My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 56 C-E

A fuel-efficient shredder vac/blower with the convenience of the Easy2Start™ System.

SH 56 C-E
SH 56 C-E is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent products This item is worth the money . sec. I only buy stihl products. Nothing else stands up to stihl overall. ..
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spark Arrester Let Down I was a happy owner of my SH 56 C-E for 10 months until it started to stall a few weeks ago. I always use 93 octane gas from Esso or Shell, Stihl 50:1 Premium premix oil and dispose of old fuel after 2 months. I returned the SH 56 C-E to my local Stihl dealer, T&C Small Engines Hampton for service. T&C has excellent customer service and I have always been pleased with them. I also own a Stihl trimmer and Chainsaw. A few days later T&C advised me that my SH 56 C-E was repaired and to come by to pick it up. The spark arrester was very clogged and that was causing the stalling likely due to old fuel. I advised T&C that I followed the Stihl owner’s manual to the letter regarding fuel mixture and never used low octane or old gas. They were very apologetic, and advised me that Stihl did not stand behind this type of failure within the 2 year warranty period. They fully understood my frustration and refunded my money for the repair. 5/5 Stars for T&C Customer Service! I felt bad though, because the refund is going to hit their bottom line as Stihl doesn’t cover this type of fault. Please advise your engineers to review the design of the SH 56 C-E Spark Arrester. It clearly has a design flaw and it needs to be reviewed.I am disappointed that Stihl does not really cover their products completely during the warranty period. You need to do a much better job of letting customers know what is and isn’t covered in your warranty policy. Thanks to T&C Small Engines Hampton, I remain a Stihl customer, but will question my next Stihl purchase from this experience. Kind Regards,Bob MoranBrooklin, Canada
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product It's a Stihl. Honestly there is not much more to say. But if you need more proof from me then here you go. This is my second Stihl blower vac. My first one was purchased back in 2002. If finally needed work. This one starts easier. Starts on the first pull every time. Short warm up period. Has more than enough torque and power to handle large to moderate yards (we have 3/4 of an acre). We live in altitude and this still works fine. Chews through cottonwood leaves with ease. Maple leaves don't even make it sweat. Fairly quiet. Bag holds more than it looks like it wood. Blower operation is better than my old Stihl BG65 and I thought that was the bomb. Everything about this machine is great but I will say the bag holds a lot and can get heavy.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SH 56 C-E This product starts easy, is light weight, is easy to use and has the power to vacuum up wet leaves. Switching from shredder vac to blower is quick and easy.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I hope you have all day This blower/vac does exactly what it states although if you have a substantial amount of leaves it would take an eternity to vacuum clean your yard. If you are able bodied and own a rake then do not buy this product. You would be better off buying a straight blower and blowing them in piles then raking them into a bag. The vacuum portion simply does not have the capacity to maintain a good working speed. You are dumping the bag more than cleaning. It is a great well built machine it just doesn't have the efficiency that I was looking for.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easily, blower offers strong performance. Bought it to replace an older blower made by a competitor. Considering how each perform when brand new, the Stihl is better by being easier to start and by offering a much stronger airstream. Although slightly more money, I am extremely glad that I spent the extra dollars. I now own two Stihl products and will never purchase a different brand.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no complaints here this is a very good machine for its value.I have nothing bad to say about it
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from make leafs dissapaer ... leafs got blown from the neighbor on my property only to get blow them back when it's my turn. With the vacuum, I can actually compact and get rid of them. Stihl starts very easy, has a strong vacuum, and compacts the leafs.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SH 56 C blower/vac I purchased this blower for home use to clean up leaves and grass clippings.I have had it worked on by a Stihl dealer 2 times and have only had it a year and a half and motor is shot.It was supposed to have a 2 yr warranty but can't be fixed.1 st problem was the spark arrestor being clogged had tuned up as well after 6 months2nd problem was told I had bad gas but same mix I use in my Stihl trimmer 3rd today found dirt had some how entered the intake system. Stihl product was always maintained and serviced and I have 20 yrs of mechanic experience. Stihl products are supposed to be better and it seems like they have been made to cheap to compete with others in the industry.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blow/vac is worth every penny!!! I've owned this product for about six weeks and have used it every weekend. I've used the shredder system twice. The easy to start system STIHL has is second to none. I've tried several other brands, and finally decided to spend the extra money and get a well known and reliable blow/vac. I wish I would have bought this a long time ago.The ease of use is superb. Switching over from blower to shredder is very easy; Especially after you do it the first time. Don't waste your money on other brands. Bite the bullet and get a STIHL.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from too much money for "average" trimmer Only average power, and the vacuum feature is less than that. BIGGEST disappointment: no constant ON switch. Never having had any blower without one, it didn't occur to me to ask. Buyer Beware!! It will cost even more money for this option on the BG 86 model..First and last Stihl
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Typical great Stihl quality. Only problem I have with this unit is the leaf bag. Wish they would come up with a better sling to get it to stay on your shoulder better. Easy starting and light. Love it.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vacuum for those tight places in your yard This thing does what it is designed to do. Great for vacuuming up leaves all over the yard. Instead of making a mess trying to blow leaves out of tight areas you can vacuum and be done. I only use the vac on dryer leaves so I haven't had any clogging problems. Great also for clean up after edging, mowing etc. Bag can get heavy as it fills but that just tells you its time to dump. Runs like a champ. So easy to start. Very happy with my purchase as I am with my Stihl chain saw.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Blower is Great, Shredder is Sub Par The concept is great, but the shredder itself clogs too easily and the bag fills too quickly. It felt like I ended up spending more time emptying the bag and reattaching it to the main system or fixing a clog than I did actually shredding debris.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of power for blowing and mulching After a lot of research this was definitely one of the better buys I've ever made! Starts on the first pull every time and has PLENTY of power for not only blowing leaves but mulching them also! The mulching intake has a steel blade along with the plastic impeller which makes short work of small twigs. My last one had an all plastic impeller which had to be replaced every couple of years. My only complaint is that it seems to go through fuel quickly; but that may be user error.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful blower feature This shredder / Vac. is easy to start, and has a powerful blower feature.Unfortunately, the tube conversion from shredder / vac to blower is not veryuser friendly. In addition, the shredder blade does not chop the lawn debrisvery fine. A larger leaf bag could have been supplied with the unit.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great blower frustrating shredder I've had mine for years now and use it all the time. Not so much as a hiccup on the engine and starts every time. That being said forget the vacuum part of it. While it works pretty well, trying to convert it or take the funnel or bag on or off the unit is super frustrating. D minus to the engineers who designed that. You get one stick or blockage in vacuum mode and you spent 5 minutes trying to get the chute or the bag off. Terrible design.As a blower I give it a solid A, as to the vaccum part D minus. The connections are so poorly designed they almost shouldn't have the option.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works very nicely Seems to work as well as they claimed. Hope to try it out soon.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from blower/vac This is a powerful vac. Great for shredding leaves that I have piled on deck. I take the bag off with ease and empty on garden.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broke second day Frustrating raking up leaves the day after buying one of these. Dealer made it clear that fixing it that day wasn't going to happen. Will have a hard time convincing the wife that it's worth paying extra for a brand name product when a cheap one from canadiantire would most likely have outlasted to 2 day life span of this one.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good power I am very happy with this product. I have bought many stihl product in the past. I bought this strictly for the vacume part because I already have a stihl BR 600 Magnum blower. The vacume has good power if your not careful it will start sucking up mulch and may get jammed. It got jammed a few times, but I quickly got is up and running. If you did want to use the blower it is somewhat difficult to change over, I only use it as a vacume so I never need to change it over. Besides that it works great and the starting is almost effortless.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product fits a homeowners needs I purchased this shredder because of large amount of leaves in my yard each year(tired of raking leaves) it has fit my needs. I would like it to have a larger collector bag but it is acceptable.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to start, light weight and easy to use. I like the Stihl blower vac that I recently bought. It does a great job mulching the maple tree seeds (helicopters) that we get so much of in the spring. It is light weight and easy enough to start that my 10 year old son can use it.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good prouduct A great blower! But when it comes to a vacuum mode you better have a screwdriver on hand. Constantly cleaning out the shredder after sucking up twigs that are a 1/2 inch which are common in my yard. Disassembly every 5 mins gets annoying! Starts and runs like a champ though.
Date published: 2015-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from light weight and economical Starts easy and idles nicely. Easy enough for my wife to handle. I am anxious to try the vacuum portion to see if it is as proficient. Feel secure knowing my dealer is always right there to help with any problems.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Performs beautifully This unit works great for my needs...leafs and grass. The proof is how quickly the bag fills up.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from makes cleanup easy I bought this shredder vac per request of my clients since they didn't want me doing blower near their pool. We use it for commercial gardening. I went to they dealer and they pointed me to this machine and I am glad I took their advice. This vacuum makes cleanup in gravel much easier than raking. Instead of burying the leaves under rocks it cleans them up and shreds them enough to fill more trash in the trash cans. Then once all the bigger trash is picked up switch the attachments and blow it in to a pile and switch back vacuum and you're all done. I have never had to take it to the shop. It does get dusty so wear a mask. Due to the dust it also needs the air filter to be replaced frequently. But still highly recommended
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but lacking one feature The blower is easy to start, relatively light, has great power, but lacks a feature. The old Stihl blower this replaced, and other current Stihl models, have a feature where you can lock the trigger in full power. This model lacks what would seem to be very easy to incorporate a means of locking the trigger at full power. Having to keep the finger manually depressed is annoying.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blower/Vac Excellent blower for the money. Easy to start no chance of flooding. Great power sucking and blowing. Vac attachment is easy to install. Vac is easy to use and not clumsy and awkward to hold onto. Works great for blowing snow.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy start easy start is great because of my arthritis in my arm and hands
Date published: 2015-01-16
  • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips