My Servicing Dealer

MS 391

Our top-of-the-line chainsaw for farm and ranch.

MS 391
MS 391 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 244.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unreliable Used this saw about 40 hours over two years before it quit starting. Starting it progressively got harder. Took to Stihl service center only to find out the ignition module is faulty. Bought one from Ebay and it still starts no easier. At least I have spark at the plug now but with arthritis I cannot pull it hard enough to start. I would think Stihl should last more than 40 hours before having to replace pricey parts.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality built Product I am comparing this product to a 35 year old Pro Mac 700, so this may or may not be a fair comparison. A little disappointed in the power for a larger saw, had the 25" bar and chain installed at the dealer before purchase. Once its running, its a smooth cutting saw. Have run several tanks of gas thru it now, and am a little surprised at how finicky is is to start, especially after a warm refuel. Like the one quarter turn caps on the fuel tank and the oil tank, and the foot hole on the rear handle.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Second day into owning this saw and it won't start Worked ok for about 3 hours yesterday, started every 4th or 5th pull but fought for an hour with it this morning thinking something must be wrong return to the dealer and they say it's gonna take 2 days to replace the carb on a saw that's 24 hours old absolutely pathetic , won't let me return it won't lend me a new one in reality I expected a complete replacement
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new MS391, won't start. Bought a brand new MS391 to compliment my smaller Stihl saw, Got it home, read manual thoroughly & it would not start. Acted flooded, gave it a few hours, still wouldn't start, Checked plug, was dry. Convinced I had to be doing something wrong, I returned to my dealer the following day to get their opinion. Their resident technician was very cool, as we eliminated any mistakes I may have made. Fresh fuel? Check, Stihl premix. Choked properly? Check. He took cover off, determined it was flooded, although I hadn't attempted to start it that day. He tried to start it and had the same results I did, and determined it was a faulty carb. Very frustrating for a new saw, returned it, got my $$ back, Planned on using it this weekend to do a ton of tree work. Very dissimilar experience from other Stihl products I've bought.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great operational saw I had a couple of new saws that I did not really care for, so I decided to trade them for another saw- a stihl ms-391. It would be a good bit heavier than the two saws I was trading in but it had a decompression button that would make it a lot easier to start. As is my usual procedure, I started the 391 out with a cap full of extra Ultra two cycle oil for the first two tanks and a little bit of Seafoam to clean out the fuel system. I let it mostly idle for the first tank with an occasional run-up to clean off the sparkplug. I could not believe how log it took to get it through the first tank of gas. It took considerably longer than my ms 271 by half again as much. It took six 15 minute sessions to get it through the first tank. On the second tank, as is my usual procedure, I let it do a little cutting. Nothing big or difficult - just small stuff. After it did a little cutting, I cleaned it up and put it on a shelf in the shop. No sooner had I put it up than the power companies tree cutting folks came back to my house and wanted to cut down a 12 Inch white oak on the rear of my property. I said fine but I want the wood.So, out comes the 391 and we spent the next two plus hours limping, bucking and stacking the tree they cut down. It got a good workout on that white oak. Actually, it only used 3/4of a tank of gas and ran the whole time. Just about anyone of my seven stihl saws could have cleaned up that tree but it gave me a good example of its dependability and abilities. Ever since then it has sat just inside my rear door, right next to my ms 261 cm, which is my other operational saw. To be an operational saw at my house means the saw is capable of being cranked on the back deck or front porch. Even on the kitchen floor if need be. Both of these saws have that capability in spades.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The saw that does it all very easy to start and use, light weight, and reliable.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Quality equipment and service. The MS391 has excellent power and ability, when using the recommended 20" bar, for any job so far.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong engine, handles great I've cut through 6 cords of wood so far with the 391 and love the power! I have a 25" bar and have cut through pine logs thicker in diameter and it never bogged down. Plus the weight of the saw isn't overbearing. My back slightly aches after cutting through a cord, but I've found that the weight of the saw helps with cutting through the logs. The 25" bar is a great length for being able to de-limb without having to bend down.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power and easy to use Saw isome more than what an average person will ever need. Power to weight ratio is unmatched by the competition.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful saw, great weight to horsepower ratio and bullett proof design. I bought this saw to be my mid sized saw as I have a 291 with an 18" bar for small jobs and a Magnum 441 with a 28" bar for larger jobs. Being that I burn wood year round for our house and cabin I needed a mid sized saw for medium sized jobs/trees. This saw is amazing when equipped with an 18" bar and a rapid cut chain, it never bigs down, has a high chain speed, and pulls through any type of hard wood with ease, Oak, Hickory, Maple, Walunt, Ash, Cherry and rips through soft wood like butter. I have used this saw for 8 hours a day 4-5 days a week and it continues to amaze me with its amazing power to weight. You will not regret this saw as it is a great vallue and is the ideal all around "go to saw".
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cut like a dream I have just about every budget saw known to man. This is a much better product by far. Fell 5 trees with it so far and one giant oak that fell on its own. Started every time and flies threw everything I have thrown at.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great powerful saw Ok, I've had the saw for 3-4 years now and used it each year.Saw really woke up after the first couple hours of use.With a sharp chain it chews through pretty quick...even hard maple.Starting after few months of storage isn't an issue...may take 3 -4 pulls and stall out if cold weather. Then starts and runs fine. Typically starts 1 pull after been run and warmed up.Most people problems with small engine equipment is ETHANOL fuel and /or improper gas/oil mix.Before owning any small engine equipment, find a gas station that sell ethanol-free. Get a can just for ethanol free. Trust me folks, pay the extra couple bucks. Your lawn/small engine gear will last much longer, run stronger, and you wont have expensive carb problems after sitting all winter.This saw with a 20" bar will tire you out if you're not use to wielding this lightsaber all day.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great saw... as long as the ignition module works. Bought this saw for my father as he cuts alot of wood on his farm for heating the house. Lots of hickory, oak, ash, etc. So I wanted to get a good strong chainsaw that would cut quickly through these woods and then he could use the lighter saws for small stuff. I chose Stihl because of the reputation for service and quality. Not long after we got the saw we put it to work. Break-in went well and the saw performed as expected and better. It was actually a pleasure after using some... lesser saws... to cut large logs to use one that was meant to do the job. Saw started easily, ran well, and we were pleased. Until a few months later, that is.For some reason the saw wouldn't start. I have to say that we always follow manufacturers' recommendations for oil types, service intervals, operating procedures, etc., especially with brands and equipment we aren't familiar with. After a few go around with local service folks about starting it incorrectly, improper fueling, etc., we took it in for service. Since it was under warranty they weren't exactly happy to see us, but eventually they took a look at it and figured out the ignition module was bad. After replacing it the saw worked just fine again.All would have been well if that had been the only time it happened, BUT this has happened at least 4 other times. I purchased the saw in 2013 as a gift for my dad. After the 3rd time Stihl replaced the entire power head at no charge. It has happened twice again since then. This last time the tech replaced only the spark plug and returned a non-functioning chainsaw to my father. My father, no slouch in home small-engine repair, got fed up with the service and bought a non-OEM ignition module and put it in himself. Hopefully this will end the problems.So in all, we are thoroughly disappointed at the reliability of the saw in general. Performance is good, but what use if a good performing machine if you can't even use it? I don't know if it's just the MS391 that has these issues, or if a bad batch if ignition modules came through, or what is going on. I know my father stores the chainsaw in it's case in the barn, so saying it is improperly stored is ridiculous, especially after watching plenty of other people with Stihls do almost no maintenance, keep them in the back of their pickup with no case, and use them day in and out with no problems. Might be a bad model, might be a bad module design, either way be very careful with what you spend your money on.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a well engineered saw This is a well engineered saw. When broken in and start very well. A little on the heavy side for an old man cutting wood all day .
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power and dependability I run a 25" bar on my 391 and it has no trouble chewing through 24" hickory. I run VP 50:1 premix and it really perks up the saw and no smoke at all.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The saw is worth every Penny. I heat my home on wood and cut many cords each year. I have been using cheap saws in the past and finally decided to purchase a Stihl. I did a lot of research and found that the ms391 is exactly what I needed. It comes with the 20" bar but you are able to put up to a 28" bar on it. This is a selling selling point for me as I have some rather large trees on my property. The comparison to the pro series was also an easy sell. The biggest difference for me was the weight ratio. The pro series is only slightly lighter. So far in the 3 weeks I've had the saw, I've already cut down over 20 trees and have not had one issue.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great. Sure wish I would have got a case for the saw for the price.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw - eight years strong. I purchased my 391 early in 2009. This saw has not missed a beat since I purchased it. I once tried ethanol-free gas and the saw wouldn't run on it. I literally dumped the tank of gas out, dumped the rest of the remaining gallon out of my gas can, and refilled it with regular high octane gas mixed 50-1 and it hasn't missed a beat since. When starting this saw, lock it on full choke and pull it once or twice until you hear it fire. Take the choke off and pull it again and it will fire every time. I have never struggled to start this saw in the time I've had it. Within the last two weeks I've cut about four cords of wood with it. One winter a few years ago, I cut two log truck loads of trees with it which ranged up to over 20" in diameter. This saw has performed flawlessly for eight years. I may never own another chainsaw.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts better than expected. I haven't had good luck with Stihl saws starting very easy, but this saw starts good and with the 25" bar cuts oak pretty easy. So far I am pleased with the performance of the saw.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great saw for the money Every thing I have looked for in a saw I personally have had just about every brand saw that's out there but this is definitely the saw for me.I should have went with stihl a long time ago. no it's not as powerful as a 460 or 660 but it gets the job done with a 20" bar and a full skip chain she cuts pretty quick can't hardly bogg it out
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw A good, powerful saw for some pretty heavy-duty felling, trimming, and bucking. Starts right up after a couple of pulls. Highly recommend this saw as with other Stihl saws.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Stihl I have nicknamed this saw the "Big Cat", it has power to spare. Don't expect to use it to limb and cut rounds, keep you a small limb saw or you will wear out.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wish I had not bought it Hard to start, takes several pulls to start even if already warm. Very poor power. It came with a 25 inch bar from dealer. Not enough power to cut oak with a 25 inch bar. Needs no more than a 20 inch. I have owned saw for 3 days and will be taking it back in hopes they will honor the 7 day return policy.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight,lots of power This is a great saw ,reasonable price would recomend
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It can run with the big dogs foreshore I wanted a chainsaw that would do big jobs when my other steelside don't have to work so hard this gives them a brake while cutting big logs but don't let the other stihl saws full ya they can get big jobs done to one is a ms 290 farm boss I bought 5 or 6 years ago and then my little one ms 250 with a attitude
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an outstanding saw at a very reasonable price. Excellent value! This is the second Stihl saw I have purchased and they are without a doubt the best saws on the market. I have owned several other brands previously and the quality and performance of the Stihl brand is far superior to any other. I use my saw for tree felling and clean up and it is dependable, powerful and easy to use. I am very satisfied with my saw.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw Have 2 other smaller saws and in the course of my business a larger one was always a thought and now I have one it takes the load off the smaller ones and gets the job done quicker and more efficently.Never have to worry about Stihl performance.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was a good saw until it wasn't It was a good saw but I hadn't only ran 3 tanks of gas threw it and it kicked hard and broke the slider bar and bent the thing the slider goes on. When I took it back to the dealer they said this just happens. So far I have put $15 into it but it seems alright. The mounts are a bit weak in it tho cuz I think they may be going out from me using the dogs to cut wood.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent Chainsaw Great Chainsaw for cutting firewood I have 2 of them and have miniumable trouble with them they are easy to start. I use them five days a week.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome saw I have 2 other saws and they are stihl 026, 171 . i needed a saw with a 20" bar for some big tree's. I was wanting to get the 311 but everyone was out of them. so the salesman , said the 391 was the next best choice. boy was he right ,this thing goes through some wood!!!! my nickname for the saw is "wood hog"
Date published: 2016-12-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_244
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips