My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
BG 86 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 131.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handheld unit I've had the BG86 for about three years now. Its worked great and has never had to go to the shop for repairs. I've used synthetic Ace hardware brand oil in with no issues, sorry Stihl. It takes four or five good pulls to start her, same as when she was new. And she takes a minute or two to warm up before you can get full throttle, but the same can be said about me. So no demerits there. Other than that she works like a champ and has good power. We now live on a bigger property and will be upgrading to the BR600 backpack blower.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't reliably start I have been using 2- and4-stroke small engines since the early 90s and I've never had as much trouble with starting something as I have with these Stihl blowers. Using Stihl oil and premium fuel. Don't tell me about flooding, choking, priming and everything ecause I have tried everything. Will start sometimes and flood other times - giving it no throttle. Have never had this much trouble with the Japanese brands or with Stihl chainsaws.I bet they don't post this review
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power Finally upgraded to a professional blower. Great weight and power. Even use to clear light flaky snow instead of shoveling or plowing.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not highly recommended This blower is fairly light and powerful.Vibration dampening very good.My issue is twofold, blower takes several minutes to warm up, can be difficult or impossible to restart once warm.Blower tube is adjustable and easily removable for tight spaces.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Powerful reliable don't buy anything else buy still mt Jackson sales and service is great
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blower This blower is so powerful. I recommend it 100%.I couldn't be any more pleased from it.Awesome job STIHL!
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tool for a great price I have about an acre of yard and I need something to help with the cleanup and this blower is the best investment that I could make, it sure has been a work saver. I have found it to be efficient and easy to use and the weight is about right because I don't get to tired using it. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs help and has a lot of leaves and debris.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Has trigger lock on so you don't have to hold the button in and has great power.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ease of starting but difficulty of attachments I truly like the blower but I would think Stihl could come up with a better way of attaching their attachments to the blower. The twist & lock is hard to do especially when trying to disconnect from blower. It is nearly impossible to do during cold weather. How about some kind of just pushing the attachment on with a clip & lock type connecting system. It is very frustrating. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovethe back pack is great Love this blower. A bit pricey but worth it. Cut my worktime in half compared to electric blower. The backpack makes it so easy to get the job done. If I had one wish it would be that it had a little more power at times. Would recommend this to anyone. We are going to buy all Stihl products from now on.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great blower - Perfect for Home use. I bought my Dad the same blower nearly a year prior. I've used his several times and its very powerful, lightweight, and much quieter than the other brands I've owned in the past. So I added this to my Christmas list this year, I can't wait for spring to test it out in person.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Over the shoulder strap could be included. Could be on the lighter side and with a shoulder strap it would ease some of the arm stress for longer use. We only purchase Stihl products. Very dependable.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great blower! This blower is great and works great here on my place. The right size for me!
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great machine As indicated above, overall great machine.Two problems encountered.1. OFF switch located exactly where the thumb rests while holding the blower. I keep turning the machine off by accident.2. Suction screen on side continues to suck my pants leg into the grill.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start and more than enough power Does a great job on my leaves. Grass is no match for it and I use it to clean my zero turn decks with easrpe
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does everything well My BG86C blower does everything I expected it to do. Blows wet or dry leaves with ease and that is essential in the Pacific Northwest. The price was higher than other brands but I had to rebuild my "other brand" blower twice. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Easy to start - trigger lock is a plus - a hand held hurricane!
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed with the power Bought this mainly to shred leaves that blow into my garage lean-to, impossible to rake or blow them out. The power it has for blowing leaves out of the yard is an added bonus.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best handheld I've owned, surprising power, great quality Bought the BG86 to replace another top tier manufacturer blower that lasted over 10yrs. Decided on Stihl because of a MS260 chainsaw my wife bought me a few years ago....I was very impressed with the chainsaw so said why not try the Stihl blower. No regrets and have nothing to knock the blower about except pricey.....guess you get what you pay for. I've had a few hand held blowers over the years and the others had the air pick-up at the bottom, the Stihl is on the side. A little annoying that my loose Shirt/clothing gets sucked to the intake so tuck your shirts in! I was very surprised at the amount of air the small blower puts out. It is also very quiet compared to others that I've seen. Quality is excellent, typical Stihl and its pretty easy to start but can see it may be a problem with elderly. I bought the BG86 w/o vacuum bag but decided to buy the optional kit in the fall........should have bought the BG86 C-E and could have saved a little $. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute workhorse After some minor carburetor issues, this blower has proven to be fantastic. On my 2.5 acre wooded lot with maples and oaks this blower moves leaves!
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the power I expected I replaced a 12 year old BG 85 (great blower) for a new BG 86. I'm very disappointed in the power and performance of this under powered blower. Unfortunately the CARB regs have limited the performance of a good engine. This blower takes about 4 minuets to warm up and perform right. You have to feather the throttle to reach high RPM or the unit bogs down. I have experienced at least a 20% loss in performance from my previous BG 85. In my opinion if you own a pre-CARB unit, keep fixing and servicing it because the new models are disappointingly powerless.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A high quality, well built product that lasts years is a better value than several two year machines. I have a BG 86 C blower that starts on the first pull all the time and has the features and power that I want for the many jobs it does for me. The controls are right where they should be and the maintenance is easy and understandable. I plan to buy more Stihl products in the future.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On my second one. I liked the first one so much that I purchased another one to work more efficiently. Handles most everything I need it to do and at all angles. I'll work this machine for hours at a time and never fell sore or wore out from doing so.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from seams to be the best of the hand held blowers The Stihl BG 86 is a little hard to start compared to my 10 year old BR 600 the 86 takes at least 4 to 5 pulls to start no matter what method I use, my old 600 starts most times on the first pull but sometimes on the second. I am using the recommended Stihl oil when mixed with 93 octane gas is a lite gray color. The problem is the gas tank on the 86 is opague and you can not see the fuel level, someone should have noticed this when designing this product. The only way to see the fuel level is to remove the gas cap, or possibly use a different oil that has a darker or brighter color.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has excellent blowing power! I have been in the tree maintenance business since 1994. I was using Echo until this latest purchase. Saw the BG 86 as a replacement for the tired Echo. Now it is Stihl I depend on for every job. I have used Stihl chain saws , since the 80s!
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Durable Owned 3yrs. with heavy use. Reliable and durable. almost too bulky for one handed use. Would not consider as good a value at its current price point.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blower It is so quiet I thought it was underpowered until I put it to action. This thing can sure move some debris!Love it. I just keep adding to my STIHL collection and am never disappointed.MADE IN THE USA!!!!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product ! First blower I've owned. Was recommended by a neighbor who does commercial lawn care. Starts easily, plenty of power, & easy to handle.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely powerful! Having owned several Stihl products in the past, I looked no further when I was in need of a new blower. My old blower, a Stihl model BG85, had lasted for 13 years and, though still running, had lost considerable power and was becoming harder to maintain. I told my wife that if it was an automobile, it would have a million miles on it. It had been used to clear snow, clean the garage and drive, and most importantly, to clear truckloads of leaves almost daily in the fall. There were days when it would run for 8 hours at a time without stopping other than to refuel. If the new model BG86 provides the kind of service I received from the 85, I should never have to purchase another blower in my lifetime. Though I expect the most from my equipment, Stihl has never failed to provide.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am satisfied after one year of service. I've had the BG 86 for one year and it has been great so far. I use the product once a week in the summer to clear my porch and sidewalks of grass clippings and I also use it to clean my garage. I have a lot of trees around my house and use it to blow the leaves into piles in the fall. It also makes clearing gutters a quick process. I like the ability to change between a round and flat tube because the round tube seems to work better in the yard but the flat tube does better on concrete. The flat tube directs the air to a focused spot creating more power to move objects.
Date published: 2016-07-04
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg86, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips