My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 56 C-E

An easy-to-use handheld blower with a simplified starting system.

BG 56 C-E
BG 56 C-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 453.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different from the rest ... I've owned my blower for 2 months now but it already has proven more reliable than others I've owned. The best part is how easy it is to start. A few pushes on the primer bulb and 2 or 3 gentle pulls on the cord ... emphasis on GENTLE ... and it starts. My dealer experience was excellent as well. Purchased at an Ace Hardware, it came fully assembled, out of the box and ready to use. They showed me how to start it ... "no monkey pulls! :-) ... and I was ready to go. Totally different from virtually no help at Home Depot or Lowe's.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well No complaints yet as I just purchased recently. Pushes leaves well but this winter will tell me if it works as advertised. The one thing I really love is how quiet it is. Could use a throttle lock.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL 56 C-E FIRST STIHL I HAVE EVER OWNED. SUPER EASY TO START! LIGHTWEIGHT AND QUIET COMPARED TO THE LAST BLOWER I OWNED. I DON'T THINK IT HAS THE BLOWING POWER OF IT'S SWEDISH COMPETIOR BUT I AM MORE INTERESTED IN RELABILITY.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to Start at Times It supposed to have an easy /quick start, but I have issues with it not wanting to start. I have had it a year and finally sprung to pulley coil. It is at shop now. Power is okay, but damp grass on a concrete side walk can be challenging.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blower! Easy starts and good power! Great tool! It starts easy and has plenty of power.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Starts Hard I was very surprised at how hard it starts. I would have thought a couple of pulls and I would be good to go. Not the case at all.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The blower operates very well, easy to use, starts quickly and gets the job done. The blower operates very efficiently, with excellent blowing power range. Easy to operate and excellent in gas savings.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, reliable blower Best lasting blower that will last for years. There are more powerful blowers out there but this blower will last many more years.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the 2 (other brands) that I returned. I'm tired of having to buy a new leaf blower for my 6 ac. Every 2 years. So, this year I tried out 3 different manufacturers' products...one of which was the latest, greatest battery powered blower. I returned the first two and happily kept the Stihl. It has exceeded my expectations all summer long...using it 4-5 times per week. My other Stihl tools are great, too. I should have known...
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Been in the shop to be fixed longer than I have owned it The nut from some where in the blower came undone and shredded the fan like device in the blower. Things happen I know. The problem is that I bought it for my son who is cutting lawns this summer. He used it. Week and it was broke and the only option the Ace Hardware gave me was the have it fixed. Lesson learned...if I bought it from lowe's I would of have an exchange in less than an hour. Fixing this stuff is old school. I bought it because I needed it and the Ace Hardware can't give me any date whatsoever on when it will be fixed.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet but not enough blowing force I've enjoyed my blower so far. It starts easy, it's light weight but most of all its the quietest blower I've ever used. The down side is the blowing power / force, not up to my standard anyway. But if you live in a neighborhood with close neighbors then they will also appreciate this blower as well.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the homeowner Purchased this blower to replace a 6 year old echo that had a hot start issue. Power is good and it starts easy when cold.But after its hot it has the same hot start issue as the echo.Once cool,no problem.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My old Stihl blower was 15 years old My old Stihl blower was 15 years old, used daily, and it was time to replace it. If it last as long as my old blower, I'll be very happy.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power Had this blower for a little over a month now and it works fantastic. I use it on all kinds of applications. I can't wait to try it on snow. Very happy with this blower.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet but tough to start. This is the quietest blower that I have had but it takes about 10 pulls to get it going. Then, after a few coughs and sputters, it runs great. Great power for being that light.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, not great I have had several blowers over 3 decades. My 20 year old Craftsman is being used by my son, still. This BG56 is better than the Craftsman in weight and noise level. The force of air is also better than the Craftsman, but only slightly. I expected a great deal better in the Stihl after reading reviews. I am disappointed in the Stihl that I could not have the option of a flat tube. Why not?
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around a solid blower! This blower is very dependable. It works great for what I need around the house like blowing off grass clippings and fertilizer after mowing or fertilizing.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Stihl leaf blower Starts up fairly easy, has good power , but seems to run a Little Rough until it warms up! Had this product for a month now and I am pleased thus far! Typical usage couple hours a week doing yard work.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hard to start Both the weed eater and the blower are hard to start, even though I paid up for a better model that is supposed to start easily. I am not happy about spending this kind of money and I still have to fight to get them running. Once running they work very well. better products than the last ones I had but still just not as nice as I thought stihl would be.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great machine Easy start, lightweight and powerful. Enough said.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was best bang for buck Light weight and powerful to get the job done easy and fast.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and idles smoothly Excellent blower. Lightweight and very easy to start.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BG 56 C-E The very best. Easy to crank, easy to carry, plenty of power.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Operational Ease........ Lifetime STIHL customer now after my first product purchase.....best blower I have ever owned, quality, ease of starting, all "perks" for this "Senior"........very happy with purchase
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the the BG 55 I was really disappointed in this product. My old 55 has seen its better days so I thought it was time to get a new one. The BG56 replaced the 55, which is no longer available, so I bought it. This thing is nowhere near as powerful as the 55. I found out that they tried to make the 56 quieter and I guess this has made it lose some of its torque. My brand new 56 sits in the garage and I still use my 55. Stills homeowner products are going downhill.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest Ever! I bought this blower on the assumption it was as good as the other Stihl products I own. I was not wrong. It starts quickly and has plenty of power. I now own a Sthil chainsaw, grass trimmer and leaf blower and I love them all. They start quickly, operate efficiently, need little maintenance, and are easily serviced. The best part is I need only one gas can for all my equipment.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product - Easy to Use - Only One Thing Missing Love the blower. It's easy to start and very powerful for general use around my home. In my opinion, there's only one thing missing - the machine lacks a lock for the throttle. I've owned several gas blowers over the years and they all had a mechanism to lock the throttle in full open position, this blower doesn't have that...it'd be much nicer to use if it did. Overall - great machine.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as much power as my Orange blower... Good piece of equipment, but compared to my Orange blower not even close. About half the blowing power of a comparable Orange blower. Do not like the easy pull 2. Silly system that does nothing to make it start easier.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The product doesnot live up to its reputation Not really impresses with its starting or its blowing capacity.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product is one that is better made. I cleaned all of the gutters (4 long gutters) with the attachment installed and took less than 10 minutes.Best money I ever spent.
Date published: 2017-05-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_453
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips