Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 56 C-E

A fuel-efficient shredder vac/blower with the convenience of the Easy2Start™ System.

SH 56 C-E
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 65reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Blower is Great, Shredder is Sub Par The concept is great, but the shredder itself clogs too easily and the bag fills too quickly. It felt like I ended up spending more time emptying the bag and reattaching it to the main system or fixing a clog than I did actually shredding debris. January 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Plenty of power for blowing and mulching After a lot of research this was definitely one of the better buys I've ever made! Starts on the first pull every time and has PLENTY of power for not only blowing leaves but mulching them also! The mulching intake has a steel blade along with the plastic impeller which makes short work of small twigs. My last one had an all plastic impeller which had to be replaced every couple of years. My only complaint is that it seems to go through fuel quickly; but that may be user error. December 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful blower feature This shredder / Vac. is easy to start, and has a powerful blower feature.Unfortunately, the tube conversion from shredder / vac to blower is not veryuser friendly. In addition, the shredder blade does not chop the lawn debrisvery fine. A larger leaf bag could have been supplied with the unit. December 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great blower frustrating shredder I've had mine for years now and use it all the time. Not so much as a hiccup on the engine and starts every time. That being said forget the vacuum part of it. While it works pretty well, trying to convert it or take the funnel or bag on or off the unit is super frustrating. D minus to the engineers who designed that. You get one stick or blockage in vacuum mode and you spent 5 minutes trying to get the chute or the bag off. Terrible design.As a blower I give it a solid A, as to the vaccum part D minus. The connections are so poorly designed they almost shouldn't have the option. November 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works very nicely Seems to work as well as they claimed. Hope to try it out soon. November 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by blower/vac This is a powerful vac. Great for shredding leaves that I have piled on deck. I take the bag off with ease and empty on garden. November 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Broke second day Frustrating raking up leaves the day after buying one of these. Dealer made it clear that fixing it that day wasn't going to happen. Will have a hard time convincing the wife that it's worth paying extra for a brand name product when a cheap one from canadiantire would most likely have outlasted to 2 day life span of this one. November 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good power I am very happy with this product. I have bought many stihl product in the past. I bought this strictly for the vacume part because I already have a stihl BR 600 Magnum blower. The vacume has good power if your not careful it will start sucking up mulch and may get jammed. It got jammed a few times, but I quickly got is up and running. If you did want to use the blower it is somewhat difficult to change over, I only use it as a vacume so I never need to change it over. Besides that it works great and the starting is almost effortless. September 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product fits a homeowners needs I purchased this shredder because of large amount of leaves in my yard each year(tired of raking leaves) it has fit my needs. I would like it to have a larger collector bag but it is acceptable. July 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to start, light weight and easy to use. I like the Stihl blower vac that I recently bought. It does a great job mulching the maple tree seeds (helicopters) that we get so much of in the spring. It is light weight and easy enough to start that my 10 year old son can use it. July 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good prouduct A great blower! But when it comes to a vacuum mode you better have a screwdriver on hand. Constantly cleaning out the shredder after sucking up twigs that are a 1/2 inch which are common in my yard. Disassembly every 5 mins gets annoying! Starts and runs like a champ though. June 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by light weight and economical Starts easy and idles nicely. Easy enough for my wife to handle. I am anxious to try the vacuum portion to see if it is as proficient. Feel secure knowing my dealer is always right there to help with any problems. June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product Performs beautifully This unit works great for my needs...leafs and grass. The proof is how quickly the bag fills up. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by makes cleanup easy I bought this shredder vac per request of my clients since they didn't want me doing blower near their pool. We use it for commercial gardening. I went to they dealer and they pointed me to this machine and I am glad I took their advice. This vacuum makes cleanup in gravel much easier than raking. Instead of burying the leaves under rocks it cleans them up and shreds them enough to fill more trash in the trash cans. Then once all the bigger trash is picked up switch the attachments and blow it in to a pile and switch back vacuum and you're all done. I have never had to take it to the shop. It does get dusty so wear a mask. Due to the dust it also needs the air filter to be replaced frequently. But still highly recommended April 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, but lacking one feature The blower is easy to start, relatively light, has great power, but lacks a feature. The old Stihl blower this replaced, and other current Stihl models, have a feature where you can lock the trigger in full power. This model lacks what would seem to be very easy to incorporate a means of locking the trigger at full power. Having to keep the finger manually depressed is annoying. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Blower/Vac Excellent blower for the money. Easy to start no chance of flooding. Great power sucking and blowing. Vac attachment is easy to install. Vac is easy to use and not clumsy and awkward to hold onto. Works great for blowing snow. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy start easy start is great because of my arthritis in my arm and hands January 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light and easy to start and control! I have had "economy" equipment in the past. My dad was always a Stihl man so when we saw the line of Stihl power equipment and after struggling with one of the "economy" brands we bought the Stihl. We absolutely love it! It is light enough and easy enough to use that both of us love to use it. We purchased the gutter attachment and now no more climbing ladders to clean the gutters. What a versatile machine. It is easy to start and the trigger throttle control allows me to control the power and not make a mess. November 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome blower, but vacuum is only good for small jobs I was really impressed by the blower on the unit, and the ability to vary blower strength. I was disappointed in the vacuum capability, however. It was good for picking up small amounts of loose leaves, but struggled to suck up large amounts. Even with small amounts you needed to put the nozzle right on top of the leaves to get them. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perferct for Redidential Lawn Use Have 3 acers of lawn with trees and window wells around my home, Product turns leaves in window wells to a fine pwder. Blows leaves like no other blower I ever owned. September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very difficult to start We have had nothing but problems with this blower since it came out of the box. To begin with, it is very difficult to start. Pull the cord numerous times, and sometimes it will start, most of the time not. Our blower is now in the shop for the 4th time since we got it in April, 1st time cause it just wouldn't start, next 2 times because the nut holding the shredder kept coming loose, and the blower won't start if the shredder is loose. This time it's in the shop for a fuel leak. Has not been available for us to use very much. Save your money, don't buy this product. September 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just won't start This is by far the worst piece of yard equipment I have ever owned. I have owned many brands and this is the least reliable ever. It just won't start on a regular basis. It will never start if you keep it stored below 30 degrees F, you have to warm it up first. I have met others with the same problem. I use the pre-mix fuel recommended by the dealer, too. The blower is fine and it isn't very loud, but the shredder is weak and clogs easily. My old blower/vac "blew" this one away. So disappointed. No more Stihl for me, despite good reviews. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have now free time to write this! I was skeptical after all the reviews written about the shredder. Just bought this today and it started after the second pull, took about 20 seconds to heat up before it went to full throttle, the air stream was well controllable and it tool me little time to get everything in a pile. leafs, little twigs even and paper that people have thrown in my yard . surprisingly replacing the blow nozzle with the vac nozzle took less than a minute which contradicts what others claim, simply press a screw driver in the hole at the end of the tube and rotate the nut, it comes right off. installing the other nozzle is simply aligning the arrows that are clearly visible on both parts, put the nut in place and rotate it until it clicks. the holes are this big that if you haven't got a screwdriver handy a key or even a twig (1/4" thick) would do just fine. And if you are using this tool you probably have no shortage of twigs!! Very impressed as the vac did not clog up at all. Leafs usually fill me sidewalk gutter and I vacuumed them up at normal walking speed. The fine dust comes out of the pores of the bag. Don't wear any pretty clothes, they will get dirty. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light but strong I needed something for my driveway and patio and this blower is perfect. Easy to crank and saves time.I recommend this blower for the need something strong but light ! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's great being cordless! I love not having to deal with an electrical cord. I am a small, older female, and needed a vac/blower that wasn't too heavy & started easily. This product accomplishes these requirements for me. I do have a little difficulty in pushing the tabs with a tool to change the tools! But can live with it. I think if you were stronger & had bigger hands this might not be an issue, just an annoyance. My husband likes using this product, except push tabs, too. Haven't had/used enough to know about the maintenance aspect. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's been great so far I bought this shredder/vac about 2 months ago and it has been great. The only thing is that when I first got it the blower would start on the second pull every time. Now it take three pulls and I hope the number of pulls doesn't increase. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great blower/vac for the price The SH56 C-E is one of my favorite tools as a homeowner. I love the blowing power, but most of all I love the vacuum/shredding capability. It makes short work of a pile of dry leaves, sucking them up, shredding them and bagging them. Too bad it isn't capable of doing the same with pine needles!My only complaints are that converting between blower/vac can be a bit tedious and there's no great way to hold it in vacuum configuration. When you're holding it in vac config, it's a bit awkward and gets more so as the bag fills up.Also, the bag developed a hole after no more than 3 uses. I'll have to take it into my local dealer and try to get it replaced. The bag NEEDS TO BE sturdier.Otherwise, highly recommended. May 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starts and runs good but that is about it Cheep plastic push in locks on fittings that you need to carry a screwdriver for(provided). Good bag and clamp system for ease of emptying. Discharge clogs frequently when leaves are wet/damp. Muffler not fully shielded. Beware. Dependable starting and runs good. Ergonomics could have been better engineered. May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a bad job stihl did on this one I think it's one of the worst pieces of machinery stihl ever made. Every couple minutes you have to take the whole thing apart to pull the little twigs out. I only use a handful of times and it's not even worth using. It's faster to use a rake. Just saying if you go ahead and buy it you'll be sorry May 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as good as other Stihl products I have a Stihl chainsaw and weed eater, and both are great. I have a lot of trees in my back yard and thought I could manage the leaf problem with a vac shredder.I already have a different brand leaf blower so didn't need another.Pros: Mainly as a blower- very powerful, not very noisy. Not too heavy.Cons: Mainly as a vac/shredder Pretty slow in the amount it can pick up. Usually when sucking up leaves you get other debris as well. This can often jam the impeller or block the suction tube at the base. In addition when picking up leaves that are not completely dry the debris will get stuck in the tube between the bag and the unit. When either tube is blocked it's a laborious task to take it apart and clean it out. In addition the bag doesn't seem to hold very much so you spend a lot of time emptying the bag. Basically, I broke down the time in thirds. One third vacuuming, one third cleaning out stuck debris, and one third emptying the bag. I think you would be twice as fast just blowing or raking then bagging. The vac just doesn't cut it. May 3, 2014
<<prev2 3next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips