Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86 C-E

Our most powerful handheld blower, made even better with Easy2Start™ technology.

BG 86 C-E
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 74reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower Bought this blower 18 months ago , love the cruise control just lift the kill lever up to the desired speed runs great , easy to start , I use only 90 octane ethanol free fuel ( just search for " pure-gas " and you can find gas stations that sell it near you ) and synthetic 2-cycle oil , I had to clean the spark arester screen this spring just unscrew the exhaust port remove the screen hit it with some penetrating oil and wire brush and screw it back in , replaced spark plug with e3.24 plug and clean the air filter is all I ever had to do to this blower , I use this blower to clean my drive way , gutters , blow leaves it even blows wet leaves , I even use it to blow dry my motorcycle after I wash it , it works great , I think this blower is going to last a long time . March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great handheld power. When my old blower broke I bought a BG 56CE. It did not have the power I needed, my local Stihl dealer let me trade up to BG 86 CE.It has great power to blow wet cedar tree stuff off my roof and out of my gutters. It is relatively quiet compared to my last blower. The engine runs so smooth, I don't get the pins and needles feelings in my hands after extended use, which is my favorite aspect of the BG 86.I also like the four year warranty (with purchase of Stihl gas:oil mix). January 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent blower I have a large yard with lots of trees. This blower makes easy work of leaves, sweetgum balls and acorns. This blower gives backpack results without the bulkiness. Im very satisfied with my purchase. December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great power this product has strong blower/starts great/ light weight/easy use. over all great product!! December 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet, light, and easy to start even when cold I have a large yard and lots of leaves, and wanted something that could move even wet leaves, yet not weigh a ton or have to wear a backpack. So far this product has fit the bill. Lightweight, easy for a non-mechanical person to use, and powerful. My first Stihl product but it feels good and lends me to look at Stihl for future products. December 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding blower I have managed to live nearly 50 years without ever owning a leaf blower even though I grew up on a farm and have maintained acres and acres of property, even after I moved off the farm. I'm not sure how I did it now. I bought an old electric blower from the thrift store a few weeks ago to install on a large sander I have for wood working in lieu of a dust collection system. I plugged it up and the wife saw it working and had to use it. She blew off the deck, the patio, the slab in front of the shop and the carport. And she did it week after week.So, as an Early Christmas present 'joke' I told her I'd bought her this Stihl leaf blower (I actually just bought it for any of us). I don't think I've ever given her anything that made her smile more, she was like a kid with it. She fights over it with the daughter!! If I had known this, I'd gotten one years ago. She keeps all the leaves off everything and I use it to blow out the shop and blow the leaves out of the gravel driveway. It has truly been awesome. So good, in fact, the daughter wants her own. Wish they felt the same way about my chainsaws and cutting firewood! I am extremely pleased with the purchase, absolutely no problems, fires right up and has really good power. December 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Small & Compact Had To Replace An Old Red Blower That I Have Used For The Past 20 Plus Years. Was Very Pleased With The Weight And Power.Very Quiet, What An Up Grade From The Old One. December 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but a few issues early on. I have only had this machine about 4 - 6 weeks and have given it only light use so far. But it has been easy to start and operate. Air flow and velocity seem good and it really has not been as noisy as the electric blower I had before. I really like not having a cord to get out, drag around, and put up. I did have a problem while on my 3rd tank of fuel and took it for service. They replaced the carburetor within 2 days and it now seems OK. October 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet and smooth running blower I bought my blower from our local True Value Hardware store as they are a servicing dealer and the owner knew a lot about the products. This model is the most powerful handheld model made by Stihl. To get more power then upgrading to a backpack version is required.There are several features that I really like about this model:1. Includes round and oval duct.2. Anti-vibration mounts really do work well.3. The choke automatically turns off when pulling the trigger.4. The unit does not emit any smoke unlike most older 2 cycle engines.5. The unit is relatively quiet for a 2 cycle engine.There is only one thing I don't like so far. The engine needs to run 1-2 minutes before gaining full power.So far I am happy with my purchase and would buy it again. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for its size. Great product for any yard size. Portable, powerful, and very easy to use. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent power and control of air streams I purchased in 2014 a BG 86C-E model handheld blower. Best blower I ever owned. Easy to use, plenty of power and dependable. The three things a homeowner looks for in any type of power tools. . It funnels more air into a smaller size that moves mountain of leaves with ease. You can easily control the edges where the blower air stream is distinct unlike other blowers. Not only is this blower well worth the price but is the most efficient. It is amazing how much work it is capable of doing. Never own anything but Stihl products. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Blower I read a lot of the reviews and then purchased mine. It was very difficult to crank. I THEN read the instructions. It IS very EASY to crank once the correct procedure is used ! Love it ! Very smooth running and very powerful! May 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower I've had other stihl products in the past and never doubted this would be another good one. May 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is not good Very hard to start, not much power, what more can I say, it's not good at all. May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best blower I have ever used. Starts first time ever time, easy to use and love the power. April 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by BG 86 ce Blower this is a nice blower but I wish it had more power. I have had much cheaper blowers that had more power. I do like the low vibration feature on this blower as it helps greatly with fatigue. overall its a good blower but don't know if I would buy again.. Love my STIHL chainsaw. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Very light, powerful and easy to start. Well worth the money. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth every penny! I have been holding out for a couple of years now to purchase a new leaf blower because I couldn't convince myself to spend the extra money on the STIHL and that's what I really wanted. I finally broke down and purchased the STIHL and my only regret is not purchasing it sooner!This is a high quality piece of equipment that will last a long time and it's made in the USA!!! Stop thinking about it and make the purchase, you won't regret it.From now on, I purchase nothing but STIHL! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my BG86 C-E This blower is great!!! Lots of power, lightweight, easy to start (usually starts on first or second pull). I use it every week during mowing season and it works flawlessly. This is truly the best hand held blower you can buy. I highly recommend it! January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best big handheld blower on the market I was seeking another stihl blower to replace my retired stihl sh85. I bought this one. The 4 point spring anti vibes make this blower very comfy to use this machine has plenty of power for big and small jobs this blower is very easy to start and use (mine starts in 4 pulls- I use 50:1 canned fuel ethnol free). I highly recommend this blower. January 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by HARD TO START MY UNIT IS VERY HARD TO START . I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS . December 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product! I recently purchased this blower and have used it several times. Overall, it is an excellent product. It is easy to start, light weight, easy to use, and does what it is advertised to do.I have only one complaint/area for improvement in regards to this machine machine. I wish the debris bag was about double the size it is now so I didn't have to empty it so often. I'm guessing it is the size it is so the "average size" population can easily handle the weight. I'm a bigger guy though (6' 6" & 230 lbs.). So, it would be nice if there were an option for a larger bag for those of us who can handle it, and would like to have it.Outside of that, I absolutely love my blower/vac. Without question, I would buy another one and would recommend. The only thing that kept me from giving it an "excellent" rating was tha lack of options for a larger debris bag.Great product! December 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very powerful This blower has exceeded my expectations. I have multiple maple trees on my property and this blower has made clean up so much easier. Great Product! November 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought my last cheap blower We live under three very large pin oak trees. Cheap blowers have been a pain in the rear. This unit is easy for the wife to start and run. Blows leaves off house and gutters in a flash. Gutter option does the trick. Very powerful blower. Just what I needed. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My search for a gas blower. Stihl makes professional-grade gas leaf blowers It sells exclusively through outdoor power equipment dealers Like Top Gunn Equipment in Austin Tx. . Stihl has a very high quality design very easy to start maintain and use. I previously used an electric blower to clean around the the pool deck and after falling in to the pool, hook power cord and blower it was decided I would find a Gas replacement blower and after extensive research I chose the BG 86 CE blower it is very light weight easy to maneuver, I use the blower around the yard and to blow the water off my Harley Davidson after washing it so I wanted something that would last and be durable and function-able at the same time. I was very happy with the pre-sale knowledge of the staff at Top Gunn Equipment Rentals in Austin, Tx. They also performed a pre-check of the blower before it left there store. the Stihl line of gas handheld and backpack blowers features high power and high amount of air I chose the handheld for its light weight and power. Consider this brand before shopping the other brands at the big box stores. I am very satisfied with my Blower. November 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product has not performed well. Seek another brand I purchased this 5 years ago and I literally use it approximately 5-6 times a season. Sept to late Nov. Since purchase the carburetor was replaced twice under warranty, the muffler bolts have loosened off twice (my repair and parts) and I just brought it in to find out the bottom aluminum casing has cracked allowing the engine mounting bolts to loosen and the engine to seize. (The unit was not dropped). This is a very expensive piece of garbage. I take care of all my power equipment and use the correct oil and additives per specifications. I may have received a lemon but my wallet has had enough. I have two weed whackers, 2 snow blowers, lawn tracker all with many more hours and all perform well. I hardly use this except in the fall and can not get through a season without having to put money into it. Find another leaf blower/vacuum. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BG86C Blower I've had this three years now. I love it. Looking for backpack unit but can't find one with as much CFM or MPH so why waste money. Of Course Stihl has some but my yard is not large enough to justify the cost. This one does just fine. October 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Great product, easy to start and has cut the time I spend in half compared to my old blower. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good blower Easy to use, starts on second pull every time i use it. I havent used it to blow leaves around, but it does blow grass clippings of the driveway and dirt out of my landscaping. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just one of many Stihl products I own. It is the ONLY brand I buy! The blower is one of many Stihl products I own and operate. As an owner of rental properties, all my power tools get used, and I mean USED. The first was a MS-36 chainsaw purchased 25 years ago. It is still going strong. With reasonable maintenance and proper fuel mixture, I have never had a machine breakdown or failure to operate. WHY would I buy any other brand? When you are on the job your time is money! August 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips