My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
BG 86 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great machine As indicated above, overall great machine.Two problems encountered.1. OFF switch located exactly where the thumb rests while holding the blower. I keep turning the machine off by accident.2. Suction screen on side continues to suck my pants leg into the grill.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start and more than enough power Does a great job on my leaves. Grass is no match for it and I use it to clean my zero turn decks with easrpe
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does everything well My BG86C blower does everything I expected it to do. Blows wet or dry leaves with ease and that is essential in the Pacific Northwest. The price was higher than other brands but I had to rebuild my "other brand" blower twice. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Easy to start - trigger lock is a plus - a hand held hurricane!
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed with the power Bought this mainly to shred leaves that blow into my garage lean-to, impossible to rake or blow them out. The power it has for blowing leaves out of the yard is an added bonus.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best handheld I've owned, surprising power, great quality Bought the BG86 to replace another top tier manufacturer blower that lasted over 10yrs. Decided on Stihl because of a MS260 chainsaw my wife bought me a few years ago....I was very impressed with the chainsaw so said why not try the Stihl blower. No regrets and have nothing to knock the blower about except pricey.....guess you get what you pay for. I've had a few hand held blowers over the years and the others had the air pick-up at the bottom, the Stihl is on the side. A little annoying that my loose Shirt/clothing gets sucked to the intake so tuck your shirts in! I was very surprised at the amount of air the small blower puts out. It is also very quiet compared to others that I've seen. Quality is excellent, typical Stihl and its pretty easy to start but can see it may be a problem with elderly. I bought the BG86 w/o vacuum bag but decided to buy the optional kit in the fall........should have bought the BG86 C-E and could have saved a little $. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute workhorse After some minor carburetor issues, this blower has proven to be fantastic. On my 2.5 acre wooded lot with maples and oaks this blower moves leaves!
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the power I expected I replaced a 12 year old BG 85 (great blower) for a new BG 86. I'm very disappointed in the power and performance of this under powered blower. Unfortunately the CARB regs have limited the performance of a good engine. This blower takes about 4 minuets to warm up and perform right. You have to feather the throttle to reach high RPM or the unit bogs down. I have experienced at least a 20% loss in performance from my previous BG 85. In my opinion if you own a pre-CARB unit, keep fixing and servicing it because the new models are disappointingly powerless.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A high quality, well built product that lasts years is a better value than several two year machines. I have a BG 86 C blower that starts on the first pull all the time and has the features and power that I want for the many jobs it does for me. The controls are right where they should be and the maintenance is easy and understandable. I plan to buy more Stihl products in the future.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On my second one. I liked the first one so much that I purchased another one to work more efficiently. Handles most everything I need it to do and at all angles. I'll work this machine for hours at a time and never fell sore or wore out from doing so.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from seams to be the best of the hand held blowers The Stihl BG 86 is a little hard to start compared to my 10 year old BR 600 the 86 takes at least 4 to 5 pulls to start no matter what method I use, my old 600 starts most times on the first pull but sometimes on the second. I am using the recommended Stihl oil when mixed with 93 octane gas is a lite gray color. The problem is the gas tank on the 86 is opague and you can not see the fuel level, someone should have noticed this when designing this product. The only way to see the fuel level is to remove the gas cap, or possibly use a different oil that has a darker or brighter color.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has excellent blowing power! I have been in the tree maintenance business since 1994. I was using Echo until this latest purchase. Saw the BG 86 as a replacement for the tired Echo. Now it is Stihl I depend on for every job. I have used Stihl chain saws , since the 80s!
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Durable Owned 3yrs. with heavy use. Reliable and durable. almost too bulky for one handed use. Would not consider as good a value at its current price point.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blower It is so quiet I thought it was underpowered until I put it to action. This thing can sure move some debris!Love it. I just keep adding to my STIHL collection and am never disappointed.MADE IN THE USA!!!!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product ! First blower I've owned. Was recommended by a neighbor who does commercial lawn care. Starts easily, plenty of power, & easy to handle.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely powerful! Having owned several Stihl products in the past, I looked no further when I was in need of a new blower. My old blower, a Stihl model BG85, had lasted for 13 years and, though still running, had lost considerable power and was becoming harder to maintain. I told my wife that if it was an automobile, it would have a million miles on it. It had been used to clear snow, clean the garage and drive, and most importantly, to clear truckloads of leaves almost daily in the fall. There were days when it would run for 8 hours at a time without stopping other than to refuel. If the new model BG86 provides the kind of service I received from the 85, I should never have to purchase another blower in my lifetime. Though I expect the most from my equipment, Stihl has never failed to provide.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am satisfied after one year of service. I've had the BG 86 for one year and it has been great so far. I use the product once a week in the summer to clear my porch and sidewalks of grass clippings and I also use it to clean my garage. I have a lot of trees around my house and use it to blow the leaves into piles in the fall. It also makes clearing gutters a quick process. I like the ability to change between a round and flat tube because the round tube seems to work better in the yard but the flat tube does better on concrete. The flat tube directs the air to a focused spot creating more power to move objects.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stihl ... Made in the USA First and foremost, Made in the USA! This is my 3rd different brand of blower. My first brand .. complete junk. My second brand which was a closer competitor of Stihl was actually very good for the 12yrs. I had it. I'm always looking for a better product though and decided to try a Stihl. It has been harder to start in colder weather verses warmer weather. Once started, it does take some run time before you have full RPM's. The Ja pan unit did start easier. That said, I'm told some of this has to do with the emissions on today's engines verses years ago. I find I'm filling the gas tank often. This unit is either gas hungry or the tank is small. This unit primarily moves leaves in the fall. It has no problem doing that .. Power is phonominal! The grip and anti-vibration of the unit .. cannot say enough good things about. Overall a very good, solid machine which again, is made in the USA!
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs best without alcohol fuel I have owned this blower for a year and love its weight and power. I find that it runs much better when using 91 octane (or higher), fuel with the alcohol removed. Here in my town, I have measured 15 % alcohol in local fuel, even in the Summer. I found a method on-line that describes how to remove the alcohol by adding one gallon of distilled water to the fuel in a clear 5 gallon poly-carbonate bottle. Just shake it up for about 5 minutes, let it sit for about 1/2 hour - then the water absorbs the alcohol and goes to the bottom. Siphon off the gas from the top of the bottle down to the very visible separation line and discard the remaining water-alcohol mix. I have done it many times with noticeable success and do this for all of my gas operated power tools. Use the standard mix of two stroke oil recommended for your specific product. In four stroke engines such as lawn mowers, use the gas without adding oil as you would normally do. All of your engines will run trouble free a lot longer with this fuel.
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Manage Your Expectations I agree with some other reviews that this machine takes a while to warm up to full strength. I find that it also has average blowing power. But, if you have average blowing around needs like I do it works fine. Easy to start, light weight and blows grass clippings of my driveway and leaves out of my flower beds. So even though this machine doesn't blow :) me away like my other Stihl products it is fine and I am happy I have a Stihl and not something else.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from same problems as other reviews say i had the same problem with the cold start. when i started the blower it stalled when i give it gas. also it didn't have the power to move debris so i was upset with the product.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl excellence as usual Superb machine. Starting, running, power, flexibility. Great anti vibe, quiet, powerful, lightweight. Excellent controls/auto choke design and cruise control. Could not ask for more. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL 4 EVER !!! Nothing compares to this company. They have been making the best Equipment since as long as I can remember. 25+ years. I do not even entertain the idea of using something else. Never once have been disappointed. You can feel free to buy from STIHL with the fullest confidence. Enjoy!
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This blower is easy to start. The run features are easy to use with one hand. I bought a GB 86 to clear snow from a ground mount solar system . It works fine up to 5 feet away and anything farther it does not have any power to remove snow. Stihl should offer for sale separate sections of blower pipe to reach out father. The blower starts and runs ok but takes a long time to warm up to full rpm. Also I can hear something in the blower that seems loose. Don't know what it is.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not dependable. Owned for almost 2 years. Has the typical shut off when idling as stated by others. Also has gone through two carbs while using ethanol free fuel and stihl mixture.Left me stranded at a job that the customer offered me his homelite blower to do the job.....
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The gold standard for commercial handheld blowers 1. This is the most comfortable handheld I have ever used .. period.2. Starts on the first pull every time.3. Enough power to move stubborn wet/muddy leaves4. Lightweight5. Quiet6. Excellent power (scouring) on wet and dry grassEnough said. This and the BG55 are the best handheld blowers that Stihl makes.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Leaf Blower! I have had this blower for several months now and absolutely love it. My neighborhood has a lot of Pin and Red Oak trees that drop a lot of leaves. This leaf blower has done an excellent job and is easy to use. I have also used this blower several times to remove 1 inch fluffy light snows and it did a great job. This leaf blower is easy to start, runs great, light weight, well balanced, and really moves leaves. It might be just a little more expensive ($50) but trust me, it is well worth it to own Stihl and you won't regret it. I own a few other Stihl products and that's all I'll buy now.I previously had a Craftsman 25cc 2 cycle 215mph blower that I liked but it always had starting issues. It never liked to restart when warm, sometimes it wouldn't start for days, then finally very sluggishly start. Finally it died after just 3 years.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY COMFORTABLE! PLENTY OF POWER! I love my bg86 hand held. The new vibration reduction is amazing, can't feel any vibration at all while using it. Has a plenty of power to get the job done. Very smooth motor and quiet to. I love my stihl products and will stick with the best. Thank you stihl!
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works as advertised, When using it to mulch up my leaves this fall. I wish the zipper opening was wider on that end so the leaves would come out better. I had shake the leaves out with some force, while trying to keep the leave in the bags I was using to hall them away. The leaves don't just fall out. That is the only complaint I have. It works great other than that, wet leaves and all.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and light I just bought it today after the lowes one just stopped starting hasn't started in 3 days I came home gassed it up started instantly did my leaves , only down fall is it doesn't have a headlight or I'd still be out there, there is truth in you get what you pay for it may be a bit pricy from the get go but after only one use worth every penny, thank you stihl
Date published: 2015-11-10
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg86, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips