My Preferred Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 291

A high-performance, fuel-efficient chainsaw. Great for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup.

Image of ms291
MS 291 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 347.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Ran about four tanks of gas through it on my first use. Bucked a decent sized oak that was still fresh. I wouldn’t want to use it on anything bigger than I did, which was about 26-28 inches at its thickest point. If the tree were completely dead it would’ve faired a little better, but I did get it to bog down a bit. The mufflers on these new saws are restricted pretty heavily, so that’s probably why. Initially I had bought an MS250, but it gave me problems before I even cut anything with it, so I swapped it out for this. SO GLAD I DID THAT. I don’t think the 250 or 251 could handle what I did, and plan to do in the future. Limbing with it was a bit cumbersome, but manageable. If you want to spend a little more, go for the 261. It’s lighter, more powerful, but a tad out of my budget.
Date published: 2019-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not enough power I purchased this saw to replace an old 036 and was advised that this saw, with all the modern technological advances in small engines, would perform close to the old 036. I must say, it works great on 16" or less diameter trees/logs but my old saw would cut circles around this thing on anything larger than 16". The weight feels so similar that I can't feel a difference in it. All in all, if you are looking for a cost effective saw, there more cost effective saw out there.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not your father’s Stihl It just sounds different. It seems to be down on power and the starting is not as sure as my 10 year old 290 was. I would take for granted a priming pull followed by a roar from my 290. This new 291 takes several pulls then it has a tinny note. It gets frustrated by heavier logs more easily. I like the revised housing, though. The handle piece being separated from the main housing seems to be a better idea. Not excited about the bolts instead of the knob to remove the housing, though.
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from At this point nothing but issues Okay, this is my first gas powered chainsaw but my first experience has not been a pleasant one. I bought it in Graham, NC & the owner started it up & it checked out okay.I have moved to Crossville, NC and it won't start. I handed it over to a gentleman who is very proficient with chainsaws & he couldn't get it started.My next stop was the Stihl dealership & he had to set it for the 2000' higher altitude here & it started fine. I felt confident that it would be okay going forward. We now a bout a week later, it won't start again! Very frustrating for a brand new unit.Next steps are?
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints! This is an awesome saw! I have owned other brand saws in my lifetime and I will not purchase another brand saw again! Cuts through downed trees like a hot knife through butter. The power of my MS 291 is great and I have not had, nor expect, any issues with it. Makes cutting lengths for my firewood a breeze.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good saw, built well after looking for a larger saw then the one I had Settled on this model of Stihl chain saw. Starts well and does a good job on larger logs (trees). I would have given five stars but when cold it would not keep running at idle at all. Whent back to the store and the told me how to adjust it and the problem is mostly fixed. When warmed up it is strong and does a good job.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the saw but one complaint Maybe it is considered that only cheap saws have the fuel ratio molded into the plastic, I don’t know. But, I have quite a few pieces of equipment from different brand names and they usually take either 40:1 or 50:1 fuel to oil ratio. I prefer the ratio to be molded into the plastic so that I don’t have to look at the manual and then write the ratio in yellow paint marker on the piece of equipment. Just saves time and looks better when the ratio is molded into the plastic. If it is molded into the plastic already then I’m sorry, I didn’t see it because it’s not on the fuel cap or next to the cap. Saw runs great with plenty of power for my small farm.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs like a scolded dog. When it runs This saw runs like a scolded dog. Eats through a tree like nothing. But On my 2nd tank of gas it shut off and wouldnt stay running with true fuel. 30 minutes later it started. It would start and run for hours but if I sat it down for a few hours I couldnt get it back to running. Has done this multiple times. I took it to the dealer. Waited 5 days. They just said it starts, fuel lines pressure right. I dont know what to tell ya. Now I'm past 7 days. And pretty invested into a saw I cant get to run. It's the oddest thing ever.
Date published: 2019-08-01
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_347
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl