My Servicing Dealer

MSA 160 C-BQ

Innovative and surprisingly powerful STIHL Lithium-Ion battery-powered chainsaw. Batteries & chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

MSA 160 C-BQ
MSA 160 C-BQ is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile for smaller jobs and excellent for in the tree trimming It took a 1 1/2 hours to fully charge the lithium ion battery and locked securely in-place when inserted into the tool. I filled the oil reservoir to the top with Stihl premium bar oil but before using the chainsaw, I prelubed the bar and chain to keep them protected before the self oiler would actually apply lubricant to the chain. I'm glad I did this because after doing about 5 minutes of cutting I noticed the chain was getting dry. I removed the bar and surmised that there was no oil coming out of the oil orifice. Leaving the bar and chain off I used very small wire and carburetor cleaner too begin poking and prodding the opening and finally got fluid to flow out of the oil reservoir. Without doing this I would have surely destroyed the bar, chain and sprocket on this Saw. The chain is very narrow and cuts wood like a hot knife through butter but make sure the wood is dirt free and don't even think of nicking a nail.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Maddening We bought this chainsaw because it was something that I should have been able to use easily, and I will mention here that we have three other battery-operated Stihl products that we are pleased with. However, the chain has slipped off twice just going through about 1-2 inch branches. I took it back to the dealer the first time and they put the chain back on. It's Sunday today so I will have to visit them tomorrow. The second time I tried to put the chain back on and was unable to get it to stay. I've only been able to use the saw for a total of 10 minutes and I have hours of work to do, so with the chain coming off it is costing me lots of time. Even if I could get it back on, stopping every 5 minutes to do so would be aggravating. We are not happy with this product.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS271 Have to admit, works like a charm, no issues, ran very well and as long as I kept oil, fuel and sharp chains, my Stihl Got the job done. It's my gem. Roman
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS200C Electric Chainsaw This is my personal favorite due to its versatility. I can quickly swap out the chain blade, keep the oil level up and move through my task list without lugging a mixed fuel rig all over the property. My neighbors appreciate the quietness of the chain saw operation.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This battery powered saw is a great product. I recently purchased the Stihl MSA 160C battery powered chainsaw from a local dealer. I was interested in finding out if anyone could produce a chainsaw that could operate effectively without having to mix and use gas and/or oil, and without having to drag an electric cord around with you. Well, Stihl definitely has done it. This is a great saw for clearing small to medium size brush and tree limbs. It is very quiet, and starts up at the push of a button. When idle, of course, it makes no sound at all! Your neighbors will love this! Using the AP 180 battery, I was able to cut for over an hour, and still had 50% battery power left. This is an ideal piece of equipment for those who want convenience and easy operation.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable chainsaw for small jobs, excellent product! We purchased this battery-powered chainsaw after having purchased a battery-powered Stihl trimmer. Both my wife and I have found it to be a superior addition to our battery of tools to remove vegetation along our fence rows. It is lightweight and sufficiently powerful for the small trees along the fences. Its operation is quiet and without the annoying fumes that accompany our other chainsaws. We also purchased the AP 300 Lithium-Ion battery that provides approximately 45 minutes of continuous operating time with the chainsaw. We recommend it without any reservations.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chain saw! I knew through relatives and friends in the industry that Stihl makes the best chainsaws, but i was still pleasantly surprised by this saw. For cutting up smaller trees and dead fall (<8") this saw goes like a hot knife through butter. For larger trees and dead wood, it still gets the job done with no issues. In fact I have yet to over power this saw while cleaning up a overly wooded section of my yard. I use the premixed gas because it last for a long time and wont gum up the carb. I have had not issues starting it so far. Bottom line, I love this saw and highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great and my first and only chainsaw purchase for my urban environment. I bought this for myself as a 60th birthday present. Growing up on the farm I watched my Dad and brothers operate all the equipment, but now that I'm a "city-girl" with quite a lot of small trimming to be done in my yard. This saw is perfect and I can operate it without the fear I had for bigger pull start versions. I love the battery concept and it in combination with my battery powered blower make me the envy of the neighborhood. A couple of neighbors when I helped them with some trimming and sawing up a branch that fell in a storm. The batteries can be used on both. One charger and two batteries let me finish any project where I use both tools. The blower is great for clearing the sidewalks and driveway in a light winter snow and very fast.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great for most home owners This is the first chain saw I have owed and it works great. Battery is definitely the way to go for an occasional user. It makes quick work of small trees which I need to take down. Any tree that is to big for this probably requires a professional anyway.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Love my other Stihl battery tools, decided to try the chain saw too. Exceeded my expectations for what it would cut through. Easy to use, don't have to worry about whether or not it will start. Just charge the battery and start cutting. What a great tool!
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but powerful! I work maintenance for a school and I use this saw a couple times a week. It is a phenomenal little saw! Don't shy away just because it has a battery! It's still packed with power! We keep the blade sharp as recommended and it cuts through large wet hardwood with no problem at all. We love it so much we are purchased one for all our other campuses! Great job Stihl!
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my chainsaw. I am a 55 year old girl (at heart anyway). I love my little chainsaw. I have the small battery to keep the weight down and it lasts plenty long for the amount of work I want to do at one time. Cuts through 6" trees easily making cleanup and trimming a breeze. Thank you Stihl for making a battery operated chainsaw.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw Purchased this as I had a couple trees and many large branches to removed from my newly purchased property. I'm not a fan of the smell of gasoline or the idea of breathing the fumes in. The saw it had the power that I needed, no emissions, and is so quiet. The running time is perfect with the Stihl AP-180. Since you're never running the saw continuously, you can get hours wroth of work in. Stick it back on the charger every time you take a break and you're good to go all day.I'm looking forward to using it for future housework as well as making it a necessary addition to my overlanding toolkit.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great Chainsaw. I highly recommend it to anyone who needs a lightweight and easy to use chainsaw!
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Chain ajustment is the best. This is the best Chain Saw I have ever used. It is very user friendly.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but Mighty!!! Awesome Saw! First time chain saw user. I like that it is quiet. No dealing with a gas engine!!! Light weight and powerful. Battery charges fast.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent saw a little high on rpice with battery,charger etc Taylors was most helpful in set up. Excellent saw although a little pricey:)
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of power I am a first time Stihl owner. My previous chainsaw (Poulan) gave me constant problems with starting and keeping the chain tight. I paid almost twice as much for the Stihl but as this point it has been worth it. It has much more power and less vibration and literally cuts through wood like butter.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent for fire mitigation We have Colorado woods acreage that requires limbing, trimming, thinning, and removing dead trees, mainly aspen, the perfect setting for this little saw. I've owned it over a year and in that time have only had to use the gas saw once for a large Ponderosa that was too big for the guidebar. A battery charge usually lasts longer than I do and has never been an issue.Not being a gas saw offers some substantial benefits. Obviously, no gas to deal with, no carb settings, no pull starting. Less obvious is the fact it never gets hot, so no worries about setting it down and starting a fire. Also, it can still be used during high fire danger when the county prohibits the use of gas chain saws.I was initially skeptical about the power and if it would cut fast enough and a battery charge last long enough to be useful. Not a problem! The small width blade cuts very fast and maintains an edge quite well. Its light weight is a huge benefit for me.As with any cutting device, let the tool do the work. Let the saw come up to speed before starting a cut and don't force it. Our trees are all pine, fir, and aspen, thus, soft wood and the saw has handled everything within the limits of the length of the guidebar.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A superb instrument for light to medium duty Appreciate having a machine that I can use handily at age 75; and which has moved into the relatively clean and convenient Li-ion design of tools.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I had bought this saw 10 years ago. Great value and product. Easy to use. More than capable for big jobs or small. Power to spare. Lightweightl
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I agree with Chuckles, it's an outstanding piece of equipment. Good quality saw. Easy to use. Priced fairly with a lot of options on the high quality batteries.
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw starting This saw came with an easy start spring system which is one of its best features.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chain saw is perfect for homeowners! This chain saw really impressed me. I had a 50 foot Ash Tree infested with the emerald ash borer so I had to take it down in my front yard. I would not use it if I cut trees down for a living but for the homeowner it is 'PERFECT" !! It cut through a 11" trunk in about a minute. Please note an ash tree is very hard wood !You can't rush it, just hold it steady and it will confidently glide through a tree trunk.It's a little pricey, but not having the maintenance and operating costs of a gas and oil chain saw it is money well spent for the convenience and ease of use. If and when I ever wear this one out I am going to go buy another one just like it !
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Love this chain saw for using around the property. Traded in a Stihl gas engine one for this as could not start the other one. This one is so easy to use and lightweight. Yes, it is a bit pricey but hope to get many years of use out of it. I only use it for small branches and small tree limbs so probably not appropriate for heavy duty tree removal.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the chainsaw most homeowners need No fuel to mix, no two cycle engine to maintain. This battery operated chainsaw is in a category by itself…the only battery operated chainsaw that works like a real chainsaw. Do not waste your time with something cheaper. You will be tired before the battery runs low and it charges quickly. The battery also works with other Stihl products.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chain saw I bought the 180C chain saw and think it is the best product I have bought. It does the job and is so easy to start and handle. Would not think of buying anything else.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and quiet enough! I just love this chainsaw, because I'm a 67 year old woman who still likes to work on my property and I need lightweight now. The only problem and maybe it's me, is that it leaks the oil out of it, after use and I have to put it on absorbent papers. My husband thinks all chain saws leak some oil from under it. Even if it isn't very full of oil. Is that just what accumulated from going out the chain? It is coming from under where I set it down. Am I supposed to empty the oil every time, somehow, or how can I avoid this? I call this my "toy". Dot
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent I have 2 spring start chain saws. They work very well.
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most expensive and most rewarding Cheap it isn't, but I have been endangering my life for years with pull to start chainsaws. Let me explain, I have a hillside off the back end of my house that leads out to our fields. The hillside is, to say the least, quite steep. It is, in fact, way to steep to mow with a farm tractor. Every few years the growth on the hillside reaches a height that obstructs our view. In the past I have taken my 14" gas powered saw up this steep side and cut trees up to 8 inches. Just trying to start the gas powered saws was dangerous since slipping while pulling could be catastrophic. Often the saw would just quit because of the angle it had to be held on (gas not reaching the pickup tube) and then it required more starts. The fact that the MSA160 is so light and maneuverable is also a huge plus. I have only worked with the saw for a short time but I have to say it is amazing and worth every penny.
Date published: 2014-02-19
  • y_2017, m_10, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_msa160cbq, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips