Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 56 C-E

An easy-to-use handheld blower with a simplified starting system.

BG 56 C-E
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 280reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliability at its finest Love this blower. It starts up every time and for a handheld blower it's pretty powerful. I love stihl products I have a weed wacker (FS 70), chainsaw (mini boss), and two leaf blowers (BG 56C-E & BG 50) the latter being newly purchased but love them all. June 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by BG 56 C-E review after 2 months of use 5 stars is pretty hard to come by in my book, unless a product is near perfect. This blower is close but with a few glaring flaws, less one if you're right handed. I'm not, and using the blower in my left hand causes my shirt or pants to constantly be sucked over the air intake cover so I either have to hold it uncomfortably away from my body or change hands. The other 'problem' is, once warm, when you throttle up from idle it tends to bog down, it's more of a nuisance than anything. Keep in mind the dealer fine tuned it prior to handing it over to me.Now for the positives. From the start, buying a Stihl is like no 'big box' experience. The sales rep and owner of the store talked me out of buying the commercial blower I initially wanted based on my needs, saving me a little over $100. Then three people reviewed starting, usage, and warranty issues of this item during the sell. Doubling the manufacturers warranty using Stihl synthetic oil is another great benefit. And the fact I can return it for service or warranty issues to my local dealer is a huge plus. It starts easily and is lighter than my previous blower (great for getting on my roof), although not quite as powerful- it is more than adequate for my needs.Another factor in my purchase is the carburetor allows fine tuning of low and high speed adjustments. Although it should be years before I need this feature (and is intended for use by Stihl technicians), I have two blowers in my shop from reputable manufacturers that essentially require you to replace the carb instead of allowing me to compensate for eventual wear, i.e. flooding. Hence the reason two 6 year old blowers sit broken in my garage. I know Stihl wants reviewers to stick to the subject at hand, but for me, this forms part of the decision-making process and hence one of the reasons I bought this product. A huge positive if you tend to keep lawn equipment for the long term.After a lot of research and questions, it seems to me there are just a few high quality lawn care manufacturers left. Several of those have chosen large scale marketing (big box stores) over quality and reputation. So my choice came down to 2 brands, but the competitor had such limited dealers (and even fewer service centers)- I was not willing to travel 2 hours to buy (or service) it. Now I cross my fingers I made the right decision, but if their products are good enough to put on our fire trucks, they should be good enough for my garage. June 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by By far the best blower on the market Outstanding product. Lightweight ,easy to start and plenty of power. If you are looking for the best blower on the market your search is over. JUST CANT BEAT A STIHL. June 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This blower is so easy to use. I am so happy with this Stihl blower and would recommend it to anyone. It's easy to start, lightweight, and dependable. All the other blowers I had tried to use were much too heavy and very difficult to start. This one works like a charm each and every time. June 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is much lighter then my old one. At first I wasn't to sure about it because it was so light, but after using it the first time I am a Stihl believer. I do believe it is the best blower I have ever owned. Thanks for making me a believer!!!! June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best great product and easy to start. cant go wrong with still June 16, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed so far........ Let me start off by saying I really want to be a satisfied Stihl owner;1) Reserve system online does not work..products were not in stock when I arrived and dealer had no idea why I showed up at my appointment time.(30 minute drive for me one way)2) Dealer immediately told me spend $100 more on more powerful model!3) This model does not mulch as it vacuums...have to buy a blade and install.(I probably missed the fine print)4) This blower will not stay idling and will not start for the life of me...I have used it 4 times and it is so disheartening...even using STIHL FUEL!5) I will be making the trek back to return it but am hesitant to replace it with Stihl product...... June 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would recommend to anyone. Replaced a 15 year old smaller STIHL blower with the BG56C. Starts like any other STIHL product. I also own a STIHL chainsaw and hedge trimmer. June 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and powerfull Just bought this and wanted to get bg86 for more power and the anti vibration handle, but this unit does not need that and it is suprisingly powerfull just on idle and I did not need to rev it up for grass clippings but the extra power will be good In fall, the easy start is amazing and it started first pull when it was cold, I also don't know much about the primer and clutch sconce my mower does not have one, so the easy start was a great added feature for most home owners, I did find it a bit heavy but pretty much all other blowers are 10 lbs, I did have to buy a fuel container for the oil and gas mix and a 6 pack of the hp ultra oil witch dubbed the warranty, which I probly will never bring it in science it's such a great engine. This is my first Stihl but ther will be many more tools from them soon June 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by .... I AM SO EXCITED TO PURCHASE THIS BLOWER FOR MY HUSBAND TODAY. GREAT REVIEWS AND I FEEL GOOD ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. I BOUGHT HIM THE SS WEED EATER LAST WEEK AND HE DONE FEEL IN LOVE WITH IT. June 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once you go STIHL you won't go back! After having other blowers die off on me and get harder and harder to start, I love my STIHL blower. It starts very easily and every time. My wife actually admits it was a good buy, and the people at Morgan's Ace Hardware were very helpful and went through the care and upkeep on the blower, which helped a lot! May 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great homeowner tool I'm impressed with how well it performs. I had in mind when I went to the dealer that I'd surly need something bigger and more powerful but my dealer didn't think so when I told him what I wanted to use it for and he was right on the money. I mostly use it to blow off the tractor and it's radiator after mowing 6 acres of turf and the landscaping around the house after mowing.I always use premium 91 octane (or higher) non ethanol gas and Stihl oil. Starts easy and runs smooth, light weight and easy to use for this old man.My typical run time would probably be 30 minutes once a week. May 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start. This blower starts on the second pull and runs great until it runs out of fuel.Refill the tank and it starts immediately. May 18, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is not worthy of sthil name The reviews for this product have to either be fake or all the people who have given good reviews have never used a gas powered leaf blower. This unit is a very pour repusinttation for a German made product that has built its reputation on gas power forestry,industrial,commercial,agricultural and residential equipment. It's lack of power at every rpm range is an embarrassment or should be to the Sthil name and I believe Mr. Sthil would have never let this unit out of the R&D lab. This smart eletronical carboration power senseing technology isn't working. If the earth friendlys and tree butterflies want them build them for them. I want a carburetor I can adjust and set the rpm's were I want them to hear the sound of a four stroke engine, to have the power I need when I need it. I don't want fuel economy on my outdoor equipment I don't plan on riding it to work every day and need 30miles a gallon. I want rpm's&horsepower. May 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower the blower is so easy to start and light enough for me and my kids to use May 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality product I've used my blower for one year and have had nothing but excellent service from this high quality product. It performs beyond its horsepower and cubic foot per minute ratings. It starts easily and moves leaves and debris from three huge oak trees in my yard better than any other machines I've owned. May 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently good performance I have not experienced any problems or imperfections at all!I highly recommend Stihl products based on my experience with this piece of equipment. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tool Absolutely the best blower. It works great for leaves, grass, and snow! May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great product I purchased this product 2 weekso ago.. May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine I bought this for my 1/2 acre flat property. It is powerful, starts right up, and comfortable to carry light weight. There are 2 huge oaks and 2 huge maples on my property, plus whatever blows in from neighbors.I was able to do the whole property in an hour with light to medium coverage and closer to 2 hours when I could not even see the lawn. It uses a tankful of gas at full throttle in about 45 minutes. Thankfully that's where the stihl motomix comes in handy. I have used it over a dozen times so far and have had no issues May 7, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor output I purchased this unit and took it back the next day. It never gets up to full RPM. They sent it to their other location for testing but it still sounds bad. Eve my wife said it sounds sick. I was took to let it warm up. I think after 5 minutes iti should be full throttle. May 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well built , easy to start, good power A well built, incredibly easy to start rig with plenty of power. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. Easy to use and move between the vac and blower attachments. April 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl blowers are the best I've had many blowers and by far Stihl is the best. I own the lightweight backpack and an 11 yr. old hand held Stihl which is still running strong. This new one runs great & runs longer on a tank of gas. April 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by QUALITY BLOWER - WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG After purchasing several of the big box blowers and being disappointed with the quality and results, I purchased the Stilh BC 56 C-E. The quality of this machine is impressive. I chose the BC 56 C-E because of the claim of easy starting as I have a chronic shoulder problem. The blower easily starts on either the first or second pull. The power is adequate for homeowner use and the weight is not too cumbersome. It is designed to be operated with the right hand as operating it with the left hand interferes with the air intake. The machine uses very little fuel but is a little noisier than other blowers. All in all a quality tool and indicative of the adage "you get what you pay for." March 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very reliable Have owned several brands of blowers, but stihl has them all beat hands down. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good little blower As a landscaper had a bg 55 for small end of day light blowing, machine worked great and was dependable. So I bought the bg 56 one for the house figuring it wold be better. Same thing but I miss the trigger lock. Missing a feature, same engine but costs more? March 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Love this product! This is a great product that helps me alot March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to start I like the over all blower and it is easy to start and run. Has been the best blower I have owned . February 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by This blower is very lightweight I have had this blower for four years and use it all 12 months of the year. Even today you can prime it, choke it, an guaranteed to start on the third pull every time. Just remember always use Stihl synthetic oil and I also recommend to always use a non-ethanol fuel with at least an 89 octane level. I have three other Stihl products and use the same fuel for all of them and have had them for years...no problems. One more thing. When using Stihl products, always spend a couple more $$$ and use Stihl trimmer line, Stihl bar oil, and as I said earlier use Stihl synthetic fuel oil. Don't cut corners because it is not just a tool,it is an investment. February 23, 2016
<<prev 23 4 5... 11next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips