My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
SH 86 C-E is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 151.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disaapointed in this purchase I bought this unit a year ago, using it throughout the fall last year and periodically over the past spring and summer. As I began the fall clean-up this year, the unit stopped working. It's been in the shop now for nearly 2 weeks, apparently waiting on a new carburetor to arrive from Stihl so the repair can be made. Having purchased what I expected was a top tier blower, I am, needless to say, very disappointed. We are currently at the peak of leaf fall in this area and I am on the sidelines, waiting for the repair. I will say that when the unit runs, I have been reasonably pleased. The blower works great, although I'm not impressed with the shredding capabilities with frequent clogging.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Parts Took a little getting use to changing out from blower to vacuum, which works pretty well.I've had it a couple months, getting more difficult to start, think I'll bring to Ace, got 3 years free repair.Gets a little heavy after using for a while, I don’t think my wife could handle it.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i thought it would do!!! if you have a lot of trees around your property and no good place to put the leaves you need one of these beasts. we have places in behind sheds and around other building that leaves collect like crazy and theres no good place to blow them away. the shredder part is were i love it the most; that metal blade grinds leaves up to powder and will even crunch up twigs up to about the size of your pinky finger. the blower part has good performance also. the only thing i wish for me at least is a bigger collection bag. when you got a big pile of leaves it fills up pretty quick.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shredder vac I bought this to suck up leaves in the fall and pick up the debris that I trimmed off of bushes. It is a little under powered, but works great.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use So far so good easy to start and does a great job blowing or shreding
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much handier than others I have used several other brands of Shredder/Vacs and by far this is the most powerful and easiest to use. The comfort grip handle, throttle lock and easy vacuum bag release are among a few of the reasons I say that. Great product, as usual.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We use ours for cigarette butt removal mostly and it works perfectly!!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine I purchased this machine because I live in an older neighborhood with lots off big trees so leaf cleanup is a major project. The SH 86 C-E is easy to start and it fires up every time. The power is great and the vacuum works well. Switching between the blower and the vacuum is a little awkward but it doesn't take very long. You can feel the quality of the machine as you use it.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cannot do more than tiny piles of dry leaves I have some oak leaves, about 15 inches high, about a foot and a half wide, this choked on them within an hour. It is totally useless for anything but small stacks of dry leaves. Lost all sucking power in first hour. Choked on my leaves almost immediately. I buy only Stilh products but this one is junk and it goes back to ACE tomorrow for a full refund.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a well built product This is a overall great product It is easy to start, and its powerful but light weight.This is my first STIHL product but it won't be my last. It is a well built product and I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderful I should have got this vac years ago. works great on leaves and cleaning up the trimmings from the shrubs like nothing. chops everything so fine its a space saver when cleaning up. starts first pull every time. only let down is when it runs out of gas because I'm not paying attention due to ease of use. Seems like I got a system down when cleaning leaves up now. I usually start out blowing most of them in a pile then change over to my shredder bac and let this machine start eating away.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Just bought this blower Shredder. Starts very easy the catch bag is good size if any larger would be bulky and it would get a lot heavier. Shreds the leaves fast and quick have many other Stihl products and would only buy Stihl products
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start Bought one today at my local stihl dealer. I am very satisfied with the power of the vacuum easy to clean out and dump bag. Saved me hours or work cleaning around house flower beds and around the yard. Cant wait to use it again. Also Rob at cumberland outdoor power is great to deal with A+ customer service when you are dealing with him.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from above my expectation First. I just purchased this today and used it for a couple of hours. My leaves were dry and smaller in size. This machine was very comfortable to use. I purchased it solely for the vacuum leaf shredder capability. I had read other reviews that stated was difficult to switch from blower to vacuum and even though i only did it once i don't plan on doing that again. I have a good blower so i intentionally bought this knowing i wouldn't have to deal with the change over issue. Even in the store i could tell i wanted the SH 86 model because even holding onto it felt so much better. Remember the Sh 86 model has the rubber grip and i felt no vibration at all when it was on. I was able to pick up leaves from rock by just leaving it at idle. The leaves came up but the rocks didn't. I used it 90 percent of the time at idle. I read some reviews that mentioned the zipper on the bag didn't unzip far enough but when i emptied my bag it all came out very easy and the zipper was a non issue. I did pick up a pile of leaves and used the machine at higher than idle for that. I didn't feel the need for a bigger bag as some have mentioned. I felt it was the right size for the machine. I did purchase the Oil with the machine which gave me a 4 year warranty instead of 2 years. Even at idle the machine chewed up the leaves really well. I understand that the higher the rpm the better it would chew stuff up but my smaller leaves worked perfect at idle. At higher rpms i did notice some dust through the bag but it was not a problem. I think large leaves would require a higher rpm just to get it up and down the tube into the metal teeth where it gets chewed up. Starting was super easy. After it was warm i didn't need the choke but used the trigger a bit when i pulled the cord and that allowed it to start with first pull. I really appreciate that Stihl products are made in America. I did my research on this product and am very happy with my purchase and am going to enjoy the time saving tool.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good blower/vac Parts for my existing vac are obsolete, sh86 is replacement, my first Stihl. Reviewed 2 other major brands also. It will suck up anything near the tube, including river rock. You'll know when this happens, it make a lot of noise. The motor mounted on rubber pads does a great job reducing vibration in the handles. That's a big plus.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but packs a mean punch Small unit that is definitely more powerful than it looks. Quite impressed with its weight when being used for hours. The rubber bumpers that separate the motor unit from handles makes a huge impact on absorbing all the vibration that no fatigue is felt in arms.Starts very easily even on cold days. After a few minute warm up, its rip roaring to go. Wasn't looking to spend this much on a blower/shredder unit but am pleased that I did.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth on the hands This is a very comfortable vacuum/shredder. Starts easy. massive suction. Large capacity bag
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This shredder vacuum is awesome This shredder is easy to handle and easy to use. It works great on dry leaves. It gets plugged real easy on wet leaves. I wish it had a little larger fuel tank.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from prematurely wore out Have the SH-86C. Used as a homeowner for 7 years. I estimate about 150-200 hours over that time mainly used for leaves in the fall. Died while running at full throttle with fuel still in the tank. It has low compression. I always used Stihl oil and 89 octane fuel per the manual. For about the last 3 or 4 years used the Stihl fully synthetic oil. I would also let the blower warm up for a few minutes before each use. While I did not expect it to last forever I expected more life than what I got out of this so called professional blower.Had no problems with it until it died this November.All Stihl could tell me was that there are Stihl units in service that are 30 or more years old. Which tells me nothing as if something is rarely used it will last indefinitely.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great two in one product Both blower side and vac side work great. Bag could be bigger, maybe a backpack style bag with a larger capacity. I have a large mature oak trees and works great in and around the flower beds. However, it does not like the acorns. I have a lot of Sthil products, two chain saws, a weed trimmer, and now the blower vac. Great long lasting products.one of my chain saws is 42 years old and still works great. I'd like to see Sthil make a good snow blower . I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a step up from my Stihl 55 This blower & shredders has more power with improved attachment hookups and quieter. I love my 55 blow/shred, still, after 8 years; blower still works and still starts easily, after all this time. This 86 starts easy, runs quiet and can pick up very strongly and mulches very efficiently. Love it already! Sold on Stihl!
Date published: 2015-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd Blower/Shredder My first model was made by E*** which served me well for 13 years. However, even when the E*** was new, it didn't have the shredding power that the Stihl has. Although the bag fills fairly quickly, it's easy to dump and to detach and to reattach to the shredder. I have not had one jam caused by mulch or branches as yet which is a pleasant change compared to my previous machine. The geometry of the hand hold is excellent and, being 70 years young, very much appreciated. The weight and load of the machine is shared between both hands meaning I can work for quite a while before I need a rest. Overall, I made a very wise purchase (my wife suggested I move up from my other shredder).
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It I love it to death! It is worth the extra dollars to get it!
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As a leaf blower it is above average as shredder poor. About 25 percent of the leave are not shredded (the leaves are dry). Not much good as a shredder.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Tool works as advertised, looks and feels great. Feeling satisfied.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great first impression I just purchased this unit and used it for about 2 1/2 hours his morning picking up heavy leaves from under our maple and birch trees. These leaves had been collecting for weeks so they were very thick. The machine did a great job! Plenty of power! My only complaint is that the bag could be at least 50% larger if not more. It seemed I spent a great deal of time emptying the bag. Otherwise, I had a great first impression of my new leaf shredder.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I'm a 13 year old boy who had a small lawn business and I just bought this and I love it! I used to have some cheap off brand blower and I have a km 130 (which rocks) so I decided to buy this and wow!! It is the best thing for lead clean ups!
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awsome! This is my second Stihl product. The weed eater worked so well I decided to try another product. I couldn't be happier with the shredder vac. It makes leaf clean up so much easier in the flower beds. The blower shredder is easy to switch back and forth as well. Love Kiefer equipment they are tops in customer service!
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what I needed it to do. This is my first leaf blower/shredder vac. I wished I would have got one like this years ago. Having been disappointed with the small engine devices in the past, I decided to get a Stihl to see if they were any better. So far this has done exactly what I wanted it to do. The shredder/vac function works well, filling a bag in a couple of minutes, even handling large 8 inch wide leaves.It is a little difficult to change between blower and vac configuration requiring a screwdriver to release the latch. The union nut is difficult to grip so tightening or releasing the nut is more difficult than I think it should be. It slipped in my hand. I think wearing a none slip glove would greatly improve that.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very surprised. I was very reluctant to purchase the SH 68 C-E vacuum because I had once owned a Stihl gas powered trimmer that was so hard to start that I gave it away and purchased a battery powered one. After months of indecision I got the SH 68 C-E to clean up leaves and small twits in the my bushes around the house. It's fantastic, I couldn't believe how powerful it was and what a thorough job it does on reducing leaves and small twigs, but most important- it starts, and starts easily. I give this vacuum and A+, but your trimmer is a D- at best.
Date published: 2015-11-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips