My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 56 C-E

A fuel-efficient shredder vac/blower with the convenience of the Easy2Start™ System.

SH 56 C-E
SH 56 C-E is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 93.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sucks Literally Difficult to get started. I haven't had mine an entire summer and its already hard to start. Junk. I have trimmer that is the same way. Junk Junk Junk.
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After six months Good concept, but has its limitations. I bought this as light duty blower and shredder for my landscaping business. It is six months old. First the cons. DO NOT buy the model with EZ recoil. After the guys stretched the internal spring 4 or 5 times, I coverted to the traditional recoil. Now it is durable! The other negative is the shredder has limitations. Not intended for big jobs or wet material, otherwise it works great. For the pros, light weight, agile, decent blower performance for a small package, great in small places, and reliable motor.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish I'd tried thisblower 10 years ago, cuz I would've bought it then. I've only had the blower a few weeks and only used it a few times, but I love it. I've had electric blowers in the past, and most recently had a multi-head option for a gas powered weed eater that had a blower attachment. And while both the electric and multi-head option did fine, they pale in comparison to this unit. If I'd have tried this unit 10 years ago I would've saved my money and found a way to buy this. There are cheaper options, but they are also cheaper and inferior products. I have a large deck and a large driveway and I can clear/clean both in less than half the time. This Stihl just puts out so much more air volume than those other blowers I've owned and used in the past. I would recommend this to anyone. And I have!!!
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for the price. My yard is about 1/2 acre and with a lot of trees, pecan and oak trees. With all the trees in my yard and so many leaves in the fall, I needed a good dependable leaf blower and vac. I researched them and talked to yard maintenance people about the equipment they use. Most used stihl products and were extremely satisfied. Stihl was what I purchased. I am extremely happy with it, so this year I purchased a stihl line trimmer, and am pleased with it. Stihl equipment is my choice for lawn tools from now on.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start Great product, easy to start. Take a couple minutes to warm up, then it really moves the air. Love using it.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blower Very happy with the new blower. Starts right up and runs just like all my other Stihl products
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Always been a big fan Stihl due to its dependability. The blower is a lightweight and starts up easily. The shredder works as it is supposed to. Great buy!
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good Bought the shredder vacuum for my acre lot, not a lot of trees on it. Used it to pick up the leaves blown into the fence, worked perfectly. Went into the flower beds with mulch and leaves, works fine until you suck up big pieces of mulch. I jammed it a couple times, took the tube off removed the mulch and kept on going.Used it as a leaf blower works great, does what you expect it to do.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor product and poor service Bought this new in 2016, had trouble after four or five months. Problems with the unit stalling and restarting frequently experience. Took it to a dealer who tuned it up for about half the cost of a new one. Still ran poorly for several more months. Company would not Warrantee the product and can't buy another one from this company.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is great I bought this blower vac this spring to clean up last leafs leaves. This machine will clog if you try to suck up too many wet leaves. So I had to scatter them with the blower configuration then after they had some time in the sun to dry this machine in the vacuum configuration easily sucked them all up. I have been very please with this machine. Sense the leave clean up it gets used once a week to clean off my patio and sidewalks. It so far has been very easy to start. I will update this review once the machine gets some age on it
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for leaves and yard waste I wanted this product so I could remove the leaves and other trash/yard waste from around my rose bushes and other shrubs without having to do it all by hand. Great product!
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for snow and leaves. After trying to use a rechargeable leaf blower to move snow, which did not work as the battery got cold, we decided to use a Stihl leaf blower. I have used their chainsaw for years and it works great. This item was actually less expensive and we used the Moto Mix fuel in it which provides several advantages. First, the engine is protected by a longer warranty, it starts clean and runs great--every time, and the blower does not have an unpleasant gas smell. We store it inside, why walk through the snow to get to the garage, and we store it on a boot tray to catch any snow melt. It easily moves up to five inches (the most we have had at one time) of dry snow and I can clean off my back deck, front sidewalk, and most of my driveway in about 20 minutes. I can get about four uses out of one tank of fuel and the Moto Mix fills my tank two and half times. A great item that works excellently for moving snow. I cannot wait to use it in our flower beds and rock gardens to move leaves when it gets warmer.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Half way through 3rd use it's already broken. Pros:-versatility-price- user friendlyCons:-It jammed each of the 3 times used.-Pull cable spring broke after 3rd time of using it.-bag is too small
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this machine! Read a lot of reviews before buying this vacuum and the people that complain about it aren't using it correctly.First, buy it from a dealer that services Stihl equipment.They (at least at the ace I went to)will start the machine before you buy it, and walk you through the correct procedure, that was awesome. The biggest thing with these is common sense, don't go plunging the nozzle in a big pile cause that will clog it. You will learn how much the unit can handle and just don't exceed that. I skim the the pile back and forth and works great. I have big maple leafs and it chews them right up. Like the bag ,it works just fine. I love this machine! Only use the good Stihl synthetic oil and a little staybil , that's the key.I have another blower and only use this for the vacuum shredder so as far as switching back and forth I don't know. Love this machine!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the hardest starting unit I have ever owed. I never use it for blowing, It's such a hassle to start. I use other blowers I own, so the only time I use it is to vacuum our leaves in and around the breezeway that get gathered around the plantings, if I can get it to start! The unit has almost no hours on it and I would not recommend it to anyone. When you can get it to start it does a very good job in the vacuum mode and saves a lot of time removing the leaves from around shrubs and is great for cleaning up around the ground cover.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent products This item is worth the money . sec. I only buy stihl products. Nothing else stands up to stihl overall. ..
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spark Arrester Let Down I was a happy owner of my SH 56 C-E for 10 months until it started to stall a few weeks ago. I always use 93 octane gas from Esso or Shell, Stihl 50:1 Premium premix oil and dispose of old fuel after 2 months. I returned the SH 56 C-E to my local Stihl dealer, T&C Small Engines Hampton for service. T&C has excellent customer service and I have always been pleased with them. I also own a Stihl trimmer and Chainsaw. A few days later T&C advised me that my SH 56 C-E was repaired and to come by to pick it up. The spark arrester was very clogged and that was causing the stalling likely due to old fuel. I advised T&C that I followed the Stihl owner’s manual to the letter regarding fuel mixture and never used low octane or old gas. They were very apologetic, and advised me that Stihl did not stand behind this type of failure within the 2 year warranty period. They fully understood my frustration and refunded my money for the repair. 5/5 Stars for T&C Customer Service! I felt bad though, because the refund is going to hit their bottom line as Stihl doesn’t cover this type of fault. Please advise your engineers to review the design of the SH 56 C-E Spark Arrester. It clearly has a design flaw and it needs to be reviewed.I am disappointed that Stihl does not really cover their products completely during the warranty period. You need to do a much better job of letting customers know what is and isn’t covered in your warranty policy. Thanks to T&C Small Engines Hampton, I remain a Stihl customer, but will question my next Stihl purchase from this experience. Kind Regards,Bob MoranBrooklin, Canada
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product It's a Stihl. Honestly there is not much more to say. But if you need more proof from me then here you go. This is my second Stihl blower vac. My first one was purchased back in 2002. If finally needed work. This one starts easier. Starts on the first pull every time. Short warm up period. Has more than enough torque and power to handle large to moderate yards (we have 3/4 of an acre). We live in altitude and this still works fine. Chews through cottonwood leaves with ease. Maple leaves don't even make it sweat. Fairly quiet. Bag holds more than it looks like it wood. Blower operation is better than my old Stihl BG65 and I thought that was the bomb. Everything about this machine is great but I will say the bag holds a lot and can get heavy.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SH 56 C-E This product starts easy, is light weight, is easy to use and has the power to vacuum up wet leaves. Switching from shredder vac to blower is quick and easy.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I hope you have all day This blower/vac does exactly what it states although if you have a substantial amount of leaves it would take an eternity to vacuum clean your yard. If you are able bodied and own a rake then do not buy this product. You would be better off buying a straight blower and blowing them in piles then raking them into a bag. The vacuum portion simply does not have the capacity to maintain a good working speed. You are dumping the bag more than cleaning. It is a great well built machine it just doesn't have the efficiency that I was looking for.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easily, blower offers strong performance. Bought it to replace an older blower made by a competitor. Considering how each perform when brand new, the Stihl is better by being easier to start and by offering a much stronger airstream. Although slightly more money, I am extremely glad that I spent the extra dollars. I now own two Stihl products and will never purchase a different brand.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no complaints here this is a very good machine for its value.I have nothing bad to say about it
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from make leafs dissapaer ... leafs got blown from the neighbor on my property only to get blow them back when it's my turn. With the vacuum, I can actually compact and get rid of them. Stihl starts very easy, has a strong vacuum, and compacts the leafs.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SH 56 C blower/vac I purchased this blower for home use to clean up leaves and grass clippings.I have had it worked on by a Stihl dealer 2 times and have only had it a year and a half and motor is shot.It was supposed to have a 2 yr warranty but can't be fixed.1 st problem was the spark arrestor being clogged had tuned up as well after 6 months2nd problem was told I had bad gas but same mix I use in my Stihl trimmer 3rd today found dirt had some how entered the intake system. Stihl product was always maintained and serviced and I have 20 yrs of mechanic experience. Stihl products are supposed to be better and it seems like they have been made to cheap to compete with others in the industry.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blow/vac is worth every penny!!! I've owned this product for about six weeks and have used it every weekend. I've used the shredder system twice. The easy to start system STIHL has is second to none. I've tried several other brands, and finally decided to spend the extra money and get a well known and reliable blow/vac. I wish I would have bought this a long time ago.The ease of use is superb. Switching over from blower to shredder is very easy; Especially after you do it the first time. Don't waste your money on other brands. Bite the bullet and get a STIHL.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from too much money for "average" trimmer Only average power, and the vacuum feature is less than that. BIGGEST disappointment: no constant ON switch. Never having had any blower without one, it didn't occur to me to ask. Buyer Beware!! It will cost even more money for this option on the BG 86 model..First and last Stihl
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Typical great Stihl quality. Only problem I have with this unit is the leaf bag. Wish they would come up with a better sling to get it to stay on your shoulder better. Easy starting and light. Love it.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vacuum for those tight places in your yard This thing does what it is designed to do. Great for vacuuming up leaves all over the yard. Instead of making a mess trying to blow leaves out of tight areas you can vacuum and be done. I only use the vac on dryer leaves so I haven't had any clogging problems. Great also for clean up after edging, mowing etc. Bag can get heavy as it fills but that just tells you its time to dump. Runs like a champ. So easy to start. Very happy with my purchase as I am with my Stihl chain saw.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Blower is Great, Shredder is Sub Par The concept is great, but the shredder itself clogs too easily and the bag fills too quickly. It felt like I ended up spending more time emptying the bag and reattaching it to the main system or fixing a clog than I did actually shredding debris.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of power for blowing and mulching After a lot of research this was definitely one of the better buys I've ever made! Starts on the first pull every time and has PLENTY of power for not only blowing leaves but mulching them also! The mulching intake has a steel blade along with the plastic impeller which makes short work of small twigs. My last one had an all plastic impeller which had to be replaced every couple of years. My only complaint is that it seems to go through fuel quickly; but that may be user error.
Date published: 2015-12-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips