My Servicing Dealer
Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BGA 85

The battery-powered handheld blower that combines high performance with low weight. Battery & charger sold separately.

BGA 85
BGA 85 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work is done in a fraction of time Purchased this blower after watching my neighbor clean his yard. We have had cordless blowers, but it took forever to clean up and pine cones and other heavy debris had to be hand collected. The Stihl blower is beyond belief. Trust me. You will love it. Only downside is that it is a bit heavy for a small person like me. The trade off is definitely worth it. Thank you STIHL.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am now 100% battery dependent...I'll never go back! Talk about addicting...I started with the FSA 85 string trimmer and BGA 85 blower. I was so impressed that I next purchased the MSA 160 chain saw and finally the HSA 66 hedge trimmer. I was really craving a cordless pole trimmer, so I sent Stihl an e-mail requesting that they add it to their cordless line...and I guess they listened!I will be making another trip to my local dealer to add the HTA 85 to my Stihl cordless arsenal!Stihl tools are made for people that know that quality and longevity does not come cheap. I've always been well served by purchasing the best tools that I could afford.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool in my garage Wouldn't want to live without it expensive but worth it!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have the blower, weed trimmer, and chain saw. They are all awesome products, and handy, easy to use. For battery powered products, they are extremely impressive! I have all gas powered Stihl stuff ( 5 chainsaws, pole saw, blower, 2 hedge trimmers ) and was skeptical about battery operated products. Stihl definitely delivered with this line.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and easy to use I love this blower. It is great for cleaning driveways, patios, sidewalks, etc. It is variable speed with the trigger which is very helpful to me when blowing leaves in the corners of my patio.It works fine for blowing leaves off the grass, but you may want to get an extra battery for more continuous use. At max speed it runs for about 20 minutes.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great electric blower We had bought this as blower to use where I work and I can not be more happy. The quality is there for a long days work and there is no fuel smell or mixing oil and gas or the loud engine, and that is key for a happy customer. The price is a little steep for it though, I almost matched the price of the blower with the battery and charger. And if used with care (not full or nothing) I was able to around 45min out of the AP 180 and still get the job done well. Last but not least, the blower can not be flicked around in your hand as well as the gas ones can, maybe due to the twin axial fans.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If at first you don't succeed~ Finally broke down and picked up a cordless blower. Brought it home, charged the batt. Used it for two minutes and the thing ceased up. Called the dealer-he said bring it in the tech will be there Tuesday. Had my new new blower on Weds. Wanted something I could use in the garage to make a mess when the vaccum was too small of an option. What I didn't expect was the variable speed trigger- allows very low speed blowing- nice feature when cutting in around landscaping and planters on patios. Can't do that with the backpack BR600 on idle. That said- the specs are true- the Battery charges in less than half an hour- and I get plenty of runtime out of it to clean up around the house after mowing- or just a wind storm. About half the snot of the big blower- but so much easier to get out and run for a few minutes. No gas to fill, no cord to pull. just press the trigger and you're in business. Still a little pricey, but we'll see how long it lasts, then review the lifetime costs- no mix to buy, no fuel, and b/c no ethanol involved- no carb replacements!! Save $85 right there! Easier to climb up on the roof with and works great for blowing off the mower and log splitter after a session. Great product overall~
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Has been a great asset to my new home. Great for cleaning indoors too, by removing any dirt or dust behind appliances and etc. This machine does not put off any fumes making it safe for indoors.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power from a battery operated blower. Very pleased with this battery operated blower. Lightweight and ergonomically designed. Plenty of power to blow debris off of my drive-way and patio with little noise compared to gas powered blowers.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grab & Go Type of Tool It is such a pleasure to use this blower - no pull start gas engine to irritate my arthriticshoulders. Alittle heavy with the AP 180 battery but no problem. Unit has plenty of power.My only wish is that STIHL comes out with a fan shaped nozzel for this blower.
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerful, yet easy to literally give just a "puff" of air with the trigger. Very quiet Maybe could use a strap for longer work(for older home owner).Glad I've got it !!!
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive Novelty Yes, it's made well, but performance is lacking. Specifically, battery life for the AP180 is only 60% of that touted in specifications. Under what conditions can I expect the battery to last "up to 23 minutes"? Do I need to operate the machine at low power to achieve this performance? The best I got was 13:45 with a fully charged, new AP180 at maximum speed. Stihl's reputation is great which makes the BGA85 all the more a disappointing piece of kit purchased at a premium price. Stihl's reputation takes a hit on this one.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short Battery life I love using the blower. It works well and is easy to use. Plenty powerful for what I need. My only complaint is I only get 15 minutes of run time and then have to recharge it. An extra battery is very expensive so for now I'm living with it. Hopefully they'll have an improved battery some day with a longer run time.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutelyl love it It is nice to be able to grab quickly and use it to clean off the back porch and driveway. Best part is you don't smell like gas or exhaust after using it. I have had a BG 55 and It seems pretty similar power. Battery life could be longer but it has always done what I needed it to do.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Battery life is very short If you have even a medium size lawn do not try to blow the leaves using this product. The battery life is less than half an hour. So far I have gone out twice and only gotten about a 10'x20' area cleared. At this rate it will be spring before I get done.Also, it would be nice to have a piece that can be added to the front to direct the wind instead of just the wide mouth that is now the only option.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Power from a Battery Powered Blower The Stihl Battery Powered Blower works just as advertised. It has good air volume and velocity. I haven't tested the battery for advertised duration of use, and based on my limited experience, I am not sure that it will last as long as advertised.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite lawn/garden tool We live on 5 acres with lots of trees. I had purchased a corded vac/blower several years ago and it just wasn't suiting my needs to keep up with all the leaf blowing and clean up each fall and spring. I told my husband I wanted this for Christmas and I have not been disappointed in the blower's performance. It has lots of power to move big piles of leaves as well as small twigs and other debris. I usually get tired and ready to take a break before the battery gives out. This past weekend I trimmed up evergreen bushes and used the Stihl blower to clear the trimmings out from behind the bushes and this was so much easier than using a rake. I love my Stihl products. I also have the chain saw and I get carried away sometimes cutting off tree branches, vines and woody growth around our home. It's just fun and satisfying to use because of it's ease and great performance.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My BFF I am not an avid gardener and always looking for the easy way out. I LOVE this and use it for lots of things besides leaf blowers. I use it to dry the porch after I hosed it off, blow it the dogs when they want to bother me, leaves, just a ton of things besides just the leaves and snow. I hate it when my husband uses it, I is mine!
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real power from a cordless I was very skeptical when I bought my first cordless piece of lawn equipment. It was the Stihl cordless chainsaw, and from the first limb I cut I was impressed. This tool is no different. The convenience of no cord, no fuel, no pull start cannot be stressed enough. I still have the gas version of both and use them when I know I will be at it for an extended period of time, but for a quick cleanup or quick trim this Stihl equipment cannot be beat if for no other reason than time saved, but there is no loss of quality on a job well done.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fully meets all my expectations Bought it to blow leaves off the roof and clear the gutters. Does all that and more. Even used it this morning to blow the snow off the driveway and Suburban in 10 degree temperature. Using the 160 battery it lasted a full 30 minutes even at that temperature! May have to buy a second 160 battery to increase use life (driveway 150' long) but overall with the sole exception of the high price I love the machine. It is light enough that my wife will use it while she would never use a gas blower of which I have several.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Product Product has more power than I expected and battery lasts longer than I expected. It does require about 30-40 minutes to recharge, however. Quality of the blower is exceptional. Overall, I am very pleased with the product and its convenience for blowing leaves and pinestraw off my driveway, portches and patio.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower It was important for me to a blower that was light weight, easy to start and with enough power to do the job with lots of wet leaves. This Blower more than fit the bill!!
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blower I bought in to the Stihl system for the trimmer, but I love the blower as well. It has nice power and is easy to handle. Sometimes I wish there was a slightly smaller nozzle to generate more speed (even at less volume) for some jobs, but it has plenty power for most jobs. The fact that I would like to be able to use it for some places where I would use my compressor tells you that it has a lot of power. Every other cordless blower I ever owned was good for little more than leaves.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding quality My favorite yard power tool I have a Ryobi battery powered blower which I thought was fine, but I needed more power. I have a gas powered blower, Husqvarna, but it is a major pain to use, especially for small or quick jobs. I purchased a Stihl battery powered chain saw, so I already had an investment in the battery and charger which is not included in the blower.i bought the battery powered blower even though there were no reviews or hands on from sales person at the time. This tool is just awesome. Plenty of power to get any job done, obviously quiet compared to gas power. Have it just about a year now.use it several times a week, year round in FloridaEasy to use and handle. Great battery life, quick charging. Compared to Ryobi product,it is like driving a BMW vs a scooter. If you can get past the price you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed With this product there are no more cords to get out and I don't have to mix fuel or worry about getting the blower started after infrequent use. My wife loves it!
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Bought this tool as an afterthought but couldn't be happier. My Stihl gas chainsaw died and needed replacement, got tired of mixing gas and oil and decided to go battery. But after buying charger and battery for chainsaw decided better off also getting blower (my plug in electric blower had also recently quit) since already had fixed cost in battery and charger. So guess which tool I use every few days? This blower is terrific, certainly quiet compared to electric and gas, and does great job clearing our long driveway and patio. Couldn't be happier with product. Chainsaw also great but not needed as much.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great cordless blower!! A little pricey, but typical Stihl quality. Very impressive, even with the smaller battery. I plan on purchasing the AP 160 for longer run time. You won't be diappointed. No gas, no muss, no fuss.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too pricey $289 for the blower and then you have to buy the battery and charger for about another $200. Are you kidding me? I like the idea of a cord free electric blower but the price is just too prohibitive. I can buy just about any of the big gas backpack blowers for that money. Come on Stihl gives us a complete tool for a reasonable price. You make great tools - I own Stihl chainsaws, trimmers, and backpack and handheld gas blowers and love them all.
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blower We have purchased three blowers for our University and they are outstanding. Quiet, powerful and low maintenance. If you get two of the bigger batteries and the quick charger, a battery will charge and be complete while you use the other battery for almost continuous operation.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More power than I expected I recently purchased the BGA85 to use at home because I would not have to worry about storing gas. I was totally surprised when I first used it because it was a lot more powerful than I expected. It does a wonderful job for me and I would recommed it to anyone without hesitation.
Date published: 2012-11-03
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_bga85, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips