My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
SH 86 C-E is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 131.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacing box store model Just bought it this fall, worked out nice for bagging leaves around shrubs and house. I have rocks in some areas and wood mulch in other areas. Worked great throttling it up and down to increase suction. Mulcher did a great job, leaves were chopped up so more fit in the bag. I like the heavy duty zipper and easy to unhook it from vacuum hose, pull back on the release and the strap and off it comes. I would agree on some of the other reviews, changing from vacuum to blower takes some effort, and a small screw driver. But after dealing with the box store brand the vacuum piece would always work its way off, this one does not do that.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Little Clumsy using the Shredder/Vac I find using the blower as the vac/shredder is a little clumsy. The bag should be on the right side instead of the left. It's better suited for a left handed person. The bag is fairly small but luckily I saved the bag from my old shredder and it holds much more. I also find it difficult changing it from a blower to a shredder and back. I'm a little older and don't have the hand strength to do it. Neither does my younger wife. Design is a good idea but takes some hand strength. The blower works fine and I have the extensions to blow out the gutters which works very well but again hard to convert. Blower starts on the second pull every time.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable piece of equipment We have a large yard with several trees ranging from maples to willows. I was a little skeptical the vac would pick up the willow leaves but this model surprised me and did the job. The blower is outstanding and the throttle lock is a great feature for rounding up all the leaves. Anti vibration works great and you can use it for extended periods of time without encountering any vibration fatigue in your arms. Conversion between the blower and the vac takes less than a minute once you get used to it. Vac has a lot of suction power and can handle large and small leaves with ease. The only downside to this model is the bag size. The bag itself works great and is easy to attach and unload but the capacity is limited. Overall this is an outstanding product and I would recommend it to anyone with a few acres of fall clean up like we have.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts First Time Every Time With Plenty of Force Wont find a better value for the money for toughness, durability, and reliability in a lawn equipment. Stihl is the only brand to buy!
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts every time, easy to use, powerful tool. This is one of two Stihl products I bought together, this my first time buying this brand. It is easy to use and has more than enough power, i bought it to use as a leaf vacuum only. The only drawback is the wheel guard is a little awkward to open and keep out of the way while trying to secure the tube.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower Does a great job! I'm so glad I went to J & I in Olympia for my blower. Nice staff and the blower works Great!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product works as advertised I have 26 Aspens, and four very large New Mexico Privots. I know leaves! I pick up ten to twelve vac bags of leaves ever other day in high winds. Picking up dry leaves no problem. Only pick up problem I have is when I exceed the vacuum capacity of the unit, go slow grasshopper and you will have no problem with wet leaves and small twigs.The bag may be small to some, but at 70 years old, Stihl has to make the product for us old guys, women and the manly man. No problem starting, if you mix your own gas use 91 octane from NATIONAL BRANDED GAS STATION!I think problems people are having are user problems, not unit problems. In talking with my dealer he sees too many people using the wrong gas 86 octane and some off brand gas. FOLLOW DIRECTIONS ! To store, follow directions and run it dry.So far so good and next time I wash the car I will us my blower to blow the water off my car. I am very satisfied with this product.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blower/vac I have ever owned I have worn out or destroyed quite a few blower/vacs over the many years since I bought my first one. I finally broke down and bought a Stihl at about twice the price I had been spending for units that were toast in a few years. I have a large yard with lots of trees that requires a serious approach to keeping it clean looking. Especially wonderful is the ease of starting the Stihl. No more sore shoulder from twenty pulls trying to start them. I also like the metal shredding blade compared to the plastic blades found in lesser units. I am convinced the extra cost of the Stihl is a bargain by comparison.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well We love this. I used to have another brand and used it till it was absolutely destroyed. Finally decided we needed to replace it. Nothing else works nearly as well for cleaning out window wells and mulch beds.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like how it is easy to start . I like how you can take the bag off the blower to empty it . It runs very smooth with less vibration .
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disaapointed in this purchase I bought this unit a year ago, using it throughout the fall last year and periodically over the past spring and summer. As I began the fall clean-up this year, the unit stopped working. It's been in the shop now for nearly 2 weeks, apparently waiting on a new carburetor to arrive from Stihl so the repair can be made. Having purchased what I expected was a top tier blower, I am, needless to say, very disappointed. We are currently at the peak of leaf fall in this area and I am on the sidelines, waiting for the repair. I will say that when the unit runs, I have been reasonably pleased. The blower works great, although I'm not impressed with the shredding capabilities with frequent clogging.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Parts Took a little getting use to changing out from blower to vacuum, which works pretty well.I've had it a couple months, getting more difficult to start, think I'll bring to Ace, got 3 years free repair.Gets a little heavy after using for a while, I don’t think my wife could handle it.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i thought it would do!!! if you have a lot of trees around your property and no good place to put the leaves you need one of these beasts. we have places in behind sheds and around other building that leaves collect like crazy and theres no good place to blow them away. the shredder part is were i love it the most; that metal blade grinds leaves up to powder and will even crunch up twigs up to about the size of your pinky finger. the blower part has good performance also. the only thing i wish for me at least is a bigger collection bag. when you got a big pile of leaves it fills up pretty quick.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shredder vac I bought this to suck up leaves in the fall and pick up the debris that I trimmed off of bushes. It is a little under powered, but works great.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use So far so good easy to start and does a great job blowing or shreding
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much handier than others I have used several other brands of Shredder/Vacs and by far this is the most powerful and easiest to use. The comfort grip handle, throttle lock and easy vacuum bag release are among a few of the reasons I say that. Great product, as usual.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We use ours for cigarette butt removal mostly and it works perfectly!!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine I purchased this machine because I live in an older neighborhood with lots off big trees so leaf cleanup is a major project. The SH 86 C-E is easy to start and it fires up every time. The power is great and the vacuum works well. Switching between the blower and the vacuum is a little awkward but it doesn't take very long. You can feel the quality of the machine as you use it.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cannot do more than tiny piles of dry leaves I have some oak leaves, about 15 inches high, about a foot and a half wide, this choked on them within an hour. It is totally useless for anything but small stacks of dry leaves. Lost all sucking power in first hour. Choked on my leaves almost immediately. I buy only Stilh products but this one is junk and it goes back to ACE tomorrow for a full refund.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a well built product This is a overall great product It is easy to start, and its powerful but light weight.This is my first STIHL product but it won't be my last. It is a well built product and I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderful I should have got this vac years ago. works great on leaves and cleaning up the trimmings from the shrubs like nothing. chops everything so fine its a space saver when cleaning up. starts first pull every time. only let down is when it runs out of gas because I'm not paying attention due to ease of use. Seems like I got a system down when cleaning leaves up now. I usually start out blowing most of them in a pile then change over to my shredder bac and let this machine start eating away.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Just bought this blower Shredder. Starts very easy the catch bag is good size if any larger would be bulky and it would get a lot heavier. Shreds the leaves fast and quick have many other Stihl products and would only buy Stihl products
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start Bought one today at my local stihl dealer. I am very satisfied with the power of the vacuum easy to clean out and dump bag. Saved me hours or work cleaning around house flower beds and around the yard. Cant wait to use it again. Also Rob at cumberland outdoor power is great to deal with A+ customer service when you are dealing with him.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from above my expectation First. I just purchased this today and used it for a couple of hours. My leaves were dry and smaller in size. This machine was very comfortable to use. I purchased it solely for the vacuum leaf shredder capability. I had read other reviews that stated was difficult to switch from blower to vacuum and even though i only did it once i don't plan on doing that again. I have a good blower so i intentionally bought this knowing i wouldn't have to deal with the change over issue. Even in the store i could tell i wanted the SH 86 model because even holding onto it felt so much better. Remember the Sh 86 model has the rubber grip and i felt no vibration at all when it was on. I was able to pick up leaves from rock by just leaving it at idle. The leaves came up but the rocks didn't. I used it 90 percent of the time at idle. I read some reviews that mentioned the zipper on the bag didn't unzip far enough but when i emptied my bag it all came out very easy and the zipper was a non issue. I did pick up a pile of leaves and used the machine at higher than idle for that. I didn't feel the need for a bigger bag as some have mentioned. I felt it was the right size for the machine. I did purchase the Oil with the machine which gave me a 4 year warranty instead of 2 years. Even at idle the machine chewed up the leaves really well. I understand that the higher the rpm the better it would chew stuff up but my smaller leaves worked perfect at idle. At higher rpms i did notice some dust through the bag but it was not a problem. I think large leaves would require a higher rpm just to get it up and down the tube into the metal teeth where it gets chewed up. Starting was super easy. After it was warm i didn't need the choke but used the trigger a bit when i pulled the cord and that allowed it to start with first pull. I really appreciate that Stihl products are made in America. I did my research on this product and am very happy with my purchase and am going to enjoy the time saving tool.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good blower/vac Parts for my existing vac are obsolete, sh86 is replacement, my first Stihl. Reviewed 2 other major brands also. It will suck up anything near the tube, including river rock. You'll know when this happens, it make a lot of noise. The motor mounted on rubber pads does a great job reducing vibration in the handles. That's a big plus.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but packs a mean punch Small unit that is definitely more powerful than it looks. Quite impressed with its weight when being used for hours. The rubber bumpers that separate the motor unit from handles makes a huge impact on absorbing all the vibration that no fatigue is felt in arms.Starts very easily even on cold days. After a few minute warm up, its rip roaring to go. Wasn't looking to spend this much on a blower/shredder unit but am pleased that I did.
Date published: 2016-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth on the hands This is a very comfortable vacuum/shredder. Starts easy. massive suction. Large capacity bag
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This shredder vacuum is awesome This shredder is easy to handle and easy to use. It works great on dry leaves. It gets plugged real easy on wet leaves. I wish it had a little larger fuel tank.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from prematurely wore out Have the SH-86C. Used as a homeowner for 7 years. I estimate about 150-200 hours over that time mainly used for leaves in the fall. Died while running at full throttle with fuel still in the tank. It has low compression. I always used Stihl oil and 89 octane fuel per the manual. For about the last 3 or 4 years used the Stihl fully synthetic oil. I would also let the blower warm up for a few minutes before each use. While I did not expect it to last forever I expected more life than what I got out of this so called professional blower.Had no problems with it until it died this November.All Stihl could tell me was that there are Stihl units in service that are 30 or more years old. Which tells me nothing as if something is rarely used it will last indefinitely.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great two in one product Both blower side and vac side work great. Bag could be bigger, maybe a backpack style bag with a larger capacity. I have a large mature oak trees and works great in and around the flower beds. However, it does not like the acorns. I have a lot of Sthil products, two chain saws, a weed trimmer, and now the blower vac. Great long lasting products.one of my chain saws is 42 years old and still works great. I'd like to see Sthil make a good snow blower . I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-12-05
  • y_2017, m_2, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips