My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
SH 86 C-E is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 140.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Just bought this blower Shredder. Starts very easy the catch bag is good size if any larger would be bulky and it would get a lot heavier. Shreds the leaves fast and quick have many other Stihl products and would only buy Stihl products
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start Bought one today at my local stihl dealer. I am very satisfied with the power of the vacuum easy to clean out and dump bag. Saved me hours or work cleaning around house flower beds and around the yard. Cant wait to use it again. Also Rob at cumberland outdoor power is great to deal with A+ customer service when you are dealing with him.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from above my expectation First. I just purchased this today and used it for a couple of hours. My leaves were dry and smaller in size. This machine was very comfortable to use. I purchased it solely for the vacuum leaf shredder capability. I had read other reviews that stated was difficult to switch from blower to vacuum and even though i only did it once i don't plan on doing that again. I have a good blower so i intentionally bought this knowing i wouldn't have to deal with the change over issue. Even in the store i could tell i wanted the SH 86 model because even holding onto it felt so much better. Remember the Sh 86 model has the rubber grip and i felt no vibration at all when it was on. I was able to pick up leaves from rock by just leaving it at idle. The leaves came up but the rocks didn't. I used it 90 percent of the time at idle. I read some reviews that mentioned the zipper on the bag didn't unzip far enough but when i emptied my bag it all came out very easy and the zipper was a non issue. I did pick up a pile of leaves and used the machine at higher than idle for that. I didn't feel the need for a bigger bag as some have mentioned. I felt it was the right size for the machine. I did purchase the Oil with the machine which gave me a 4 year warranty instead of 2 years. Even at idle the machine chewed up the leaves really well. I understand that the higher the rpm the better it would chew stuff up but my smaller leaves worked perfect at idle. At higher rpms i did notice some dust through the bag but it was not a problem. I think large leaves would require a higher rpm just to get it up and down the tube into the metal teeth where it gets chewed up. Starting was super easy. After it was warm i didn't need the choke but used the trigger a bit when i pulled the cord and that allowed it to start with first pull. I really appreciate that Stihl products are made in America. I did my research on this product and am very happy with my purchase and am going to enjoy the time saving tool.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good blower/vac Parts for my existing vac are obsolete, sh86 is replacement, my first Stihl. Reviewed 2 other major brands also. It will suck up anything near the tube, including river rock. You'll know when this happens, it make a lot of noise. The motor mounted on rubber pads does a great job reducing vibration in the handles. That's a big plus.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but packs a mean punch Small unit that is definitely more powerful than it looks. Quite impressed with its weight when being used for hours. The rubber bumpers that separate the motor unit from handles makes a huge impact on absorbing all the vibration that no fatigue is felt in arms.Starts very easily even on cold days. After a few minute warm up, its rip roaring to go. Wasn't looking to spend this much on a blower/shredder unit but am pleased that I did.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth on the hands This is a very comfortable vacuum/shredder. Starts easy. massive suction. Large capacity bag
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This shredder vacuum is awesome This shredder is easy to handle and easy to use. It works great on dry leaves. It gets plugged real easy on wet leaves. I wish it had a little larger fuel tank.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from prematurely wore out Have the SH-86C. Used as a homeowner for 7 years. I estimate about 150-200 hours over that time mainly used for leaves in the fall. Died while running at full throttle with fuel still in the tank. It has low compression. I always used Stihl oil and 89 octane fuel per the manual. For about the last 3 or 4 years used the Stihl fully synthetic oil. I would also let the blower warm up for a few minutes before each use. While I did not expect it to last forever I expected more life than what I got out of this so called professional blower.Had no problems with it until it died this November.All Stihl could tell me was that there are Stihl units in service that are 30 or more years old. Which tells me nothing as if something is rarely used it will last indefinitely.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great two in one product Both blower side and vac side work great. Bag could be bigger, maybe a backpack style bag with a larger capacity. I have a large mature oak trees and works great in and around the flower beds. However, it does not like the acorns. I have a lot of Sthil products, two chain saws, a weed trimmer, and now the blower vac. Great long lasting products.one of my chain saws is 42 years old and still works great. I'd like to see Sthil make a good snow blower . I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a step up from my Stihl 55 This blower & shredders has more power with improved attachment hookups and quieter. I love my 55 blow/shred, still, after 8 years; blower still works and still starts easily, after all this time. This 86 starts easy, runs quiet and can pick up very strongly and mulches very efficiently. Love it already! Sold on Stihl!
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd Blower/Shredder My first model was made by E*** which served me well for 13 years. However, even when the E*** was new, it didn't have the shredding power that the Stihl has. Although the bag fills fairly quickly, it's easy to dump and to detach and to reattach to the shredder. I have not had one jam caused by mulch or branches as yet which is a pleasant change compared to my previous machine. The geometry of the hand hold is excellent and, being 70 years young, very much appreciated. The weight and load of the machine is shared between both hands meaning I can work for quite a while before I need a rest. Overall, I made a very wise purchase (my wife suggested I move up from my other shredder).
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It I love it to death! It is worth the extra dollars to get it!
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As a leaf blower it is above average as shredder poor. About 25 percent of the leave are not shredded (the leaves are dry). Not much good as a shredder.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Tool works as advertised, looks and feels great. Feeling satisfied.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great first impression I just purchased this unit and used it for about 2 1/2 hours his morning picking up heavy leaves from under our maple and birch trees. These leaves had been collecting for weeks so they were very thick. The machine did a great job! Plenty of power! My only complaint is that the bag could be at least 50% larger if not more. It seemed I spent a great deal of time emptying the bag. Otherwise, I had a great first impression of my new leaf shredder.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I'm a 13 year old boy who had a small lawn business and I just bought this and I love it! I used to have some cheap off brand blower and I have a km 130 (which rocks) so I decided to buy this and wow!! It is the best thing for lead clean ups!
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awsome! This is my second Stihl product. The weed eater worked so well I decided to try another product. I couldn't be happier with the shredder vac. It makes leaf clean up so much easier in the flower beds. The blower shredder is easy to switch back and forth as well. Love Kiefer equipment they are tops in customer service!
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what I needed it to do. This is my first leaf blower/shredder vac. I wished I would have got one like this years ago. Having been disappointed with the small engine devices in the past, I decided to get a Stihl to see if they were any better. So far this has done exactly what I wanted it to do. The shredder/vac function works well, filling a bag in a couple of minutes, even handling large 8 inch wide leaves.It is a little difficult to change between blower and vac configuration requiring a screwdriver to release the latch. The union nut is difficult to grip so tightening or releasing the nut is more difficult than I think it should be. It slipped in my hand. I think wearing a none slip glove would greatly improve that.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very surprised. I was very reluctant to purchase the SH 68 C-E vacuum because I had once owned a Stihl gas powered trimmer that was so hard to start that I gave it away and purchased a battery powered one. After months of indecision I got the SH 68 C-E to clean up leaves and small twits in the my bushes around the house. It's fantastic, I couldn't believe how powerful it was and what a thorough job it does on reducing leaves and small twigs, but most important- it starts, and starts easily. I give this vacuum and A+, but your trimmer is a D- at best.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine! Great machine for use around the home. Easy to start. I love the antivibration feature. Small fuel tank.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's the best !!! After owning other handheld blowers, this one is the best that I've used, anti-vibration is great, and the vac works very well
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves time. Works great. Sucks up a lot of dirt and dust. The dust that was blow through the bag covered me. So after use clothes in the laundry me in the shower.
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American Icon Stihl is the Best outdoor product ever made. I love to invest my money in a high quality tool, and for me, Stihl is number one. Nothing makes me happier than to go out to my Garage and see my Stihl trimmer, Stihl 16 inch chainsaw, and my new Stihl SH86-C blower/shredder ready to go.I love the features built into Stihl products, I have owned a Stihl 16 inch chainsaw for 25 years and its always dependable. It's a greater advantage to have piece of mind that you automatically get when you purchase a Stihl product.As a past owner of other cheaper brands, believe me a Stihl is worth every penny and then some. Stihl is probably one if not the only brand that sells itself, just on quality, longevity, and being made in the USA.Recommend a Stihl you'd say..? I would laugh at you for not having one. A Stihl product should be a mainstay in every garage around the country.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blower, ok shredder vac This blower/shredder combo is a great tool. The blower is top notch, starts on 3rd pull every time. It is easy to maintain like all STIHL products. Quality is very high on this model. Only 2 cons I have on this product. The shredder seems under powered and doesn't really shred. If there were more blades or possibly a different configuration of the blades it may work better. I'm not an engineer though. Also the bag could be a bit larger for longer shredding periods. This could be also because the leaves don't really get fully shredded. Overall I am still very happy with the purchase and would recommend to others. Even though the shredder imo is not top notch the ease of only having to maintain one motor along with the ability to convert back and forth is huge.
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool in conjunction with backpack blower This shreader vac is a must have for any landscaper but can not replace and become a primary leaf removal tool. It is perfect for small touch ups and tight corners. It is however much slower than a backpack but works great for getting small sticks and leaves out of trap rock or river rock. Don't over work the tool and it will be fine. I wish the fan blades were metal rather than plastic because I know over time a small rock will break a blade. Great value when compared to the BG86 since for $40 more you get a vac system and still have the same hand held leafblower.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice job Stihl! Just gave my new Stihl SH86C it's first workout, and it gets 5 stars. Light, easy to start and with plenty of power.There is no replacement for good quality products, and I'm very pleased to see Stihl makes these right here in Virginia USA! I will pay extra for superior quality!
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgrade over the 56 is worth it One of the main differences between the 86 and 56 is the anti-vibration handle. After blowing and vacuuming my yard for about 2 hours, I am glad I went this route.When vacuuming, it is best to ensure the material is very dry as wet material has a tendency to accumulate in the shredder blades. The conversion from blower to vacuum could be improved by simplifying the door latch release. This is honestly my only complaint.Starts easy, runs well, more than enough power to blow and vacuum. After using the product for a few weeks, it is still to early to rate dependability, but I suspect no issues as long as you maintain the equipment.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from good as a blower but lacking as a shredder vac blower function works well but poor in the shredder vac operation.1) bag to small and zipper at end requires you to pull out debris by hand. needs bigger bag and zipper that continues around bottom of bag2) does not shred into small pieces, output looks like complete leaves.3) difficult to manage end of shredder because it tends to grab the ground needs a spacer or small roller to prevent ground contact. need to be able to zoom in and out the length to match people of different heights. My wife very short and I am tall.4) how could you possibly use it a ground level without picking up a lot of dirt and dust.5) bag sprays dust everywhere when in use. I do realize that bag needs to be porous to let pressure out but porous portion could be near bottom of bag.6) seems to clog easily even with dry leaves.7) needs to be redesigned as far as the attachment system for the various parts when changing from blower to shredder vac. takes to long and is hard to align parts. a clamping system would seem to work faster and better.
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far works very good. I've only had my blower/vac about a month but has worked well thus far. I have used it in both modes and had good results. Vacuum has plenty of suction and mulches leaves and small twigs very well. Blower is great with plenty of power.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Debris bag too small. Good machine. Bought mine largely to vac and shred leaves. However, the debris bag is small requiring frequent shutdowns. Suggest a flex hose system similar to that used with a popular electric vac/blower so the debris could be blown into a large trash can.
Date published: 2015-05-24
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips