complete replacement
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new MS391, won't start. Bought a brand new MS391 to compliment my smaller Stihl saw, Got it home, read manual thoroughly & it would not start. Acted flooded, gave it a few hours, still wouldn't start, Checked plug, was dry. Convinced I had to be doing something wrong, I returned to my dealer the following day to get their opinion. Their resident technician was very cool, as we eliminated any mistakes I may have made. Fresh fuel? Check, Stihl premix. Choked properly? Check. He took cover off, determined it was flooded, although I hadn't attempted to start it that day. He tried to start it and had the same results I did, and determined it was a faulty carb. Very frustrating for a new saw, returned it, got my $$ back, Planned on using it this weekend to do a ton of tree work. Very dissimilar experience from other Stihl products I've bought.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great operational saw I had a couple of new saws that I did not really care for, so I decided to trade them for another saw- a stihl ms-391. It would be a good bit heavier than the two saws I was trading in but it had a decompression button that would make it a lot easier to start. As is my usual procedure, I started the 391 out with a cap full of extra Ultra two cycle oil for the first two tanks and a little bit of Seafoam to clean out the fuel system. I let it mostly idle for the first tank with an occasional run-up to clean off the sparkplug. I could not believe how log it took to get it through the first tank of gas. It took considerably longer than my ms 271 by half again as much. It took six 15 minute sessions to get it through the first tank. On the second tank, as is my usual procedure, I let it do a little cutting. Nothing big or difficult - just small stuff. After it did a little cutting, I cleaned it up and put it on a shelf in the shop. No sooner had I put it up than the power companies tree cutting folks came back to my house and wanted to cut down a 12 Inch white oak on the rear of my property. I said fine but I want the wood.So, out comes the 391 and we spent the next two plus hours limping, bucking and stacking the tree they cut down. It got a good workout on that white oak. Actually, it only used 3/4of a tank of gas and ran the whole time. Just about anyone of my seven stihl saws could have cleaned up that tree but it gave me a good example of its dependability and abilities. Ever since then it has sat just inside my rear door, right next to my ms 261 cm, which is my other operational saw. To be an operational saw at my house means the saw is capable of being cranked on the back deck or front porch. Even on the kitchen floor if need be. Both of these saws have that capability in spades.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The saw that does it all very easy to start and use, light weight, and reliable.
Date published: 2017-05-19
  • y_2018, m_3, d_16, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_268
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips