My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
SH 86 C-E is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 140.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait so long? Whenever I use the blower/vac, I ask myself, "why did you wait so long?" Excellent power and the vac attachment easily mulches leaves and other debris. It will not do the sweet gum balls as they block the shredder. Like any tool (speaking of the vac use) you have to use it to get your technique down, so take a little time with it. The bag fills fast and so optimally it would be great to have two bags and a helper who is emptying one, while you fill the other. Or, lay out a blanket or sheet and dump the bag several times before carrying it away. I also bought the gutter attachment and I can stand on the ground and reach the gutters on our ranch house with a walk out basement. No more climbing on ladders and the entire house is done in 20 minutes. Once the stuff is blown out, I use the blower without the attachment to clean up the walks. Converting from the blower to the vac takes some getting use too, but not difficult. The blower itself is super strong and easily starts. This is a winner, but then I expected that from Stihl. Really appreciated the professional help at the Platte Rental store too. One caution - take care of the tool with the right fuel.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another well designed Stihl Product Bought this yesterday and attacked a pile of post oak leaves about 4 ft high by 20 feet diameter. Have picked up several sticks about 3/4" in diameter and had it shut down. Takes about 5 minutes to unlock. (Getting very adept at it)What my wife likes about it best is the ability to get leaves out of flower beds where normally raking does not work.Wish it ground the leaves a little finer. Works well on wet leaves even tho the manual recommends against it.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed! I did all my homework before I bought this shredder vac, and I have not been disappointed as to this point. I understand some of the issues that others had, but don't necessarily agree with them in my case. Like I saw in another review, the only issue I have is that it does seemed to be designed for a left handed person. But it's not an issue that would keep me from buying it again. Yes, the bag may be a little small, but then I think it would get too heavy when full for some people. This thing chops stuff up and packs it tight in that bag. Super easy to start. I haven't used it as a blower because I have another blower. The steel bladed impeller has done a great job of most sticks and even some acorns that I have been trying to avoid. I love it. My baby sister bought it for my Christmas! She loves me a lot! If you like quality and don't mind paying a little extra to get it, then this is your ticket. My daddy taught me that you get what you pay for, so don't buy junk.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great value and exceeds my expectations. I purchased this blower/shredder to replace an older similar Stihl blower/shredder which gave me exceptional service. Stihl had made so many great enhancements that I was persuaded to update to this model. What I like best about this Stihl product is the ease of starting and the ease of converting from blowing to shredding mode. I own several Stihl products and all of them exceed my expectations.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start. The 2 handle makes it easy to use. I have never personally owed a Stihl but have utilized them through our chainsaw ministry. I was taken back by the process of purchasing one. It could only be an authorized salesman who had to register it and test run it. I felt like when it was all said and done they were handing me the keys to a new vehicle.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this purchase! I went from an old electric blower/vac combo that has worked well for a number of years. We recently added an outdoor living space and it simply became a pain in the kiester to drag out the amount of extension cord that I needed to blow leaves. The Stihl obviously eliminates that problem.I debated a backpack model versus this one, but decided that I wanted the vac option as well. It seems to work better than my old one in this manner, though it does produce an incredible amount of dust--I won't vac any longer without using a filter mask.Haven't had any issues with it starting up quickly using the MotoMix fuel.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just purchased now in shop after two uses Died during 2nd use for new purchase - not happy having to return to shop for service.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well for awhile Well, it keeps telling me my review contains inappropriate language, so I guess it doesn't like bad reviews, as it had no bad language at all. Let's just say I'm disappointed it died in 1.5 years and I won't buy another one. (Too expensive to fix... Bad fuel, supposedly--I only ever used Premium. When the mechanic said it would keep doing it, I knew I was done.) Also, the zipper is too short to get the leaves out easily, it takes too long to shred leaves with it and the attachments are a pain to change.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Above average for Stihl products I have a Kombi blower and recently got my 550 blower returned to me by the Sheriff (after a couple years' absence), so when I purchased my SH 86 C-E, it was specifically for use as a vacuum/shredder. The thing works great! The manual says to keep the bag strap on your left shoulder so that it can be quickly thrown off in case of an emergency. That warning got my attention, so I decided to use the thing per the admonition. Interesting machine behavior when you do that ... when the bag falls off your shoulder, it's getting full (enough) and is the best time to stop and empty the bag. You can gut it out and keep vacuuming after that, but you'll find that the bag gets packed so densely that it's a LOT more difficult to empty. Being on the short side (5' 7"), I have not experienced the difficulties expressed by other Reviewers with respect to the length of the suction tube, and the locking collars seem to work easily in my experience. I purchased a couple strap wrenches based on the reviews herein, but have not needed to use them. I have noticed that when the motor stops working because of an apparent obstruction, when I would take off the suction tube to inspect the shredder blades; there would be no obstruction present. Accordingly, I handled subsequent motor stops by just putting the unit on the ground and pulling the starter cord once. Zoom! Just pick it up and resume vacuuming. The unit is light and easy for me to handle. I'm in my middle 70s, and after emptying two or three bags full I'd sit down for 5 minutes to rest and then resume work. With that sort of routine, I can put in about 4 hours' worth per stretch. Pretty easy work with the right tool! In regard to the complaints about dust ... you want to work in the yard and expect to stay clean? From my wife's viewpoint, if I'm willing to do the outside work instead of her; she's perfectly happy to wash my dusty clothes!
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacing box store model Just bought it this fall, worked out nice for bagging leaves around shrubs and house. I have rocks in some areas and wood mulch in other areas. Worked great throttling it up and down to increase suction. Mulcher did a great job, leaves were chopped up so more fit in the bag. I like the heavy duty zipper and easy to unhook it from vacuum hose, pull back on the release and the strap and off it comes. I would agree on some of the other reviews, changing from vacuum to blower takes some effort, and a small screw driver. But after dealing with the box store brand the vacuum piece would always work its way off, this one does not do that.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Little Clumsy using the Shredder/Vac I find using the blower as the vac/shredder is a little clumsy. The bag should be on the right side instead of the left. It's better suited for a left handed person. The bag is fairly small but luckily I saved the bag from my old shredder and it holds much more. I also find it difficult changing it from a blower to a shredder and back. I'm a little older and don't have the hand strength to do it. Neither does my younger wife. Design is a good idea but takes some hand strength. The blower works fine and I have the extensions to blow out the gutters which works very well but again hard to convert. Blower starts on the second pull every time.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable piece of equipment We have a large yard with several trees ranging from maples to willows. I was a little skeptical the vac would pick up the willow leaves but this model surprised me and did the job. The blower is outstanding and the throttle lock is a great feature for rounding up all the leaves. Anti vibration works great and you can use it for extended periods of time without encountering any vibration fatigue in your arms. Conversion between the blower and the vac takes less than a minute once you get used to it. Vac has a lot of suction power and can handle large and small leaves with ease. The only downside to this model is the bag size. The bag itself works great and is easy to attach and unload but the capacity is limited. Overall this is an outstanding product and I would recommend it to anyone with a few acres of fall clean up like we have.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts First Time Every Time With Plenty of Force Wont find a better value for the money for toughness, durability, and reliability in a lawn equipment. Stihl is the only brand to buy!
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts every time, easy to use, powerful tool. This is one of two Stihl products I bought together, this my first time buying this brand. It is easy to use and has more than enough power, i bought it to use as a leaf vacuum only. The only drawback is the wheel guard is a little awkward to open and keep out of the way while trying to secure the tube.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower Does a great job! I'm so glad I went to J & I in Olympia for my blower. Nice staff and the blower works Great!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product works as advertised I have 26 Aspens, and four very large New Mexico Privots. I know leaves! I pick up ten to twelve vac bags of leaves ever other day in high winds. Picking up dry leaves no problem. Only pick up problem I have is when I exceed the vacuum capacity of the unit, go slow grasshopper and you will have no problem with wet leaves and small twigs.The bag may be small to some, but at 70 years old, Stihl has to make the product for us old guys, women and the manly man. No problem starting, if you mix your own gas use 91 octane from NATIONAL BRANDED GAS STATION!I think problems people are having are user problems, not unit problems. In talking with my dealer he sees too many people using the wrong gas 86 octane and some off brand gas. FOLLOW DIRECTIONS ! To store, follow directions and run it dry.So far so good and next time I wash the car I will us my blower to blow the water off my car. I am very satisfied with this product.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blower/vac I have ever owned I have worn out or destroyed quite a few blower/vacs over the many years since I bought my first one. I finally broke down and bought a Stihl at about twice the price I had been spending for units that were toast in a few years. I have a large yard with lots of trees that requires a serious approach to keeping it clean looking. Especially wonderful is the ease of starting the Stihl. No more sore shoulder from twenty pulls trying to start them. I also like the metal shredding blade compared to the plastic blades found in lesser units. I am convinced the extra cost of the Stihl is a bargain by comparison.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well We love this. I used to have another brand and used it till it was absolutely destroyed. Finally decided we needed to replace it. Nothing else works nearly as well for cleaning out window wells and mulch beds.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like how it is easy to start . I like how you can take the bag off the blower to empty it . It runs very smooth with less vibration .
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disaapointed in this purchase I bought this unit a year ago, using it throughout the fall last year and periodically over the past spring and summer. As I began the fall clean-up this year, the unit stopped working. It's been in the shop now for nearly 2 weeks, apparently waiting on a new carburetor to arrive from Stihl so the repair can be made. Having purchased what I expected was a top tier blower, I am, needless to say, very disappointed. We are currently at the peak of leaf fall in this area and I am on the sidelines, waiting for the repair. I will say that when the unit runs, I have been reasonably pleased. The blower works great, although I'm not impressed with the shredding capabilities with frequent clogging.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Parts Took a little getting use to changing out from blower to vacuum, which works pretty well.I've had it a couple months, getting more difficult to start, think I'll bring to Ace, got 3 years free repair.Gets a little heavy after using for a while, I don’t think my wife could handle it.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i thought it would do!!! if you have a lot of trees around your property and no good place to put the leaves you need one of these beasts. we have places in behind sheds and around other building that leaves collect like crazy and theres no good place to blow them away. the shredder part is were i love it the most; that metal blade grinds leaves up to powder and will even crunch up twigs up to about the size of your pinky finger. the blower part has good performance also. the only thing i wish for me at least is a bigger collection bag. when you got a big pile of leaves it fills up pretty quick.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shredder vac I bought this to suck up leaves in the fall and pick up the debris that I trimmed off of bushes. It is a little under powered, but works great.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use So far so good easy to start and does a great job blowing or shreding
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much handier than others I have used several other brands of Shredder/Vacs and by far this is the most powerful and easiest to use. The comfort grip handle, throttle lock and easy vacuum bag release are among a few of the reasons I say that. Great product, as usual.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We use ours for cigarette butt removal mostly and it works perfectly!!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine I purchased this machine because I live in an older neighborhood with lots off big trees so leaf cleanup is a major project. The SH 86 C-E is easy to start and it fires up every time. The power is great and the vacuum works well. Switching between the blower and the vacuum is a little awkward but it doesn't take very long. You can feel the quality of the machine as you use it.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cannot do more than tiny piles of dry leaves I have some oak leaves, about 15 inches high, about a foot and a half wide, this choked on them within an hour. It is totally useless for anything but small stacks of dry leaves. Lost all sucking power in first hour. Choked on my leaves almost immediately. I buy only Stilh products but this one is junk and it goes back to ACE tomorrow for a full refund.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a well built product This is a overall great product It is easy to start, and its powerful but light weight.This is my first STIHL product but it won't be my last. It is a well built product and I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderful I should have got this vac years ago. works great on leaves and cleaning up the trimmings from the shrubs like nothing. chops everything so fine its a space saver when cleaning up. starts first pull every time. only let down is when it runs out of gas because I'm not paying attention due to ease of use. Seems like I got a system down when cleaning leaves up now. I usually start out blowing most of them in a pile then change over to my shredder bac and let this machine start eating away.
Date published: 2016-05-07
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips