My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86 C-E

Our most powerful handheld blower, made even better with Easy2Start™ technology.

BG 86 C-E
BG 86 C-E is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Bought It! My Ryobi back back bit the dust after 1 season. I had spent a couple of hundred dollars on it from a box store and it worked great for a time, but just stopped.I have purchased a Stihl weed eater and chainsaw and they have been awesome, so of course I started researching the blowers when I needed to replace the Ryobi and this one hit all the marks.I bought it at my local Ace Hardware in Nahunta GA (amazing staff there!) They tested it before it left the store and I brought it straight home and put it to work. I have no regrets... it moved heavy piles of leaves and pine straw with ease! Started and stopped it several times, and just like my other Stihl products, it starts easy and runs like a dream. Get this blower. I am glad that I did!
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great step-up blower The BG86C costs a little more than some similar appearing Stihl models, but well worth it for stronger blowing power and easy starting...but definitely follow all the manufacturer's instructions to assure best performance. I suggest Stihl engineers should redesign the method of how the blower tube sections twist together. They're darn difficult to un-twist if you want to shorten the blower discharge for tight spaces. All-in-all, fine machine.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great all around value After several lesser brands gave up, I went for the best out there and this is it! Great power and starts reliably with little fuss / effort. I process several acres of leaf litter of many different species, so the blower / vac made sense to me. This unit has plenty of power and is comfortable for all day use. The last "homeowner" bargain brand blew the motor the second day of use, this puppy only stopped for gas over the next two days.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power and does a nice job on the leaves Nice machine with plenty of power but it takes forever to warm up so that you can achieve full power. Acts like it wants to stall when pulling the throttle trigger, almost like its flooding out. Took it back to the dealer and they told me it has to get broken in more. I've been through 1 gallon of gas in it and am wondering how much longer it is going to take to "break in"? I've never had any equipment act like this just because it's new. I'm having a hard time believing what I was told. Other than that it seems to be a good machine.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from overall quality is A-1 This blower is quiet, easy to start, dependable, and has plenty of power for clearing a large yard and driveway. I would recommend it to future buyers.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy2Start is good stuff! This machine has the best starting system for a small gas engine without an electric starter. Just flat works. Machine blows soggy leaves in the rain. That is how much blow it has but I have yet to use the suction and macerating ability of the machine to bag and pick up the leaves.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and quality Very happy with purchase. The blower is dependable and easy to start and operate.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful but hard to start. It takes 8 pulls to start initially but cranks easily after it warms up. It bogs down when you give it the gas but is very powerful after it finally decides to take the gas. If you use the flat tip, it is hard to hold because it pushes your arm backwards when you accelerate.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid blower Been using this blower for a season now. Overall I'm pretty happy with it. Starts well, runs good. Haven't used the shredder yet. I do have the gutter kit attachment and have made some quick money with it. It's basic but performs good with this blower.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Notch Time Saver! This product did an amazing job both with the vacuum and the blower. This saved me hours of time being able to switch quickly from blowing and vacuuming. It mulched the leaves and sticks, and aside from the occasional 1 inch piece getting stuck it ate the rest with no damage to the metal blades! Love this thing and will have the weed eater next season to match!!
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent When I purchased this product at the hardware store I was a little skeptical. This blower is everything That I have expected.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power for handheld blower 200% better than the Craftsman blower I've been using for 15 years
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed This blower has more air velocity than my retired backpack. I can get into tight spaces where I couldn't with the backpack style blower. One thing that you may want to consider is if your left handed and you have the blower next to you it will suck your shirt/ coat onto the protective grill it has that much power. Great anti vibration handle and it's not heavy for those long working hours.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, I love it This is the best blower I have ever owned. I am so satisfied, thank you.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product may have a quality issue Had the BG 86 C-E for about 4 years. It worked great up until about a month ago. While blowing some leaves it all of a sudden stopped immediately. Recoil was tight and would not move. Brought it to a Stihl service center and was told some bolts backed out of the engine and were wedged between the fly wheel and the motor. Broke a number of fins off and damaged the seal. Cost to fix was 2/3's of what a new one would be. Don't know if the bolts were never tighten down sufficiently or adhesive to help hold them in place was never used. I don't know if I'll take another chance on a Stihl blower again.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower made in USA Of all the blowers I have owned in my life this one is by far the most powerful and well built.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and use. Great choice by me! This is a great choice for most homeowners to use in their yard. Not too heavy but plenty of power for most jobs. I have about an acre and have 30+ trees (many types). All my neighbors have trees, also. I'm talking big, mature trees. Time will tell about lengthy dependability.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BG 86 C-E I bought the Leaf Blower BG86C-E on November 1st, 2016. On November 5th ,it won't stay running. It's BRAND NEW. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BG 86 C-E very dependable easy to start the power is great i would buy another.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my wife My wife recently borrowed an 86 C-E from a family member and immediately decided it was time to "trade up" from her old electric unit. After getting her own unit she found the 86 CE very easy to start and has enjoyed months of care-free use. My only complaint is that she now has to make sure every leaf and/or pine needle is gone almost from the second it hits the ground.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very Reliable product This product is only used around the home residence. Without question, the blower has more than exceeded my expectations of reliability and ease of use. During the fall season, the blower gets used at intervals lasting more than two hours due to the heavy down-slaught of leaves. My next Stihl product will be a 20-inch chainsaw.
Date published: 2016-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product wish I bought this the first time I now have both a trimmer and the blower/shredder vac. I have to say you get what you pay for. Both units start easy and operate flawlessly each time I use them. I wouldn't tell people to buy any other brands. I have had other names like craftsman and Troy built which I thought would be good products but I have always been left with problems shortly after owning. I finally bought a Honda mower three years ago after a craftsman mower just over a year old quit. Sthil is a company true to giving the customer a great product that you can trust year after year. With product support and great dealers to help you throughout your ownership."Thanks Sthil keep up the great work"Zach
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word DEPENDABLE 1st Stihl purchase, very pleased, starts every time plenty of power. Done with the big box store outdoor equipment
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wanted a little more power Bought this last year for home use.Was hoping for a little more power with a gas engine.Didn't feel like the backpack blower was the route to go at that time.If I could trade it in now id upgrade...
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Good First blower I have ever owned. We have mostly fir needles but it works very good on those. Not as good when they are wet but its better than using a hose and water. Starts easy and balance is very good.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blower made This is the best blower I've owned and/or have researched. This blower moves wet leaves that is matted. I never have a problem with starting this model blower. The price is very competitive for this blower compared to the competition.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Product I recently purchased and had a few months. It starts up very easily and the vibration dampening system is amazing as your hands do not get numb. It is also relatively quiet and powerful as well. I would recommend spending a few extra bucks to get a good quality product. Great Investment!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to start when hot. Brand new BG 86 C-E. It does not start easily when it is hot. Not too happy.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy duty I have dropped this thing off of a 3ft ladder and yes it ran and nothing broke
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Power- but easy2start is pointless Owned for 6 months and returned for 2nd time in a month bc the start mechanism pull fails. I also run a big-55 which never had this problem in 5 years. Save your money, the pull on this machine is a bad design the shop seems familiar with. I regret my purchase and will likely return to a more reliable brand. This is supposed to be a commercial grade Model I have my doubts.
Date published: 2016-06-08
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips