My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
BG 86 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 141.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, and works great! This thing works great, usually starts on the first pull!
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool After 8 years my old Stihl died, loved it so much I bought another!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts easily and quality parts Power is decent and starts easily. Only a few months old and will leave another review after a year or two.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product is underpowered compared to older models I had a BG56 blower that did a fantastic job, I gave it to my grandsons for their mowing operation. I thought I would buy a bigger more powerful blower since I have a lot of leaves in the fall to clean up. This BG86 is a sick under powered blower that does not even preform as good as the smaller BG56. Personally I am sadly disappointed with this product as far as power is concerned.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is great gets the job done I love the power help me get the job done faster easy to use and powerful
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BG 86 As with all Stihl professional grade products, this particular blower is one I would recommend. I have been well pleased with it and have no regrets on the purchase. It is lightweight but very well built. Starts every time and does what it was meant for. I actually had a smile on my face when I used it for the very first time.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best handheld on the market I have a unique job that allows me to use many consumer grade handheld leaf blowers, and when it came time for me to purchase my own, I chose a Stihl. I LOVED my BG55, and was very happy with it for many years until it was stolen from my garage. I decided to replace it with the new BG86, and I don't even miss my 55. Stihl's new antivibration system is amazing, and the new blower design eliminates the slight centrifugal drift the Stihl blowers had just a few years ago. If you're in the market for a new handheld that really blows, look no further than Stihl.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to start. So easy to use When my old gas powered blower gave up the ghost I was sure that I wanted a Stihl. After talking with the guys at the hardware store I selected the BG 86 for it's easy start and ease of use. Have had the blower for about a month now and it is so easy to use my wife does most of the blowing duties. How great is that!
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big power in a small package! Great machine just like the other 7 Stihl products I have. Lot's of power, easy to start, anti vibration makes it a pleasure to use. If you are looking for a great hand held blower.... This is it!
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product has been everything i expected and more. this is my second blower and the improvement since my first blower have been great. The noise level reduction has been dramatically reduced compared to my first blower, which is very critical to me when operating this blower.again highly recommend a STIHL!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handheld unit I've had the BG86 for about three years now. Its worked great and has never had to go to the shop for repairs. I've used synthetic Ace hardware brand oil in with no issues, sorry Stihl. It takes four or five good pulls to start her, same as when she was new. And she takes a minute or two to warm up before you can get full throttle, but the same can be said about me. So no demerits there. Other than that she works like a champ and has good power. We now live on a bigger property and will be upgrading to the BR600 backpack blower.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't reliably start I have been using 2- and4-stroke small engines since the early 90s and I've never had as much trouble with starting something as I have with these Stihl blowers. Using Stihl oil and premium fuel. Don't tell me about flooding, choking, priming and everything ecause I have tried everything. Will start sometimes and flood other times - giving it no throttle. Have never had this much trouble with the Japanese brands or with Stihl chainsaws.I bet they don't post this review
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power Finally upgraded to a professional blower. Great weight and power. Even use to clear light flaky snow instead of shoveling or plowing.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not highly recommended This blower is fairly light and powerful.Vibration dampening very good.My issue is twofold, blower takes several minutes to warm up, can be difficult or impossible to restart once warm.Blower tube is adjustable and easily removable for tight spaces.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Powerful reliable don't buy anything else buy still mt Jackson sales and service is great
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blower This blower is so powerful. I recommend it 100%.I couldn't be any more pleased from it.Awesome job STIHL!
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tool for a great price I have about an acre of yard and I need something to help with the cleanup and this blower is the best investment that I could make, it sure has been a work saver. I have found it to be efficient and easy to use and the weight is about right because I don't get to tired using it. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs help and has a lot of leaves and debris.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Has trigger lock on so you don't have to hold the button in and has great power.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ease of starting but difficulty of attachments I truly like the blower but I would think Stihl could come up with a better way of attaching their attachments to the blower. The twist & lock is hard to do especially when trying to disconnect from blower. It is nearly impossible to do during cold weather. How about some kind of just pushing the attachment on with a clip & lock type connecting system. It is very frustrating. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovethe back pack is great Love this blower. A bit pricey but worth it. Cut my worktime in half compared to electric blower. The backpack makes it so easy to get the job done. If I had one wish it would be that it had a little more power at times. Would recommend this to anyone. We are going to buy all Stihl products from now on.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great blower - Perfect for Home use. I bought my Dad the same blower nearly a year prior. I've used his several times and its very powerful, lightweight, and much quieter than the other brands I've owned in the past. So I added this to my Christmas list this year, I can't wait for spring to test it out in person.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Over the shoulder strap could be included. Could be on the lighter side and with a shoulder strap it would ease some of the arm stress for longer use. We only purchase Stihl products. Very dependable.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great blower! This blower is great and works great here on my place. The right size for me!
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great machine As indicated above, overall great machine.Two problems encountered.1. OFF switch located exactly where the thumb rests while holding the blower. I keep turning the machine off by accident.2. Suction screen on side continues to suck my pants leg into the grill.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start and more than enough power Does a great job on my leaves. Grass is no match for it and I use it to clean my zero turn decks with easrpe
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does everything well My BG86C blower does everything I expected it to do. Blows wet or dry leaves with ease and that is essential in the Pacific Northwest. The price was higher than other brands but I had to rebuild my "other brand" blower twice. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Easy to start - trigger lock is a plus - a hand held hurricane!
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed with the power Bought this mainly to shred leaves that blow into my garage lean-to, impossible to rake or blow them out. The power it has for blowing leaves out of the yard is an added bonus.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best handheld I've owned, surprising power, great quality Bought the BG86 to replace another top tier manufacturer blower that lasted over 10yrs. Decided on Stihl because of a MS260 chainsaw my wife bought me a few years ago....I was very impressed with the chainsaw so said why not try the Stihl blower. No regrets and have nothing to knock the blower about except pricey.....guess you get what you pay for. I've had a few hand held blowers over the years and the others had the air pick-up at the bottom, the Stihl is on the side. A little annoying that my loose Shirt/clothing gets sucked to the intake so tuck your shirts in! I was very surprised at the amount of air the small blower puts out. It is also very quiet compared to others that I've seen. Quality is excellent, typical Stihl and its pretty easy to start but can see it may be a problem with elderly. I bought the BG86 w/o vacuum bag but decided to buy the optional kit in the fall........should have bought the BG86 C-E and could have saved a little $. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute workhorse After some minor carburetor issues, this blower has proven to be fantastic. On my 2.5 acre wooded lot with maples and oaks this blower moves leaves!
Date published: 2016-10-24
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_141
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg86, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips