Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 104reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding product ! First blower I've owned. Was recommended by a neighbor who does commercial lawn care. Starts easily, plenty of power, & easy to handle. August 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely powerful! Having owned several Stihl products in the past, I looked no further when I was in need of a new blower. My old blower, a Stihl model BG85, had lasted for 13 years and, though still running, had lost considerable power and was becoming harder to maintain. I told my wife that if it was an automobile, it would have a million miles on it. It had been used to clear snow, clean the garage and drive, and most importantly, to clear truckloads of leaves almost daily in the fall. There were days when it would run for 8 hours at a time without stopping other than to refuel. If the new model BG86 provides the kind of service I received from the 85, I should never have to purchase another blower in my lifetime. Though I expect the most from my equipment, Stihl has never failed to provide. August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am satisfied after one year of service. I've had the BG 86 for one year and it has been great so far. I use the product once a week in the summer to clear my porch and sidewalks of grass clippings and I also use it to clean my garage. I have a lot of trees around my house and use it to blow the leaves into piles in the fall. It also makes clearing gutters a quick process. I like the ability to change between a round and flat tube because the round tube seems to work better in the yard but the flat tube does better on concrete. The flat tube directs the air to a focused spot creating more power to move objects. July 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stihl ... Made in the USA First and foremost, Made in the USA! This is my 3rd different brand of blower. My first brand .. complete junk. My second brand which was a closer competitor of Stihl was actually very good for the 12yrs. I had it. I'm always looking for a better product though and decided to try a Stihl. It has been harder to start in colder weather verses warmer weather. Once started, it does take some run time before you have full RPM's. The Ja pan unit did start easier. That said, I'm told some of this has to do with the emissions on today's engines verses years ago. I find I'm filling the gas tank often. This unit is either gas hungry or the tank is small. This unit primarily moves leaves in the fall. It has no problem doing that .. Power is phonominal! The grip and anti-vibration of the unit .. cannot say enough good things about. Overall a very good, solid machine which again, is made in the USA! June 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs best without alcohol fuel I have owned this blower for a year and love its weight and power. I find that it runs much better when using 91 octane (or higher), fuel with the alcohol removed. Here in my town, I have measured 15 % alcohol in local fuel, even in the Summer. I found a method on-line that describes how to remove the alcohol by adding one gallon of distilled water to the fuel in a clear 5 gallon poly-carbonate bottle. Just shake it up for about 5 minutes, let it sit for about 1/2 hour - then the water absorbs the alcohol and goes to the bottom. Siphon off the gas from the top of the bottle down to the very visible separation line and discard the remaining water-alcohol mix. I have done it many times with noticeable success and do this for all of my gas operated power tools. Use the standard mix of two stroke oil recommended for your specific product. In four stroke engines such as lawn mowers, use the gas without adding oil as you would normally do. All of your engines will run trouble free a lot longer with this fuel. June 18, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Manage Your Expectations I agree with some other reviews that this machine takes a while to warm up to full strength. I find that it also has average blowing power. But, if you have average blowing around needs like I do it works fine. Easy to start, light weight and blows grass clippings of my driveway and leaves out of my flower beds. So even though this machine doesn't blow :) me away like my other Stihl products it is fine and I am happy I have a Stihl and not something else. June 11, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by same problems as other reviews say i had the same problem with the cold start. when i started the blower it stalled when i give it gas. also it didn't have the power to move debris so i was upset with the product. June 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl excellence as usual Superb machine. Starting, running, power, flexibility. Great anti vibe, quiet, powerful, lightweight. Excellent controls/auto choke design and cruise control. Could not ask for more. Highly recommended. May 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by STIHL 4 EVER !!! Nothing compares to this company. They have been making the best Equipment since as long as I can remember. 25+ years. I do not even entertain the idea of using something else. Never once have been disappointed. You can feel free to buy from STIHL with the fullest confidence. Enjoy! April 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by This blower is easy to start. The run features are easy to use with one hand. I bought a GB 86 to clear snow from a ground mount solar system . It works fine up to 5 feet away and anything farther it does not have any power to remove snow. Stihl should offer for sale separate sections of blower pipe to reach out father.The blower starts and runs ok but takes a long time to warm up to full rpm. Also I can hear something in the blower that seems loose. Don't know what it is. February 24, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not dependable. Owned for almost 2 years. Has the typical shut off when idling as stated by others. Also has gone through two carbs while using ethanol free fuel and stihl mixture.Left me stranded at a job that the customer offered me his homelite blower to do the job..... February 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The gold standard for commercial handheld blowers 1. This is the most comfortable handheld I have ever used .. period.2. Starts on the first pull every time.3. Enough power to move stubborn wet/muddy leaves4. Lightweight5. Quiet6. Excellent power (scouring) on wet and dry grassEnough said. This and the BG55 are the best handheld blowers that Stihl makes. January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Leaf Blower! I have had this blower for several months now and absolutely love it. My neighborhood has a lot of Pin and Red Oak trees that drop a lot of leaves. This leaf blower has done an excellent job and is easy to use. I have also used this blower several times to remove 1 inch fluffy light snows and it did a great job. This leaf blower is easy to start, runs great, light weight, well balanced, and really moves leaves. It might be just a little more expensive ($50) but trust me, it is well worth it to own Stihl and you won't regret it. I own a few other Stihl products and that's all I'll buy now.I previously had a Craftsman 25cc 2 cycle 215mph blower that I liked but it always had starting issues. It never liked to restart when warm, sometimes it wouldn't start for days, then finally very sluggishly start. Finally it died after just 3 years. December 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY COMFORTABLE! PLENTY OF POWER! I love my bg86 hand held. The new vibration reduction is amazing, can't feel any vibration at all while using it. Has a plenty of power to get the job done. Very smooth motor and quiet to. I love my stihl products and will stick with the best. Thank you stihl! December 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by works as advertised, When using it to mulch up my leaves this fall. I wish the zipper opening was wider on that end so the leaves would come out better. I had shake the leaves out with some force, while trying to keep the leave in the bags I was using to hall them away. The leaves don't just fall out. That is the only complaint I have. It works great other than that, wet leaves and all. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and light I just bought it today after the lowes one just stopped starting hasn't started in 3 days I came home gassed it up started instantly did my leaves , only down fall is it doesn't have a headlight or I'd still be out there, there is truth in you get what you pay for it may be a bit pricy from the get go but after only one use worth every penny, thank you stihl November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow, this blower is great. After checking my options I decided on the BG86. Wow glad I did. It's a fantastic machine. Lots of power and you don't get tired when using it. Hands above my old blower. So happy I purchased this unit November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my yard My son has a backpack blower that is to big for my yard. I have 5000 sq. ft. to use a blower on. My son has 1 1/2 acres. His blower is a BR 500. Brought the blower home and gave it a try. Much to my surprise this is more than enough power. Possibly more than I need. Every thing Stihl says it is and more. I am going back today and get the gutter attachment because I do not like getting up to the roof. Easy start, loads of power, and easy to use.I have always believed spend the money for quality, you get what you pay for.Great value for the money October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by By far the best blower best blower I've ever used its power is unmatched very satisfied I've used Echo products in the past and I'm switching over to Stihl products from now own September 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by BG 86 I have used this blower for about 9 months now and I can say it is the best handheld blower I have ever used. It is light, comfortable and has plenty of power. The anti vibration is a very nice feature. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I finally experienced what quality is I just bought this blower yesterday so I don't have a whole lot to share but just from the start and day that I spent using it, you can really tell the quality. This is also plenty good enough for the average user. I am sold on stihl for all future lawn an garden small engine devices! August 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower Bought this blower after my big box store blower quit after just a year. I love that anytime I need a blower I can just get this out and get it started in 2 pulls. Worth every penny! July 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Start easy, Most dependble blower when you need it . Works awesome all day long Excellent blower! Starts easy every time, even when using it all day long . July 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great blower but it has some problems I have had several different type of blowers, but this is the only one that I have had that after using it for about 20 minutes the handle get so hot that you have to stop & let it cool off before you can finish. I also have several other Stihl products. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Blower is the bomb. This is my third blower and so far it's the best blower out of all three. I can't say enough about the quality, and the easy starting. This model has the rubber mounted motor, very nice. Thanks STIHL. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great power for the price I almost bought a backpack model but a friend talked me into this. He assured me that it would have enough power to do all of the tasks I needed completed around my house. He was absolutely right. I love my Stihl BG 86 and I use it as much as I possibly can. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by RE: Introduction Excellent product! Lots of power, reliable and easy to use. July 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great power with less vibration : ) I have wanted to buy Stihl Products but always thought they were expensive. But if I have to replace an inexpensive machine every other year then I can really say I've saved anything.I think that quality is built in their machinery.I must say I love the Anti vibration!And the balance of power to weight May 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great features The BG 86 has excellent power, it starts easily and it's reasonably light weight. It either has a small fuel tank or it consumes a lot of fuel. It is pricey, but if it last then it will be worth it.The blower is brand new. Ask me in five years - that will be the real tell tale May 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The beast of all handheld blower's The bg86 is a very light unit and very easy to use anyone can use it. very powerful unit. May 11, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips